Rent Dark Void for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Dark Void

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
5.3

3124 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Score: 7.5/10

posted by Valkyrie23 (SPRINGFIELD, OH) Jan 25, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

56 out of 63 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

This game is a lot of fun IF you know what to expect. I'm so tired of seeing new releases compared to Gears / Halo / MW2 / Uncharted. "Oh, it doesn't follow this formula, let's give it a 2!" Well, not every game is going to be life-changing.



Yes, there are a limited amount of weapons, and yes the controls do feel a bit. . .slippery. But you can easily adjust the sensitivity sliders to compensate, and just have fun with this one. The graphics do lack that "next-gen" polish, but it's fairly engaging overall from start to finish. Also, it's the same voice actor, reportedly cast for Dark Void prior to the Uncharted series. His voice talent breathes life into his character, and the in-game banter may even make you laugh out loud at points.



Bottom line: Stop comparing every game to the "Big 4". Be thankful that there are companies out there giving IP's a chance. At least Dark Void is trying something new, though still is being beat up for it in the process. Should it have spent a little more time in the oven? Of course. But aren't most games these days guilty of the same? If a sequel is released, I'm definitely looking forward to it.



Worth a rental at least. Decide for yourself. You may be pleasantly surprised.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent game

posted by Mebig0 (CASTLE ROCK, CO) Jan 21, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

23 out of 26 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Over all not to bad. The shooting was fun and flying with the jet pack was just as fun. Not the longest game I was able to beat it on normal in about 5 hours with a little bit of a challenge, nothing to hard though. Story was also decent little predictable at parts but still not terrible. Over all unless you got nothing going on and want a good way to kill a day this would be the perfect for just that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Looks like the Rocketeer is back

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Dec 10, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game reminds me of the old school movie, the Rocketeer. But don't be totally fooled by the jet-pack. Dark Void is a 3rd person shooter (3PS) all the way. The ability to use the jet-pack is what sets it apart from all the other 3PS games out there, even though for me it was more of a nuisance than a competitive advantage.

Overall, the campaign is pretty short. I think most people would agree there. I'd say it's almost split 50/50 with how much time you'll play ON LAND versus IN AIR. There's different controls for both land and air combat, but using the jet-pack was very frustrating at times. I couldn't control the dumb thing for the life of me more than 3/4 of the way through. If this game was a bit more polished, they would've tightened the air maneuvering.

It starts off with you crashing your plane into this remote jungle while passing through the Bermuda Triangle (real original stuff there). It takes place in the future somewhere, since robots inhabit this place, and are your enemies. They look like skinny bots from the movie I, Robot. They're annoying, very narrow, and hard to hit. ALSO, I'm so sick again of having to play with a female sidekick. Who started this ridiculous trend and when can I punch him/her in the face? Why do developers think we always need a sidekick of the opposite gender? I found her annoying to say the least.

Nothing is going to amaze you in the graphics, sound, and music departments. I'd rate all 3 as a 7 out of 10. Some times good music kicked in, but the guns lacked beefy sound or horsepower. I mean, if you really love 3PS games, I'd say it's worth a rent. You can beat the game fairly easily, it's a decent change of pace from routine games, and the achievements are a piece of cake.

Milt Drucker - gamertag

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

YEAH! rocketman! no wait why am I on the ground?

posted by tyrial (BROOKLYN, NY) Jan 21, 2010

Member since Apr 2006

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Starts off good but for some reason I can't explain (its a spoiler)
you end up on the ground.
Worth a rental if you like to get an easy 800 added to your gamerscore.
beat it and send it back! (thats what I am doing.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun game while it lasts (which isn't long)

posted by y2mckay (MENLO PARK, CA) Jan 31, 2010

Member since Mar 2003

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

As a big fan of "The Rocketeer" in particular and Jetpacks in general, I expected to love this game, And while it was fun, it suffered from a short campaign (with no multiplayer at all!), a pretty generic "alien invasion" plot, and a general lack of polish (It's a pretty-looking game that could have been gorgeous).

Using the jetpack is by far the most fun the game offers (although hijacking different planes or switching between fixed turrets can also be occasionally fun). unfortunately, less than half of the missions are aerial-based, and in an already short campaign (easily beatable in under 10 hours) that's just not enough quality jetpack time. The rest is just your usual Gears of War style pop and shoot ground combat - fun, but far from unique.

Likewise, the story and characters are pretty flat and uninspired. Honestly, this game would have been a lot more fun if it revolved around fighting plain old Nazis or some other fictional tyrants and zooming around more familiar Earthbound locations, like a 1940's New York or Paris skyline. Instead, you get to zoom around the same-looking alien canyons taking on the same handful of enemies over and over again.

This is not to say that the game sucked. Like I said - fun while it lasted. But if they happen to parley this into an actual franchise, there will be much room for improvement in story, graphics, level design, etc. However, as long as they bring back the jetpack, and introduce new aerial moves and weapons for it, I'll be back for another round.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Avoid the Void

posted by GMcConnell (BALTIMORE, MD) Mar 20, 2010

Member since Dec 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Broken.

That's one of the things you'll think a lot about this game. Broken. Shatterd. Buggy. Infested. Synonyms for the same symptom.

The game tries to be a few things at once, and manages somewhat. Many have compared it to Uncharted; Dark Void has an interesting, if linear, path of adventure for you to advance through the storyline. There's a good bit of gunning, with the use of cover mechanics to help guard against damage while trying to take out the enemies. Later, you get to the 'Jet Pack' content, which transforms levels into full 3-D free-roaming stages. You may have to get a little used to the controls for flying, but at least they did okay for this part.

However, there are several glitches that appear here and there, ranging the gamut from a bit annoying to fully game-breaking. My experiences have involved getting stuck without being able to move (melee on an enemy upon a stairway), the ship you're defending being stuck on 'Is Being Damaged' (causing its health to constantly drain to 0 despite not being attacked), and then finally the "Grease Monkey" achievement where you must upgrade all of your equipment.

The developers, for unknown reasons, store your bought upgrades in your profile. This is problematic for two reasons. One, sometimes it doesn't realize you've gotten all the upgrades to go and unlock the achievement. Two, because it's in your profile, YOU CAN'T DELETE THAT BIT OF DATA. Restarting the game doesn't help. If you play offline, you can delete and recover your profile. If you're online at the time..., well, that's one 100% completion that is blocked to you.

Capcom needs to patch this game, and soon. It's short enough as it is (you can beat it in 5-10 hours), so all the glitches and bugs that have made it into this game take away its value. Either avoid this entirely, or wait until Capcom finally fixes the issues.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

very average

posted by headhunter (WHITE RIVER JUNCTION, VT) Jan 18, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

31 out of 43 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

Maybe my hopes were too high for this game, but then again, its just so very average.
In dark void, you play as a two bit nathan drake clone, who has a jet pack, and played a lot of gears of war.
If you just look at the bullet points of Dark Void, it sounds like it has the potential to be all kinds of awesome. You get Gears style pop and shoot 3rd person combat. Plus a freakin jet pack! whats not to love? Well first, the basic mechcanics feel off. I'ts a pain to aim and shoot anyone. The enemies spaz and run around, and you're targeting is too slow. I tried adjusting the sliders but I could never get it feeling right.
Next, the jetpack. Dark Void was made by the folks that brought us Crimson Sky, so I was looking forward the the flight. But that too felt sadly "off". You move too slow through the sky, even with the boost button jammed. The standard flight moves like a barrel roll or a loop are ackward to pull off. Plus, you dont even get the jetpack until late in the game, and then they have the balls to take it away from you for a while, with the average shoot-em up games standard level design of give player great power. Then take away. Only a taste of power for you.
Which brings me back to my origanal point.
This game is very average.
Like other Gears clones before it; Wanted, and Dark Sector, it copys the combat style and trys to add just one twist.
In Wanted; bullet curveing. Dark Sector; a muti-function glaive.
Dark Void gets the jetpack. But they are all just you're standard 3rd person shooter. I can't recomend even bothering with this one right now, with all the great shooters that allready exist.
But rent it if you're allready bored, and just want to shoot some guns.
Plus... it dose have a jetpack....
and the jetpack has guns built into it.
....
and its a freakin jet pack!
.
Dark Sector...

i mean Dark Void gets a 6 out of 10 just because an average game gets an average score.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Meh!

posted by JDube61 (PLAISTOW, NH) Feb 27, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

When I first heard of this game it looked interesting with some great ideas but after playing it I'm unimpressed. There are some good ideas in the game, the flight/fight sequences are a lot of fun but nearly everything else is lackluster. From the gap filled story to the graphics to the (and this may have been just me) too dark to see levels the game will very soon find its way to a bargain bin near you. Too bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

QA failed

posted by Ctweak (SAVONA, NY) May 28, 2010

Member since May 2010

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Interesting story...well the parts that I was able to see. Within an hour of game play I hit a glitch that pretty much ruined the game for me. In the first parts of the game you are essentially lead through a story tutorial, one of these sections is to man a mounted gun. Upon entering the mount the gun just spun 360 degrees without being able to control it. Couldn't target anything, but I could fire. I can't believe a 2010 released game has this kind of poor quality.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Great Idea Poorly Programmed

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) May 6, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2004

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Game Idea- Very Good
Controls- very sloppy And very touchy
Programming- very extremely Poorly done
This Game would have been great but the Vertical aspect was Very Poorly Programmed since the Controls are So Sloppy that Half the time You push a Button and a couple of seconds Later the Game Tries to do it, And thats Nothing But Poor Programming.
Game makers are So caught up in the whole we have to Make The Graphics in The game Look Great abd as far as game play it doesnt Matter as Long as it Looks Great In High Def. Looking Good is about as Important to This Game as a Car Having Wings and a Rudder but Not Meant To Fly or float, Just More BS That shouldnt be There! This is an Avoid at All Costs Game Dont Rent it not any Fun and God Forbide You Bought The Piece of Trash doubt you can even Trade it in anywhere because no one wants the Thing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Thank god its over.

posted by Aronsky (SAN MARCOS, CA) Nov 27, 2010

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Just beat it so hear goes.

Not even going to try to come up with any god points for this game. Though I never tell anyone to not play a game because I have enjoyed plenty of games that had terrible reviews.

I will however list some of the cons about this game that you can look forward to.

- Cheesy story
- Worst flying controls ever. You cannot lock onto enemies which made some air battles take forever. I swear the enemies were always faster or at least more maneuverable than you are.
- I pretty much just played through the entire game with the same weapon you started with. Though that's probably not a con just preference.
- There was other stuff but I can't remember it all.

Despite and gameplay cons I came across the one thing that angered me the most was the stupid romance the characters had going on. All for romance in games but only when it makes sense. I couldn't believe it when two minutes after you crash on some mysterious island, lose your best friend in the crash, and find a dead body dressed in weird clothes, the characters start talking about their past relationship wondering why it didn't work out. Is working on your relationship really the best thing to do right after a plane crash.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not good at all

posted by DarkDream (BRATTLEBORO, VT) Feb 27, 2010

Member since May 2009

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Some people seem to think its wrong to compare games to "the big 4" as someone else so strangely put it. In this case this game most obviously compares to Gears of War. Now like comparisons or not, this game clearly attempted to clone or at the very least replicate the gameplay from Gears with an added twist. The Jetpack.

This is why comparisons are GOOD and sometimes downright required. If a game, takes a majority of its ideas from another game. That's fine in my book, problem with this game is it jacks just about all the gameplay elements from gears of war/uncharted. Makes it ugly and sloppy and makes it seem like all they were trying to do was put Nathen Drake from the Uncharted series in space. The story was awful, the graphics were hit and miss. The voice acting was beyond bad. Which is sad because the very same voice actor did a fantastic job in Uncharted. The sound was very generic, Sci Fi 101. And the only original thing about this game was the Jetpack, and to be frank it sucked.

Listen, defend this game all you want but the truth is, it was a disappointment. Gameplay was ripped from Uncharted and Gears of war. The enemy design was downright STOLEN from Mass Effect 1, the baddies looked almost identical to the Geth. There was nothing about this game that made me want to continue playing.

I will say this again, comparisons are required sometimes. When True Crime or Saints Row or The godfather games are made. They are compared to GTA because THAT IS WHAT THE DEVELOPER IS GOING FOR!!! There's no shame in trying to make a game with the same formula as an already existing triple A title. DarkVoid was going for Gears of War with a Jetpack with Nathen Drake as the star. And it failed, in every single way possible. 4/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Alright

posted by Diiaa36 (HALLANDALE BEACH, FL) Jan 24, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

You play this game for two days then its over u had fun thought it would be longer overall not too bad. if ur bored and got noithing else to do try this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A long wait for a whole lot of mediocrity!

posted by BadLarry (DEER PARK, NY) Jan 22, 2010

Member since Jun 2005

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I was psyched when they propped this game as the next "Crimson Skies". Unfortunately, all the wait plus numerous delays have rewarded us with a very mediocre shooter with some vertical shooting gimmicks that are literally beaten to death. The weapons don't seem to have any real punch to them, the enemy AI seems quite simple and old school. The cover mechanic and aiming feels jittery and unpolished. Even the flying segments don't seem to feel really solid with sometime awkward transitions between the two. I so wanted this game to be good! Maybe I'll go back and watch the Rocketteer just to fully immerse myself in 1930's jetpack suckdom.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

If they put a 8+ they were paid by the makers!

posted by lkariher (DURHAM, NC) Feb 16, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Let me start off with what are you thinking. This game is on my least favorite game list. Lets go through the pros
Flying
Shooting
and
Aliens
Cons ( This is a loooong list)
1) Poor voice acting 2) Weird Control Scheme 3) beggining is terrible 4) AI has the same intelligence the mario baddies 5) More repetitve than a brkoen record 5) Werid difficulty changes 6) Weird Helmet you get and make a big deal of but all its does is make your HUD glow blue. 7) Buggy 8) Poor Game flow
Alright now let me go over the AI which I hate, let's say you are hiding behind a pillar and you expect the enemies to cover as well but no they all run at you and start whacking you and some run away. Like I mean they run away and get lost then you have to find them in some corner in the far end of the map. Lastly there are a total of 8 differant enimies in the whole game!!!! Including the bosses, the grunts, the heavy grunts, the knights, sniper grunts, the saucers, flying grunts, archions, and big boss at end. Pretty Pitiful. It's just all around bad. The one thing I find really weird is that this aztec community in the middle of know where can speak perfect english with an American accent, also they never explained why with a top hat was there or why we got the jetpack. Overall 1-4 is my score.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not worth your time

posted by Syphon34 (DAVENPORT, IA) May 22, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is NOT good at all. After about a few chapters into it and was not impressed. It had only six weapons and a very odd flying combat system. Stay away from this game at all costs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

UGH!

posted by jaguar7676 (TITUSVILLE, FL) Jan 4, 2011

Member since Nov 2004

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Poor AI, and terrible cover system plus falling off of cliffs. This is a Descent Rip off and it's ridiculously bad! You empty entire clips on one enemy!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

not enough going on

posted by Joeisme333 (VENTURA, CA) Jun 2, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The jetpack was kind of fun, but the story wasn't very gripping, the gameplay was repetitive and generic, and the whole thing simply couldn't hold my interest. sent it back before finishing, which is rare for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

disappointment

posted by Voidus (DES MOINES, IA) Apr 27, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game had been in development for a long time and was obviously delayed several times. I had very high hopes for it, but was massively let down.

Decent graphics but horrible frames-per-second is unacceptable right off the bat. Combat is clumbsy and very, very repetetive. The flying controls are awkward to say the least, and in all combat types [air and ground] it's hard to tell if you're hitting someting while shooting.

I'm an open minded gamer, so I decided to try this game despite bad reviews. I now find myself rating it lower than the critics did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

boring game, ok mechanics

posted by dr7744 (NEW YORK, NY) Jan 22, 2010

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

i played the xbox360 version, i imagine that the ps3 version may be the same. i don't have a problem with the graphics. the gameplay is "so, so".
kind of boring all around. the jet pack maybe a new thing in the game scene but its awkward and hard to aim, fly, on top of the fact that the enemies are flying back and forth. i returned this game only hours after giving it a bunch of chanced to attract my attention. the second person shooting mode should have pleased me because i tend to like second person shooting more than first person. like gears of war, ghost recon 2, RE4 and 5. this game does it so poorly. upon entering a battle with a few robots im prompted to press X to get positioned behind a rock, then prompted again to switch cover positions from one rock to the adjacent rock. i do so only for the character to perform the most ridiculously, poorly animated, cheesy, side tumble have ever seen in a video game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

all the other reviews are getting it wrong

posted by lunchbox25 (SPRING HILL, FL) Jan 21, 2010

Member since Jan 2008

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

This game is pretty good ! at first it seemed a little hokey but after a couple of hours and you get deeper into the game, it gets a lot better! Those other reviews, dont listen try it for your self, its fun and different, nothing like Gears, yes its a 3rd person and all the controls and game play are the same but thats what makes a 3rd person good. play the game and you will like it. once you learn how to control the guy it becomes a fun and exciting game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't Rent this

posted by Mikewarren (HORIZON CITY, TX) Jan 22, 2010

Member since Aug 2008

8 out of 20 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Why someone would charget $60 for this game is beyond me as it's far worse than many XBLA titles that sell for $15. The graphics are dull, the controls are loopy, the story is lame, the cutscenes IN THE BEGINNING stuttered, and it takes an entire clip to kill someone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Grow up

posted by Logoto (RALEIGH, NC) Jan 22, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

9 out of 23 gamers (39%) found this review helpful

Ok i have to state that i have not beaten the game just played it the first few hours. And if you read the reviews of this game like i have then you might be thinking " wow this game looks like it sucks" well it doesn't. The control scheme is different but that goes for almost every third person shooter out there. You start off as a jetpack guy and your team is testing this baby out when you get ambushed and after about three minutes fighting bad guys the person your controlling dies. O no big spolier alert...not really. then you are transferred over to will a pilot and a ex-army person who is with his ex-friend/girlfriend who is also an army personnel. You get stranded and soon have to fight these robots who drop tech knowledge in the form of orbs just so its easy for you to see and get. with this tech knowledge you can upgrade your weapons. later on you get a jetpack but it wasnt the awesome one you had with the other guy but still its a jetpack. the cover system is good since after you press x it locks you into that space until you press x again or go back, which is good since like in army of two you wont run away from cover randomly. the game explains how to do moves when you need them. the graphics are ok but they are not out of this world great like everyone wants them to be. If you cant keep up with the storyline then plug your ears and sing when they start talking. This game is really fun and having it so you are not only on the ground like in most games or only in the air makes it so much more fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Nice try Capcom....

posted by Drizzle (SANTEE, CA) Jan 22, 2010

Member since May 2007

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Okay, I will start of by saying that this game looked very promising but unfortunately it was very disappointing... it have a couple of good ideas and some creative innovations but they were just not able to execute it properly, not to mention that this game reminded me a lot of a really lame 1991 movie "the racketeer" boy was that movie lame... sad to say this game fall doom to that as well.

I'll brake it down:

Pros:
-Good Ideas for the game.
-8 out of 10 on the graphics.
-simple achievements (for you achievement junkies) you'll get most of them if you just play through the story... a few you will actually have to try for.

Cons:
-Horrible control configuration. (especially when flying around on your jet pack)
-not very compelling story line.
-hard to get into the story
- did I mention the control configuration?
-no real replay value. ones your done... well you don't feel like picking it up and playing it again.

I don't recommend perching this game! It's not worth the $$$ its defiantly a gamefly game... Even then it loses it's charm rather quickly. I only had it for two days before I beat it and sent it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome!!!!

posted by Xmann1 (CAPE CORAL, FL) Feb 4, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is very unique for it's type. If you like flying, it's for you, if you like first person shooter, it's for you. The graphics are good, weapons are great and the game play is like none I've ever seen. The story line is kinda laim but the action that this game provides is, to me, unique. I anxiously await Dark Void 2, hopefully!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse