Rent Dark Souls II for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Dark Souls II

Rent

Keep for: $19.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $39.99

Used: $19.99

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
7.3

900 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing!

posted by FaultyStorm4346 (MUKILTEO, WA) Mar 12, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

16 out of 22 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

If you enjoyed the first Dark Souls you will love this one! It has some nice new graphics there is no longer a framerate issues since the game always runs at a sturdy 30 frames. The bosses in this game are very well designed and challenging and the world of Dark Souls two is huge and chalked full of exploration. This also added many new combat mechanics and the new torch mechanic which is actualy pretty usefull. Overall this is an amazing game a must buy or rent for all Dark Souls fans!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GoTY for 2014

posted by ColeCreek (KREAMER, PA) Mar 14, 2014

Member since Feb 2010

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Even with a slew up great upcoming titles in 2014, my bet is that Dark Souls 2 will stand as the best RPG this year. As a fan of the original I had my doubts on whether Dark Souls 2 could live up to the original game's greatness and without a doubt, it does. There are a few changes to the game worth mentioning. The first is the fast travel system that is implemented from the game's beginning, instead of more than 1/2 way thru like in Dark Souls. I was under the impression that you could jump around to any bonfire in the game from the get-go from the early reviews but this was misleading. You can fast travel to only ones you have visited. Another change in the game is that enemies don't respawn after you have killed them enough times. At first I was a little worried that this would detract from your ability to grind souls, but I have found that in certain areas off the beaten path
enemies still were present again and again. This change just seems to be in areas on the path to a boss to make it a little bit easier to reach them over and over. Also I have to mention that there is hollowing in the game when you die and everytime you are killed you lose 10% of your maxium health, up to 50%. This can be a real pain in the rear end because to reverse your hollowing you have to use an item at a bonfire and they are in limited supply (as are other items purchased from vendors). However about 6 hours into the game it is possible to get a ring that cuts your hp loss to 25% max; it just takes a bit of running to find it. One thing that is much improved are the graphics and I couldn't find 1 section of the game the had anything less than 30 fps frame rate (cough Blighttown). Dark Souls 2 is an amazing RPG with deep customization options and truly rewarding gameplay. Highly recommended for patient gamers that love a challenge.

FalloutNewVegaz
(Xbox 360 gamertag)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

My thoughts on Dark Souls 2

posted by scruz_1003 (MILWAUKEE, WI) Jun 22, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This is really good idea for a game, but as interesting as it seems the mechanics could use a lot of work. I understand deadlines but taking the extra time to fix lagging, walking threw walls and the miraculous ability to avoid damage angled between stair rails would dramatically improve the quality. Also this game has a weird sense of authority. Like what's the point of enabling the player to kill themselves or kill those that help you. Also if you are going to give a player the ability of customization don't make it so limited. But on a positive note the cut-scenes are almost flawless and very theatrical. I rate this with a 2 because the mechanics aren't there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing!

posted by Conkreted (TRINITY, TX) Mar 17, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is truly amazing. The story is intense and the combat mechanics are nice. Its frustrating to die as much as I do but I still love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Do you like pain?

posted by Faerie_Knight (DUBUQUE, IA) Aug 14, 2014

Member since Mar 2013

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Do you like pain? Are you overjoyed to play a game that frustrates you to no end? Are you one of those extremely rare people that think beating Resident Evil 2 with just a knife is too easy? If so, this might just be the game for you.

Every encounter is nastily difficult. Then you reach the bosses, or maybe they're just mid-bosses. And when you do, you can count on dying many many many times. While death in the game isn't permanent, you lose all experience earned before you're death. At least, you do till you find your old corpse. Only to find that you can't reliably claim your lost experience because that boss that 3 shotted you (if you're lucky) is right next to it, so kiss all xp gained on the way to recover your lost xp goodbye too.

This is one of those rare games where I had to stop playing it early in. After 2 weeks of playing, I'd just barely gotten past the first dungeon. Yes, it's that punishingly difficult.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Save yourself the frustration

posted by Sierramist100 (MANCHESTER, NH) Jul 26, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I give it a -1 this was the worst game I have ever played, never ever again. If dark souls 3 ever come out I will make sure to Skip it and rent a better game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wow. Absolutely terrible

posted by jcvette315 (UTICA, NY) Jun 24, 2014

Member since May 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Doesn't really seem like they spent anytime at all on this. No objectives, no map, no real point at all. If you're a fan boy with nothing but time on your hands; go for it. If you're looking for a dragon-age style RPG, this is NOT it. What a disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

NO THANKS

posted by 44YOLDEYES (PRAIRIE VILLAGE, KS) Jun 9, 2014

Member since Oct 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

graphics are bad, facial animations are bad, rendering is bad, combat is bad, there is no tutorial that I could find to show you how to cast spells, the character models look like its from 1995. I don't see how in the Heck this game gets such high marks. I would rather go pick crops in a field on a hot July day than play this game for one hour. Games for me are to relax and have fun, or unwind after a hard day of the real life grind, not come home and load up a game just to experience more anger and frustration.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dark Soul II is terrible...

posted by Lazrus7898 (TEATICKET, MA) Jun 5, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Awful game. Regretted renting it after 30 minutes of play. Game gives zero direction on character/fighting control, whats happening, what you need to do, nothing. So so graphics. New tomb raider puts this game to shame with graphics quality. Sluggish character response time. I am sending it back to Gamefly still having no idea on any goals needing to be accomplished.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ugh, more junk.

posted by DangerBabe (PENDLETON, IN) May 23, 2014

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Could a game be any less user friendly, hard to control or horrifyingly vague? I think not. It had such promise, but just became monotonous after 15 minutes. Hack and slash games have their goods and bads, all of them, but this dominated in bads. A resounding thumbs down for this awful thing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible

posted by Grasshopper33 (WINTERPORT, ME) May 11, 2014

Member since Jun 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I dont know how this game has got such a high rating...In this game you will play the same mission 20 times before moving on. Over, and over....eachtime trying to do the same thing with less resources....Worse game I've played in a long time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Terrible!

posted by aaDKaa (PITTSBURGH, PA) Mar 27, 2014

Member since Jan 2013

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

First Mass Effect was ruined, now Dark Souls. This is a complete downgrade from the original. Bad graphics, bad level design. Not an ounce of creativity was put into this game. Its not even hard so i dont know what people are talking about. Bonfires and boss fights are easy to find. Doesnt even fell like the same game. Just terrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

sadistic and frustrating

posted by dtyjfghfhjghjkg (CHICAGO, IL) Mar 28, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

6 out of 14 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

i've been a gamer for well over 20 years. i never played darksouls and enjoy a good challange. games should relive stress not add to it. some might like this game. but personally this is just not fun. it's seems that the hype behind this game is about how insanely difficult this game is and how many times it can kill you. the control interface is counter intuitive and it's just full of cheap deaths. it lacks a real plot and throws you into the game with no instructions on how to play it. the graphics seem like they're from 2004 stick to skyrim for a better experience. i really tried to give this game a chance. but i found myself angry long after i resealed this rubbish and put it back in the mailbox

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Solid souls experience

posted by True7errorist (NIXON, TX) Mar 26, 2014

Member since Oct 2011

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

If you enjoyed the pain, suffering, and cursing that the first game induced then you'll love this game.

The enemies in this game are much MUCH more aggressive then those of its predecessor and will attack you without retreat. Most of them will chase you much further then the baddies of the first game. Not only that some of these guys run ridiculously fast and will kill you while you're trying to run. The bosses however are not as difficult as the first game IMO. There are multiple times you will fight multiple "bosses" at once, but none compare to The Four Kings.

They have also made it much more difficult to get used to the areas and bosses by adding more enemies in NG+ and beyond. Most are red invader enemies, and they make the other enemies seem like child's play.

Something I found rather amazing is that you are no longer completely safe behind a shield. If an enemies weapon is long enough to "wrap around" your shield you will still take damage. This is especially effective when enemies wield halberds and great-weapons. On the subject of the larger weapons, the great-weapons in this game will no longer smash enemies to the ground. All they do is stagger enemies and sometimes they don't even do that very well, but they make up for it with increased damage.

What I just said does not work both ways. Your weapons will not hit an enemy behind a shield regardless of what your using. You WILL be smashed to the ground but great weapons. Also the damage you deal depends on how your weapon connects with your enemy. A scythe will no longer damage an enemy if you don't actually hit them with the blade. Same for halberds and axes. Swords seem to deal better damage when you make contact with an enemy while they are at your twelve o'clock, and deal reduced damage if you swing and hit them at the end of the arc of the trajectory.

Finally I don't see what the big deal is about the games graphics. It's dark souls your not playing it to look at pretty things.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Piece of Garbage

posted by bruticus168 (MILLVILLE, MA) Apr 14, 2014

Member since Apr 2012

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I spent 1 hour playing and found the 3rd person combat control was awful. Skyrim/Oblivion combat is so much more fun and less stressful. Some compared The Witcher to Dark Souls which is a wrong comparison. The Witcher is a very polished game where Dark Souls is not. The on-line aspect is ridiculus especially the in-game glowing messages other players leave which are annoying at best. I have played many RPG's from Dragon Age to Viking .. this is by far the worst game I have played. I can't believe people are in love with this game. I suggest you rent something else and save you the time from mailing this awful game back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Stressful

posted by kingroarroar (BURBANK, CA) Apr 4, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Played this game for 3 1/2 hr. Just kept dying or walking of a cliff. Not my cup of tea very frazzled and unsatisfied with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Horrible.

posted by Tiny_Tom_79 (LAS CRUCES, NM) Apr 14, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I am taking both of the Dark Souls games off of my Game Q because I went and purchased them Saturday, April 12th, 2014. I took them back to the store and got my money back. Thankfully I had purchased them used. I tried to play both of the Dark Souls titles and all I can say is that it was horrible. Not something that I would suggest to anyone. If you don't find those bonfires and light them your character gets killed by two swings of an enemy axe or a sword and you've got to start all the way back over from whatever bonfire you did last light and sit at. I won't bother again with either of the Dark Souls titles. They are horrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

True to dark souls

posted by natalie (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Mar 13, 2014

Member since Oct 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The game is not as dark as the first that is the screen was improved , the AI is much smarter then other games i have seen they will follow you and you have to really tap into you creativity to solve the puzzle but thats how dark souls was, the game it self has these dark feeling like dark souls 1 and the frame rate is very nice and stable, there is more variety in the open world type of dark souls some areas are full of sun shine, over all if you enjoyed dark soul 1 chances are you will enjoy these one is an upgraded version of the first but that is what every follow up should be. Over all i say the creator of the game did a nice job and recommend it to all gamer to try it out..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game but not for everyone

posted by Delgado510 (RICHMOND, CA) May 4, 2014

Member since May 2014

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is a really challenging game. For those looking to have a challenge and have the patience for it, this game is for you. This game can be very satisfying if you keep at it. The mechanics are really tight though so small errors are costly and can make people that are not good at it quit early on or think it is a bad game. A lot of people here talk about skyrim being better and I have played both a lot and i can honestly say dark souls is much more satisfying. Skyrim is easy to play and the spoon feed how to play and the story to you while in dark souls you have to figure much out for yourself which makes it that much more satisfying when you beat a boss or area you were stuck on. If you plan on playing this game though play it until you beat two bosses if you do not like it by then than it is probably not for you. If you cannot make it to two bosses then you are not a good enough gamer to play this game most likely. Like i said it is not a game for everyone but it is extremely fun and satisfying especially when you are in the higher levels.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Hard to play doesn't mean good

posted by Xrage (HAMMOND, IN) Mar 16, 2014

Member since Oct 2011

6 out of 21 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

I am a hardcore gamer, and play most games on the hardest difficulty setting, but this is just silly.

They simply took an average game, made it insanely hard to play and tried to tell people hard means good.

Don't be fooled by this gimmick.

This game is only for elitist gamers who need something to brag about beating.

I play games for a fun challenge, not to have an unpleasant, frustrating experience.

This review might be harsh, but it's how i honestly feel about this game, rent it, do not buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Developers in the dark!

posted by madcop144 (SHRUB OAK, NY) Mar 13, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

6 out of 25 gamers (24%) found this review helpful

I put this game in and was instantly transported back to around 2009. If you are expecting a game with good graphics and flowing game play this is not it. The interface is ridiculous and gets in the way during harder fights, actually contributing to your death. This is an obvious B game rushed to market by developers. I lasted about 2 hours into it before removing it and sending this junk back to Gamefly. The game was annoying enough where I felt it was a good idea to warn other players not to wait the three days for it to arrive. Thank God I only rented this abomination. Great cover art.. not much else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Decent game with some flaws.

posted by lordkor (MANAHAWKIN, NJ) Mar 31, 2014

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

DS2 is a game that will require a great deal of exploration to complete. There is no screen that tells you what your objective is or where to go or what to do. You pretty much run around the levels exploring trying to figure stuff out. NPCs will sometimes give you info but it isn't always clear if it pertains to something you need to do.

The game relies heavily on melee combat. So those that like using archers or sorcerers (like myself) will find the game more challenging. With the exception of the bow, crossbows and spells do not have a reticule to aim so you don't know where you're shooting. You have to lock on first then attack, which can be a challenge because the enemy has to be fairly close to lock on and spells take a second or two to cast which gives the enemy time to be in your face. Stamina plays a big part in the game. You need it to do everything including running, blocking, evading, and attacking. You can't just endlessly mash the buttons you have to time and plan attacks. The enemy, however, isn't bound to this limit and can relentlessly attack.

Ranged battle can be flaky as sometimes your projectile will hit an invisible object and be blocked. Enemies again, don't seem to suffer that flaw and can even attack you through walls and solid objects.

Boss battles are very tough and if you're underpowered you won't stand a chance. They can often kill you with two or three hits so fighting them takes planning. It is often best to summon other players to help with boss battles via summon signs. This is another flaky issue as often the connection will either fail or drop altogether.

Most of levels are precarious meaning you can easily fall to your death. You'll spend a lot of time traversing narrow ledges or walkways which will make battles even more difficult if not annoying.

Overall, a decent game worth a rent.

THE GOOD
Large levels
Wide array of equipment

THE BAD
Slow character development.

THE UGLY
Flaky multi-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Frustratingly bad

posted by MrPeanut337 (MIAMI, FL) Sep 5, 2014

Member since Oct 2013

Just don't.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

IS THIS GAME FOR ME? DARK SOULS II A RENTAL GUIDE.

posted by Ezra81 (NEW CITY, NY) Sep 5, 2014

Member since Jan 2009

Note. First and foremost, The Dark Souls franchise is NOT for everyone.That is intentional. At first I didn't like this game. But I refused to quit.This game has seriously increased my gaming ability & helped me become a better gamer & for that I am eternally thankful.

OK, now for most of these 1 ratings, most likely they didn't play the first game Demon Souls (PS3 exclusive), or second game (Dark Souls). If they did, they would have spared the game from a bunch of improper 1 ratings, & spared themselves a waisted rental.

If you are considering about renting this title you first have to understand the type of game this is. This franchise is not your average "difficult game". It will eat you up and spit you out.

I will give you a general "rent if you ( ), don't rent if you ( )" guide. This can help you determine if you would or would not enjoy this game. I highly suggest that you also do some research yourself.

IS THIS GAME RIGHT FOR ME? DARK SOULS II A RENTAL GUIDE

1. For Gamers who played the last two games; Demon Souls & Dark Souls.For first timers I suggest you play Demon Souls first (easiest of all 3).

2. Gamers that have EXTREME patience. If you are not a patient person, this game is NOT for you. (UNLESS you are willing to learn patience. This game WILL try your patience. Constantly).

3. Gamers that want to test their gaming skills (this game will test your abilities & improve them).

4. Gamers who look for challenge, & play games on the hardest difficulty setting available. I can't stress this enough, if you play for fun, casually and or easy setting, DO NOT RENT THIS GAME!

5. Gamers who don't mind dying in a game several thousand times. (No I am not exaggerating, lol.) But, there is a method to it's madness. The point behind Dark Souls, is to learn from your death.

6. Gamers who don't get angry easily. Remember, it's just a video game.

I hope that I was able to help you, & remember: always research a game before renting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

most fun game ever

posted by Biggie200225 (HOOD RIVER, OR) Aug 22, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

i love this game its amazing I just got it I love it alredy im so keeping it thanks gamefly your the best!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse