Rent Darksiders II for PS3
view large frontback

Darksiders II

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii U, Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.7

2571 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

choppy

posted by TeamChronic (MORGANTOWN, WV) Sep 15, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game is ok and the story line is alright too, I guess, but the controls are sloppy. The lay out of the buttons could be better and the smoothness of the characters interactions with his terrain is terrible. Several times I got stuck and had to spend more time then I would like to figure out the correct path. Its primarily a problem solving game driven by loot collection and leveling up. Not one of my favorites.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

God of war offspring!!!!

posted by Duhkydd (HONOLULU, HI) Jun 24, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

very good game....much potential for part 3 on nex gen!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

First Review

posted by Riorzen (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Apr 12, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game i found, was very entertaining. It was much like the first, but that isn't a bad thing considering how epic the first one was. From the rich environments, to the challenging enemies, to the engaging story, this game had me from the start. The areas and locations always brought something new to the table, so it never got boring looking at the landscape. They have improved on the combat system, making it so combos flow better, and overall feel better. But this game is not without it's faults of course. The side quests are sometimes tedious and don't really give you much in the end, and i do wish that we were allowed to make some of the most difficult choices in the game, like the ending, when death is given a very difficult choice. All in all this was a very fun game and i highly recommend it, it was a blast despite its few flaws.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

darksiders 2

posted by usernamealready (MADISON, WI) Jan 18, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

to much platforming not enough combat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Hard time finishing

posted by Justdawg08 (WAUSAU, WI) Nov 29, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I always like to finish my games, this one's hard.. as it's long and mostly boring.

If you enjoy pushing stones around, you may like this game. It's a bit like Skyrim meets Lord of the Rings: War in the North if you played that. But way more boring. And I think the controls are fairly bad. Graphics don't look quite as good as you would have hoped.

The story isn't very engaging, maybe just slightly interesting. The combat can be fun, it can also be frustrating. The loot system is one of the simpliest and easiest to use I've found though. Thank god for that at least.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Just as BAD as the first one

posted by malaka (SACRAMENTO, CA) Sep 26, 2012

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I figured i'd give this version a chance after renting the first one, (because these games are definitely rental worthy at best...) and was still disappointed by the flaws the game has. Not only do you get stuck doing countless annoying maze like labyrinths but the gameplay is glitchy too top it off. Too many times after 'wall jumping' and falling only to have Death get stuck in a corner and having to restart from the beginning. Ended up not beating it and shipping it back. Another game failing to try and top the perfection that was God of War. If you liked Darksiders 1 and had no problems with it, then you will like this game as well because it is the exact same thing. Exact.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing Sequel with few issues

posted by shooterjunkie56 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Aug 15, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

11 out of 15 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

Darksiders was a very overlooked game because it was a very fun game that took the best elements from God of War and Legend of Zelda. Darksiders 2 is an epic sequel to an already great game. The game is lengthy, the art design is awesome and unique, boss fights are amazing, combat is fast and fluid, only minor issues keep it from being perfect.
In Darksiders 2 you play as Death, a horseman of the Apocalypse on a mission to restore humanity. The story is very well written but it has a sequel-bait ending.
Pros:
Fluid and fast combat
Incredible art design
fun and creative puzzles
epic boss fights
lengthy 20-25 hour campaign
Good story
Cons:
Framerate issues
some minor glitches with sound and animations
lousy ending

if you liked the first Darksiders you must pick up Darksiders 2 because I feel it improves on everythng the first one did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A step up from the original but still flawed

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Aug 22, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

"Darksiders II" takes place alongside the first game, though this time we follow Death instead. Death is a more likeable character than War, doling out wisecracks to those he meets on his journey. The environments are much bigger this time around, so it helps Death has his trusty steed Despair to aid him in his travels. As you progress through the game, you will unlock fast travel, though it won't always be accessible to you. Death moves quicker than War, so combat and platforming is a bit more fluid. Even still, controls may fail you on occassion, usually at an inopportune time. RPG elements are introduced, and there is plenty of loot to be found, ensuring that no two Deaths will look alike. Switching out weapons and apparel isn't always the best, as not every new item improves your stats completely. In fact, most improve part of your stats while lowering others. The menus are a little clumsy to use, but not so bad as to be game breaking. Same with switching between abilities- you need to bring the wheel up each time to switch between those mapped to the R2 button (like your gun and you Deathclaw, a hook shot that enables you to grab points from a distance, either for retrieval or moving about a room). This is awkward, but not so bad. What's more frustrating are the glitches that do raise their head from time to time. These include locking the game up, NPCs not appearing when and where they should, and NPCs not performing as they should (I had a ghost who was supposed to help me in combat who merely stood in a corner instead). the camera also can be very unhelpful, especially in tight quarters, and leads to some cheap deaths and falls. The story is very good, so it's enough to keep you going, even when the fetch quests and combat begin to feel tedious. The environments are huge and nicely detailed, but fairly empty. Voice acting is especially good, even for minor characters. If you enjoyed the first, you should like this one, but you may not love it. 7.5/10 stars

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Extremely repetitive

posted by Mrpostitnote (BUTLER, PA) Jan 2, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game seemed good at first. The graphics are decent, though the lighting on characters is mediocre. Once you play into the game however, you will realized the game is unbelievably repetitive. You have to solve a puzzle just to open a door, and the puzzles get more elaborate and difficult as the game goes on. It's one of those games that are like: go to this guy, he knows how to get there, then you have to do a favor for the guy only to find out he actually doesn't know how to get there, then he points you to a different guy that knows and so on and so on. The predictability and absurd amount of puzzles really takes away from the game. I guess the creators of this game forgot that games are supposed to be fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Collect 3.

posted by Tmactown01 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Aug 20, 2012

Member since Sep 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

If you like collecting 3 of everything for 20 hours+ this game for you. That's basically whole game with a boss fight here and there. It's fun but was held back from doing the same thing over and over.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Greatsiders II

posted by StarRaven (WELLINGTON, FL) Aug 17, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Much like the first one, I didn't have high expectations and am impressed to say the least.

The graphics can be hit or miss, but the artstyle is solid all the way through.
I'm not crazy about the voice work.
Gameplay is good, should feel ordinary.

The best part is how much of an RPG it is considering that it's an action title. In fact, it seems to be the perfect blend of what an action RPG is, minus a party of other characters. The world is relatively big, with very deep dungeons but it reminds me more of the world from Brutal Legend than that of a Fallout or Skyrim. This is a good thing!!!

The story picks up from where the last one left off and it's a lot of fun playing as a different Horsemen. Although it's hard to imagine how this game is going to branch off for the remaining riders but hopefully they will each get their own game and it will be just as good as the first two.

If you've got some extra time to kill, definitely give this game your attention.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The 4 horseman ride again!!!!!

posted by kbodin1 (LYNN, MA) Aug 16, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

The graphics are a little cartoonish kinda like Borderlands, but the game is alot of fun so far. I love the fighting and i love how you can hold the L2 button to stay zeroed in on your opponent while fighting.
The gameplay is smooth so far and the story line is pretty cool and not boring like other games.
If the graphics were like God or war, this game would have gotten a 9 rating from me.
It's a definite awesome rent. I have put in about 2 hours into the game and i can't wait to play more

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

kids game

posted by the_dude (NEW YORK, NY) Mar 8, 2013

Member since May 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

if you have LOTS of time and are 14 you will like this game. If you are 30 you will lose interest in an hour.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Loved the first, loathed the second

posted by Hurumph (SMYRNA, GA) Oct 28, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed the first Darksiders and was excited to see what became of the universe after the conclusion of the first game but unfortunately this is on more of a prequel/parallel timeline and answered fewer questions than "Prometheus." The gameplay is repetitive (lots of grinding for three for a kind), storyline uninspired, and it's one of the few games that I've ever sent back before finishing a play through . Seems like THQ really rushed or under financed this game in light of their recent business troubles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Play for 2 hours and got bored...

posted by 10001gamer (NAPLES, FL) Nov 25, 2012

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Why do you make a "Mature" game, yet it looks like a kid game.. this is a complete mis-match of styles... poor concept here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Darksiders II

posted by steveoa12 (MARIETTA, GA) Nov 25, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Ahhh...the Classic "I wish I were God Of War" game. Decent enough, they try to make it more than a button smasher by a skill tree, but the horrible platforming sections make this game more annoying than fun. You can take on dozens of enemies and destroy them all, only to fall to your death on a "Walk across the wall, or jump this hole" simple platforming section. Oh well, that's why I Gamefly!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Unbelievable!!!! Play to believe!

posted by XTopherGuarino (ROCHESTER, NY) Aug 16, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

They did it! Not only topped the first (sorry if you missed it!) but created the most incredible game ever! No Joke. The creator once said, "I took the best parts of the best games, and improved on them." And, he did, for sure. The climbing and story of Uncharted II, the fighting and large scale enemies of God of War, the dungeon/puzzle/collectables of Zelda, the quest style of Elder Scrolls and the online use of WoW. And thats all I can say, WOW!

Don't miss out on this one gamers. Well done THQ. Game of the year for sure!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

a really great game and it is really fun to play

posted by twolfen (PULLMAN, WA) Aug 15, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

probaly one of my favorite games everyone should try this really great and fun game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Vigil deserves Dev of The Year

posted by Venomspire (ATHENS, GA) Aug 15, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Just like Rocksteady did with the Batman Arkham games, Vigil has done with Darksiders. While the first installment was an amazing game to start off with, Joe Mad and Vigil took it a million steps further. Loot system that rivals the like of Diablo and Kingdoms of Alamur, check. Deep RPG elements that compete with Fallout and Elder Scrolls, check. Fighting mechanics a la God of War and Devil May Cry, check. Add on the art direction, beautiful landscapes, and character design that only Joe Mad can come up with and you have a possible GoTY in Darksiders 2. While there may be minor cosmetic graphical issues near the end of the game, they are nothing compared to how great this game is. The only other issue I have found is that as with most action/adventure games the camera angles can sometimes be an annoyance, at best. But again, these are minor issues. Feel like the first game lacked depth? The entire first area (1 of 4) is bigger in size and as long as, in game time, as the entire first game. Still want more? Try taking on their arena known as The Crucible. In the Crucible, you take on 100 waves of enemies at 5 wave intervals. Every 5 waves you have the choice to keep going for better prizes or quit and receive the prize you have earned. In Darksiders 2 you truly are able to make Death your own unique character. With all sorts of visual armor choices, weapon styles, melee skills, arcane skills, no Death will be the same. Another new feature to Darksiders 2 is the addition to Tomes. Tomes are basically an in game messaging system where you can trade items with other users, receive DLC content, and even receive items from characters in game.Lastly, if you felt like the first game was a little easy, Darksiders 2 has added in a NG+ mode and a Nightmare difficulty. Boost your character up through several NG+ runs and try to take on Nightmare mode, where death in any battle will result in your save file being erased. This is my GoTY. Do not pass this game up! 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent Story/Game

posted by cpt4500 (LAGUNA HILLS, CA) Aug 15, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I didn't play the first Darksiders so I am vague on the original story but I read up on it from wiki to get caught up.

The story is not slow or boring, it starts off with great action and compelling story of creators, angels, & demons. Mankind is wiped out, "Death" is all that can save us now!

Action is God of War style while being able to get 100x combos if fighting 4+ monsters. Multiple types of combos with power up abilities while maintaining a skill tree. I am only 3 hours in but hooked, probably going to end up buying this. Gotta love Gamefly for that.

Loot system is simple and not complicated or clunky.

Multiple dungeons to explorer with a Prince of Persia sense of puzzles & acrobatics (Zelda puzzle style as well).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

darksiders2

posted by billyblanks (HENDERSON, NV) Sep 8, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

4 out of 12 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

terrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by Predator509 (ORLANDO, FL) Oct 30, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is so awesome I never sleep just to beat it so cool luv this story
And thanks to gamefly for making this happen

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Do not over look this game!!!

posted by Jrw1202 (KALAMAZOO, MI) Aug 15, 2012

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

The first Darksiders deserved more credit than it was given. All of this comparing to other games, when I only looked at Vigil's ability to create an involved story through what ever game play mechanics that were appropriate. In my mind Darksiders was one of my all time favorite games. Darksiders 2 is amazing!!! My only complaint I wish that they implemented a lock-on system to enable the player to really take advantage of the dodge mechanics. PLAY THIS GAME!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome!!!

posted by bombastic99 (ROGERS, AR) Aug 15, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

this game is awesome all in all this game is awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

smh

posted by kreyes19 (NEW YORK, NY) Oct 7, 2012

Member since Oct 2010

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

another game that suffers from identity crisis

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse