Rent Data East Arcade Classics for Wii
view large frontback

Data East Arcade Classics

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
3.7

273 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

data East Arcade Classics

posted by daveroach (NORRISTOWN, PA) Apr 30, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was simple yet fun. I was pleasently surprised by the variety and number of games in it. Heavy barrel was the most fun. Its nostalgic qualities alone made it worth renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

What?

posted by djaidyn (BENTON, TN) Mar 29, 2010

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I can't figure out why people don't like this title.
Ok ya its not worth buying but it's freakin fun!
I'm a huge fan of arcade games and there are some great games on this title.
It's a great game to just sit back relax and get taken back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Worth a Rental

posted by GalagaMax (KEYPORT, NJ) Mar 3, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Not a terrible game, not a phenomenal compilation.

I'm so sick of people trashing old school games for their lack of advanced graphics and sound. This is what games were like, why can’t we appreciate where the industry was and how it has evolved?

While there are some quality Data East titles missing, I was glad to play original arcade versions of burger time and bad dudes as I was only familiar with their NES ports.

For someone who actually is interested in playing older arcade games, this may be worth a look, especially for a mere 20 bucks.

For those who's knowledge of classic gaming goes no further than Pac Man or Mario, stay away, this game's not for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Games that show their age

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Feb 23, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Remember when you paid out quarters to play games like Bad Dudes Vs. Dragon Ninja, Burger Time, Heavy Barrel, Secret Agent? Then you are in luck. Data East Arcade Classics takes 15 of their greatest games that came out between 1981 and 1994
Each game has been faithfully recreated for the Wii with the same graphics and sound as the arcade versions - and you can save the quarters for something else - laundry?
The controls are simple and can be customized to your needs (you can assign any button to any action). This is one feature I’d like to see in more games.
And another good thing about this collection is they don’t skimp on the credits. You, not the game makers, set how many credits you want to use.
But wait, there’s more. Each game has five goals that you can beat. Doing so will unlock several pictures about each game, and gives you a special game play mode
But this “special game play mode” is exactly like the regular mode except you have infinite lives. I was looking for something more inventive.
And let’s face it - there are many of us who have NO memories of playing these games. For those players, this game doesn’t give a reason to undertake a history of video games trip. This is what really ruins the compilation.
It seems part of the Wii library of games is stuck in the past; first SNK comes out compilations of games in the 1990s, now this is a compilation of games in the 1980s.
What’s next? A faithful rendition of Pong? Sometimes it’s best to leave the past in the past.
Data East Arcade Classics is for those who are fans of the games - and only for fans of those games. Other players just won’t give it a second glance. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Skip this

posted by HtStMg (CANONSBURG, PA) Oct 23, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

They certainly could have picked better titles. Burger Time is the best one on this disk but it just doesn't play that well on this platform.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Weak game

posted by SlajeD (WESTFIELD, IN) Nov 6, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

I'm an old school gamer and this had some good old games but a majority were duds I've never heard of or old titles under different names.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

DATA EAST

posted by NIMCOR3 (SAINT PAUL, MN) May 14, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

I love this game! DATA EAST is one of the best arcade machine game makers back in the day. Each game it has on it is a great classic and you have infinite lives because it has a button you can press to keep on insterting coins so you can finaly see the ending of all the games you couldnt beat back in the day because you ran out of quarters. alot of younger kids and newbies wont like this collection but loyal fans of classic data east games would love this collection its a must have and a keeper. The beat em up games are the best in this collection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Worth it for Burger Time

posted by hartsaves (MARICOPA, AZ) Jul 13, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

I picked this game simply because it had Burger Time on it. We had a blast playing Burger Time. The rest of the games were just ok.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Pretty bad.

posted by Notyetfood (HONOLULU, HI) Jun 8, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

I like old simple arcade games. I like plenty of games from this era. I thought for sure I would be a fan of this. I was wrong. This is awful. If there is a game on here you REALLY LOVE then go for it. Otherwise leave this one alone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

i could cry at this point...

posted by threaldeal (ORLANDO, FL) Mar 1, 2010

Member since Feb 2007

stop trying to exploit nostalgia already, these games are stupid trash now, and i'm tired of getting hyped up on a delusion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Do not waste time renting this game

posted by wenbat (WOOSTER, OH) Feb 23, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

The only reason I gave this game a one is because I couldn't give it a zero! There's not one arcade game on this disc I can remember ever even hearing of let alone ever have played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »