Rent Dark Souls II for PS3
view large frontback

Dark Souls II

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $39.99

Used: $17.99

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.1

914 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bad for Single Player

posted by shellcap (Granbury, TX) Sep 17, 2014

Member since Feb 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I only play single player games and this game basically has no single player mode. Should be advertised as multiplayer or PVP only game because those playing a single player game are forced into PVP game play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Big letdown

posted by quintfl (BLUE RIDGE, GA) Jul 25, 2014

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I own Demon's Souls and Dark Souls and love both of them so I was looking forward to Dark Souls 2. I received this game in the mail and after playing it for about 5 minutes I realized they can't make Dark Souls any better but they can make it worse. In the short time that I had Dark Souls 2 I fought 3 bosses. All 3 bosses did the same moves and could all be beaten the same way. Most of the non-boss enemies could be beaten that same way as well. Also, enemies stop respawning after you beat them a certain amount of times so 'farming' for souls is limited. Your weapons' durability decreases WAY too fast as well. About 5 points every enemy you fight and then when the number gets down to 0 the weapon breaks. There were also a few times where I said "where do I go now". The major difference between Dark Souls and Dark Souls 2 is that, while both games will make you yell out in frustration and shut the game off, Dark Souls will have you coming back for more. Dark Souls 2 will have you taking the game out of the system and sending it back to Gamefly. I'm glad I didn't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

More of the same.

posted by cheeky (WASHINGTON, DC) Jul 7, 2014

Member since Mar 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The graphics are just as bad as the first as are the controls. I'm happy that people like this game, I'm just not one of them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Don't Waste Your time

posted by Hmayes19 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Jun 27, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This Game is absolutely horrible, poor graphics, poor game control, poor story construction,and designed for you to just keep dying for no reason. I hate that I wasted my time even installing it on my system. I'm not certain what passes for an RPG game these days. But this is worst than anything I have ever played. reminds me of a knockoff version of a PS2 elder scrolls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not worth it..

posted by Deathpact (MARENGO, IL) May 30, 2014

Member since Feb 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Sent this game back the same day I got it. Will never play another Dark Souls title. This is just not for me. If you prefer to enjoy your gaming experience rather than suffering through it give this game a pass. You will thank me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I have no problem with a hard game but...

posted by BigEdward (PFLUGERVILLE, TX) May 29, 2014

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Games that are hard when it comes to game play are fun but games that are tedious and boring and with controls that are impossible to master aren't fun. Since when do you make a game where jumping requires a dash combined with L3? After spending an hour trying to make that work, I gave it up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not for everyone

posted by sixstringsamura (INDEPENDENCE, MO) Sep 5, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Honestly this game is great. Extremely challenging, complete customization of your character, spectacular graphics and plenty of game time hours. I LOVE reading "1" reviews because it sounds like they either a) don't give it a chance b) it's too hard for them or c) they just want to win everytime they pick up a controller.
Not for everyone!! But if your up for a challenge get this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Here we go Dark Souls the game of death

posted by mars188 (BRISTOW, OK) Mar 15, 2014

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2003

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

Ok been playing this game for about 12hrs. Its a fun game no trouble with the Saving- works Great. But the deal that bugs me is you spend so much time just Lost in the Game. Like this Door is Cursed what do you need to open the door? Who Knows!!! So you are going all over Rehash Ground wondering what do i need too darn do??? Then you find a Boss then you find out you are not on that Level to beat him then you are Lost Again!! I do Enjoy these Games just something Magic about them that you want MORE MORE!! Then all the Dying from just Falling off Ledges !! You will find out!! Sorry for the poor Writing Skills i am just a Old Man that loves Video Games that cant spell sorry!! But Thanks!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

IS THIS GAME FOR ME? DARK SOULS II A RENTAL GUIDE.

posted by Ezra81 (NEW CITY, NY) Sep 5, 2014

Member since Jan 2009

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Note. First and foremost, The Dark Souls franchise is NOT for everyone.That is intentional. At first I didn't like this game. But I refused to quit.This game has seriously increased my gaming ability & helped me become a better gamer & for that I am eternally thankful.

OK, now for most of these 1 ratings, most likely they didn't play the first game Demon Souls (PS3 exclusive), or second game (Dark Souls). If they did, they would have spared the game from a bunch of improper 1 ratings, & spared themselves a waisted rental.

If you are considering about renting this title you first have to understand the type of game this is. This franchise is not your average "difficult game". It will eat you up and spit you out.

I will give you a general "rent if you ( ), don't rent if you ( )" guide. This can help you determine if you would or would not enjoy this game. I highly suggest that you also do some research yourself.

IS THIS GAME RIGHT FOR ME? DARK SOULS II A RENTAL GUIDE

1. For Gamers who played the last two games; Demon Souls & Dark Souls.For first timers I suggest you play Demon Souls first (easiest of all 3).

2. Gamers that have EXTREME patience. If you are not a patient person, this game is NOT for you. (UNLESS you are willing to learn patience. This game WILL try your patience. Constantly).

3. Gamers that want to test their gaming skills (this game will test your abilities & improve them).

4. Gamers who look for challenge, & play games on the hardest difficulty setting available. I can't stress this enough, if you play for fun, casually and or easy setting, DO NOT RENT THIS GAME!

5. Gamers who don't mind dying in a game several thousand times. (No I am not exaggerating, lol.) But, there is a method to it's madness. The point behind Dark Souls, is to learn from your death.

6. Gamers who don't get angry easily. Remember, it's just a video game.

I hope that I was able to help you, & remember: always research a game before renting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not For Me

posted by DravenCade (CRESTON, IA) Jul 21, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I can't say I enjoyed this game what so ever it was not me great for RPG lovers that enjoy a rediculously hard challenge and enjoy loosing all of our souls (used as in game currency) every time u die sure u can go back to theplace u died last in an attempt to reclaim ur precious souls but more then llikely if u died there once u will die again forfeiting all previous acquired souls so if u feel like slamming ur controller off the ground in frustration then this game is for you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game of 2014

posted by AaronThePlayer (MERIDIAN, ID) Mar 21, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Dark Souls is an unforgiving game. You'll spend 40+ hours grinding your way through beautiful environments, brutal enemies and dozens of epic bosses. All this is improved with constant interaction from online players who either kill you (if you wander into unforgiving terrority) or help you out (up to 2 players and an NPC) especially if you need to take down a boss or find yourself in a hard place. Overall the game is super hard and extremely rewarding experience. This game's a beotch and you will die, but the overabundance of tools and ways to take on the game makes it well worth the challenge.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the curse of the undead isn't over!

posted by peterce1111 (EAST LONGMEADOW, MA) Mar 13, 2014

Member since Apr 2012

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

dark souls 2 is a game where u are cursed and an undead person who has to remove the curse. it has alot of new features and is pretty similier to the first one but the difference is pretty much it has a really hard mode or a slightly easier mode. the game has new places to explore to go to and thats what i honestly like about. i was really excited when i opened up the bought package because i had waited so long for a sequel to the first one.

renting this game is a must if u love and have played demon souls/dark souls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't do it

posted by newtboy (MCKINLEYVILLE, CA) May 19, 2014

Member since May 2014

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This was the worst game I've played in a long time. The controls are the hardest enemy (and the enemy's are incredibly difficult), and death by lack of control will be a regular occurrence.
The save points are few and far between, and you lose all your 'souls' (money) and whatever items you used before death, so next time it's harder, and harder, and harder to proceed.
Graphics are dated, control scheme is terrible and near unusable, save system is horrendous, instructions are non-existant, there's no map, gameplay is incredibly difficult, repetitive, and just not fun. There's no difficulty setting too. It's just awful.
A game for serious masochists only, and you really need to want to hurt and frustrate yourself to like this. It seemed like a Skyrim beta where only 1/2 the features and controls work at all and the graphics aren't optimized yet. Save yourself a headache, don't do it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

To Much Time Dead

posted by Jswilson1987 (TACOMA, WA) Jul 3, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

So if you die which happens a lot, you loose you souls, which are gained by killing enemies. Here's the thing the game is very difficult to begin with and all the enemies re spawn after you die or rest. 1 hit from a weak enemy can take a 1/4 of you health away i want fun game to play not infuriating ones wast of time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Avoid this game like the plague

posted by Love4Games (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jun 21, 2014

Member since May 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I play games for enjoyment. Sit back, relax, play a game. This game is nothing but frustration. I have more important things to do then play the same area over and over for hours because I got hit 3 times.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dark Souls DODO

posted by JeffJeff93 (TEMPE, AZ) Apr 29, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game seems like a Skyrim want to be but the didn't want to put the money into it. you fight humongous giants wit a little blade. every time your hit it takes half your health i just feel they could have equipped the character with a little more to start the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Lots O' Fun

posted by OnionBun (TAMPA, FL) Mar 19, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I played about 7 hours worth of a bunch of different builds. As a vet of Demon's Souls and Dark Souls, I really enjoyed my time with DS2. I can feel the age of the PS3 with this game, so I am eagerly awaiting the PC release to fully immerse myself with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Dark Souls 2

posted by JamesGant (SHELBY, NC) Oct 25, 2014

Member since Aug 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Dark Souls 2 fixes a lot of the problems that I had with Dark Souls. I played Demon Souls, and when Dark Souls came out I was really frustrated with the way travelling works. In Dark Souls it takes a good bit of gameplay before you get the ability to fast travel between fires. In Dark Souls 2 you can do this from the beginning. And they have added a hub which actually starts to feel a bit like home as you travel the world and collect NPCs to help you out. They also made changes to the weapon system but it's not really worth discussing here.
Anyways this game is amazing. It is hard but is made so much easier if you just pay attention and understand how numbers work, and also play online. By Co-oping you can make impossible boss battles pretty easy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Prepare to DIE...of fun!

posted by ManOfTwilight18 (MONTCLAIR, NJ) Sep 27, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It's Dark, cramped environment makes the game much harder to navigate, the powers and abilities are amazing, and the boss fights are incredible, just be warned you're gonna die at least 50 time before you beat the game, so prepare yourself, you're gonna rage. A LOT XD

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Rewarding?? Yea right, rewarding my butt!!

posted by juanillo19 (BURLINGTON, CO) Jul 7, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I don't understand why people are rating this game so high, yes this game is extremely difficult, but where the heck is the fun in that?? Don't get me wrong, I like a challenging game, but only when the game rewards the gamer for such headaches, like unveiling a deeper, more exciting story line with beautiful graphics and cut-scenes, but YOU DON'T EVEN GET THAT!!!! The graphics are barely sub par, the story is super boring, and you die for almost every dang thing, whats the point of a game being so dang hard if you can't even get passed through it to enjoy the story?? At least reward the gamer with gorgeous details/graphics and cutscenes, but theres rarely any! Huge waste of my time, dont get this game if you want to experience a cool story and get done with it in a couple weeks!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

For fans only

posted by 261998 (BROOKLYN, NY) May 4, 2014

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have never played dark souls 1, and if you haven't don't play this it's really hard and it was not a fun time at all, unless you like hard games and if you do this is for you.
Also the game doesn't have a story really gameplay is funn but this game was painfully hard and not in a fun way for me.
So in short if you love hard games this is for you but if not stay a way because you will want to throw your controller at your T.V

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Could have been DLC for Dark Souls 1

posted by ciordia9 (CHARLOTTE, NC) Apr 30, 2014

Member since May 2004

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I mean that a little more tongue-in-cheek but it feels a bit antiquated. A few systems were improved but the graphics feel very early PS3 (and if you've played any PS4 you really feel this time warp backwards.) The game is supposed to be unforgiving, so you know you will die a lot, cry a lot, rage a lot and die even more. It took me at least 40 hours to finish the game and made it to around L250ish. It didn't make it any easier. Nothing every makes it feel easier.

There is also no love for instructions. You guess at everything. The story is vague, the help along the way vague, the way to play vague. It should be called Game of Death and Ambiguity.

Did I have fun, I did but it was a hard fought enjoyment. After rage quitting a few times I really wondered if I'd ever finish it. I can tell you I was happy to rent this because if I kept it in my home I would have shattered it in the blender. haha! So if you are looking for something that feels a bit antiquated, will suck your time, patience, and love of gaming out the window for meager rewards. Game on! Maybe you too will finish and wonder why you did.

Good luck undead, you will need it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Dark Souls 2

posted by MadWorld45 (HOUSTON, TX) Apr 22, 2014

Member since Sep 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

No where near as good as Skyrim. Tediously boring. Graphics aren't great. Spend 80% of your time dying. The game controls aren't as smooth as other games. It's like they rushed the game and didn't put in the time and effort like other games. Disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Absolutely NOT!! They destroyed the Souls series!!

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Apr 17, 2014

Member since May 2010

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

They finally did it!! They killed the Souls series!! The deal breaker here is they put a limit on the number of re-spawns that the enemies get! The idiots went and they streamlined the game in a way that literally destroys the experience! Some of the greatest memories that I have of this series is finding rare loot on the bodies of the bad guys and they killed my loot hunting! You messed with my loot hunting FROMSOFT and I will never forgive you! The loot hunting was actually one of the highlights to this series which is what made all of the pain and suffering we endure worth it! Some cooperate monkey in a suit came u[p with the stupid idea of limiting our loot hunting thinking it was a good idea! To put limits on our game makes this game a shell of what little glory the series actually had.. Now this game is nothing, but a piece of garbage.. A lot of trouble started when the company CEOs think that they are incapable of messing up! You try working for hours on end to get a claymore from a blue-eyed knight in demon souls, and it makes the grind worth it! But you can't do that in this game! Because some cooperate dingle dorks think they should micromanage our experience with this game.. It is now verified that the people who make this series hate gamers, and they are begging for unemployment..
So, let us help them out by not bothering to buy this stupid empty shell of a game! Games like this are why we have GAMEFLY! RENT IT FIRST and see for yourself!
Try before you buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Hate it!

posted by beaverslayer69 (LEWISTON, ID) Apr 20, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I've tried to get myself to enjoy this game since it has pretty good reviews, but I just can't play it. Not that it's too hard I just don't want to. I think I'm comparing it to skyrim, and it's not near is good as skyrim. I'm not going to tell you not to get this game or not. I've only played a total of an hour or so. Just can't get into it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse