Rent Darksiders for PS3
view large frontback

Darksiders

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.3

7622 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid Hack 'n Slash

posted by opuskk (BELLINGHAM, WA) Mar 7, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

23 out of 23 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game really impressed me towards the end with the plot coming together, there were points in the game that I felt like the puzzles were too long and tiresome but I realize the game would be too short without these elements and respect them for that.

Graphics and music throughout the game I enjoyed thoroughly, there was some slowdowns but were few and far between. I think this is the best game I've played so far this year. Great job by Vigil and here's hoping for a sequel.

Cheers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Zelda + God of War + Batman...Worth a Shot.

posted by chknfoot (PORTLAND, OR) Aug 24, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Darksiders has what every game should. A solid story with a few plot twists, an interesting protagonist, decent game mechanics, and enemies you're more than happy to put down. It's got it all...Primarily because it takes obvious inspiration from several other franchises.

The combat is hack and slash, with some graphic context sensitive moments (God of War). The exploration and puzzle solving is vary linear, requiring the use of recently obtained items (Zelda). The story and character line up are akin to Saturday morning cartoons for teens (Batman...Complete with Mark Hamill).

The story is predictable, but pretty satisfying, and the star studded voice cast does a marvelous job. The cinematic aspects of the game (sound, design and acting), are what really stand out.

The combat gets a bit old, unless you're into the hack and slash style. Truth be told, just as you're getting a bit tired of the combat, they switch it up on you with a boss fight or new puzzle, all of which are pretty entertaining.

The exploration is fine, linear and pretty darn simple (you can acquire almost every item and nick knack in one, maybe two trips to an area), and the game tops out at 20 hours.

Take Zelda, God of War and Batman, and mix them with some slightly altered biblical myth.

The above mentioned franchises, for various reasons, are great. Slapping them together into a single twenty hour experience sounds good, right? That's the best word to describe Darksiders: Good. It's good...not great, but worth a look.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

one part GOW,One part Zelda sprinkle in Revalation

posted by spowell44 (JERSEY CITY, NJ) Aug 1, 2010

Member since Apr 2008

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

By now most people know this game took liberties from quite a few sources. However the developers still have some thing good on their hands ,but not quite a classic. Suprisingly the combat is where this game drops the ball. You don't expect that in a action adventure game but that is the case in Darksiders. Number one the combat animation is weak, your character is short and wide and layered. You cant see the range of motion or effort in the attacks. By todays standards the character animation was plain. The enemies for the most part were mindless bait, the combos...who cares what ever came out came out there was never any reason to prefer one over the other. The movement of the main character, well the contextual view was flat out troublesome to use. The dodge and jump mechanic always felt a bit slow or a bit short. These areas all needed to be fine tuned.
Where they did well was the puzzles and the traversing. That was top notch. Some puzzles were overly difficult but its good to mix a few of those in there. The story was compelling enough and the voice actors were at least believable. Maybe with Part two if they streamline the animation and make the combat more compelling then we are talking about a hit but until then, this was a good rental and a decent trophy grab.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fun game!! Totally Engrossing and Amazing!!

posted by QB9411 (CANOGA PARK, CA) Aug 13, 2010

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Whoaaa!! Finished this game yesterday and I'm
kinda sad the game is over. I've been playing
this game on and off the past 2 months and
each time I've been entertained and had a lot
of fun. The game is never boring because the
game designers always have something new
to throw at you.

After playing Uncharted2, God of War3 and
Bioshock2 I thought that no other game will be
as much fun.

Boy was I wrong. Darksiders was in the middle
of my GF queue and I was disappointed when GF shipped
it to me but after playing it I want to thank GF
for picking this game for me to play.

This game is amazing! If you are a GOd of War
fan or freak, try this game. Most of the game
feels like GofW but it's not. Sure you have the
chests, the wings etc. but Darksiders added a lot
more.

I love the Krull inspired crossblade weapon, the
grappling hook, voidwalker portal, a gun called
mercy with unlimited bullets and of course the
sword. And of course you get to ride a horse
called Ruin. All the weapons are amazing and shows
the creativity of Vigil Games.

The boss battles also are tough especially the
one where you have to ride your horse and have
to keep shooting at these "Tremors" inspired
worms and keeping the screen rotated 360 degrees
so you can see behind you :-) Ruin also has a
limited number of turbos you can use to evade the
worms.

All in all, I gave this game a 10. It's so much
fun to play, visuals, music and voice acting are
very good. The controls are amazingly done.
Combat moves are very smooth and easy to control
and learn. (Check out the dash with the sword cut move!)
and the storyline is engaging.

Where else do you get to cut off those angels
wings and fry them? :-)

I ended up buying this game from GF for the
replay value. It's money and time well spent :-)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game

posted by jalapeno (FAIRFAX, VA) Jul 6, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Okay, so it's basically just the baby of God of War and Legend of Zelda. But I don't have any problem with that. I mean can you call it the biggest stealer of the year when you compare it to 3D Dot Game Heroes? Okay, sure... it even takes some cues from Portal... but it all works and works WELL. The story is pretty good even though it may be a little tough to follow. The scope is epic... in the first moments you are shown just how much you tower over the humans and then as you lose your power you are shown how large the real enemy is. The combat has plenty of weapons and combos--and thank god it does because it starts to feel stale until you get a secondary weapon. The puzzles are smart and truly LoZ inspired. Definitely something I think everyone should try. If you want a good hack n slash that isn't mindless, this is right up your alley. Otherwise try... ~shudder~... Dante's Inferno.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun Button Masher

posted by jstnander (DUBLIN, CA) Jun 16, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed this game a lot more than I expected too. The graphics and music were great, and anytime I felt I was close to getting bored, something would change to keep it interesting. It's a solid button masher action game; it's definitely not the most difficult game in the world so if you are someone who wants hugely challenging games, skip it. If you are looking for a well made entertaining game, Darksiders is worth a look.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

God of War (Minus "God of")

posted by Alariche (BLOOMINGTON, IL) Jun 9, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Darksiders is a game clearly built to be similar in platforming style as the God of War series. The gameplay borrows heavily from the hack and slash action, with the pop up buttons being used in interactive cut scenes, and massive scale epic battles.

Darksiders combines excellent voice acting with a great story, and uses a wonderfully animated and very diverse world to tell it's story in.

The Story, simply put, is that there exists 4 sides in creation. 1) Heaven, 2) H ell, 3) Humanity. Those 3 sides are in a stalemate, wherein the agreement stands, they will not battle until they are of equal power. Humanity has a ways to go.

But who enforces this treaty? Side #4, The Four Horsemen. Enter our main character, War, who is summoned to Earth which is being attacked by Heaven, and H ell. The final battle has begun, but both sides seem confused about why. And War's power is waning, because the 7th Seal was not broken, to indicate the beginning of the battle. He was not supposed to be there.

The game chronicles what happens when a vehicle for Justice is thrust into a twisting plot with many facets of action. In the opening battle, War is struck down as his Four Horsemen powers finally fail him entirely, without the 7th Seal having been broken. He is struck down by a large Demon and find himself faced with only one option: ally with H ell to restore balance, at least for now.

This journey returns many weapons and abilities, introduces interesting characters (some foes, some allies), and allows us to see what has happened in the thousands of years that have passed since War died.

In the end, the gameplay is smooth and has an easy learning curve, the visuals are immersive and the music is excellent. The voice acting is quite good (Phil LaMarr and Mark Hamill of note), and the overall experience definitely rivals God of War in enjoyability.

If you liked God of War or Dante's Inferno, you'll like Darksiders.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very bloody, very fun

posted by Drumrguy (TUALATIN, OR) Jun 1, 2010

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was pretty skeptical about this game when it first came out, thought it would be just another run of the mill hack n' slash. But I was wrong. Right from the get-go this game is pretty violent, which is a good thing. In the first level you run around the destroyed city streets fighting angels and when you do enough damage you get to do a really cool finishing move that includes cutting their wings off and stabbing them right through the chest. And each enemy has its own cool finishing move you can do. The graphics are top notch, the art style looks like something straight out of a graphic novel. My biggest complaint is with the camera. Sometimes it'll be in some less than helpful angle when you're in the middle of a huge battle, which can be a little frustrating. But that is in no way a reason not to play this game. Darksiders is awesome!
By the way people, stop saying that every hack n' slash action adventure game that comes along is a God of War rip-off. Most games in that genre are going to have some of the same characteristics, that doesn't mean they're all trying to be exactly like one specific title. Granted God of War is an excellent game but it wasn't the first hack n' slash game ever created. Try to keep an open mind when gaming.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Cool game, not what i expected.

posted by Breadlee87 (TULSA, OK) May 11, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I thought this game was really cool. I like RPG style games with good stories. Darksiders storyline was pretty unique. It got frustratng at times trying to do all of the puzzles but there aren't any that are impossible. The controls are easy to use and flow pretty well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Darksiders

posted by lpcrierie (DUNKIRK, MD) May 9, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Okay well, in a nutshell, Darksiders is pretty much a good Ps2 game.

+ This game has a great plot and an interesting concept being in the middle of a battle between both heaven and he11.

+ You get to use a lot of cool weapons and tools with countless combos and magic abilities to aid you in your quest.

+ Level designs are complex and sometimes quite puzzling.

- Graphics are just fair and interface can be a bit unrealistic.

- Jumping definitely is tedious at some points in the game, for those of you who played the new Tomb Raider game, you will know what I'm talking about.

- This may not be such a negative thing, but with the unique concept set aside, the gameplay is basically God of War mixed with the Hulk game, as far as combat and travel goes.

Overall rating: 7

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

SOLID ADVENTURE Gaming

posted by Chorios (TULSA, OK) May 6, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Captivating Story

Incredibly elaborate puzzles!!! Like Zelda +1

SOLID game play reminds me of "God Of War," "Devil May Cry," & at times "Jak and Daxter"

Lots of power ups, unlockable weapons & abilities, the works

Good Characters w/ Excellent voice acting

Pretty good graphics

This game knows the ropes. it takes what is good about a history of games from "Spiro" to "God Of War" & makes a SOLID enjoyable game experience. Lots of monster slashing, lots of puzzle solving, & huge monster boss fights.

GLHF

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Slow Start, Good Story

posted by KajinPL (GARY, IN) May 5, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

You must be patient with this game from the beginning. You get a gist of War's abilities at the beginning and you will have to start from scratch from then on. The game has a pretty basic combat system and it doesn't take long to master. You may get bored with the hack and slash after a while. I have to admit that I almost gave up on the game after 2 hours of playing. What kept me interested was the storyline. Once you being to acquire various power-ups the game becomes a little more fluent. It's one of those games that starts to get better the more it progresses. The story itself was really interesting and I would really like to see where this story goes. I only hope that the next installment has more fluent gameplay. If you have a short attention span then I don't recommend playing this game, but I would say that it's worth a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Link on 'roids (All is far in loving War)

posted by VILAKH (BELLINGHAM, MA) May 1, 2010

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game could easily be made into a Legend of Zelda game, just swap out a couple character models, spruce up the post-apocalyptic environment for one of high-fantasy and voilà!

This is not a knock against the game, mind you. After all, imitation is the sincerest form of flattery. Darksiders also borrows a bit from the God of War series. These points have been made in several other reviews, some for the better, some for the worse. I fall on the "for the better" side. I don't see it as a blatant rip-off of those other games, but rather an ambitious homage. War doesn't necessarily stand alongside his obvious heroes, Link and Kratos. Rather, he stands in their shadow, trying his damnedest to make his own in the world of gaming. And it's quite an effort made on his first outing.

The graphics are good. Nothing stellar for the current generation, but none too shabby. The world, considering its post-apocalyptic theme, is very colorful and rich in detail. In the beginning, there are more human survivors, and I wish they kept that up throughout the game and implemented it somehow, but it certainly doesn't detract from the gameplay. It would have been cool if War stood up for the humans more, but I suppose that wouldn't really fit with his character.

The sound effects are good, great voiceover work (Mark Hamill!) and a passable storyline. There is a decent item upgrade and modification system, you can find artifacts in the world that will alter your weapons and make them more powerful, reap more souls (which act as money, health and so on) et cetera.

The combat is surprisingly deep. You will HAVE to utilize different weapons and tactics for certain enemies, particularly bosses. The bosses can be challenging, even on the default difficulty. There's a fair amount of exploration, and good rewards for poking about. Replay value is there in using the special armor you can find on your first playthrough, as well as getting trophies. Definitely a good rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Meh

posted by Paladin76 (MALAKOFF, TX) Jan 22, 2010

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It's okay, the game is playable and can be fun at times but nothing special and does nothing new.

Rent it and play it if you are bored.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Ocarina of Time + God of War= Life Changing

posted by enya64 (LONG BEACH, CA) Jan 6, 2010

Member since Sep 2007

42 out of 52 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

Mailman delivered this game 11am yesterday. I was playing until 5am today. This is the next Zelda 64, even more so than Twilight Princess. By the time you get to the first major puzzle in a certain rotating bridge/lava room, you'll say "Miyamoto couldn't have done it any better." My wife sat up with me until 5am because she could stop watch and try to solve the room puzzles (She's a big religion history buff and the horsemen spinoff storyline had her hooked). Beautiful graphics (not Uncharted 2, but very well done), storyline that won't let you put the controller down, and gameplay that is essentially the best 3d Zelda ever with air combos, God of War violence and multiple enormous boss encounters. From the reviews I read prior, this game is at least 15 hours long, but after yesterday I can see no other game is getting touched until Mass Effect 2. Sorry Bayonetta! Maybe I'll see you next month. Oh wait Dante's Inferno and Bioshock 2! Hmmm....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Instant Classic...

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Jan 8, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

20 out of 26 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

None the least, this game is completely brilliant. Gameplay style has a Prototype feel to it while having a more Linear Gameplay. Controls are simple and reeking havoc comes with an ease. Having a bit more puzzle-like interactions with a RPG-ish flare, that isn't boring.

You play as War, one of the Four-Horsemen of the Apocalypse. Anyone who is familiar with the ending of the Bible: the story of the apocalypse, the end of humanity. Could get a guess of what to expect.

Inferno reins over Earth, fire rains from the heavens. Molten brimstone breaks threw the grounds, and Legions of Demons fallow. Order is broken and the Four-Horsemen are set on trial. War has to set order back onto the third kingdom of God, Earth.

VIGIL and THQ, has composed a absolute gem: the gameplay seems to go on forever, the graphics are superb, the storyline sinks you in. There is truly a ton of brilliant development that has gone into this game. That really, it leaves me with so much to point out. War and the weapons all upgrade, the world is at its end -beautifully-, you get perks for your weapons, MASSIVE LEVELS, giant enemies that hesitate you proceeding. I been playing for some time(over 8 hours) and I have yet gotten the horse.

The game seems to go on forever, but you don't spend 15mins installing data onto your PS3. What I only wish it had, was more concept game art and creature descriptions inside the game.

If you are into single player games that involves: strategy, problem solving, or just playing a brilliantly designed game, Darksiders is a must have.

Darksiders has truly deemed, Brutal Legend, Bargain Bin material...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Hated it...

posted by boomrpup (CHALFONT, PA) May 9, 2011

Member since Mar 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I can't stand button-smashers. Pointless "plot". Simply run around, stand next to a baddy, and hit a bunch of buttons until they're dead. Yawn...I sent it back after 1 hour of "playing" it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

wow

posted by reviewer12 (FOLSOM, CA) Jan 17, 2010

Member since Jul 2007

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

if legend of zelda and god of war had a child and action/adventure was the mid-wife and bullet time mechanic was waiting in the other room the baby would be named DARKSIDERS. this game was simply amazing. i loved it. the reason this game deserves every ounce of good press is because if they made a biblical and gory, gritty version of LOZ this is it im giving it a nine though because some puzzles were quite difficult with littel direction on where to go.
bottom line if you like god of war and fancy LOZ try this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

gameplay fine, but lacks reason to play

posted by charleycur (OCEANSIDE, CA) Aug 26, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

most games that deal with similar subject matter, offer a reason for your characters action, whether that be revenge (God of war) or saving the world (Dragon Age). in this game you play as one of the four horsemen, War, but you don't fight for either side, you fight to ensure "balance" which only ensures that the battle continues to rage on. and by the time the game gets up to speed, humanity is gone and the war for them is lost. so with nothing to fight for, and nothing except a wounded pride to fix, the game lacks soul, and its dark heavily demonic story line leave you feeling lost an unnerved.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Hours of suck

posted by george06 (OOLTEWAH, TN) Apr 14, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game blows. thats all i can say for it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

not as fun as I thought

posted by farmwhitehorse (FORT HOOD, TX) Mar 30, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

the worst thing about this game is the pointless running around and the characters that take forever to beat. even the simple BS ones that are everywhere take as long as a big boss to defeat got to the frustrated point of turning it off and sending it back before i was done with the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good game LONG ENDING!

posted by atony420PN (CUPERTINO, CA) Apr 6, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS SIMPLY AMAZING REALLY GOOD GRAPHICS AND MORE THAN FUN GAME PLAY A MUST TRY FOR 2010 OR IF YOU WERE A BIG FAN OF ZELDA, GOD OF WAR, OR PRINCE OF PERSIA THEN YOU WILL MOST LIKELY LOVE THIS GAME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good mix of old in a new apocalyptic package

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Jan 8, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

10 out of 20 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

"Darksiders", the new action adventure game from THQ and comic book artist Joe Madureira, follows the exploitss of War, one of the Four Horsemen, as he tries to find who framed him for starting the Apocalypse. The game borrows liberally from other sources, most notably "God of War" and the Zelda games, but this is not such a bad thing, as it works them into something new while retaining its familiarity to action game players. The graphics are well done and nicely detailed, the story, while not wholly original (after all, it boils down to the same old wronged man seeks vengeance on the one who wronged him) is still interestingly told. The characters are all fairly well acted (Mark Hamill again turns in a fine voice acting performance as The Watcher) and work well with the story. The combat is satisfying, and for the most part works well against a nice variety of enemies. Strategy becomes necessary to take down the larger foes (some are huge) and War has a good variety of combos to work with. So why isn't this game perfect? Unfortunately, there are a few issues that bring it down. The camera is not always your friend, and the controls are at times unresponsive. Even worse is when War gets more combos, the controls begin to get a little overcomplicated and clumsy, as every button on the PS3 controller is used. While these issues may be a deal breaker for some, for me they weren't enough to prevent me from enjoying the game. The game is of decent length (in the 12-15 hour range) and has some replay as it is a large world to explore. May not be a must buy, but definitely give this one a rent and see how fun the Apocalypse can be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Two words, absolutley absolutley amazing!

posted by washburn (HUNTSVILLE, AR) Jan 18, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game has definitly bumped its way up into my top ten favorite gams. With its brutal fighting to its mind bender puzzels to the epic drama. One of my favorite things about it was his horse ruin. While riding and fighting on his back th gameplay is so flued, it doesnt look like a lot of games where every where you go the horse stays level. It actually has as much flexibility as the main player. I highly recomend this game, a lot of people think its just a plin nock off of god of war, but I think it is on a completley different level. It might even be better, I do not know yet, I am going to have to see GOW3. But no matter what I say you are just going to have to get this and try it for your self. I am sure you will not be disapointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Could have been better...

posted by Romnia (RIO VISTA, CA) Feb 4, 2010

Member since Feb 2009

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game feels epic, and exciting at first just blasting through everything, till you get your powers taken away after dying from the "destructor" aka Devil. This game takes plots, gameplay, items from other games and puts a new title on it.
The combat is repetitive, the puzzles seem like a monkey made it, the upgrades don't make big differences, and overall could have been more unique.
The whole story feels pretty boring as well, they try to make it epic but fails. Later on the bosses are HUGE where epicness kicks in! But untill then your stuck to fighting the same demons and angels for hours on hours of mindless hack and slash.
If you don't mind any of the stuff above, just rent it; steer clear of this game if you do mind.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse