Rent Dawn of Discovery for Wii
view large frontback

Dawn of Discovery

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS
GF Rating
7.0

403 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun but frustrating!

posted by ksubball25 (OLATHE, KS) Jul 9, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

13 out of 14 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

Dawn of Discovery is a fun game, but when the chapters get more difficult, it gets very frustrating! Your citizens keep demanding to have items. If you don't give them what they want, they will leave. When they leave, you can't tax as many people and then you get in debt unless the king gives you a loan.

What I liked:
1. There's many islands to discover in the game.
2. The islands had wonderful scenery.
3. The cut scenes were fun to watch.
4. The buildings were colorful.

What I don't like:
1. The demanding citizens.
2. Some of the tasks were difficult.

Overall, this game is fun but should be for people who like strategy games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but lacks Action for an Action Adventure Game

posted by MrDude (BURTCHVILLE, MI) Aug 24, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I loved this game, I highly recommend this game for all sim city players. Otherwise it is a good rent and a nice play.

Pros
1:good graphics
2:decent story
3:in depth gameplay

Cons
1:tough
2:linear
3:lots of strategy

Overall, a good game but only really great for RTS lovers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Great Game...

posted by TechDelta (MEADOW VISTA, CA) Jul 27, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Dawn of Discovery Is A Great Game...Good Details... The Tutorial Taught It Very Very Well The Games Levels Were So Much Fun =) And The Continuous Helped Not Make It Bored Afterwards Building Things And Getting Things Was Great!!!...Bad Details... The Games Fighting Thing Was Too Simple -But Was Easy To Overcome- If You Have Only Have The Wii Controller It Can Become A Hassle To Move... If You Also Have The Nunchuck Moving Is Much Much Easier......... I Really Liked This Game... It Was Alot Of Fun And Easy To Learn... I Would Suggest This Game For The Ages Of 8-13 Maybe 14... I Would Also Say This Game Has 8 to 15 Days Of Good Fun =).... Hope I Helped xD I Am 13

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

DoD

posted by ryyla (COBB, CA) Mar 25, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

Another reviewer called this "Civilization Lite", and I found that an apt description. I enjoy strategy/city-building games, and this was certainly a good specimen. The colors and graphics were great, and the gameplay was pleasing. It did tend to get a little frustrating/difficult later on in the game, but I would still pick it up and play it every once in a while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Sim game a tremendous foul

posted by yuckyjake (CHICAGO, IL) Jul 12, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

O.K. I know I'm supposed to focus on the game I'm reviewing, so I'll be brief at first. I've been playing 1701 for PC for several years and the similarities are eerie. Even my 9 yo son pointed out the likenesses. the characters faces, some names even sound the same. O.K. now thats out of the way, it takes some steady hands to set up all the island buildings, towns, and the wii controls are not as smooth as the mouse movements I'm used to. Albeit, you expect differences, so its a good try. kinda like a 15 pitch at bat. whether you get on base or not, you really shook up the game. There's alot of room for improvement, and i'm not sure the wii action platform is the best format for a sim game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun & interesting RTS with a unique approach!

posted by CritScott (QUAKERTOWN, PA) Nov 25, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2010

In the lines of Ages of Empires, Sim City, and a lot of other building placement & strategy games - very fun & relaxing to play. The big difference is the jump from the PC to the Wii screen. In spite of the comparisons, I feel this game has a unique approach, and I did not feel it was a rehash.

The Controls: logical and easy to work with. In the in-between sailing parts, the building placements and the buying/selling interfaces were "spot on", and provided many hours of interesting interaction. I love the wii-mote controls anyway, and I know to position myself in the center of the room - not too close to tv - for best pointing sensitivity.

The Story: a simple, compelling classic (and typical) story found in history themed games - nothing surprising there, but the way it's woven into the gameplay is what I find of value. The storytelling mode vs continuous play mode offers two styles, depending on your mood. Following the story and missions did not leave me bored for a minute!

Strategy: the exploration, the interaction between characters, the various buildings, resource gathering/trade, keeping the settlers happy, and growing the population - it seems like the took all the great parts out of my favorite RTS's and put them into an easier, more fun-centric game here. When I say easier, I mean the begrudging, laborious parts are removed, and the pace and challenges increase as the chapters progress. As in ie: SimCity, I was not left asking "ok, now what??" at any point.

Graphics: Clean, colorful, well-done, expected graphics level in my opinion. Zooming in and out worked and looked great. The narrators & narration needs to get a lot of credit. The talking head characters are lifelike and keep you involved throughout. Sometimes they repeat something as a warning or reminder, but that only happens if you are neglecting your goals. They mostly keep the game moving and make announcements.

Overall: I was impressed and see the family replaying this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Glitch in Chapter Two.

posted by Icebane (BALTIMORE, MD) Jan 16, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

Alright. So the game looks like it might be fun. Enjoyable. So on and so forth. But considering that there is a major glitch in only the second part of the campaign? Screw that. Games should be playtested before they are released, end of story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Dawn Of Discovery

posted by Pubu86 (NEW HAVEN, IN) Oct 30, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

Good game with fun challenges. A few issues with things not running smooth as far as when you build something to fix an issue it doesn't react as fast as it should. Also annoying voice assistance that gets old after they repeat themselves several times a minute with no option to turn this off. Other than that good game; 7/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Dawn of Discovery

posted by punxof2day (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Oct 27, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

I only had a chance that to play story mode. The story was really for kids. I have a nephew that is 6 years old that would love it. It is a very good beginner RPG. The story line itself was very dry and gets old fast. I also wish you had a choice of brothers you could pick.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Really addictive

posted by solarsoar (FAIRFAX, VA) Oct 3, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

There are a few strategy games I find addictive and this very quickly became one of them. I like the multiple aspects of developing and managing colonies. While I've read negative reviews of the story mode, I think you need to look at it as a very long tutorial, except in this case there's an elaborate story that goes with it. I liked the story mode because it gave the game a whole background scenario. So when you're playing in the continuous mode, you know the characters and what's happening. To jump right into continuous mode is fine, but you need to realize 1) there's a steep learning curve because of the multifaceted aspect of this game and 2) there's no signal or mark for stopping once all the achievements are complete. For those who like a little context with their gameplay, there really isn't much point after that.

A couple of issues though: 1) you need a very steady hand for plopping down buildings. Depending on how sensitive the controls are, you may end up putting things a bit out of place. I overcame this by zooming in closer to the spot I'm targeting. 2) The controls in military mode when you move troops around is quite laborious. Especially getting from the ship to the beachhead and then onto the rest of the island. There is a time lag as the troops march through the island, which takes so long that a building might already be taken by the time the troops get there. The trick I found was to place two barracks right next to each other, when defending an island. This way there's no lag time to defend one or the other and you can send troops out of one while using the troops on the second to evenly distribute troops between the two barracks. Focus on the barracks which either allows you produce more troops and prevents the opponent from doing the same.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

okay. nothing too spectacular.

posted by fraskew (MATTHEWS, NC) Sep 29, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

this is a solid game. it's got few flaws, but all in all, it plays well. on one hand, experienced players that are familiar with civilization and the like will probably whip through story mode quickly. but it's not a bad thing exactly, as some of the goals get tedious. there's an awful lot of waiting around, watching your carts go back and forth from field to market so you can accumulate the needed quantities of whatever resource to advance. younger, or less experienced players will be much more challenged by the scenario driven story mode. it's very guided, and your helper charcters in the game constantly chirp out the same directions, over and over. this is annoying, but can be adjusted down.

continuous play is your basic melee mode. there are some variables you can adjust for this mode, but it is mostly a basic set-up.

the main issue i have is that the game isn't deep enough in planning and expansion to be a strategy game, or detailed enough in economics and progression to be a sim game. instead it bounces along in the middle, but never really makes it as either type.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Been there, built that

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Aug 5, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

It is time to head south, young man, in Dawn of Discovery. The people are starving and it's up to you to establish colonies on islands south of the kingdom.
With such colonies, you build houses for residents, farms to make food, churches for education (what?) and other establishments to do other tasks like make clay pots, mine for iron and stone, cut down trees for wood, and produce milk.
You can play the Story Mode that has you fufilling certain tasks - tasks such as have a colony with a certain number of inhabitants, find treasure or make a certain amount of a certain type of good.
Or you can play Continuous Play, where you make your own colony from scratch and build it up to something amazing.
Wait a second. This game feels like a midevil version of SimCity - and a much simpler version of SimCity. It doesn't bring anything new or fresh to that genre.
There are other problems I had with this game.
First off, whenever there's a shortage of food or clothing, the game nags at me over and over again to take care of the problem. It just doesn't let up. Even after I make the needed adjustments to solve the problem, it continues to whine about the lacking supplies for a few more minutes.
Secondly, the story in Story Mode doesn't thrill me one bit. There's not much conflict, and it preaches too much.
The biggest problem I had with the game is that the gameplay becomes stale and repetitive after a few chapters in Story Mode or about an hour in Continuous Play. When I make a building, it would just land on the selected plot of land with a thud - unlike in SimCity where I can see the building being built over time.
Dawn of Discovery is a great fix for those looking to feed their city building needs, but it doesn't hold my interest long enough for me to purchase it. RENT IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »