Rent Darksiders II for Wii U
view large frontback

Darksiders II

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.7

196 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game

posted by digkingdom (DALLAS, TX) Mar 4, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I don't even usually play games like this but this has been one of the most enjoyable games i've ever played!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great at Melee Combat, Bad at Shooting

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jan 1, 2013

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It’s good to be Death – a really powerful fighter who can beat up all sorts of huge monsters with a variety of weapons (axes, swords, or scythes).
In Darksiders II, your task is to wander about a vast world to – well do something. But this game does a good job of keeping you on track to the next location.
Melee combat is really easy – just mash the attack button and you can deal out a lot of pain and death to your opponents. There’s also an option to manually lock on to one opponent – something I’ve always wanted to see in these type of games.
The ranged combat, on the other hand, has problems. When a game lets you shoot a gun, you have the option of aiming the gun using the right control stick.
Not in Darksiders II – the right analog stick is not used as an aiming aid.
When you do fire your gun, you automatically shoot the nearest opponent to Death, which can be a problem if the nearest target isn’t the one you want to shoot.
But this lack of control really gets annoying when you have to hit a certain target that isn’t an opponent. In one area, you have to place bombs at a statue and detonate them using the gun in order to get the key to move to the next part. But aiming the gun to detonate the bombs is a real pain. Many, many shots would fly completely over the target, resulting in a complete miss. Even throwing the bombs is troublesome at best.
Darksiders II is a lot of fun to play – but the aiming issues really tarnish what joy I got from playing it. RENT IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Darksiders 2 for wii u

posted by Tigervideogames (LAWRENCEVILLE, GA) Jan 1, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Starting off the game was good. It had decent controls and combat was fun. I just had a hard time with the story. It was not really fun for me. It is a pretty decent game with awesome enemies , but it could be a little better for my standards.(good luck with wall walking or what it is called)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Ubisoft Games work only half the time

posted by KuramaArctica (LAKEWOOD, WA) Jan 21, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

Ubisoft Games, like ACBF and Darksiders 2 will only be read by your Wii U half of the time. So there's a 50% chance that you will get a bad copy from gamefly and send the game back for another game. So you have to wait for your previous game to be received, Darksiders to be sent and received by you, then having to send it back and wait for another game which in total will be about 2 to 3 weeks u are without a game. It's not Gameflys fault it's Ubisoft when they rush production to make a product. So in my Opinion, DO NOT RISK IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Very Good, Very Buggy

posted by noclevername1 (NAZARETH, PA) Jun 21, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

This game has a lot going for it. It is so much fun, the controls are solid (even the water portions), and the help character never gets in the way. Just bear in mind the help character, Dust, only points to the right way it you pick the right quest. The problem with the game is it is just too broken. You can get stuck, have the game crash, or just stop stop altogether. I quit when a boss froze, and i was stuck attacking minions with no way to advance. This game had a patch, it would be a solid 9.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Reminds me of a Zelda game

posted by skyzyx (SANTA CLARA, CA) Feb 18, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

Puzzles, dungeons, an open field where bad guys pop-up. It has a very Zelda-like feel to it, but without that iconic Nintendo magic. It's worth a play until the new Zelda for Wii U comes out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Kinda dissappointing

posted by Element187 (ORLANDO, FL) Feb 2, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I can't say I would recommend this game to anyone. Its buggy as all get out (it has froze my console at least 5 times already), the polygons are atrocious, the art style leaves me felling meh, and the story isn't very engaging and after 8 hours of play, I don't feel compelled to keep playing..... and for people thinking this game is anything like Zelda, don't listen to those reviewers who compare it to LOZ, because its nowhere close. The game feels closer to Ninja Gaiden 3 than Legend of Zelda... If you just like hacking and slashing a ton of bad guys you will like it, but the repetition has bored me to tears.. I will give it one more hour of play before I return it.

It does have one bright spot: The music in this game is fantastic

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Death to nice?

posted by ThornlessDrop21 (HENDERSONVILLE, TN) Jan 26, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I thought this game was richer in story and creativity than the first. The building of the weapons to my custom play was something that made me play the game longer and longer. The only thing that they really screwed the pooch on was freezing. In my experience I almost tossed my control at the screen for these reasons while playing the addons. Having to get rid of many of my good weapons just to move on without it freezing. Whats up with that?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Pretty Good

posted by ManInUS (MONROE, NC) Jan 20, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I personally liked this game. I just loved having sythes and hammers as weapons to slaughter my enemies. What I didn't like was the enviornment and the bird I had to follow. The bird led me to places I've already gone to and back and forth on random doors. I was lost the entire time in the game. That bird didn't help much later. I found the enemies a little harder to kill than they needed to be, but overall, the game was pretty good with it's graphics, weapons, the horse, and the beauty of the large scale enviornments. It just didn't do good with the structure of the more closed in enviornments, the harder-to-kill enemies, and the bird. This adventure game is not a game for me, but I would recommend this for someone who loves complex adventure games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »