Rent Dark for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Dark

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $12.99

GF Rating
3.4

302 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst stealth game I've ever played

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Jul 25, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

15 out of 16 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

Dark is a low budget stealth vampire game that I decided to rent bc I'm a fan of stealth genre. Those stealth elements fell flat and beyond, which is why I give the lowest rating.

You play as a guy who was bitten by a vampire and now you must hunt this vampire who bit you or you will turn into a ghoul. Story is bad, graphics were on the Borderlands cartoony side which was fine, but the gameplay and stealth mechanics were so bad the game is borderline unplayable for me.

The entire premise of the game is stealth. Everything revolves around you crouching to reduce noise, monitor enemy movements and patterns, seeing through walls to see enemies, and so forth. You also have an ability to quickly teleport like X-Men's Nightcrawler. But Dark's mechanics of stealth, consistency, and enemy sightlines are so poor that you are always being spotted. Maps are peppered with enemies making it extremely difficult to get past them, even if you're careful.

Once you set off an alarm and guys all over start shooting at you, you're as good as dead. Since you have really no combat moves or guns, you're back to the last checkpoint. Checkpoints are also few and far between and often put you back so far that you'll spend another 15 deaths getting back to where you were. Replaying areas 25x because of bad design is very frustrating.

You can hide in shadows and use cover, but that barely even works. And your little teleport move is like 3% of effective as Dishonored's teleport that it adds to the frustration. You can upgrade and acquire some special abilities, but my patience grew old with the unresponsive gameplay that I didn't unlock half of them yet. I wanted to stick with the game, but the frustration of dying simply because of bad AI is just not worth the high blood pressure.

Stay away from Dark unless you want to turn into a vampire or want easy achievement points. I sense emo kids lining up to rent Dark as we speak.

Milt Drucker
-gamertag-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Waste Of Time

posted by SoulStain (RESEDA, CA) Jul 11, 2013

Member since Dec 2009

9 out of 20 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

Terrible everything. Why even put this out?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Awful....just awful

posted by jjenkins1 (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Aug 6, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

After reading what I saw as a potentially interesting game description, I decided to give "Dark" a chance. Bad move. The voice acting was so terrible I wouldn't be surprised to hear that the actors were untrained and pulled right off the street to record the dialogue in a single take. The "combat" was atrocious, and the stealth can only be described as a poorly composed parody of other stealth based games. After just under 2 hours of torturing myself with this garbage, I repackaged it and dropped it right back in the mail. Please save yourself the trouble.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

terrible

posted by SLIPKNOT_FAN (PLEASANT HILL, IA) Jul 28, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

it took weeks to get this game shipped to me played it for not even 5 mins it was terrible watched some gameplay on youtube wow this game really sucks to much talking in it this game not even worth buying

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not really anything redeeming here

posted by mattr25 (PHOENIX, AZ) Jul 11, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

11 out of 31 gamers (35%) found this review helpful

To start the game is confusing, which is perfectly fine because it sort of makes sense. The problem lies in the basic control is rather basic. To start it at least works fine with pauses for the game to move you around for no particular reason.

The entire starting period would work just as well as not controlled by the player since about half isn't anyway. So then finally the game actually progresses a little and you get to play, except you don't. You wander around some more with conversations that are not and make little to no sense in any form of the word.

So when you finally get to the tutorial on how the game works it makes less sense. It does tell you how to do the game in the most basic of not really telling you anything way. It does point to you want to sneak and only sneak so messing up means you restart the area. Which is fine it's a sneak game I suppose. Except there is a problem with that.

Namely when you get to the game proper, actually sneaking doesn't always actually happen. The combat isn't, press to A kill, hold A to feed. That is the combat. Can crouch to always sneak, but you don't always sneak and there is no way to fix it. So you then have to try and run up to a guy shooting you and then maybe you will target and kill, or maybe you will just run up.

Moving is slow even at full press of the bar, and there is no target button, auto target that doesn't always. Graphically the game is pretty bland. I mean every bad guy looks like every bad guy. Just generic person, there's a grand total of five or so men and women to choose from to see.

The game is more of reading a novel with moments of moving. Combat is pointless and barely works in the little bit it is there. Sneaking doesn't work except for when they want it to. Doing anything means there is noise, even just an instant kill creates noise and draws attention, feeding makes more noise, moving makes noise. Bad design, bad implementation, generic story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BAD!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Reviewsjob (NEWARK, NY) Jul 10, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

3 out of 12 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Just dont waste your time!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not as bad as everyone makes it!

posted by RhenMorris (BOWIE, MD) May 29, 2014

Member since May 2014

I actually enjoyed this game. The game got better as the character's skills got upgraded. It is not the best stealth game out there but it is not the worst either.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Um, wow

posted by Lorenxana (FOUNTAIN HILL, PA) Mar 26, 2014

Member since Feb 2012

Look all I'll say is do read all the reviews.. I thought this game would be great I had been waiting on it since I heard about it. But it was so flawed and it could have been awesome. The dynamics of the controls, and powers are horrible. You remain stealth(which I loved) but when you think you got an enemy cornered and you use a sneak teleport kill you end up being right in front of said being. This is a flaw by camera angles. Not being able to tell where you're going or exactly due to that. The save points are not cool for as many times as you're going to die. Makes it a game I care not to play. Good thing is IF you can get through some boards with out being seen or killing yo get extra points but as the guards are scattered all over it's a bit difficult. Watch a walk through before you play this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Disappointing

posted by drave55 (SHERMAN, TX) Mar 13, 2014

Member since Oct 2013

Why I put this game in my game on my list cause I thought cool a vampire game. but start playing it I was very disappointed in this game. graphics wasn't very good.2 it was easy 1st than it got harder. couldn't get anywhere without dying .cause you got spotted a lot people shooting at you didn't matter how many you killed they just kept coming after you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WORST GAME EVER!

posted by tdamren805 (FILLMORE, CA) Feb 11, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

This is the WORST GAME I HAVE EVER PLAYED! I cant get this guy to drag the mother fu@ker, one fu@king button LB, and it wont fu@king do it! Do NOT RENT THIS PIECE OF SH@T!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I read all the reviews, and thought I was prepared

posted by KrimsonKoukatsu (GILBERT, AZ) Dec 10, 2013

Member since Jun 2011

I had hope for this game when I first heard about it. Then I read all the scathing and disappointed reviews about it. I thought I was ready for anything, after how badly the picture was painted by other people who played it... and I was dead wrong. The idea is great, and I hope it's attempted and better executed in the future, but this game is trash. Graphically, it would've looked good if it was published in 2005. EVERY conversation, the mouth and the speech aren't tied together, it's like watching the old GOJIRA movie. It doesn't fit entirely in the screen, and has no option to alter the HUD size to make it fit. The controls are pretty smooth, if a bit stupid. They did two things well. Firstly, the animations for the powers (the ones available in the tutorial at least) look pretty great, and secondly, they have a Mass Effect style conversation wheel. I made it through the tutorial, but I will not waste another second of my life on it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Slow and Boring

posted by chuckwest1 (KENNESAW, GA) Nov 25, 2013

Member since May 2011

This game had promise until you started to play and realize that you spend more time hiding and not actually doing anything.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

This Is Not the Stealth RPG You Are Looking For

posted by kwdblade (NAPERVILLE, IL) Aug 12, 2013

Member since Nov 2010

"I gathered the last of my strength, clinging to the wall...to recover from an epic hangover, I must make my way to the bathroom..."

This was the narrative in my head for the first scene of the game. The dialog was already hilariously bad, but I decided to give it a shot anyway. I couldn't play more than an hour though...and here's why.

I was somewhat excited for this game. A stealth-action game with RPG elements, and you play a vampire? Sounds pretty cool! Except its not. Its bad. Really bad. All of the elements are there: there is sneaking, cover, stealth kills, an xp system, powers, conversation options...but they are all implemented so terribly. There is literally one button to attack...one. You hold down A to drink blood, or press A to kill. Every enemy in the first part of the game I played died in one hit, regardless of if it was a stealth kill or not. There is also this annoying thing it does where it finishes your movement for you...I stopped right before enemies several times, and it just kept me moving, or turned and faced me a different direction. And more than once it made me reveal myself to the enemy. Super annoying!

The cover system is very basic, and works about half of the time. This is 2013 people...we know what a good cover system looks like. Combined that with lousy dialog, boring voice actors, dull graphics and uninspired powers, I can't imagine giving this game another shot. Thankfully I got it from the library for free.

What is it with these lazy games? Do game developers feel pride in lazy attempts like this? I was hoping for a Thief meets Hitman with a little Vampire the Masquerade. Instead I got...well...this. I knew I was in trouble when I saw Calypso's name in the logo screen, and I knew it further when about five other game companies appeared next on screen. If you need that many companies to sell this drivel, maybe its not worth the effort.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Yuck

posted by DoktorNein (PORTLAND, OR) Aug 10, 2013

Member since Aug 2005

So... lemme get this straight"
At the end of a console generation, the way you build hype and generate pre-sales is releasing broken junk titles that should have been round-filed a year ago?

This game is comically bad, from the acting to the gameplay The AI is insanely moronic, and will in some instances allow you to sit in a bush and pick them off by the dozens. The voice acting reads like an early draft of some cheesy YA novel that will eventually be a cheesy YA movie with ham-fisted overtones of teen angst and issues of identity... the problem is that writing is in a game with a 17+ tag on the cover.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »