Rent Daxter for PSP Games
view large frontback

Daxter

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.8

1505 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Highly entertaining, but short

posted by Trademark (MOUNTAIN VIEW, CA) Apr 20, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

14 out of 14 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is certainly one of the best platformers available for the PSP. Tight controls, excellent story, engaging mechanics, and a warped sense of humor all contribute to the fun. Add in superb graphics, and well-designed sound, and you've got a wonderful all-around game.

There's plenty of collectibles in each mission, and the game has a structure of rewards that makes it worth your while to come back to previously completed methods and try to find those last hidden items you missed the first time. Since you continually accquire new equipment which opens up new methods of exploration, its quite possible that you'll need to revist some missions several times.

As always with Jak and Daxter, Daxter's wise-cracking continues rapid-fire throughout the game. In his first solo mission, Daxter enjoys the limelight, hamming it up whenever possible. The sense of humor in these games has been one reason I consistently enjoy the series. The dream sequence mini-games present in Daxter spoof pop-culture references, and provide an entertaining break from bug splatting.

My one gripe with this game which keeps it from being a perfect ten is the length. I found it very short. Even thogh it was a satisfying experience, I think I finished the game with perfect completion in around 8 hours. While I was entertained the whole time, it still felt short.

The length aside, everythin else in this game is pretty much perfect. Ready at Dawn has truly raised the bar for PSP games. Other developers should take note: this is the quality standard consumers will come to expect from PSP titles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by ramseydbz (CAPE CORAL, FL) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Hands down the best game for the PSP. The game takes place after the first game and before the second game, you got that? Ok. The game play is similar to the original games so if you played them then you'll feel right at home. The game is definitely a must buy. There's plenty of levels to keep you busy and the replay value is good since you can replay the levels to get the stuff you couldn't get before. Theres also a bug combat feature that lets you fight with the bugs you find in the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A must play!

posted by Shaft333 (VILLA PARK, IL) Apr 28, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

17 out of 19 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I'm not much of a fan of platformers. Particularly 3D platformers. The cotrols are usually cumbersome, the camera is never in the right spot and the story is about as compelling as trying to have a conversation with a goldfish.

This game still seems to lack an interesting story, but it's still more interesting than talking to fish. Where it really wins is the gameplay. It's fun, to say the least. The controls work. There is enough variety in the play to keep you coming back for more. The graphics truly show off the capabilities of the machine.

Put it in the top of your Q and plan on keeping it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Worth a rent only.

posted by ShadowEdge (HAZARD, KY) Apr 25, 2008

Member since May 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I first popped this game in I would have been amazed at the graphics the PSP was putting out, but I have already played God of War: CoO. Still the game does boast some impressive graphics for the handheld.
That being said, it does have some bad frame rate problems in places it shouldn't. Running around feels sluggish, like I'm walking through tar.
Bad camera angles can get you killed easily, by either an enemy or just falling off a ledge constantly.
Anyway the game is definitely a Rent, but I wouldn't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Camera is annoying

posted by westcoastd (AUBURN, WA) Jun 19, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game play is alright, however the camera viewing you character gets out of place, and if you in a critical area. you will not make it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Hmmmm...

posted by mrdylan (DALLAS, TX) Aug 28, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was really excited when I found out this game was being made. I liked the idea of finding out about what happened while Jak was imprisoned.
Daxter really is dissapointing in this regard.
The story is bare bones. We see Jak and Daxter enter the city for the first time, we see Jak get captured. Daxter gets a job as an exterminator.
He kills some bugs. He kills some more bugs. He kills a big bug. Thats it...
The gameplay consists of some decent platforming with a Super Mario Sunshine feel, and a couple of repetitive minigames.
if you remember the short sequences in Jak 3 where you play as Daxter, they were short, and very shallow, and this is how i remember the game. I rented it, and soon played it constantly, not because it was engaging at ALL, but because I couldn't wait to send it back and get something else.

This game is basically a quick fling for fans of the series or someone who needs something to play for 15 hours on a bus where there is NOTHING left to do.

A rental at best

5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Best Ottsel Adventure You'll Play!

posted by RobotSonic (TUSTIN, CA) Apr 21, 2006

Member since Dec 2003

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Designed by freshman developer Ready at Dawn, Daxter turns out to be one of the killer apps on the PSP system and a must own title for anyone remotely interested in the action/platformer genre.

Playing as everyone's favorite Ottsel, Daxter (half otter, half weasel) is the star of this game taking the player on a romp through brilliantly designed levels on missions to exterminate all the metalbugs in Haven City in his larger quest to foil the evil plot of the story's antagonist.

Heavy on action and platform elements, the game shines through silky animation, a well executed camera system, polished gameplay mechanics, and variety in the levels. Shortcomings of the title include some less exciting vehicle sequences and a story that gets a little sparse around the middle of the game.

Still, the title oozes high production value and any faults in the game are compensated for twice over with all the other excellent features.

Daxter is a true action/platformer worthy of its Naughty Dog heritage and one that doesn’t make any compromises in its arrival on the PSP platform.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Game for PSP, but that's not saying much

posted by Malvolio (ACTON, MA) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Okay I must tell you right now, this is a must have for any PSP owner.

It has the best graphics I have ever seen for a handheld. It looks as good as PS2 launch titles. The gameplay is very solid and is just what platform lovers are looking for. The bug spray is a good addition to the gameplay. The only thing I am wondering is what ever happened to his bug sprayer during Jak 2. The story is very good with lovable characters that actually has some laugh out load moments. The rhythm game parts are back just like the Jak games and better than ever. Each one spoofs a movie and they are really funny as well as being fun to play. The controls are tight even though you have to use the control "nub". The only problem with this game is that it is not too long even if you get all the precursor orbs.

Now this is no killer app, but it is amazing and a must buy for any PSP owner. If you are wondering whether or not to get a PSP this is not a game that will make it worth it, but if you do you will definitely have a good time.

Everone, rent this game at least if not buy it. Unless you hate Jak and Daxter or you hate platformers, but who hates those?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Daxter off the shoulder

posted by Rachet20 (GLEN BURNIE, MD) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

If you have a playstation and like the jak and daxter series than get a PSP.But any way on this platformer for the PSP you get to see why it took daxter soooooo long in Jak2 to save Jak.If you have a PSP USB link cable than u can unlock some new things in Jak X.like 4 characters and a new car.I have gotten near the end of the game but never beat it.But im sure we all know what will happen.You can also unlock masks like the Jak mask,The Ratchet mask,and the human Daxter mask.That is why i give this game for the PSP a 10 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Breath of Fresh Air for the PSP

posted by skubasteve (FORT WORTH, TX) May 26, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Not too difficult, not to easy. If your into the Jak and Daxter series, or your just tired of all the weak titles on the PSP this one is worth playing. The game is somewhat repetitive though...but what platformer isn't.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Daxter Single-Handedly Saves the PSP

posted by Maxwell (OWASSO, OK) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Jan 2004

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

After starting this platforming extravaganza, it soon occurred to me that this was the first game since I purchased a PSP that made me happy to own one. Put simply, Sony has produced a very entertaining, fully-fledged platforming game unique to the system. Although exterminating bugs is a rather lame motivation, the memorable characters a Jak and Daxter veteran would expect are thriving in this handheld version of the series. Story aside, there are plenty of fun things to do. As you progress, Daxter's set of moves and abilities steadily increases. This helps to keep the action fresh and volatile. Collectors will spend plenty of time finding the orbs and bugs for the multiplayer game in each stage. There are enough bugs to smash in every stage to keep the most violent of players appeased.
Daxter contains several mini-games based on popular movies. When certain goals are met within these games, the in-game Daxter might get an extra move or a larger life bar. The games are mainly button pressing rhythm games. They are simple to learn and difficult to master. Several vehicle stages are also present. I didn't expect this staple of the series to show up on the PSP. Although I was unable to test the multiplayer bug battles, I tried playing the computer. Basically, you choose a bug you have found in the game and fight another bug. The fighting is turn based and similar to Pokemon or Monster Rancher. Although there is a plethora of options concerning your bugs and their equipment, this mode seemed tacked on to me. I would have rather had a cooperative play option if Sony felt the had to have a multiplayer mode. Most platformers are single player experiences and we don't need to pretend they aren't.
Everything considered, this is one of the best games currently available for the PSP. Daxter isn't a chopped up rehash of a console game that the handheld market often sees. This is an original, robust game that will delight any platforming fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Excellent Graphics, Fun Gameplay, Very Short

posted by IvorySoul (VENTURA, CA) May 12, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Daxter is the semi-sequel to Jak and Daxter: The Precursor Legacy for PS2. These are the events between Jak and Daxter and Jak II. Daxter gets a job as a bug exterminator so he can sneak into various places to find out where Jak has been taken to. The first thing I'd like to say is that the game has NO load times what-so-ever. It's seamless wherever you go and GTA: LCS couldn't even pull this off. One problem though is that there is A LOT of slow down when things get bunched up on screen. Mainly when you are out in Haven City going from job to job. The game NEVER gets repetitive so don't believe this when people say it. There are lots of mini games to do such as Daxter's dreams like parodies from The Matrix, Indiana Jones, Lord of the Rings, and Braveheart, and the humor in the game is great. You can get new add ons for your bug exterminator and learn new moves and health upgrades by doing the dream mini games. The game is very short though leaving you wanting more within less than 6 hours. There are very few cut scenes, maybe 5. The voice overs are great but this game never really answers the true questions to how Daxter saved Jak due to the lame ending. All in all this game is very fun and recommended for everyone and the difficulty isn't all that bad. You can connect to Jak X: Combat Racing for PS2 to unlock things and vise versa and shall I mention this is the first game in which the family fought over the PSP?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Daxter Is Not Good

posted by Judeikinz (YAZOO CITY, MS) Jul 21, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Daxter is very boring and dumb.

I only kept it for a day and then sent it back.

Don't buy it. It is NOT a good game.

5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

repetetive missions become annoying

posted by daxfan (LOS GATOS, CA) Jun 20, 2008

Member since Jan 2004

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

the game was exciting and addicting at first........but it got OLD FAST!!!!!!The missions are the same everywhere you go.You are not allowed to free roam or leave the mission.even though i have not completed the game, the guns are weak and you rarely get new ones.and some parts of the game it takes what feels like hours just to find out how to advance in the mission.one of the most bothersome things about this game is that the missions are very long and if, lets say your mission is to collect ten crystals, once you have collected ten crystals, you still cant leave because you have to find the end of the stage, which often takes an extremely long time.i was hoping that there would be somewhere that you could buy weapons,accesories,etc.when i bought this game i thought that it would be more like ratchet & clank. because of these hopes, the came was even more disappointing.The only buildings you can enter are the ones that you must exterminate bugs in, making this game bland.and of course the camera is a pain because it makes it nearly impossible to advance because you dont know where to jump or move.Overall, this game is just about hitting and spraying bugs over and over again.I am an old man that enjoyed space fighter as a kid, and yet this game doesnt even satisfy me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better than Halo 2 and maybe Super Smash Bros.

posted by totalx54 (EDGARTOWN, MA) Jul 23, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

( Note. I'm writing this for my friend who almost finished this review, then he moved away.)

A lot of fanboys will find me, then eventuulally attack me, but I speak the truth. Halo 2 is weak compared to this. And for now (I said FOR NOW) Super Smash Bros. Meele has no mucles. Everything is great, from the story,(no spoilers!),to the graphics, to the camara,( :) ), to the Matrix-like dreams,(?), to the... well... everything. Forget GTA: LCS. This is the killer app. One last thing. Get Jak X: Combat Racing for some true fun.

Take Care.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Great graphics, boring gameplay

posted by Sleezebag (DELAWARE, OH) Apr 23, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2005

3 out of 12 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

GAMEPLAY: The gameplay in Daxter is pretty repetetive and boring. The ONLY combos you can get are his regular 4 hit combo, then this kinda upper-cut move, and a move where he jumps and can either come down and bash on the floor.. or come down spinning with his electric fly swatter. It gets very boring because even though it sounds like alot of moves, when your playing the moves are hard to do and hardly EVER work right.. so most of the time youll just do your 4-hit combo. I'd say that the Bug Comabt is better than actully getting to fight in the ACTUAL game!
STORY: The story in Daxter is pretty unique. It shows you what happened while Jak was taken by the soldiers and what daxter was up to all those years. The story is not really that engaging, but its just to show you what was happening while Jak ws gone.
GRAPHICS: The graphics in daxter ar amazing! The graphics look about identical to all teh games in the Jak series.. yeah.. thats how good they are. The colors and details and everything just look great! Daxter TRUELY shows what the PSP is capable of!!!
OVERALL: Cool storyline, un-fun gamplay, and AWSOME graphics.
RATING: 5.5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the greatest psp game ever made.

posted by superg (BLAIRSTOWN, NJ) Mar 22, 2012

Member since Jul 2010

im a HUGE fan of jak and daxter. ive played every game and loved them all except the lost frontier ( ILL REVIEW THAT MESS SOMEDAY...)but this game is the best of all. why? two reasons: you can play it anywhere. reason 2: YOU GET TO PLAY AS ONE OF THE GREATEST GAME CHARACTERS EVER (next to glados from portal and dr.neo cotex)it all stratred on my 13 birthday and we went to radiosack to see the new games on display. since the infamous psp GO was coming out, there was an strandard psp on sale for 100$. i decided to but and it came with the game daxter. i was thinking "a game about daxter? that sounds terible!" the reason i said that is becuase every gamje i played that had you play as a sidekick sucked (Im looking at you secret agent clant ps2!) but i have to say WOW. this is amazing. the story is not a sequal to jak 3. its a pequeal to jak 2. so it after TPL but BEFORE jak 2. so that would mean this is about how daxter saved jak. well this really the only problem i have about the game. see it almost 2 years later and daxter FORGOT TO SAVE JAK. really? well since he forgets he decide to become an exterminator. yeah.. but dont worry the plot get more thick. gameplay is kind of like the same of jak 2 and 3. you run around in the hub world doing diffrent misson most missons in clude mini-games,getting metal head jewls (usally 50.) or destroying a sepific enemy or hives. daxters voice actor returns but other than that i think the voice actors are new comers (jak appears once, but dosent talk.) also,kor,errol,vegar and samos return as cameos. the best part of the game are the mini games. there hilairous! they parody6 the matrix,braveheart,indiana jones and the lord of the rings! overall, this game is a MUST BUY and will satisfy both fans of j&d and psp gamers alike!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Could Be A Good Game

posted by olpdog (FOUR LAKES, WA) Jan 24, 2011

Member since Apr 2008

I like a lot of this game, but the bad outdoes the good. The graphics, as with some other PSP games I've played, far outdo the capabilities of the PSP system. They have tried to add too much to a system incapable of handling it. This has the prime problem I see in many PSP games, the view. It is terrible, especially in the more challenging parts of the game. If the views were not constantly changing, the game would be much more playable. With this game, you get to the hardest parts of the game and suddenly you need to be able to see a lot more of the area around your player. Unfortunately, the automatic views kick in and you are unable to look around at all. The game makers need to face reality and realize the PSP is limited, compared to PCs, PS3s or the Xbox systems. I enjoy challenges in games, but not ones created by bad graphical decisions. I'm not a big fan of sports games, but those seem to be the best games to play on the PSP. It's too bad PSP continues these bad ideals, because they lose a lot of quality games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Daxter Review

posted by Raziel111 (LINDSAY, CA) Sep 25, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2010

Daxter was an incredibly fun game. Instead of being the main man Jak, you are now playing as his furry and orange sidekick to explain the two year period between Jak being kidnapped and then being set free. Instead of the usual fists, kicks and guns, you now take up an electric flyswatter, and a flamethrower like bug spray.

The coolest things are what you could never do as Jak but Daxter could. Sliding, crawling through vents, scaling ceilings monkeybar style and scaling walls are great new and fun features. Another feature are Daxter's dreams. He takes the role of a different version of him such as an agent(Matrix[most likely]), a night, a barbarian, a tomb raider(Indiana Jones), a karate guy and a wizard(probably Gandalf from Lord of the Rings). They're minigames where you press the four action buttons and the D-pad to reach the end and get a prize when you wake up, such as new moves or health upgrades. The bug spray is a ranged stunning weapon, with deadly upgrades known as the flamethrower and an electric grenade launcher. These can be used as hovers, each having different ways of doing it and some using more energy depending on the weapon. The mini games in story mode are also incredibly fun and the Boss fights are pretty simple. Attack and avoid when youre supposed to.

But, there are some serious flaws. The bug spray has a limited supply of spray for all three weapons. The vehicle missions are difficult with tight controls and limited camera space. And the dreams take precursor orbs to unlock. The fish that can kill you instantly are nerve racking and you usually wont know where to go next. Plus, minigames in story mode will result in failure if you press one wrong button.

Overall, its a fairly good game and it explains how Daxter saved Jak two years after he was kidnapped. It's a little shorter than the other games, but it's fun. But as powerful as it is, the flaws are to big to ignore. However, I would recomend it to any Jak and Daxter game fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

missing

posted by greenman30 (CONYERS, GA) Dec 22, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

hes missing jak not the same but still preaty solid game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

the frist sidkickgame

posted by jakeob (SACRAMENTO, CA) Oct 31, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

this is the first game for the psp that i have. This game is going to define the psp. al who thick about getting apsp should get this game. that all focks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Until now, Daxter was merely the ocelot sidekick

posted by kidhero99 (LAUDERDALE LAKES, FL) May 2, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

Until now, Daxter was merely the ocelot sidekick of the gun-toting Jax. With the Daxter PSP game, the little otter-like creature finally gets a platformer of his very own. This is really quite fun!

Don't judge this game by its opening levels. Like most platformers, you have to begin slow, learning the basics of movement, jumping, attacking and looking around. Daxter is out slaying bugs, so he begins with the most basic of weapons - the bug swatter. He's searching for orbs, killing enemies, picking up health, and generally having a grand old time.

As the game progresses, you get a wide variety of levels to explore and ways to move around. You get to drive cars, ride on zip lines, and much more. You get new weapons to take on new, more difficult enemies. There are even cool dream sequences that let you take on movie character personalities, sort of like Gex.

Most of the missions are go-at-your-own-pace, where you can explore and track down all the hidden secrets. There are a few timed missions which might get frustrating, but as with all games, if you are patient and take your time to learn the map you can eventually get through them.

I do wish they had made this for the big screen as well as the small. As beautiful as the PSP graphics are, with great detail and level distinctiveness, there were times that for example brown boxes blended in with the brown background and things became very hard to see. You shouldn't die repeatedly because the screen is murky.

The game is relatively easy to get the hang of - but also encourages you to replay to track down all of the hidden items in the levels and to get the top score.

It's also nice that the game is all about killing bugs - a task that most people find to be OK for children to do :) You're not slaying humans and there isn't mature language. It's nice to have a game that is really fun to play and that is appropriate for all ages of players as well.

Highly recommended - and as I said my only hope is that they'll ma

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

good game, for kids

posted by sprice25 (NAPERVILLE, IL) Mar 16, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

i am 21 years old, this game didn't do it for me. i feel this game is for young kids through teens. i could not get into this game. graphics are good, gameplay good, etc. just not for older gamers. try before you buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME AWESOME GAME

posted by brittaneya (EAST BETHANY, NY) Mar 10, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

I really like this game! It is a def. stay with me for awhile and a def. rent again. This game is so fun I Love it check it out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

one of the best games for PSP

posted by dxrules1 (Worcester, MA) Aug 31, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

i got the silver daxter pack and i just got it and im already 65% done with it its pretty challenging. it is a great game and if u have a psp u should get it!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse