Rent Dark Void for PS3
view large frontback

Dark Void

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
5.4

1840 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The start of the Void, is black, but then, light!

posted by gamer301 (CLAYTON, NY) Jan 23, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2008

26 out of 27 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

Okay, so I've been anticipating this game since last summer. The trailer wowed me with its amazing graphics and action. Well, finally got the game, and felt cheated. The character animations were sub-par, so the graphics you saw in the trailer, were fake. The game's graphics are not even close to being that good. The game starts with you in a jet pack, and its a blast, a little diff cult, but very fun. But then, you change to the main character, Will. Who is voiced by Nolan North, the voice of Nathan Drake from Uncharted 1 and 2. He sounds exactly like Drake, and acts like him to. Not the best choice on the developers part. The game without a jet pack, is rather dull and unexciting. That soon changes drastically. As you'll see in the Pros and Cons, the game has its flaws, but is still rather fun.

Pros: Nice environment graphics, decent main characters, sick looking enemies and guns, flying is the best. Voice actors are good, cool deaths, the jet pack makes this game amazing. It is the highlight of the game and never gets old. Nice control setup.

Cons: Story isn't explained very well, character graphics are sub-par, Will looks to much like Nathan Drake, enemies are brain-dead, melee attacks are to powerful, and ground combat isn't that fun without jet pack.

This game is very fun, don't get me wrong, but it defiantly ha sits flaws, quite a few actually, especially for a game that's been in production so long. So go ahead, try the game, but rent it before you buy. Flying and hovering with the jet pack is super awesome, defiantly a fresh taste on the flying genre. Just rent first, some may not like it. I know I do, but I'm not gonna spend $60 bucks on iy, wait for it to be cheap and buy it used.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

unfairly low reviews, but art direction did fail

posted by ritzenhauf (WOODLAND HILLS, CA) Mar 13, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the vertical battles are worth experiencing, and the flight is a lot of fun--reminded me of what i've always thought Iron Man's flight should be like.

the game is mis-named though, (it's lighthearted in feel, and more about a secret world than any void), and confusing. it looks like a futuristic high tech experience, but when you get in you realize it was fundamentally envisioned as a retro pulp adventure. neither side of that dichotomy is well developed, (although the alien tech is somewhat interesting and colorful); and, they aren't woven together successfully.

pulp-wise, it delivered a limited range of locales that could have been more exotic. it was easy to get tired of the flight arenas: dramatic sky above, death mist below, and a confusing array of undistinguished rock columns. brown, brown, brown. i died a lot with no idea why. the minigame used to take over enemy aircraft was downright tedious.

i loved the ground battles, however. freedom to fly, move around the entire battlefield, lots of variety. snipe from high ground, carpet bomb while in flight, or take cover in the intricate caverns--wild! the AI was convincing on both sides. good stuff.

the game froze about four times during my play--the kind where the audio screams at you until you reboot. be aware.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not Bad, but a rather dissapointing game

posted by Tsukune (TULSA, OK) Jan 21, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Dark Void isn't a bad game, however it really isn't all that good either. The overall presentation is poor with the story barely explained and the setting just feels odd with characters like Telsa who really don't feel like they belong. The graphics are respectable at best. Environments and most of the textures are pretty nice, but the character models in motion look odd sometimes, especially during cutscenes where they sometimes vibrate uncontrollably. Gameplay is where the game shines and it is enjoyable. Flying is almost perfect and is a lot of fun switching to hover and flying and shooting baddies all at the same time. The ground-based third person action is pretty well done and the cover mechanic is responsive. The replay value is poor. Once you beat the main story, collect all the journals, and get all trophies you will have nothing left to do in this game. Dark Void, again, isn't bad, but personally I was a little disappointed in it. Overall, its worth a rent but if you buy this game...well I just wouldn't recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Boring!

posted by DjRikit (CHULA VISTA, CA) Jan 20, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

12 out of 25 gamers (48%) found this review helpful

Wow...I had high hopes for this game and I can tell you...ho hum! Its boring...its like, why do peeps get so all amped up over XBOXs Halo...this junk stinks!

This game has a boring story, forgettable characters, just average graphics, poor sound, horrible controls, and is filled with bugs.

Sorry its far from perfect...its like half perfect, hence 5 stars.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

avoid the void

posted by tyfyv24552 (LAND O LAKES, FL) Jan 20, 2010

Member since May 2009

12 out of 26 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

i was looking forward for this game and well it sucks the game looks alright but not great the best parts are in the air but a big chunk of the game you are on the ground the enemy ai is bad and pretty bad level design and a bad story and the game is 5 hours long this game is bad the sound track is great and it is a little fun to fly for a little while but it just not worth 60 dallors just rent it you will regret buying it thank
god i only rented it i would only get it for no more then 10 bucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Promising game soon falls into a mediocre Void

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Jan 25, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

"Dark Void" was a game that seemed to be full of promise. A sci-fi shooter with 360 degree combat, plus you get to fly with a cool jetpack! What could there not be to like? Turns out, there are quite a few problems with Capcom's latest action-adventure. Things start out okay, as you have your jetpack and you're engaging alien aircraft in a dogfight. Then things flashback to the beginning, where you discover Nate, uh Will (voiced competently by Nolan North, but unfortunately the game's designers made the character look too similar to Naughty Dog's far superior action hero) is flying Chloe, uh make that Ava ( again, those darn similarities!) on a courier run when they encounter trouble and go down in the Bermuda Triangle. Turns out an alien race, the reptillian Watchers, have set up camp there, and our heroes come across missing vessels from our world (like the USS Cyclops) and Nikola Tesla (the inventor, not in vampire form like he is in "Sanctuary). Why? Well, that's one of the problems with the game. The story never sucks you in, and you just never care. Shooting is okay, but it takes a ridiculous amount of ammo to kill an enemy, yet you can melee kill them with one or two hits (Huh?). Flying can be a bit squirrely, and the vertical platforming/shooting segments can be disorienting, though things are handled better here than in the dreadful "Damnation". Graphics are okay, and the voice acting is competent, but there's nothing here that will blow you away. The game is also short, running 4-5 hours in length, so on the plus side this isn't dragged out too long. This is a mediocre game with lots of promising ideas that never come to fruition. This is a rental only.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

the game is

posted by pjlq1990 (STROUDSBURG, PA) Mar 9, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

cool game bit i want more flying in the game just play the game
its good and cool game dark void good game to play
get what game and play it its time pleasce see game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not that great

posted by tkezo971 (SUISUN CITY, CA) Jan 23, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was not as good as the hype. I beat the game in about 6 hours game play time if that. The levels in the air are better than the ones on the ground, however there are not enough air levels in the game. The story is OK. A major flaw in the game is the final boss is extremely weak once you figure out his pattern, which is not that difficult to begin with. There were levels in the middle of the game that were tougher than the final boss. Overall big disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dark Void Review.

posted by mnhntr28 (STOCKTON, CA) Jan 25, 2010

Member since Mar 2006

6 out of 17 gamers (35%) found this review helpful

I gave it a 1 because I couldn't give it a 0.
The story sucked, the gameplay sucked, the graphics sucked, the controls sucked, the physical movement sucked and the enemies sucked.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Epic Game..

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Jan 25, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Using the Unreal Engine, beautifully: Dark Void is a well designed game in every way. Some might not like Dark Void, out of the fact, that the style of controls has the screen moving around quickly. This vertical shooter takes traversing style gameplay, as like the Uncharted series, to a wider scale of conceptual movement that places the style in a unique fashion, unlike no other.

You play as Will: a Courier Pilot, that gets a job that accidentally sends him into a parallel world of to Earth. While running into some survivors, Will finds himself against a Alien force. Aliens, which are known as the Watchers. The Watchers are trying to enslave humanity starting with the Parallel world that Will is stuck in.

Capcom has been making brilliant titles. Even though it seemed I was the only one who couldn't get enough of Bionic Commando.
---
Capcom has been making brilliantly developed stories and with complex gameplay. Unlike any other, Dark Void is a well rounded game. Graphics are crisp, well rendered, that takes you to a amazing new world. The jetpack controls are superb. Dark Void doesn't have any weak elements that are awkward. You will have to learn the controls, but after you have learned the controls, you understand how conceptually effective the controls are.
You can fly aircraft, High-jack aircrafts, control turrets, or engage into cover-styled gun fights.

The Maps, in videos made me believe-- I will be just Flying around a big map, with no exploring. That wasn't it, at all. You fly around, then you land on a alien vessel and get inside it(close corridors), battle your way through it all.

I only didn't like - having just six guns. The guns upgrade: giving more powerful punch and increased clip sizes. Couple bugs, which are kind-of-apparent. One, is jumping into a AA cannon makes the Ark invincible.

The game is absolutely awesome, sometime funny moments of zipping along then -BAM- rock.

You might want to try the Demo: to see if you like the control scheme.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game

posted by Alexpr621 (NEW YORK, NY) Jan 18, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

5 out of 33 gamers (15%) found this review helpful

I just got this game today
i have been playing for several hours and i can already say that this is a must have.
the graphics are simply stunning.
the gameplay is unique and mindblowing
the game is set in the bermuda triangle, now that is very unique since i dont think any game has a storyline in that location

all in all, i give 3 thumbs up, must have.

hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

General

posted by Raul12 (NEW ROCHELLE, NY) Dec 6, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

Is so obvious the makers of this game have seen the movie ''The Rocketeer" is identical just diffrent story line.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

DARK VOID A GRATE GAME TWO THUMBS UP

posted by killzone3 (ROME, NY) Oct 4, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

I loved this game the ending was grate.I liked the guns,jet pack,the up grades and the missions.I think yule like it to!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Dark Void

posted by ASamurai91 (MURRIETA, CA) Jul 21, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

The games Single Player campaign was good especially with a jet pack it had good dialouge a good story and excellent cover and weapon systems
However it suffers because it took me only 5 hours to beat it and gather the collectibles
And with no multiplayer there was not a lot else to do

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

game didnt work

posted by deverus (SAINT JOSEPH, MO) Jul 2, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

when i received this game it shut my ps3 off everytime i tried to start it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Damaged disc

posted by dsane (BUDA, TX) Jun 15, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

I'm not sure if this is proper place to mention this, but it seems GameFly doesn't give you much options in this regard. I was unable to play this game whatsoever due to the disc being too damaged to work in my PS3. All my personal games and the other GameFly game that I had out worked fine, so I can only assume that the disc was scratched beyond the capabilities of my system to play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Dark A-Void-able !Spoiler!

posted by leftB3HIND (WILMINGTON, NC) May 24, 2011

Member since Nov 2009

Story:
Dark Void, sets the mood by introducing your main character right off bat. You're a pilot around 1939 just before WWII and you are flying over an ocean and suddenly a portal spits you out into some Interlinked-world/dimension. The plot dances around, trying to loosely and over-dramatically interweave different sub-plots. If you can stay away through the sappy opening and the slow-moving introduction to "the VOID" the dialogue and the plot improve slightly.

Then at the last possible second, when things couldn't get more confusing. You're fighting a three-headed dragon who is the mist monster that has been controlling all of these highly-developed space ships and drones with parasites who just want earth for some reason all those it wouldn't benefit them because apparently they could live anywhere. Honestly, I just didn't get it.

Sound:
Other reviews may have mentioned (and I believe it was also on a free game video on the PSN store) that the music of the game was developed to change based on what kind of actions you are doing, while this is an extremely inventive concept, it wasn't executed perfectly in a LINEAR game. Which lead you back to repetitive sounds.

Gameplay:
Not as a slander on just this game, but all 3rd Person Action/Shooters, if you are going to make a third person game, make sure you can switch shoulders. (ty Uncharted & Red Faction)

The gameplay is actually pretty good compared to the storyline, you have to fight vertical battles and aerial combat situations and man turrets. The flight scenarios are really where the game is at because after about 1/3 of the story you can start just jumping into flight mode whenever you want. The game is better the second time around. You can skip the cinema, which is a bad idea on the 1st play through, and just focus on playing with the New Game+. All of your guns will be available and you can see all the collectibles on the mini-map.

Trophies:
If your a trophy hunter pick this up, mad easy yo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Short

posted by tomcat778 (RENO, NV) Mar 18, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

Game is pretty good but really short i beat it in about 5 hours of play time on normal difficulty

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

i actually enjoyed this game

posted by darkangel2 (SPRING HILL, FL) Mar 13, 2011

Member since Nov 2009

at worst it is a bit glitchy with some minor freezing problems and there are rumors that one of the trophies is glitched... though i had no problem getting it. I was actually surprised that something this good could come out of Capcom and the Unreal engine
the game actually isnt bad though. the graphics are pretty good, the story is kind of original, and the controls are comfortable once you get used to them. it is kind of a low budget "uncharted".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A Nice Idea Plagued By Cutting Corners

posted by Supallcomm (WHITTIER, CA) Feb 14, 2011

Member since Jul 2009

I had such high hopes for a game like this when I first heard about it - a game that not only gives you the ability to fly almost right out of the gate, but let's you activate it almost whenever you want and gives you action that utilizes a vertical component fairly well.

Well, like most things in my life, the game ended up being a pretty good disappointment. Between somewhat lackluster dialogue, getting only two basic types of gun to choose from (machine gun type and single-shot type - the hypercoil shouldn't even count as a gun), and a host of glitches relating to the trophies, this game suffered quite a lot from cutting corners in the development cycle.

There were plenty of forum topic results in Google when I started looking up how people were faring on the trophies side that said this trophy or that trophy were glitched and simply would not trigger. Three trophies in particular required a pretty sizable amount of time to be invested before the Trophy was supposed to trigger - "Grease Monkey," for example, which is upgrading all of your items to level 3 with gathered Tech points - only to have the game not recognize that the final item was upgraded and the player was now stuck with starting all over.

Final Judgment: Rent it, play through once, don't give a frak about the trophies. Should take about 6 hours on Easy mode if you don't die much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Eh

posted by maxflite09 (ROSEBURG, OR) Jan 1, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

Overall this game was fun, I enjoyed the concept of the weapons, jetpack, and the story. It was very interesting how you found log books from Amelia Earhart and other popular pilots lost to the burmuda triangle, which made it more obvious where you were and who you were fighting. The ability to steal ufo's was quite fun as well. The one HUGE disappointment for me, which was the only reason I gave this a low score, was the fact that when I finished the game I played the level "breaking camp" a few times to get enough tech points for upgrading my weapons for the last trophy until a platinum. Once I did all that was required, I did not get the trophy. I did this 2 times only to find out that the frickin' thing is glitched and you can't unlock it, so the game screws you out of a platinum. Though most people don't care about that, I think that is severely annoying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dark Void

posted by pepperdine (BELOIT, WI) Sep 29, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

Dark Void certainly has the whistle of a fun game but once you really play it frustration can set in. The targeting system could use some work, no auto-lock on enemies very for casual players? With this type of feature in games all over its hard to imagine why they would option to not have this, maybe even just for novice players. Beside this on the negative side, its often hard to identify what enemy type your facing, most of the watchers are all similar but have small differences. Some enemies take far more harm than others so this makes it hard to prepare for each encounter. Once you actually get into the game you are given a protect and destroy mission which the computer has your accomplice running into harms way at no end, and of course if he dies you fail.

On the positive side, the visual aspect of the game is hard to turn away from, and although the jet packs controls are not spot on, they are good and its a blast to fly around at any chance you can.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Frustrating!

posted by Tiababa (AURORA, IL) Aug 27, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

I have to give this game a low score because of the following reasons; the horrible flying interface, the even more terrible combat while flying, and the fact that this game does not auto save much causing me to be forced to re-do the entire level over and over. I am also getting tired of the same man's voice as main character of so many games plus the romantic side plot with an English woman was very cliche. To me this game was a cross over between Drakes Fortune and Halo, accept both those games were good. I think they tried to hard with adding flying. Stupid move!

Here is another reason we have Gamefly. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Give it a chance

posted by RevPete (WHEAT RIDGE, CO) Aug 7, 2010

Member since Dec 2007

You wouldn't know if from the opening menu, with pretty weak music, or the first several levels, but this is truly a deep and compelling game.

You start out being rather thrown into things with no knowledge of just what the heck is going on, which might be a turn off to some. And then things slow down, so you can learn the controls. If you don't enjoy the first several levels, I suggest you keep playing, the game gets quite good.

The game has a good combination of ground combat, and aerial vehicular combat, both in third person. The story line is fairly involved, but the cut scenes never seem out of place, or invasive.

The issues that I have with the game stem from the fact that the vertical combat gets a bit repetitive. And there are times when the combat gets a bit overwhelming, with enemies both aerial and on the ground. It can be really difficult, even with the radar, to tell where you're getting shot from. And there are some audio issues, especially when someone is trying to talk to you while you're in the middle of combat.

In general, the controls are good, the graphics are pretty good, and the story has some really phenomenal variety. Once you get used to the different combat styles (ground, vertical, and aerial), the game becomes very enjoyable.

I'm glad I didn't give up and send it back. I ended up buying the game, because I'll play it again in the future, just for fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not that bad

posted by Corey1983 (BRADENTON, FL) Aug 3, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

I didnt get dark void via gamefly...void was on sale for ten bucks at my local gamestore so I picked it up. A member rating of 5.3 is a little harsh!! its a decent game worthy of a rent or if you have an extra ten dollars search the bargin bins.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse