Rent Darksiders II for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Darksiders II

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii U, PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.7

3749 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by NeoShad (SAVANNAH, GA) Oct 6, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

When I buy games Im looking for longevity and this game had it lol I swear it took me a good minute to run through it...Some parts were a little frustrating but then again what game isn't right? but hey..all in all i loved and recommend it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great rent

posted by jcarpenter105 (WEST SENECA, NY) Aug 15, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

12 out of 16 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Im not all the way through yet but i got far enough to know this game is a very fun rent. if you ever played zelda it has that kinda feel to it. a lot of open area to run to. button mashing mele fighting. The world is also split up into various regions like the water, fire, ice, and grassy based areas that games have stopped doing recently. the terrain looks excellent and you get a good freeling of adventure riding around on your horse. When you go inside dungeons they have various rooms you go back and forth between solving puzzles much like zelda games. graphics are pretty good. definately up to date there, but somewhat cartoony. you start off right away with a horse which is the same as riding a zelda horse, so i thought that was kinda cool. there is a level up system to this game that lets you pick what to put the points in but there but i didnt think there were enough options.

all in all i would give it a 9 because the battle system is amazing in this. i never seen a game that you can come so close to being hit but still be able to dodge. and the controlls are pretty easy to use. just have to get used to them like every game. but not enough customization in this game to compete with other ones coming out or that have this year. this is a high quality rent tho

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Gets WAY too tedious.

posted by jnoble32000 (QUEEN CITY, MO) Oct 22, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This game actually starts out, I think, pretty strong. However, as I played the allure of the game just continued to weaken. I remember reading another review of this game where someone mentioned "jack of all trades master of none." That is EXACTLY right.

1. The storyline gets worse as the game goes along, becoming very unispired and cliche. By 13 hrs in it was just LAME.

2. The RPG elements, I don't think, were well implemented. You have to put alot of points into any power for it to become really useful (although harvest was quite good early) and you simply go through gear like popcorn so there is no real sense of achievement.

3. This is the really big one for me.....FAR too much emphasis on puzzle solving verses fighting. As many others have said, the puzzles aren't necessarily hard but they just take FOREVER. I would say where I was at (prolly 50-60% of the way through) every dungeon is maybe 30% fighting and the rest solving puzzles to get to the fighting.

This is honestly the first game from Gamefly that I had to return before completion; I just couldn't stomach the drawbacks. The first darksiders was a perfect blend of fighting and puzzle solving and the story was great. This one, for the reasons mentioned above, just took a very wrong turn.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

time to stop and kill

posted by peaches129z (ENOLA, PA) Aug 19, 2012

Member since May 2011

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

first tons of hours , awsome gameplay with speed to boot . i really enjoy free roam and making your own tools of death . only flaw i c is some times your guy will jump the wrong way again and again . BUT mainly me rushing .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better than the first

posted by HiGhStAkEs26 (NEWINGTON, CT) Aug 19, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Great game:) much more in depth than the first one, it caught me by surprise.Would definitely recommend it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Darksiders 2 goes beyond with DEATH

posted by CptnCommamdo (SAN FERNANDO, CA) Aug 13, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2011

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

Darksiders 2 the sequel to 2010's Darksiders goes beyond with DEATH. Developed by Vigil Games & Published by THQ Darksiders 2 follows the exploits of DEATH, one of the four horsemen of the Apocalypse, in a weaving tale that runs parallel to the events in the Original Darksiders game. While plenty of games are set in an apocalyptic wasteland, not many will let you participate in the actual End of the World. Influenced by games like God of War & Legend of Zelda, Darksiders offers an expansive world to explore, with satisfying combat & intriguing puzzles to solve peppered throughout. It lacks Story, but Gameplay will keep you busy. Sound Design is somewhat awesome. Controls are a bit off, Art Design has improved but will likely see Screen Tearing like in the 1st. Puzzles are challenging & has that lenghty single-player campaign you desire. While Darksiders was not innovative by any stretch of the imagination, Darksiders 2 feels fresh with new ideas & areas. If you played Darksiders & couldn't get enough of the action & adventure then you're gonna love Darksiders 2. Darksiders 2 gets an 8 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Epic game, but needed polish

posted by seentursch (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Nov 2, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The graphics are way outdated, there are problems with the camera, and the controls needed work. Although these technical problems are noticeable, the game is epic, fun, and the challenges are addictive. Wasn't too impressed with the story, but it was worth paying attention too. The game is a must play for most, but just be aware of the problems mentioned.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Trying New Things

posted by Xanarax (REDDING, CA) Sep 8, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

To say this game was better than the first would imply that everything was better, which is incorrect. Darksiders 2 took a different direction on the previous game play that fans of the first might not enjoy. Heavy RPG elements have been implemented into the game to give it a more expansive feel, however, at times it feels like the game is just too over-saturated with items that it can just become confusing. At times the controls seem to be ill conceived and unresponsive, and the dodge system can seem erratic. The story and the graphics is where the game truly shines, fans of the first can appreciate how the two games intertwine by the conclusion, and the graphics are gorgeous. All in all, if you played the first you'll probably like and hate certain things about the game, including the elusive game crashing glitches still present. And to someone new to the story, if you like RPG's this could be for you. I for one, found myself horribly frustrated and pleased in the end. 9 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

darksiders 2

posted by joeyace (Chicago, IL) Sep 8, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

great game,good graphics good game play,not to short the game just gos on and one but its all good just fun all the way through theirs 62 parts if u get caught on part you can see walkthrough on u-tube

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Action fans must play

posted by level69troll (DAVENPORT, FL) Sep 2, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was a huge fan of the original Darksiders and highly anticipated this game. I decided to rent over buying though, as other than a 2nd play through on th hardest setting, the game had very little replay value, and so does this one. But that aside, the game is great. It's a lot of fun, the difficulty scales as you continue on so if you run through avoiding enemies you'll be punished, the upgrade system and loot system makes the game deeper than before. The dungeons are cleverly designed, and boss battles are amazing. Besides a few rare technical problems like framerate slow downs (rare) and freezing (only happened once), the game is great. The story can be hard to follow if you did not play the first, but that game is great also. I highly recommend the entire series to fans of action games. It's a mix of God of War and Zelda, those words enough should seal the deal for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by pdsulli982 (MARICOPA, AZ) Aug 30, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game keeps twisting and turning, the interactive play is awesome. There is a larger world than you think when playing. Customization of the character and fighting abilities rock!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

i love this series!!!!

posted by XteadyBeaRXx (MOLALLA, OR) Aug 26, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is awesome death is a killer monkey that is the best way to describe him he climbs wall and he will kill anyone that gets in his way to save war this game was fun long and hard there are alot of puzzles alot of hard bosses and overall a great game but i would give it a 9.5 rating because i found tow glitches it was the same glitch but it happened to me twice it were they wold run or fly into the wall and they have unlimited health but anyways try this game out it now has side quest and new game-plus it is just alot of fun try it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better then first

posted by cannibalgod (FLAGSTAFF, AZ) Aug 13, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

6 out of 15 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game in my opinion is much better then the first one. It should definitely not be missed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Easy Setting, My Donkey (made me change)

posted by Nitemann (STOCKBRIDGE, GA) Nov 10, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game was good enough to keep me playing, but so damned difficult, i felt like i needed to be a jedi to play it. I am a casual gamer, and feel like games should find the balance between challenging, and irritating. After 30 or so tries on the rising burning elevator in the land of the dead, i gave up and sent it back. so disappointed that i couldn't finish it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

DarkSiders 2 Good

posted by halo2525 (EUGENE, OR) Aug 19, 2012

Member since Aug 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I bought it and i have been playing it all day every day sens i got it so far it really good i love the rpg part of the game alot and the level's are grate it's like god of war zelda and koa and pop all in one game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Achievement hunters beware

posted by malenko (LAKE MARY, FL) Aug 16, 2012

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

While the game is a blast, if you are an achievement hunter be warned, you will not be able to get them all without either purchasing the game or buying the online passcode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Like the First One? You'll like this one more.

posted by LIQUIDFX00 (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Aug 14, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2012

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

This is just one of those games that are great. If you don't know what it about, you play Death. It is an action game with RPG elements. Rent it and I bet you will end up renting the first one if you haven't played it already.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Darksiders 2: the open world RPG

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Aug 31, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Rarely do you see games improve so much over the previous titles, but Darksiders 2 is better on every front over the original. Expect much more depth, replayability, looting, and the epic Zelda like puzzles you'd expect.

The huge difference here is that D2 is like a mini Skyrim. They added a ton of looting to the game. You'll find tons of treasure, armor & arms, perks, and accessories. You're constantly upgrading/selling/trading, etc. and can even fast travel to & from dungeons to sell and upgrade your arsenal.

Once you start progressing, you realize that it's a pretty big open world. Death can ride his trusty steed and explore the various lands, open new areas, and find secrets. I loved the exploration aspects added here, giving you the addictive feel of games like Skyrim and Borderlands where you always want the next best piece of armor or weapon.

D2 still impressed me with mind-bending puzzles, and even mixed in some Portal-like weapons to freshen up the dungeons. Expect multi-level dungeons, finding a new gadget to get to the next part, getting lost, and using your brain power. You'll need to be creative to use your tools and beat the dungeons and bosses.

Death is also much faster, quicker, and better overall as a fighter. He's got way cooler weapons and armor, and his skill tree is pretty darn sick. The 2 skill trees focus on either upgrading your moves list, or upgrading your basic skillset and summons. You can summon crazy birds or ghouls who fight beside you, unlock crazy over-the-top moves, and use your skill points to upgrade each skill up to 3 different times, adding new perks. So each person will have their own unique character and moves.

D2 is almost a perfect single player experience. I think this can stand on par with Sony's God of War any day and I'm actually working on my game+ 2nd playthrough. This is a MUST RENT.

Milt Drucker
-gamertag-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game

posted by suiemoto (MILTON, WI) Aug 17, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Great game awesome fight battles and quests only bad thing about it is that there not a whole lot of getting money out of the quests and the fights.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

It's a puzzler...

posted by Pez_D_Spencer (COLUMBUS, OH) Nov 26, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This is the most disappointing game I've played all year.

The first Darksiders is one of the highlights of this console generation. The sequel just isn't very good.

I played ten hours of this one before I came to the grand realization that I was playing a puzzler with RPG elements. I like a good environmental puzzle every now and again, but practically every room in every dungeon in this game is a puzzle. It's highly frustrating and it gets old quick.

One of the main problems that stands out to me are the controls. The first problem with the control is that I couldn't get my character to just run straight--he's always running at a slight angle because the controls are so touchy that you have to be pressing EXACTLY up on the joystick to get him to run straight. Even a hair to the left or right instead of exactly up will cause Death to run at an angle. I think I remember the first game having this problem, too. The second problem with the control is that it requires the dexterity of a violinist to work all the buttons that need to be worked during intense combat. I can manage holding down the left trigger to lock on, running with the left stick, controlling the camera with the right stick, attacking with X, and dashing with the right bumper, but it just gets to be too much during some super intense battles.

The graphics are good, but are a cel-shaded departure from the original. The music is really good.

All that being said, developers have crafted a wildly ambitious game--an impressive game that just isn't much fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Solid Game!!!

posted by RellDawg (DETROIT, MI) Aug 22, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Nothing out of the ordinary, nothing new or inventive, but a good game. No rush to buy, but great rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

VERY GOOD

posted by treverscp (DENVER, CO) Jun 25, 2014

Member since Apr 2012

I like both Darksiders and Darksiders II!!! Here is hoping for a 3 and 4 so all the Horsemen can be done.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

game

posted by gamecraft (HOUSTON, TX) Jan 29, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

liked the game so far but i wasent even in the game far enough and the game kept stopping... couldnt even get the full experience... smh gamefly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I rented, I played, I bought, I regretted

posted by kevin1972002 (RICHMOND, VA) Nov 26, 2013

Member since May 2011

I think I'm a little cray cray.

I initially rented this game because I liked the cover, and told myself I wouldn't look at gameplay for it. At all.

I think my height was at a fever pitch when I popped it in... and I saw some similarities off the rip. God of War much? Prince of Persia much? Zelda much? But guess what? That's all good things.

I bought it 2 days later.

I should've waited another week or so. I'm already bored with it... and I haven't even beat the game yet! As much as I like this game, the fighting's getting a little boring... and that's the sadness of it. Great writing, voice acting, music's okes. But what a bore it is to me!

Broken down, it's basically a hack and dodge game. Hack, hack, hack, dodge, dodge, dodge. Bored. The idea of buying new moves is a little old hat. What I wouldn't give for a little spice. The puzzles are challenging, but not overly, which is cool.

But then the fighting... ZZZZZZZ... sorry, did I nap?

All said, great to rent, but don't fall for the trap. Keep the game for a week before fully committing to it. If it's your bag, own it.... but I'm booooored with it.

Sorry, THQ. Maybe next time...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

When's the next one?

posted by Se7enth_Pr0ph3t (PHOENIX, AZ) Nov 25, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

This is by far one of the most underrated series out there. Darksiders II a very successful sequel that doesn't even seem like a sequel. You play the part of Death, of the Four Horseman of the Apocalypse, slashing your way through hordes of fiends to save his brother War which follows along perfectly with the previous Darksiders enrty. The story is far beyond compelling along with a equally impressive artwork and gameplay. The combat engine has a smooth operation and offers player plenty of different weapon/armor combos giving you more than enough ways to dispatch your enemies. The replay value is surprising considering the genre. But with so many unlockables and DLC, it made this title very hard to send back. I gave it a strong 9 and look forward to the Strife installment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse