Rent Dark Souls for PS3
view large frontback

Dark Souls

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.0

4433 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Ultimate Test of Patience and Perseverance

posted by UkManiak (ROCHESTER, NY) Oct 6, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2010

80 out of 88 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

No apologies, No Mercy. You must be a hardcore gamer if you are going to rent Dark Souls. This game walks the very fine line of love and hate. It will test you to the last nerve, and rock you to your core.

I have rarely played a game where the next item, or spell you find felt so earned! Everything you accomplish will make you feel as if you actually did something! Very few games out there give you these feelings. You have no clue. Where you are, what you are doing, how you got there. All you have is the clothes on your back and the scraps you find along the way. Hardcore RPG at its best! Nothing is wasted, everything is gained with blood and tears.

YOU MUST be patient! Learn the ropes, feel out your chosen character and listen to others! Read those messages, leave some of your own! The Camera and Lock on system will be your second biggest enemy, thin patience your first.

This community right here is one of the best in the world of gaming. We are all in this together! If you feel like quitting and snuffing this game out all together DON'T! Get on the Forums, study up! If you know anything about Demons Souls, than you know there will be a huge amount of support online very soon. Forge ahead! Be smart about your next move and Run if you have too! Treat your characters life as if it was your own.

Dark souls will not be for the faint of heart or short tempered. I love this game, I love Demons Souls. These are the kind of games we will look back on, like Mario or Zelda, and say "Man, that was great." for some. Others will be just as happy leaving it alone.

I will leave you with this, Demons/Dark Souls to me defines what it is to be a proud first generation gamer. Whether you were ASCII or Atari/NES, you know what I am talking about. The Souls Series is an Ode to our childhood. Thank you From Software

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Dark Souls

posted by JuggaloGamez (CHATTANOOGA, TN) Apr 27, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is one of the Hardest and most rewarding Games i have ever played. There are Giant Monster Bosses, Awesome Custom Weapons, and Beautiful Crazy Fantastic Worlds that are open for you to choose when and where you go next. You can be anything from a knight to a wizard to an archer or a cleric. if you are not paying attention even the smallest enemy can overwhelm you, or other players can invade your world and give you a bad day. but if you can stick it out, and get good, it is one of the best games i've ever played as far as the fun factor. NOT FOR CASUAL GAMERS. trust me, you will give up before you really even start on the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game with one large short-coming.

posted by rocheetbombe (ARLINGTON, TX) Jun 16, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I personally didn't find this as an overwhelmingly hard game, but it was definitely hard and I loved that. It requires plenty of time with your first playthrough, after that you should be able to breeze through using prior knowledge. (with the exception of certain dynamic bosses)

My favorite thing about this game is it's world. The first time I played Dark Souls, exploring it was the funnest thing ever. Especially considering there's some places that are completely optional and you'll only know about if you stumble upon them or are told by a source outside the game. There's a lot of things to find and I garentee it'll keep you occupied for a long time.

As for the multiplayer, you got the co-op. Which is really nice although can essentially ruin the game's experience for you by co-oping with somebody that's very powerful and kills bosses for you effortlessly. I generally only used co-op for fighting other players.

Now as for the PvP (player vs player).. This is the part that irks me terribly. And it's mostly due to the poor way Dark Souls handles connections. There's absolutely no regional filters. It's extremely easy to get japanese or other foreign players in your match-ups. This is bad because it makes the lag almost unplayable, and it'll cause you to die many many times because of the outside influence. I found this way more frustrating than the single-player. You can also be forced to PvP, so it's not a very avoidable feature unless you completely disconnect yourself from PSN, which disables you from co-op and viewing online messages on the ground that give you tips.

Overall it's a excellent game, I just think the online needs major tweaking, especially since multiplayer is a very important feature in this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best games in a very long time.

posted by datboymook (LAWRENCEVILLE, GA) Apr 6, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm not going to waste your time. I will get straight to the point: Dark Souls is an amazing game. If you are a fan of RPG's or fan of games that challenge you and reward you then this is your game. Every element about this game is A+. From the spot on gameplay...to the not cheap but not easy enemies...to the boss battles this game has it all. My time spent with this game(and still playing)has been just a great experience all around. Games aren't this good anymore. This is a gem. One thing you should not that this game is for the core gamer...not casuals. If you are a casual gamer and you like RPG's you might want to look elsewhere(Skyrim). This game will challenge from the moment you start. Don't be surprised if you see yourself fighting a boss 2-3 mins into the game. That's Dark Souls for you. A game that beats on you only to make you better. It's like your hard on you parents. Showing you how terrible you are doing but not to put you down but to make you better. Once you beat Dark Souls(that's if you can)you will feel unstoppable as far as this world goes. You will play it again. In New Game + mode you can keep all your weapons, armor, and whatever level you were. Then you can go back and fight the bosses who were once giving you a hard time...now you can show 'em who's boss. Note: This game does get harder in New Game + and the enemies/bosses have more health the second time around. Long story short this game cannot be missed. Even if you're not a fan of RPG's so much I still think you will have a great time with Dark Souls. This is the type of game that will make you a fan of RPG's. If I could give it a eleven I would. Now what are you waiting for? Add it to your GameQ now!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

a real game...with some issues

posted by B_Ham (AUSTIN, TX) May 16, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Its been awhile since I've played a game that trully hooks me into its story or the lack of one in the case of Dark souls. After dying for the hundredth time, I forgot about what I was fighting for. I had a personal vendetta, merely to prove that this game was my B,tch and not the other way around. well I lost that battle. On to the review then, game play is great its what kept me playing for hours. A few hit collision issues that were undeniable glitches but may have been psn lag.
There really is no memorable sound track that I noticed beyond ambiance or the boss battles.
weapons seamed very similar in combat but looked cool, especially those you gain from bosses.
graphics are better than demon souls and by far more colorful. great game but as with demon souls I just got tired of dying. definate Rent or Buy (for real Gamers)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Love-Hate

posted by Darkfirelord (FILLMORE, UT) Dec 5, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Dark Souls is an awsome game were anything is pretty much possible. Offline play is awsome and Online play is just a blast!(Except for the trolls that try to get you to kill your merchants and stuff) But at the same time you pull your hair, sream obscenities at the screen, and almost snap your controller in half! But all in all the game is awsome and even when a cheap death robs you of 100,000 souls it still pulls you back in and makes you scream all over again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is it

posted by Clickypen (AUSTIN, TX) Jun 24, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was my game of the year for 2011, hands down. It was going to be Skyrim, but with the memory leaks and frequent crashing, I grew more and more frustrated. Speaking of frustration some didn't like Dark Souls for that reason. It's grueling and challenging, but it's also the most rewarding game I've ever played.

Utilize the online community and the wikidot page as your guide when you hit a wall, the chatango dark souls was loaded with people helping each other when it was released. I've never seen a community so involved in helping me.

What's better, a turbulent age of Fire or one of serene Darkness?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not for everyone

posted by melonbling (CENTERVILLE, UT) Jan 16, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you've read any other reviews then you'll know this game is hard. If I was given only three words to review this game I'd say 'compilation of frustrations'. The training area only explains the most basic game controls - after that you're on your own. This holds true for even the most helpful controls like hitting R3 to lock on a target and tapping O while on a ladder to slide down.
Handholding aside the gameplay and combat is also difficult - one missed parry and you are in trouble. Stack on top of this fighting ghosts that can attack you relatively safe behind the wall, floor or ceiling and you will be shouting profanities at your TV.
The PVP is very similar to Demon Souls in nearly every way. The players that have played through NG+++ and are now bored have re-rolled another character and have done suicide runs to obtain some of the best equipment and leveled just enough to use it. Now they invade players who are wearing base equipment and are still figuring out how to kill an undead spearman with a shield raised. Unfortunately, this only gets worse as you level up. I'm at level 49 and I can't get through Darkmoon Forest. My chances of successfully summoning a phantom to aid me runs between 5-10%, but my chances of getting invaded within 3 minutes are about 100%.
So as a word of warning, if you haven't beaten God of War, Dante's Inferno, Skyrim, etc, etc on the hardest difficulty then this game is probably not for you. Feel free to join me in Darkmoon Forest - I'll be the player that opens the PS menu and waits for the message to flash on the screen angermanagement-666 has invaded and then quit the game. Just sharing the frustration for the PVPers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Action RPG

posted by mistagino815 (ALPHARETTA, GA) Aug 31, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The combat is great. The graphics are detailed. The story does not press itself upon you. An open world with only your findings to direct you. Not to mention a game where you can beat over and over. A rare find indeed. A must buy if not rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

So hard, but so fun.

posted by ChrissyMae (LIMA, OH) May 30, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a pretty fun game, but it is also the most frustrating game I have ever played. It is crazy hard. When you die, you lose all your souls and any humanity you have used or acquired through defeating enemies. The only thing the game lets you keep are items you have picked up... such as weapons and special items.
It is really fun to play though. It is quite scary and nerve racking to play... especially when you are carrying a lot of souls you don't want to lose. LOL. This game requires lots of strategy and nerves. You can not win this game by pounding the controller. I decided I would buy it and keep it just because I plan to try multiple characters and strategies to try to get through it. Happy gaming!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

hard as all get out

posted by bigjerm666 (WINTER HAVEN, FL) May 15, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

but yet cant put it down. good game. (slaps butt)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dark Souls is awesome.

posted by afkbrb2 (COCHRANTON, PA) Apr 12, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Everyone on gamefly needs to play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

JA JA JA JA JA JA

posted by troyd35 (DORCHESTER, MA) Apr 3, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS SO HARD... finally a challenge! its funny because this game is old

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Harder than Demon Souls

posted by SoulGamer (STAFFORD, TX) Mar 5, 2012

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I put in 100 hours in demon souls and so no doubt I loved dark souls. The game is nearly identical to demon souls but with more spells, weapons, bosses, etc. What surprise me was how long the game was, took me 38 hours compared to 13 hours in demon souls on the first playthrough. The huge landscape looks beautiful, the atmosphere is dark and scary, and the enemies are relentless. There were two things that frustrated me, the jump should of been on another button instead of the roll button and there is no tips to where you suppose to go next. I kept getting lost another words. Overall, amazing game. Only the best can beat this game, and I give ya huge praise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

up to the challenge

posted by lex1978 (BRONX, NY) Jan 5, 2012

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is only for those you are looking for a good challenge & hours of game play value

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Hardcore.

posted by MyNameSucks (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Dec 5, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Dark Souls is definitely going to give you a run for your money. The challenge from Demon Souls has returned but now it's even harder. The game is of course, very challenging, which is what makes it fun. The graphics are beautiful as well. Unfortunately Dark Souls falls off it's horse on some things. For instance, not much is new besides the bonfire system, which really just makes the game slightly easier. The combat is the same, monsters(besides demons)are the same, it goes on. Yeah it's a sequel but it doesn't mean the creators can't add some new things to the mix to keep the players of their games interested.

Overall, Dark Souls is a long and very frustrating, yet rewarding game, filled with unexpected deaths around every corner. I give it a solid eight.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Buy This Game

posted by Nation144 (FORNEY, TX) Jan 1, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I did not play the first game but am glad I picked this one up. It remindes me of Ico, Shadow of the Colossus, Dragon Age, and Castelvania all in one! Controller smashing difficulty but huge gamer high when you take down one of the bosses or find hidden areas.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Dark Souls: Demon's Souls Squared

posted by lukeraynor (SPOKANE, WA) Oct 4, 2011

Member since Oct 2009

38 out of 47 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

If you liked Demon's Souls you are going to love Dark Souls. Unlike many developers, From Software did not blow it on the squeal. They kept the core mechanics that made the first game so rewarding. They didn't implement auto-takedowns or any other cheap tactic and call it an upgrade. The kept the combat exactly the way it was, perfect. This game, though did expand where it needed to. The world is huge, the level design wonderful and the enemies just keep on coming.

If you enjoyed having your backside handed to you over and over again in Demon's Souls then you are going to be quite thrilled at this game. Requiring constant paranoia, it forces you to slowly move around the world just waiting for the next attack. The monsters are substantially better and in a lot greater numbers. The levels seem to go on for days and just when you think you are near the end, you find you are maybe half way there.

In closing, this game is a perfect fit to the RPG genre. Taking classic pieces of the games of yore and mixing it up with modern graphics and the use of an analog stick. You will be angry, you will be crying you will be texting at 2am that you FINALLY beat the boss who had you stumped for days. You will feel what a real game should make you feel like. Exhilarated.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I'm surprised that I love Dark Souls...

posted by Tirade (GLENDALE, CA) Jan 17, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2009

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

...because I hated Demons Souls. I was one of the legions crying because I thought it was too needlessly punishing to be called "fun".

For some reason though, Dark Souls has me hooked. It is still punishing, but the pace and distance to the next bonfire is just right to keep you pushing forward, eager to see what new doom lurks in the next chamber. The bosses will kick your butt 9/10 times, but you learn something with each attempt and that 10th time is sweet when you triumph.

I feel the combat in Dark Souls was much tighter then in Demon's Souls. So that now, when I die, I curse myself and not the game for my error.

Now for the bad.

I STILL feel that these games ratchet up the difficulty to disguise a shocking lack of content. If this were a normal game, with weaker enemies and checkpoints every 50 feet, you would finish in less then a day and be screaming about how short it was. Forcing players to replay the same section of the game 50 times is still not "good" game design - it's just a time sink. The joy you feel for overcoming it is just a by-product.

I also feel they should give new players SOME guidance when choosing their first character. They should warn players that some builds will be WAY more difficult in the early stages of the game then others. I picked a heavy tank at first and just could not progress, then I picked a more nimble thief and the game got way easier, I could avoid a lot more damage by dodging around.

With just a few minor tweaks, more save points, more content and more guidance, Dark Souls could have a MUCH bigger fan-base, I wonder why they don't.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Complaining gets you nothing

posted by hdeanderson74 (WAUKON, IA) Jun 21, 2012

Member since May 2012

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I've found myself reading the low score reviews for Demon's souls as well as Dark Souls and everytime I read I find myself laughing at how many of their claims are false. For one the controls are perfectly responsive and yes the game is hard, Heck the back of the case even says "prepare to die". Even with a strategy guide I found this game intensely difficult. I almost wanted to sell it like when I first played Demon's Souls. But you have to understand the in this game patience is a liability. You will lose your patience and that's inevitable. Once you get into it though, you'll feel like freakin superman everytime you kill something you found completely impossible and even terrifying a few days before. You'll have the keys to the door and realize once that door opens you will have the keys quickly ripped out of your corpse's dead hands (thats a far fetched metaphor). If you have poor patience you'll die hundreds of times, if not you will likely still die a few hundred times. It's a great game though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not for the weak willed

posted by Chupychaos (ROCK SPRINGS, WY) Feb 8, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Dark Souls is one of my favorite games of 2011. I wouldn't go so far as to say that the game is very difficult. However, it is unforgiving. If you are impatient, and prefer to rush through rambo style, this game will chew you up and spit you out. As far as the combat mechanics and leveling system goes, this is the best by far. It is wonderful to play an RPG that requires skill in melee and strays away from the typical automatic battle sequence with the push of one button. The only reason i don't give it a 10 is the flawed multiplayer. Very rarely was i able ever to summon or be summoned. Other than that, its a perfect game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Old School Dungeon Crawler meets New School

posted by wtfsoko (LIVONIA, MI) Oct 7, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

18 out of 24 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is for the hardcore gamer. Not because of it's notorious difficulty, but for it's deeply complex gameplay and character creation. Many people will give up within an hour, but for those who stick with it will be rewarded with an engrossing world filled with brilliant design.

The overall level design is great. Branching paths lead to diverse and detailed areas with keys unlocking new areas and shortcuts for faster backtracking. Enemy design is original and creative, with some of the strangest and deadliest creatures you'll ever see. Monsters take inspiration from dungeon crawlers and biblical creatures alike.

Many people are claiming that there is no story in this game. I would be willing to bet that they gave up before getting down to the nitty gritty. The story is not told through traditional cutscenes. Rather, the game makes you work for the story by exploring areas and listening to the characters stories. Once you hop into the dark and imaginative purgatory-like setting, it will keep you coming back for more.

This game is hard, but it is far from impossible. Once you are familiar with the combat system, and have leveled up a few times, the game becomes much easier for anyone willing to be patient and strategic. My biggest gripe with the game, is finding an area that is suitable for whatever level your character is at. The openness of the level design, however, makes it far more satisfying when you find that next bonfire deep in the forest when you're on your last health bar.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Gamer's Game

posted by TrueGuile (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Feb 6, 2012

Member since Feb 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Yes, you will die in this game.... A LOT!!! You will lose soul's, which act as both currency for items and leveling up. You will "rage quit" multiple times. Once you get a feel of the game, let the carnage begin. Oh, you'll still die. But this time you'll want vengence! Don't be ashmaed if you can't play this game. It is meant to drive you bananas but it's impossible to quit. The visuals are breathtaking. The music is enthralling. The maps are brilliant. This game is must for hardcore gamers!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Deep game

posted by LazyJ (RIPLEY, WV) Oct 26, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Awesome game, it will take a lot of your time to enjoy it but one of the best i've ever played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

My GOTY 10/10

posted by DropDeadSniper1 (LONDONDERRY, NH) Jan 5, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is amazing! this for me personally was GOTY it had the perfect level of challenge, combat, and strategy. It has tight and responsive controls. To survive you have to have a good trigger finger and keep the volume on high so you can hear every enemy coming at you (especially in Blighttown.) Ive already beaten it once and enjoying it on New Game+ even more! :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse