Rent Dark Souls for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Dark Souls

Rent

Keep for: $19.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
6.7

6923 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

So you call yourself hardcore?

posted by McRad (BREMERTON, WA) Nov 24, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

53 out of 55 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

there's nothing easy about this game. After a boss battle i generally relax, expecting a bit of down time. Dark Souls knows no such thing. Around every corner is something exciting, and often deadly.
Eventually you will toughen up to the difficulty level and find that it is some of the most gratifying game play to be found. The thing to remember is that its not hard just to be hard. The deaths, although many, can always be learned from. The execution is top notch and the controls will never let you down. if your tired of walking through games, then bring it. but be ready, and don't say you weren't warned.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game I Ever Played

posted by bscott01 (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Jun 6, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

31 out of 33 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

This game by by far the best game I have ever played. It actually made me rethink some of the game I played after because they simply couldn't compare to this game.

Lots of people will give this game bad reviews because it is insanely hard but that is the point of the game. If this were an easy game it would be just like any other RPG that used swords, bows and magic. But this game is so difficult that you get such a surge of pride and excitement whenever you beat a particularly hard boss or get past that one spot that has killed you 20 times.

When I heard about this game I was told that it was the hardest game out there and me being the gamer that I am took that as a personal challenge. This game is the feather in any true gamer's cap. If you can work your way through this game you can beat anything.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A brutal masterpiece

posted by CrkdWookie (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Dec 31, 2012

Member since Sep 2010

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Not for the faint of heart. Dark Souls, like Demon's Souls before it (PS3), is a dark, moody masterpiece. It's not the smoothest, sexiest RPG out there, but the gameplay is amazing if you take the time to master it.

Dark Souls is not the least bit interested in holding you by the hand, which will be off-putting for a lot of modern gamers who didn't grow up on the 'Three strikes and you're out' arcade games of old.

This is a game where playing smart matters, and a moment's carelessness is punished by the undoing of hours of work. A game where the money that can repair and upgrade your gear is the same currency you spend on upgrading stats and abilities. A game of consequences and rewards.

Personally, I love a game where the lowliest grunt can and will kill you if you let your guard down. A game where you will dodge yourself right off a bridge or a narrow ledge if you're not careful. A game where you have to be conscious of your surroundings at all times.

You will die. You will curse the game. You will swear vengeance upon those who created it. But when you finally come up with a strategy to take down the Black Knight, or finally hunt a dragon or slay the monster guarding the bridge you need to cross, it's the kind of fist-pumping, truly thrilling victory that not many games today can match.

A game this punishing and unforgiving is not for everyone, but if you are a bit masochistic and want to play a game that is as intent on beating YOU as you are on beating IT, you can't do better than this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The definition of Love/Hate relationship

posted by Lowkey77 (EUREKA SPRINGS, AR) Jul 14, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

With the plethora of button mashing games, one must wade through these days I had all but resigned myself to settle for these toddler games....Then Dark Souls arrived! Never have I loved a game and been so frustrated at the same time. Yes I have died many times but never once did I consider putting my controller down. I've owned this game since day one and still play it. The graphics are great, the gameplay kept me on the edge of my seat. I would recommend this to anyone who is tired of mashing A all the way through a game. Rent this game!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

You either love or you hate it. I love it

posted by Sliktor (WAYNESVILLE, MO) Dec 16, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was introduced to Dark Souls by a friend of mine and I took the difficulty of the game to be a personal challenge. It is hard, very hard. The "tutorial" boss killed me quite a few times before I managed to fell him, then I had to move on to the rest of it. It took me a while to beat the game and not once did I want to stop.

The controls worked well, though I often had trouble with some of the targeting and after a while I just stopped using the targeting altogether and aimed my attacks manually except for the bosses. Absolutely loved the combat though! This is not the standard hack-n-slash game that modern developers have conditioned gamers to expect. This game requires a patience like none I've ever played and you definitely have to plan and take every advantage you can, for every fight. The fighting itself is calculating and often cruel. You don't simply "pop" a health potion while running around. You stop, drink it, then you move again, and the whole time enemies can have at you.

The bosses are not the only dangerous things in this game. Every enemy you face can potentially undo hours of gameplay, losing you a lot of souls and sometimes a controller or two. But, as you learn from mistakes in life, so you do also in Dark Souls. When you die you are not simply met with a game over screen that asks if you want to try again. You are taken back to the last bonfire you visited and lose every soul you had, and every enemy has been revived, ready to kill you again. If you happen to make it back to where you died you do get to retrieve the souls you had before you died, but die again before you get there and they are gone forever.

The story is not obvious. Dark Souls doesn't just spit out words and mindless cut scenes to tell you what is going on. They give you a fraction at a time and if you look hard enough you can piece it together as you go. I really appreciate this approach to storytelling because personally, I'm tired of being spoon-fed every aspect of a

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

beatable or impossible to beat?

posted by Ghost156 (CHARLESTON, SC) Jul 19, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It will take a great deal of patience, and good considerable amount of time to master also it will help a great deal if you call in a friend to help you. But make sure you do not try to start or join a party while in multiplayer or it will kick you. Instead use private chat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dark Souls: Challenging, Rewarding, awesome.

posted by Snarfalicious (DILLSBURG, PA) Oct 23, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I only own an XBox 360, so I missed out on Demon's Souls apart from watching a buddy of mine play it. So, when I heard that Dark Souls was coming to 360, I was all over it.

Dark Souls is not a game for the inpatient, it will test your frustration on a frequent basis, but in the end the result is a rewarding experience. The world is beautiful, the character designs are fantastic, and the gameplay is one that continues to develop as your character does.

The game is tough, there is no way around that. It will make you want to throw your controller through your TV on multiple occasions. But, when you finally succeed against that boss that has handed you your butt on multiple occasions, you can't help but be excited. The mechanics of the game are brilliant, and the way that each enemy you face has something different to challenge you makes you realize how in-depth this game really is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Almost perfect!

posted by xXreaperXx33 (BARTLESVILLE, OK) Feb 9, 2013

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is wonderful. It's challenging. The world is immersive. The combat is flawless. The boss fights are difficult. The equipment menu is set up perfectly, making it easy to access the items you need on a moments notice. The graphics make a dark, gloomy, depressing world, beautiful in it's own way.

However I do have a few gripes. The fact that it throws you into the game with absolutely no direction makes the game feel impossible without a walkthrough. (Unless you're online while playing, which gives you access to messages left by other players) The starting gear is near worthless, making it difficult to play without looking up how to get better gear.

Overall the game is amazing. It has excellent replay ability, due to the versatile combat system that lets you fight how YOU want to fight, and also due to the tons of different weapon types, as well as different class types.

10/10 easily. I'm not taking anything away because of the lack of direction, because I know the devs meant for direction to be the players job to provide, which only adds to the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

HARD CORE GAMERS ONLY!!

posted by e_inThe813xbox (TAMPA, FL) Jan 23, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I mean that. You die and lose xp just to do it again and again hoping this time you make it to a checkpoint. Plus to get the most out of the game you have to play multiple times. I love and still play but be ready to spend 100+ hours on the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the Best Games Ever

posted by Zathrain (RALEIGH, NC) Nov 10, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was by far one of the best games I've ever played. Seeing a 6.6 member rating breaks my heart. It's stupidly hard, but that's part of the fun. You actually have to block! I don't remember the last game I played on the hardest setting that I even had to think about blocking. Thank you developers, and I look forward to the next one!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game!

posted by bsalman (ATLANTA, GA) Nov 1, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The level of difficulty in this game definitely makes it worth a rent! Just be careful as to what sort of character you create first... I made a thief, which I later discovered is considered one of the most difficult characters to start the game with. So it made an already very difficult game even that much harder.

If you're sick of games holding your hand through every single step of the way and basically playing like a movie, this game is definitely for you!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the Best Games Ever

posted by aominer29 (REDONDO BEACH, CA) Oct 31, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I first rented this game I did so based off of critic reviews and I’m happy to say I wasn’t disappointed. This games seems to have generated a love/hate relationship with gamers and I can’t see why someone would hate it unless they just didn’t give it enough of a chance. I consider this to be an extremely well done game with a unique feel that instantly became one of my favorite games of all time.
I was a little discouraged at first by the character generation screen since it looked kind of dated, but once the game started I was totally hooked. I found that the hints other online players can leave on the ground via the chalk you can get extremely useful at the beginning, but in later stages of the game they got kind of annoying. The controls seem clunking and hard to use at first, but after some playtime I found they flowed better than any other game of its kind. The game is extremely challenging and I often found myself hitting a monster I couldn’t beat so I’d farm some souls to get stronger. I’m not sure if I made my character too strong or if I just got really good while playing, but the ending areas of the game felt a little easy. They did a great job of creating different fighting styles for the monsters and bosses that makes you fight different and strategically every time (if you just rush into a fight just hacking and slashing you will probably die).
I found the visuals/audio of the game to be very well done and they fit the dark theme of the game perfectly (I felt like I was a part of the Dark Souls world while playing). The amount of story you get all depends on how much you want. The story of the game is told by NPCs and items found throughout the game making it hard to follow, but available to those who want it. Even though it’s hard to follow the story is actually quite good.
At the end of the game I was extremely satisfied and even felt accomplished (I liked it so much I bought it so I can play it again). In sort TRY THIS GAME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game

posted by texashalo (PLANO, TX) Oct 29, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is a lot fun... I highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Hard yet Addicting

posted by Score117 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Oct 15, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is HARD. You will die, there is no way around that. But this promotes a challenge unparalleled in any game I've played to date. It is so annoying, so hard, so frustrating that logic holds I would through my controller through my TV. Yet, every time I died, lost all my souls (currency in game), I kept coming back for more. You will hate this game, but because of that you will love it. Praise the sun!
(Oh and practice backstabs, also I've found DEX builds to be a lot harder to use than STR builds)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun but agrovating

posted by xnightmarexx4 (SWANSEA, SC) Oct 10, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a great game. It adds a unique twist on the whole RPG community. Its an over the shoulder one which is why i gave it a 9. But the customization of this game is great there are so many ways you can alter a character build so that there fast and can still use the heavy weapons. At the same time you can be a warrior and still use magic or pryomancy at relatively low level . Overall a great game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Incredibly intriguing and satisfying.

posted by cool785 (SCOTTS VALLEY, CA) Aug 8, 2012

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I don't have to tell you that this game is hard. That is literally the first thing you learn about the game. What I will say is that this game offers an experience abandoned by the newer wave of mainstream games. This game manages to tell a more fascinating story than most other games on the market. And it tells its story in a very peculiar way. The only back story you get is a 5 minute cut scene at the very beginning. You have to unravel the various plots and side plots by communing with the fellow NPCs, observing locations of enemies and items, and drawing your own conclusions from there. I love the story telling in the game. Also, the currency/ experience system is quite unique. Your money is also your experience. And any deaths you get make you lose your accumulated "souls". You have a chance of getting them back, if you're careful. This game also features very unique online play, where you can either recruit a fellow player to help you in your quest, or become a white phantom yourself and help weaker players get through the tougher bits. But doing so puts yourself and your white phantom at risk of invasion by a black phantom, another player whose sole purpose is to kill you and take your souls. Its incredibly balanced to perfect and I love it. I have nothing bad to say about this game, and more people need to discover this truly unique experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

all around a good game

posted by Raydri (OOLTEWAH, TN) Jul 17, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

has a rather simple story line although being simple does not make this game short, this game requires you to grind souls constantly when you think you are leveled up high enough the game throws a curve ball and hits you with enemies that will challenge your skills based on your class, some enemies will be rather simple others will be a complete challenge , i give this game a 9/10 because the only issue i had is that in certain areas the physics were slightly off where with a clear shot with a bow or soul arrow would hit a wall that should not have and be hanging in mid air. other than that if you dont mind dying repetitively for you goal then you will love this game and if you can beat it you really are a hardcore gamer . as many have said before Dark souls is not for the faint of heart.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SWEETNESS!! (10 out of10)

posted by Trench (PETALUMA, CA) Jul 4, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Dark Souls, squeal to the legendary Demon Souls is a grueling RPG. Filled with traps, monsters and Pain in the neck bosses. you will die...you will be frustrated...and you will throw your remote across the room. This is the only game were punishment to the gamer is its main factor and probably the most excitement, now dont think thats only what this game is about, you actually have to think, strategise and use skill to win ("I know right!") ITs fun and hard, its the only game that will not hold your hand. your first question in this game will probably be is "Dark Souls, were should i go and what should do?" Dark Souls response will be. "I don't know, how about you figure it out"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Fulfilling

posted by Infin1ty (TAYLORS, SC) May 29, 2012

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

At the time of this review, I'm just short of 50 hours into the game and would estimate that I still have another 20-25+ hours before I complete the first run through. Because I haven't completed it yet, I won't focus too much on critiquing the content of the story.

That said, so far this has been an excellent game. You will read many complaints about this being a very difficult game, and those are not lies. If you played it's predecessor (if you're playing it on the 360, I doubt you have) Demon Souls, you will go into it with a relatively good idea of how difficult the game can be. For the first-timers though, you will probably end up wanting to throw your controller through your TV within the first hour or so, but DON'T let that discourage you. There is no denying the difficulty in this game, you can't change the difficulty level, so just go into this knowing and expecting that.

With all of that said, be prepared for one of the most fulfilling games you will ever play. The game is split into many separate areas. Each of the areas will have various different and familiar enemies, harder enemies generally being further in the game. Part of the fulfillment comes from creating strategies to defeat different enemies, the other part comes from finding the many different items throughout the game. You will encounter areas where framerate can be an issue, these are pretty rare, but be forewarned that they do exist.

The story, for me, has been the weakest area of the game. As I stated, I still have about 20-25+ hours on the first play through (I emphasize first playthrough because you are almost expected to play through a 2nd and 3rd time if you want to get all of the achievements). Even at nearly 50 hours, I still don't know the overall plot of the game, though this obviously hasn't stopped me.

As a final note (just something I found interesting), you can do an unlimited number of playthroughs. If you're dedicated enough, the level cap is somewhere around 7

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing Game!

posted by Paulo147 (MOUNT AIRY, MD) May 25, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First off. I have been gaming for the past 23 years of my life and the bigest complaint about the current generation of games is that ANYONE can beat them. Games nowadays hold your hand with replenishing sheilds and health or checkpoints that take you to about 30 seconds before you died. To apreciated Dark Souls you have to have an old school mentality one where replaying areas to master them is not only necesarry but satisfying. Yes this game is extreamly hard and yes it does not beat you over the head with 20 min cut scenes. Having beat the game I can say it was the best 60 hours I've spent in the past few years playing a game. There were times when I thought I would be stuck forever because I couldnt beat a boss or area frustrated and angry I pressed on. I am glad I did. The areas and themes in this game are amazing to say the least and the way it all ties together is something to marvel at. This game is not for everyone. If you spend all of your time playing Halo and Cod you will most likely not get the same expereance that I did. If you grew up playing Nintendo and Sega you will feel right at home with the old school gameplay mechanics. This is the best game I have played in the past 10 years or so.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good and Challenging

posted by TheGreenMan (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) May 24, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a good game. I like the coop options (even though they could be a little better). I didn't even really understand the campaign in till about half way threw the game, yet this did not bug me because i was having fun. This Game is Challenging and you may get mad at it a few times like i did, yet then you figure out you just need to level up more and come back later. All in all this game is fun and different to other RPG's but in a good way. I would recommend This game to any RPG fan looking for a challenge.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

the devil himself must play this game

posted by audra09 (AKRON, OH) May 23, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

ok this game is really fun and the combat at sometimes can be fustraiting but the core of this game is slash slash slash but i wanna know is whats the story about i beat the game dieing soo many times and it never rreally gave me an answer but warning you will die alot sooo if your not the patien tip then your going to get really mad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Truly unique...

posted by navynuke123 (SILVERDALE, WA) May 7, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Replay ability and depth. This game has made me seriously think about shelling out the money to buy a PS3 so I can play Demon's Souls. Countless hours of fun.

Please don't let the diffuculty of this game stop you. If you are any good at gaming; you will get better, and you will experience a masterpiece of programming. There is so much to do. I only wish I had a copy of the game guide to help when I was starting out. I can't wait for a sequel.

If you grew up with Morrowind. Dark Souls is the evolution of rp gaming you are looking for, not Skyrim.

GREAT WORK! THANKS FOR AN OUTSTANDING GAME!!!

And don't go hollow, my friend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Crying Shame

posted by PaSe65711 (MOUNTAIN GROVE, MO) Apr 24, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I find it very dissapointing that this game only has a 6.6 rating. The only reason I can see anyone giving this game a bad rating is because they were not expecting the challenge they got. Apperently they weren't up to the task. The graphics are great, the magic system was lacking a bit but we have seen worse. Overall this game was the challenge my wife and I were looking for.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

When they say you'll die...

posted by jkroll (SOUTH GLENS FALLS, NY) Apr 11, 2012

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

they really mean it. You die ... a lot. Errrr... I mean you die continually! Dark Souls is a fun, hard, and enjoyable experience... 9/10 for me!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse