Rent Darkness II for PS3
view large frontback

Darkness II

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.5

2164 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Deff a good rental (single player campaign review)

posted by hhsaWaknoW (GARDENA, CA) Feb 9, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I know what your thinking, not another shooter. Thats what crossed my mind when I was about to start the game but I was pleasantly surprised. The cell shading graphics are awesome first off. I dig the look of these types of games (borderlands).
The story was good but halfway through you kinda can figure out just where things are going to lead ( a tad short also), characters are cool but nothing to get attached to and the environments are pretty awesome nice detail on the levels in my opinion.
The game play was actually very responsive, pick up a crate aim in the general area of a mob and let er rip. 90% of the time its spot on. The use of the extra limbs is a nice addition also, shoot, smash, shoot, grab, throw, shoot again it all compliments one another nicely.
Guns are the usual, nothing to fancy. Nice amount of gore in the game also, the executions are very gruesome and done well. Voice acting is nicely done also. All in all I was pleased with the single player, I haven't got a chance to play the other modes yet but I am sure they will just be icing on the bloody bloody cake.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome

posted by Danstheman (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Feb 12, 2012

Member since Jul 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Amazing Game with Amazing Comic style Graphics,Lots of Gore and Tons of Fun. The only downside to it is its short. But other then that Really great game. Definite Rent!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Darkness II In Reflection

posted by KrakenAttack (FOREST HILL, MD) Apr 2, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have waited a long time to play The Darkness II and to be honest it's the reason why I started a membership with GameFly.
The 3D realistic texture from the first game is replaced with 2D textures, identical to the style used in Borderlands. I'm not a fan, I have my reasons, but it didn't ruin the game for me.
The serpent darkness arms return with some new features added: swarm and darkling throwing and some old powers lost: scouting and slithering.
Accompanying you is your british speaking, cat wearing darkling buddy that will assist in killing enemies with you. You will be able control him in first-person during spefic times in the game and in which you'llrely more on stealth and cover.
My favorite experience while playing The Darkness II comes from a scene in which you ride through an old amusment park haunted house, saying more will just spoil this spectacular and joyfull experience.
There are two endings to the game, none of which depend on prior choices and both are very fitting, although one will include hints of a sequel after the credits. The multiplayer is spectacular because even though it's not player versus player it accomadates every type of player. The co-op is four player co-op in which you can play online or offline with another controller. Better, you can play all multiplayer missions by yourself.
You can play as one of four stereotypes, each one with a special darkness enthused weapon and special skill tree.

Some people will play for the story, some for the bloody combat and more will play for both. While you can't compare it to Skyrim or Mess Effect 3, you can't deny this sequel to the sleeper hit of the early PS3/Xbox360 generation is fantastic. I have hopes for not only a sequel, but a film for this great character and more games from not only Top Cow, but Image and other comic publishers that aren't DC nor Marvel. Just remember, where living in a special time where we have an Avengers movie, the best Batman films and Walking De

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

why did this deserve hype?

posted by yourdog23 (DENVER, CO) Jul 19, 2012

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Let's start off by saying I'm not a fan of shooters, and even less so when they're of the FPS variety.

With all the hype I've been hearing about how great this game is, and how it's a great story, I figured I'd give it a try, and hope it had half the draw of a Bioshock game. It didn't even come to a tenth of those expectations.

As far as shooters go, for someone who doesn't like them, and isn't good at them, this game is easy, even on the toughest difficulty. I only had problems in a few spots, but 10 minutes worth of patience was all I needed in the worst of it. I doubt a seasoned FPS player would have that difficulty.

As for the main story, I liked the fact that it felt natural, but that feeling came down to being a second sense. The level of foreshadowing going on here meant that by the third chapter in the game, I already knew how things were going to end. The level of enjoyment from nothing being a surprise is along the lines of a 40 year old man with no kids reading "See Spot Run" for the first time.

The only positive I can find in the story is the Vendettas, which are side missions you play as 1 of 4 alternative players (with support for online co-op). The story here is relatively minimal, but you do get to play the things going on in the background of the main story. I didn't have a reason to care about the plot of these side missions, but it was interesting to play as a peon, knowing that the main story characters were counting on you.

Is there anything wrong here, besides the laughably easy difficulty? If you consider a short game to be a problem, you have that, but everything is put together to still feel complete, so it's not a real problem here. Unfortunately, with nothing that stands out as unique or outstanding, I'll probably forget everything about this game by the time I wake in the morning.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

nice

posted by hardcoregamer86 (BALTIMORE, MD) Jun 2, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

All i have to say is when number three coming out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The darkness 2

posted by TenaciousP (HASKELL, NJ) May 6, 2012

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Really fun! Guns work well, combat is fast-paced and intense, and the story, while kind of boring, was narrated in a funny way. the graphics are kind of cartoony, but get the point across. The multiplayer is accessible without some stupid code, which is a big win, and new game plus lets you wreak havoc with a brand new skillset. Definitely NOT kid-appropriate, but really a good game. Rent it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid Title I Wanted More

posted by chefmike04 (HOWELL, NJ) Apr 25, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The story and dialoge in this game was really well done. The graphics were how they needed to be, dark, moody, cell shaded. The multiplayer is the only flaw, its fun but for about one playthrough. It need a competitive mode or survival of some sort and it would get a higher rating. Overall a great game and worth a rent and a playthrough

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A great sequel to an underrated game.

posted by Torres_3d (CHULA VISTA, CA) Mar 13, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is a breath of fresh air, and a nice change of pace from your average modern warfare game.

The game features some unique game play mechanics that provide you with multiple methods of carnage to unleash on your foes. Despite having multiple abilities and upgrades the game never becomes boring and gradually increases its difficulty.

The game's most interesting feature however is its story. The Darkness II does a good job of making you feel attached to Jackie and his tragic love story.

The only thing that keeps this game from being perfect is its relatively short length.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Its a must play for fans of the orig !

posted by phoenix13 (HYANNIS, MA) Mar 5, 2012

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The Darkness 2 turns out to be a solid sequel to its predecessor, but lacks a bit of the comic book flair of the first one for me. I missed taking a break from the action and roaming around and maybe watching videos on the t.v's , which i felt were cutting edge, but its fast paced fights make up for the loss. With the introduction of the new Vendetta's section in the main menu , its like having 4 new campaigns to play after you finish the game. Now go let the Darkness in ...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GORE

posted by jcirca (MOORHEAD, MN) Feb 25, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I loved this title, I was a fan of the first as well. As the darkness you are in control of 4 weapons. 2 darkness claws, 2 guns. Makes the game exciting, lots of ways to kill and power up.. Good side quests, although a bit short. Overall a great game for replay value. Nice set of trophies as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Incredible!!!!

posted by MWindwalker (REPUBLIC, WA) Feb 12, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Darkness 2 takes gaming to new heights!! I am not a shooter fan but I love Darkness 2. The story line is very much like a great mafia movie. The game play is well paced and fun. Dialogue between characters is extremely well done. Even for people that suck at shooting like me thanks to the demon heads the game is incredibly fun and playable. No matter if you like shooters or just a great game Darkness 2 is the ultimate game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Liked the game

posted by elric9998 (BUFFALO, NY) Feb 10, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

it is a good game but way to short

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Greatness

posted by StarRaven (WELLINGTON, FL) Feb 9, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

17 out of 20 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

I wasn't paying to much attention to this game to be honest. I had played the first one when it first came out and loved it, mostly because I did no research on it before I played it and it ended up being so good. I was really hoping for a sequel but, I guess it had been so long, I didn't have much faith that it'd be good. Boy was I wrong.

This game is awesome. It took some time to get adjusted to the new art style (the first one was gritty, like Batman) but the cel-shaded, comic book look was definitely the right direction for the series. The game is just really well made. The story isn't insanely long, but, probably feels longer than any War game on the market. The controls are good, the powers are awesome. Voice acting may be some of best around as far as keeping you in the story, being believable and just being good. You feel incredibly powerful, as you should. The enemies are... what you'd expect. Boss battles are interesting, though nothing crazy. But the story is good. Weird. But, better than 90% of video games around.

Vendettas is awesome too. That and New Game + definitely keeps the game in your system for a while.

Seriously, check this game out, it's very enjoyable and give you a lot mess around with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Unless your a Fan boy Dont waste your time

posted by wingxaero1 (TACOMA, WA) Jun 17, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The character model are ps2 at best. The shooting mechanics are weak. The story is interesting but EXTREMELY short and leaves you feeling ROBBED. If you want a real shooter with a rewarding story look ELSEWHERE...........

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Just ok..

posted by RdSWaZH3r3 (FRONT ROYAL, VA) May 24, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I never played the first one. This was ok. The levels and story were a bit dull. The gameplay is awesome at first then it's kind of repetitive. The trophies are VERY easy. I was going to platinum it but I couldn't stand to continue playing. It was just so boring after awhile.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

So so

posted by Yikes78 (KNOXVILLE, TN) May 2, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Boring story. Extremely linear. Interesting kills first time or two but very repetitive. If you like arcade-ish FPS, you might really enjoy it. Didn't dislike the game but I'd rather spend time doing other stuff.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game ever!!!!

posted by najd (VIENNA, VA) Apr 20, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I highly recommended period!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Seriously people a 9?

posted by gwynnsh (SARALAND, AL) Apr 2, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game sucks. Nothing else to say. Do not waste your time or money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun game

posted by howsik2sik (LAKE CITY, FL) Mar 4, 2012

Member since May 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Nice game very short in simple words perfect rent!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wow.

posted by altecian (SAINT MARYS, PA) Feb 13, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Darkness 2 is very fast paced for the most part, if you walk around a corner there is likely something lurking there (human normally since they are the main antagonist in the game).
People think this game is a shooter, yes it's got guns and lots of them but personally on my first play through of the game I rarely ran out of bullets because the darkness is the best and most fun of the weapons with the quad wield system. Now the quad wielding if you think it sounds difficult this game makes it so easy you could do it in your sleep u can use the guns and the darkness just about at the same time (in most cases at the same time).

All in all you will enjoy yourself as you tare through the henchmen... literally you tare through them! If you love blood this game is for you!
I would like to apologize for the bad grammar in advance :).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Forget It???

posted by caperton3030 (DEATSVILLE, AL) Apr 13, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Darkness the first was original and innovative....DII was dissapointing...first off the innovation of light in this one was annoying!!! The screen goes blank when confronted with light, which is alot. The side missions (ie...the mental hospital and darkness missions) are very worthless. The story is weak, and wastes much needed screen time. The guns are basically the same but you run low on ammo most of the time and the upgrades don't help. Bottom line....pass!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfect!

posted by waelhaidar (PALM BEACH GARDENS, FL) Feb 7, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This is the definition of a great game, it has a beautiful story line, and amazing graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

no.

posted by skeet_skeet (GLENDALE, AZ) Jul 30, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

fail.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Darkness Has You....Sort Of.

posted by Carpal_tunnel (CONCORD, CA) Feb 7, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

I have read a few reviews about Darkness !! and have noticed that many people said it was not unique or anything special, I disagree, I cant remember the last time I had the use of two extra appendages in any game. DII had many wonderfully unique twists on a "done to death" (FPS) genera.

Here is what I liked, the fast action and extra abilities and appendages added to the thrill of the action which lets face it can get very intense. The villains in this game don't simply shoot and run for cover many of the characters come up close for melee combat others use shoulder lights which temporarily rob you of your darkness powers and some have whips that can yank your gun from your hands. All of this forces the player to learn to use the many darkness powers and grow accustom to relying on everything in your arsenal of weapons and powers instead of just your weapon alone. The game can get hair pullingly frustrating at times but I found that it added to the game not take from it. A slightly different strategy makes all the difference. The game is short but that is what makes Game fly so great.

Now for the bad. The game had one glaring drawback the Story. I liked the idea of not knowing which reality was the real one but I also didn't care enough about the story to sit through the levels between the action levels. What I mean is that when you complete a level the next level takes place in a hospital or your mansion in which you roam around and talk to people. I wanted to simply get back into the action. I love sitting through cut scenes and story driven gameplay in games but this was a boar. BUT THAT BEING SAID 2K completely redeemed themselves with one word...Skip. Every bit of dialog and cut scenes can be skipped. If you are like me and like the action over the story 2K Games lets you have your cake and eat it to with the skip button. So Bottom line Fun game worth the rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good, but yeeesh! Gorey!

posted by DrStrangelove (BELLINGHAM, WA) Jan 20, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

This is easily the most gruesome game I've ever played. That doesn't usually bother me, but after a couple hundred viewings of ppl getting their spine ripped out of there bodies, ppl torn apart from their legs and many other lovely images, I hit my limit.

Other than that, the gameplay is actually pretty good. I like the combat style, the movement and the extendable demon arms - although, the gore takes too much time and breaks up combat flow). The story isn't bad and if you're not into it, you can usually skip past it.

The graphics are made to look a bit like a graphic novel - no complaint on that.

On the whole, pretty good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse