Rent Darkness II for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Darkness II

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.7

4045 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

decent story, but short. definitely a rent

posted by DeadlyGalaxy (TRUSSVILLE, AL) Feb 9, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

18 out of 20 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I loved the 1st Darkness game. I had high hopes for the sequel. Pretty much a run and gun game with less than smart AI for the most part. I died once throughout my playthrough.

While the story isn't as good as the original, it's fairly predictable about what will happen halfway through the game. Also some parts of the story seem "forced", in relation to events that happened in the 1st Darkness game.

The game is relatively short, I clocked my playthough at about 5 hours. Although there is a New Game + and another mode.

Definitely wouldn't recommend to buy at $60, but as a rental, there's some fun to be had, as long as you don't have high expectations.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome

posted by Merluxx (FREDERICKSBURG, VA) Feb 8, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Nothing short of the review title. Not alot of content, I finished it in under 4 hours (story) and I finished the hit list in 2. Definitely a great rent, but not worth 50 bucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Rent

posted by Wutangboomya (NORTH GROSVENORDALE, CT) Feb 9, 2012

Member since May 2011

14 out of 16 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Honestly the first Darkness wasn't worthy of a purchase,and after playing the new one for a few hours neither is this one.This does not mean it's not a great game,there just isn't enough content worth the 50-60 bucks.The gameplay and physics have been drastically improved from the first title,and although the graphics may appear cartoonish at first glance they give you a comic book type feel that still doesn't stray far from a realistic look.The co-op mode will also allow you to enjoy the Darkness II's gameplay with a friend,but it can get boring after going through the co-op campaign the first time.All and all The Darkness II is deffinetly worth a rent,if it had more content it'd be worth a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Almost perfect

posted by Casgamer1 (EASTVILLE, VA) Feb 15, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Great game. The only problem is it is sorta short but most campaigns nowadays are.. Nerds will tell you they ran through it in 4 hours.. I dunno why you would want to rush it. It took me almost all day to beat it taking short breaks. I tried playing it on normal but changed to easy because of failing to kill the first boss a few times. I'm more interested in stories for games anyway - and this game has a great one. Rent it. Play the story. Send it back. Multiplayer isn't worth keeping the game an extra day imo

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game with a disappointing length.

posted by MrPipkins (South Sioux City, NE) Feb 9, 2012

Member since Jul 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Rent it, play through it then send it back. It's a great game that would have been better served scrapping the coop and making the campaign longer. Other then that the combat and story which really brings the comic on screen are a must play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

amazing game to rent

posted by gweniferschild (TUCSON, AZ) Feb 17, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

this game was just flat out fun. pluss it has one of the scariest haunted house rides i have ever seen that would be awesome if they actually made it. it has a short story but personally im just gonna play the story over and over again. some people are mad about the ending but its just a set up for the darkness 3. this game is fun, and if the graphics were better i would have given this game a 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Short play thru but decent sequel.

posted by uhgg (IDAHO FALLS, ID) Feb 12, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Finished the game in about 15 hours playing on "Hitman" difficulty. Kind of wished graphics had stayed close to the original as now I have the urge to play Borderlands again. Great follow up on the originals story line and like the direction this one went. Hoping somehow there is a part 3 to the story. Loved how they reworked The Darkness arms and the Darkling to be usable all the time and be able to use guns in tandem with the arms. Felt the gameplay was above average and control was very accurate and responsive. I wished there was a little more to the single play "campaign" but I haven't tried the co-op yet to see how it is, hopefully it is worth the shortage otherwise I am going to be glad I rented it and didn't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Just Amazing

posted by prototype888 (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Feb 7, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

I'm not about to sit here and right some 5 page review no one cares about. Here we go this game is one of the best games ive played in a long time. Gets you away from the Call Of Duty and Battlefield lol great game pick it up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by WickedWeasel (UNION, MS) Feb 21, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed this game almost as much as the first one. Still has one of the greatest stories of it's genre and I hope they keep it up. Only thing that would have made it better would be a secret ending after getting all the relics that semi ties it into the next game in the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

very fun!!

posted by Billyblaze (SPARKS, NV) Feb 20, 2012

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

After playing and enjoying the first one, the Darkness2 was very fun/satisfying....I liked the 2 alternate endings at the end.....anyway, unlike others, this game took me about 6-8hrs but I took the time to explore and talk to all the characters and get info on all the relics - I find it hard to believe anyone could complete this in 2hrs??
Anyway, really hope they make Darkness3.....love these first person shooter horror/fantasy type games with good story lines.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GREAT Shooting GAME of 2012

posted by SKmRashid (BRONX, NY) Feb 13, 2012

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

you have to play to belive it its a fantastic game i have personily bet the game twice. you get shoot and slash the enimes with your demon arms. you get to upgrade your demon arms and other ability. The bottom line is its a great game... :) A+++

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good game

posted by gamerdfsdsds (BREMERTON, WA) Feb 11, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

way toooooo short.... i beat the game in 4hrs. the ending was great.... there will be a darkness 3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

3 days to ship, 4 hrs to beat, and 4+ days return

posted by MrHyde (BOSSIER CITY, LA) Feb 12, 2012

Member since Oct 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

3 days to ship, 4 hrs to beat, and 4+ days return.

Other than feeling like Gamefly is ripping me off this is a good game. The gameplay is fun and the story is decent but it doesn't hold up to the first game's story.
It's worth a rent if you don't mind the title to my review.

It was fun and entertaining while it lasted.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sucker 12 Monkey Punch

posted by Detriment (Buffalo, NY) Feb 16, 2012

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed this game. More so than the first one. I loved the 'hand drawn' graphics and gunplay. But most of all I was engrossed in the story. The only thing was it was all of 4 hours to complete. However the multiplayer, (co-op) was 2 hours and is nearly mandatory in order to get the full scope of the story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Good game, but extremely short.

posted by mbcollins93 (EDISTO ISLAND, SC) Feb 11, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is a fantastic shooter with a deep plot that contains many twists and turns. The only downside is that it is short. I managed to get a 1000 gamerscore out of it over three short days (thursday afternoon, friday, and saturday morning). Absolutely worth a rent!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Too Short

posted by BiggWill601 (JACKSON, MS) Feb 11, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed the gameplay and the story but hated how short it was. I dont recommend buying this for that reason but definitley say rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Eh... Not bad

posted by Burkett1974 (CAPE CORAL, FL) Apr 29, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I liked the first game, but this one falls short. I wasn't really impressed by the graphics or the story. I know the graphics were meant to instill a "comic book" effect, but to me it really detracted from the game play. As for the story, it never really immersed me into the game. I didn't care about any of the characters like I did with the actual comic. Overall, not worth purchasing and if nothing else is available to rent due to lack of availability on Gamefly, give it a run. Just don't expect to be amazed or awed by a graphics rich, enthralling story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not a good sequel

posted by Shadowkarm (KILLEEN, TX) Feb 8, 2012

Member since Aug 2010

3 out of 15 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Story was pretty good and the gameplay was fun. This does not make up for the bad tho

Very short game only about 3-4 hrs long. Very Linear, no sidequests. Music sucked and a pretty bad anti-climatic ending. Plus cell-shaded graphics, this is supposed to be a dark gothic game not a comic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Darkness 2 Compared to 1

posted by edwardgc (ANCHORAGE, AK) Mar 26, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Honestly I found the second one was lacking a lot the first one had. It also had the potential to expand but did not.
In the first one you have two types of unique powers;
One to control minions that can help you out.
and the other being powers that affect your body. Such as snakes on your back. Guns transforming etc.

The second one has A minion (Just one?) that you can upgrade somewhat and do some things with. Mostly useless though.

You get to choose powers from a choice. There are like 4 power types.
Gun/Ammo
Minion/Swarm
Execution
and something else

Honestly, I liked the execution thing... Except you see the same two executions like 90% of the time.

Just like the first one the guns are somewhat awkward.

You get little to no ammo from guns.
For example you just used all your ammo on 6 guys, you had maximum ammo. You get maybe half of that from them. IF THEY ALL HAD GUNS.
Ya that's right there are people running at you with baseball bats when you have snake like things coming out your back like you see that everyday.
HURR DURR IMMA HIT YOU WITH A BAT AND HOPE IT KILLS YOU

The cinematics between missions (When Jackie or another person is talking in the blacked out room) the people looks horrible for 2010+ games
The original Darkness actually LOOKED BETTER
Wow.
No really. Amazing.

I had high hopes. Ya they died. If there's a third game I probably won't even rent it let alone look at the trailer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good game

posted by pyro_nexus (TOPOCK, AZ) Aug 28, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

different than the first but not in a bad way. i love how your no longer restricted to certin spots to summon things... although i miss the different kind of darklings you could spawn. all in all a fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent!

posted by LordVortex888 (OVERLAND PARK, KS) Jul 29, 2014

Member since Jan 2013

The game is great just as good as the title says a bit cartoonish almost comic like (its cool that way) but all and all it's an awsome game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fitting Follow Up Darkneess II Carries On!

posted by MrNutJob (VENICE, CA) Jul 26, 2013

Member since May 2013

Darkness II the Sequel to the first game is hard to stop playing. The story about Jenny, Jackie Estacado's dead 19 year old girlfriend is fanciful at best. A 35 year old man still pining about his dead high school sweetheart is odd indeed. Lately (dead space, etc) there have been these 'lost girls and women' appearing as Ghosts or Phantoms with sweet endearments of love and treacle. Estacado is 35 you'd think he'd be dating by now! The picture of Jenny in his bedroom is really rather odd since he didn't marry her or anything... boy! Is this guy n u t s or what?

The true story of Darkness II isn't Jenny, of course but of Victor a sort of Burnt Marty Feldmen like character. He's not all that sane or attractive but he really has a thing for The Darkness and wants all of it for himself... he attempts to 'drain' Jackie of his birthright and that is generally how the game proceeds...

The two Snake like creatures are not as powerful as they were in the first game. I liked the 'power ups' with the essence but in the end you're not able to complete them all... I wonder why not, why can't we get all of the Powerups well before the game ends? I suppose it can be done, but I don't have time to spend figuring it out. I started the game at the hardest level Don and then put it to the easiest by the time I took down Bragg.

The darkling sidekick (yattering jack) is cool and helpful, but I wish he could be more involved in killing enemies. He could say more than just "Why are we waiting around"... probably because i need to find ammo, etc.

All in all though The Darkness is a series that I'll look forward to in future.

It's really a lot of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

continuing and expanding this series.

posted by Memphisking009 (BILOXI, MS) Jun 1, 2013

Member since May 2013

Let me start off by saying, I loved the first game. Never have read the comics, but I enjoyed how gruesome and, well, dark it was. Plus, one of my favorite singers Mike Patton (Faith No More) was the voice of the darkness itself. The second brings him back, and all of the other voice actors to my knowledge.
It should be noted that the second one was developed by a different studio so there will be some changes in this one.
First off: The Graphics. They went for a more comic book looking graphic visual. Not the BEST looking graphics, but I think it was the right move.
Next, The gun fighting. This was the most improved area in my opinion. It is a LOT smoother than the first one regarding the combination of guns and the darkness powers.
The upgrade wheel they added is pretty cool. It doesn't over do it in the sense that you are still powerful in the beginning, but adds some cool things a long the way.
Without giving too much away, The story itself was supurb. The only knock people have with it is that it is very short, I believe about 6 hours? Which if people recall the first game, it lasted about 9. But, When I was personally playing it It felt a lot longer then that because of how much the story grabs you.
I think this is a MUST for fans of the first game and the comics. Though, It is for sure a rental. It isn't that difficult of a game, so if you are in the mood just to be a killing machine get this game. I wouldn't recommend wasting much time with the vendetta part of the game. Wasted space they could of used to expand the single player. Very bland game type.
As I said before, for those who enjoy captivating stories, you will enjoy this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game

posted by BigDeuce (SAN DIEGO, CA) May 24, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

Darkness II is one of the best games I've ever played. It has a great story to it and great graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very good!

posted by 250zombies (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Feb 27, 2013

Member since Jul 2004

Never played the first Darkness game. But i dont think i really needed to. Nor do you if you plan on renting this game, which is definitley worth playing. The fact that your character has 2 extra arms is pretty awesome. Other than the swarm of flies and black holes you really dont have too much special abilities considering this isnt that long of a game. But using these are awesome when your fighting. Avoiding the light can be difficult since it seems to pop out everywhere. I really enjoyed playing this game and i cant wait for the 3rd installment. Ooops! Hope i didnt ruin it for anybody.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse