Rent Darkness for PS3
view large frontback

Darkness

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.7

3954 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

First Good Step Forward for PS3

posted by Liquidswar (BROOMFIELD, CO) Jul 1, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

25 out of 29 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Playing a demon never felt so right! This game adds a new element to evil and easily fills the darkness in us all.

Pros: slithering Serpents , stakes through chest, ripping out hearts, black holes that even suck in the light! Very good storyline, decent side quest, and an overall great appetizer leading to hopefully a revolutionary sequel.

Cons: Minions can be very dumb, but humerous if you ever get to see them execute someone. Side quest need more depth. The Black Hole, although the coolest power, can be a bit too powerful. Also, game is way too short.

Overall, no game is perfect. However, this game is a definite must play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

One of the best horror games I have played.

posted by Bratallica (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 22, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

When i first heard of The Darkness, i thought it was just another mediocre game that is part of an already poor PS3 game set list. However, i was wrong, very wrong. The only reason i bought the game was because i like horror and the reviews did seem to praise this game. Anyways, i bought the game and let me tell you, i loved it!
Lets start with presentation. The presentation is top notch. Although, the concept of the story is not very deep, it was told very well and it really grabs your attention.
The graphics need work, but they are not bad either. The character models are great, especially Jackie and his lover. However, everything needs work.
Gameplay is what makes this game start about. The game is not intended for you to use guns as other FPS do. You are intended to use your darkness powers. These powers are very fun to use, but when you get your final power, Black hole, there will be no use for the other three. It gets quite annoying you have to destroy the lights after lights, but still, it adds to the uniqueness to the game since the dark makes you stronger.
This game is a must own for any horror fan. The story is told and presented well and the gameplay is unique and fun. Some aspects needs work, but it doesn't effect the game at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game, but too short...

posted by Solstatic (TOWNSEND, DE) Jul 6, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

13 out of 16 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

This game is one of the best fps to come out in a long time. The storyline is amazing, and the darkness powers add so much fun to this game. The downside is that you can beat the story mode in about a day or two. Based on just the single player mode, I would say rent it. It is a good game, but there really isn't much to do after you beat it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game.

posted by Vertisce (TOOELE, UT) Jul 8, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

11 out of 14 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

Im a big fan of horror and this game lived up to my expectations. I never really got into the Darkness comics but after this game I may just go look into the storyline more. The story in this game was great. Classic! They controls are very well done. I had to turn down the sensitivity on my controls because it was just way way way too fine. The graphics are nice and the voiceovers were done very well. There is a LOT of blook and gore...swearing and violence. This game is not something you want your kids to see you playing. This game is not for the faint of heart. The first person view is great. You can even see your legs as you walk if you look down. I beat the game in less than a day. For some reason it auto saves but my game never saved. I left the game and came back only to see there was no save game. Alas I never found out how to save my game either. Just played all the way through in one sitting. Only bad thing I noticed is that dead bodies stay on the street for weeks on end in the story line. Heh...I can live with that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awesome game for rated M lovers

posted by hotguy1212 (EAST MEADOW, NY) Jun 26, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

first of all before buying or renting i should tell u that this game is dark and violent.the gameplay is amazing,sound is good,the graphics are awesome.overall this game is a must buy.and if u dont wanna buy it it is a highly must rent.thanx for reading my review.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A very gory thrill ride!!!

posted by Bootie (AVON, OH) Jun 29, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

First thing I have to say is keep youngsters away from this game. The reason y is because its very very very gory. The gameplay is solid and fun, you shouldnt get tired of it. The graphics are top of the line with great blood effects and stuff like that. The story is to die for, lots of twists and surprises. Its also very action packed and difficult at times. The only reason I didn'y give this games a ten is because i spent a lot of time shooting out lights just so my darkness powers would stay in tact. Final verdict, if you cant rent this game just go and buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Definitely worth a look

posted by elmatador (BROOKFIELD, WI) Sep 30, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is almost certainly one that will be remembered, if not for its unexceptional first person shooter controls, then for its interesting depiction of the time tested and stereotypical murderer for hire character. Jackie Estacado is not your run of the mill hit man, but instead a multifaceted and interesting character that makes a lot of difficult choices for all the right reasons. And while this game does not stand out strongly with its gameplay, its foundations are solid and don't distract from the story, which was what kept me playing from the first minute. In short, I commend Take Two for taking a risk on this IP and doing an excellent job on a game that takes storytelling through the medium of video games in a very different direction with a tale of many mature and often heartbreaking themes. Though I would not necessarily recommend it to buy, the Darkness is a game anyone interested in the future of the industry should certainly check out. I promise that it will be worth your while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Darkness is... not too bad...

posted by gaspare (TAMPA, FL) Jul 22, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The Bad:
The one thing that bugged me the most about this game is the graphics. They are horrible, jaggies everywhere and over-all mediocre graphical quality...

Online play is busted, the one game that I managed to get started seemed awkward to play...

The OK:
The game play, is unique, not bad but not great either. I think of all the stuff you could do I used the crawling creep the most, that was kinda fun. Over all the game got old fast.

The Good:
The only outstanding thing I can find in this game is the story line, thats what kept me playing though...

My final verdict... it's worth playing but don't set your standards high for this next-gen shooter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Very weak.

posted by BmoJmo (PRYOR, OK) Jan 22, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Pros: very good graphics, screen is not crowded with displays, cinemas between tasks are very entertaining.

Cons: nothing new for a first person shooter...very old feel to the gameplay, same old weapons...same old controls, not even a simple on-screen navigation, character powers are entirely too weak...has no feeling of power.

Heres the game in a nutshell: Go find someone to kill or talk to, kill a lotta ppl otw, get lost and stare at the eels for a while, find the kill or conversation, repeat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Yawnness

posted by solidsage (SANTA ROSA, CA) Jan 16, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

In a category that is overflowing with quality material this game did nothing to coax my interest.
In all fairness, I didn't play it long enough to give a fair assessment of the entire game.
However, that was due to the fact that the time I did spend on it was monontenous, repetetive, boring and unoriginal.
I'm an older individual and don't have the time to play through hordes of games, I have to be picky when my time is precious, this game therefore was not worth the investment. Gears of war, R6Vegas, Assassins Creed, Naruto-rise of a ninja are all more worthy contenders for your hard earned time off.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Almost Perfect

posted by GMan1974 (ROMULUS, MI) Jul 6, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Let me start by saying this is the best game i have played on the PS3 since resistance, I know that doesn't mean much, but this IS AN Excellent game. The controls are great, the visuals are spot on, and the story is one of the best in recent history. I can honestly say that this game has some of the best voice acting I have ever heard in a video game. About the only thing I can say negative about this game is the aiming is actually TOO EASY. The soft auto lock-on almost always migrates to the head of your enemies making it too easy at times on the normal difficulty level, but this wasn't as noticeable on the harder settings. Subtle things about this game make it simply amazing to me, things like TV sets you will encounter throughout the game are actually interactive and play FULL LENGTH movies on them, I sat through an entire DVD quality viewing of To Kill A Mockingbird just to see if it played all the way through. The game plays like a typical first person shooter, until you activate your darkness powers, and then it ups the gameplay to something I haven't experienced before. I was skeptical when I saw the screen-shots with the two demonic looking snake heads, but after seeing the game in real-time IT IS AWESOME. This is a must have for any PS3 owner.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great

posted by ncsurules7 (CHARLOTTE, NC) Jul 4, 2007

Member since May 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is really good. The graphics are good. The game play is great. Its a must buy if you like violent M games. The only downside is the subway and the loading. Beside that this the best game out for ps3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent Game, Nothing Revolutionary

posted by Mulley007 (MEDFORD, NY) Feb 7, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game has great sound, decent graphics, and the gameplay is alright. I think the gae is actually too hard too soon, where the gamer may become frustrated too early. The weapons are just ok....the selection is not the best. A good game to try, but perhaps not to buy. The Darkness part of the game....I'm just not so sure it fits.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game!

posted by KlepDog (HILLIARD, OH) Sep 5, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

As a "casual" gamer (work sucks), I try to pick and choose games that have a great story, intuitive controls, and fun to play! This title fit all three requirements quite nicely. As noted by other reviewers, it is a bit short... but since I didn't shell out $60 and instead rented it from GameFly, that's not an issue! (If I had bought the title, my rating would have dropped to an 8).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

It's Fun To Play In The Dark

posted by JTequila (FRESNO, CA) Aug 11, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The Darkness is one heck of a game! It has the complete package with a great story, beautiful graphics, powerful voice acting and ultra-violent gore. The game is fine when you start out with just your guns, but as soon as you get your darkness powers the game turns it up a notch. Characters feel alive in this game due in part to great graphics but also by some great voice acting. I don't want to reveal too much of the story but you play a mafia hit man who, on his 21st birthday quires demonic powers. The actual Darkness is played superbly by Mike Patton(its scary to think a human can sound this way!) The Game is loaded with action from the main storyline to the cool side missions(which usually just involve "go here, kill him, come back) but it's the way that you have to sort of hunt for them and kill their posse. Even though the aniline is more on the lame side and Jackie(the player)seems to be a ventriloquist due to the fact that his lips hardly move when he speaks. But other than that, this is one superb must-play game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOMENESSSSS!!!

posted by DMC4ps3fan (Lancaster, CA) Jun 26, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

This is by far the best ps3 game around, and probly will be for a long time, its scary, great graphics, gory, fun and exiting gameplay, great story, and funny extras!! there is nothing about this game to not like, i havent tied out multiplayer yet, but i will soon, i bet it will be da best too!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

No light at the end of the tunnel

posted by DRB1983 (SHIPPENSBURG, PA) Jul 1, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game was a disappointment in many respects. The setup I played the game on was a PS3 connected to a Samsung 32" HDTV using HDMI outputting at 720p. First of all the graphics are not very good; I don't know how the other reviewers are coming up with there gorgeous graphics but I'm not seeing it. The character models tend to look pretty decent and the environments are detailed in both objects present and the textures. The real problem is the aliasing; it is horrendous and in many ways looks worse than a PS2 game. This often kills the immersion and I found myself not paying as much attention to the dialogue because I was focused on the sharp edges surrounding everything. I also noticed some clipping and tearing but neither were nearly as distracting or common as the aliasing. Graphics alone do not make a game, however, but controls do. The control layout is akin to most first person shooters but the responsiveness just isn't there. Jackie's movements are sluggish and the auto-aim ,if you can call it that, is more of a detriment than anything else. You can't really aim at what you want because as you're moving the reticle towards your target the auto-aim kicks in zipping the reticle to what it thinks you want to shoot. The problem with this is while it zips towards the target you're still moving the analogue stick so what ends up happening is it locks on ahead of your movements so you over aim and end up missing. When it comes to shooting out lights (which you'll be doing a lot of) you need the auto-aim though, because without it locking on to a light it is almost impossible to shoot them out. The story is the one saving grace of the game. Without giving anything away the script is top-notch as is the voice acting. Finding out what happens next is the only thing that kept me going through this game. If you're a die hard Darkness fan play it for the story. If you're an FPS fan there won't be much for you to enjoy here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Bought it...

posted by Quilemaul (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 1, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Great game, graphics look beautiful in 1080p, darkness powers are sweet and the darklings are just guilty pleasures in and of themselves that you get to set loose in the world of a well written storyline where even the too short loading cut scenes will leave you scratching your head, grinning and asking yourself, "Did he really just say that...?"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Darkness-shmarkness

posted by tylerdurde (FENNVILLE, MI) Feb 10, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game sucks. The only cool thing about it is the WW-1 inspired ''heck''(censors) in level 2. Other than that it is too slow and the cut scenes are to painfully long. There are not enough check points and sometimes after killing over a dozen of them I get shot twice and then have to go do it all over again. I shot one cop 6 times with a shotgun and they were still not dead??? The people in the subway grouped up and would not move out of the way so I had to go back to the last checkpoint. The auto targeting is usually just a waste of amo. And I get bored playing shoot the light over and over again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

darkness

posted by napalm213 (TUCSON, AZ) Jan 19, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

well i found this game to be choppy at best it throws me back to that game haze. the game played ok but it seemed to be rushed out and the cut scenes were poorly done

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Horrible controls..

posted by cb7tuner (MONTEBELLO, CA) Mar 3, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The game had a pretty interesting story going. But I could not finish it. The controls (specificlly the shooting and aiming) were just horrible. You find yourself trying hard to get a bead on an enemy, and the shots do not have parts specific damage. read:there are no head shots!!Unfortunately the AI is great at aiming...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

How could anyone like this?

posted by JDShkolnik (BROOKLYN, NY) Jul 22, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I thought the graphics were weak, the HUD really bad, and the gameplay sucked. Constantly having to shoot out lights was boring. The firefights were nonsensical, especially when I'd shoot someone in the head and they'd keep getting back up. There was nothing about this game I liked and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Starbreeze has done it again.

posted by UnoEfe (BELLA VISTA, AR) Jul 14, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Ever since I heard this game was coming out, I've been dying to play it mainly due to the excellence of Starbreeze's previous game, Chronicles of Riddick: Escape from Butcher Bay. Well, they didn't disappoint as this game is excellent. Now, I can't speak for Multiplayer since I haven't tried it, but the single player is a fun, engrossing, ride that I on my second time through. If you liked Riddick, I can almost guarantee you'll like The Darkness.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Mediocre

posted by JimmyB (CLARKS MILLS, PA) Jun 29, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

4 out of 16 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game is only average...which is a shame because I have been waiting a long time to play something good on the PS3. Graphically, the game looks fairly well put together, but the frame rate is bad and the control are too loose. The AI is not impressive, especially if you have played FEAR or Half-Life 2. In fact, the problem with this game is that it doesn't do anything better than a game I played 2 years ago (Half-Life 2). The concept of the darkness is fun, but the AI is so uninspiring, and you spend half of your time simply breaking light bulbs. Good rental, but don't buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

For cyring out loud...

posted by nyumnyums (SOMERVILLE, MA) Jul 29, 2007

Member since Jun 2005

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Hated it. Detailing was decent, animation was horrible. The "darkness" you get to control was SO lame, on top of the cruddy music and repetitive theme of predictable enemies. Don't even bother playing it....you'll have more fun just looking at the stills.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse