Rent Dark Souls II for PS3
view large frontback

Dark Souls II

Rent

Keep for: $29.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $39.99

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.3

689 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not For Me

posted by DravenCade (CRESTON, IA) Jul 21, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I can't say I enjoyed this game what so ever it was not me great for RPG lovers that enjoy a rediculously hard challenge and enjoy loosing all of our souls (used as in game currency) every time u die sure u can go back to theplace u died last in an attempt to reclaim ur precious souls but more then llikely if u died there once u will die again forfeiting all previous acquired souls so if u feel like slamming ur controller off the ground in frustration then this game is for you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dark Souls 2

posted by george69 (LUTZ, FL) Jul 4, 2014

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Shortest time I have ever kept a game ( 3hrs )This game was GARBAGE , On a scale 1 - 10 it gets a -2 minus BAD AND REALLY BAD !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

To Much Time Dead

posted by Jswilson1987 (TACOMA, WA) Jul 3, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

So if you die which happens a lot, you loose you souls, which are gained by killing enemies. Here's the thing the game is very difficult to begin with and all the enemies re spawn after you die or rest. 1 hit from a weak enemy can take a 1/4 of you health away i want fun game to play not infuriating ones wast of time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Avoid this game like the plague

posted by Love4Games (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jun 21, 2014

Member since May 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I play games for enjoyment. Sit back, relax, play a game. This game is nothing but frustration. I have more important things to do then play the same area over and over for hours because I got hit 3 times.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Here we go Dark Souls the game of death

posted by mars188 (BRISTOW, OK) Mar 15, 2014

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2003

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Ok been playing this game for about 12hrs. Its a fun game no trouble with the Saving- works Great. But the deal that bugs me is you spend so much time just Lost in the Game. Like this Door is Cursed what do you need to open the door? Who Knows!!! So you are going all over Rehash Ground wondering what do i need too darn do??? Then you find a Boss then you find out you are not on that Level to beat him then you are Lost Again!! I do Enjoy these Games just something Magic about them that you want MORE MORE!! Then all the Dying from just Falling off Ledges !! You will find out!! Sorry for the poor Writing Skills i am just a Old Man that loves Video Games that cant spell sorry!! But Thanks!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game of 2014

posted by AaronThePlayer (MERIDIAN, ID) Mar 21, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Dark Souls is an unforgiving game. You'll spend 40+ hours grinding your way through beautiful environments, brutal enemies and dozens of epic bosses. All this is improved with constant interaction from online players who either kill you (if you wander into unforgiving terrority) or help you out (up to 2 players and an NPC) especially if you need to take down a boss or find yourself in a hard place. Overall the game is super hard and extremely rewarding experience. This game's a beotch and you will die, but the overabundance of tools and ways to take on the game makes it well worth the challenge.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the curse of the undead isn't over!

posted by peterce1111 (EAST LONGMEADOW, MA) Mar 13, 2014

Member since Apr 2012

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

dark souls 2 is a game where u are cursed and an undead person who has to remove the curse. it has alot of new features and is pretty similier to the first one but the difference is pretty much it has a really hard mode or a slightly easier mode. the game has new places to explore to go to and thats what i honestly like about. i was really excited when i opened up the bought package because i had waited so long for a sequel to the first one.

renting this game is a must if u love and have played demon souls/dark souls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Absolutely NOT!! They destroyed the Souls series!!

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Apr 17, 2014

Member since May 2010

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

They finally did it!! They killed the Souls series!! The deal breaker here is they put a limit on the number of re-spawns that the enemies get! The idiots went and they streamlined the game in a way that literally destroys the experience! Some of the greatest memories that I have of this series is finding rare loot on the bodies of the bad guys and they killed my loot hunting! You messed with my loot hunting FROMSOFT and I will never forgive you! The loot hunting was actually one of the highlights to this series which is what made all of the pain and suffering we endure worth it! Some cooperate monkey in a suit came u[p with the stupid idea of limiting our loot hunting thinking it was a good idea! To put limits on our game makes this game a shell of what little glory the series actually had.. Now this game is nothing, but a piece of garbage.. A lot of trouble started when the company CEOs think that they are incapable of messing up! You try working for hours on end to get a claymore from a blue-eyed knight in demon souls, and it makes the grind worth it! But you can't do that in this game! Because some cooperate dingle dorks think they should micromanage our experience with this game.. It is now verified that the people who make this series hate gamers, and they are begging for unemployment..
So, let us help them out by not bothering to buy this stupid empty shell of a game! Games like this are why we have GAMEFLY! RENT IT FIRST and see for yourself!
Try before you buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Lots O' Fun

posted by OnionBun (TAMPA, FL) Mar 19, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I played about 7 hours worth of a bunch of different builds. As a vet of Demon's Souls and Dark Souls, I really enjoyed my time with DS2. I can feel the age of the PS3 with this game, so I am eagerly awaiting the PC release to fully immerse myself with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't do it

posted by newtboy (MCKINLEYVILLE, CA) May 19, 2014

Member since May 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This was the worst game I've played in a long time. The controls are the hardest enemy (and the enemy's are incredibly difficult), and death by lack of control will be a regular occurrence.
The save points are few and far between, and you lose all your 'souls' (money) and whatever items you used before death, so next time it's harder, and harder, and harder to proceed.
Graphics are dated, control scheme is terrible and near unusable, save system is horrendous, instructions are non-existant, there's no map, gameplay is incredibly difficult, repetitive, and just not fun. There's no difficulty setting too. It's just awful.
A game for serious masochists only, and you really need to want to hurt and frustrate yourself to like this. It seemed like a Skyrim beta where only 1/2 the features and controls work at all and the graphics aren't optimized yet. Save yourself a headache, don't do it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Hate it!

posted by beaverslayer69 (PIERCE, ID) Apr 20, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I've tried to get myself to enjoy this game since it has pretty good reviews, but I just can't play it. Not that it's too hard I just don't want to. I think I'm comparing it to skyrim, and it's not near is good as skyrim. I'm not going to tell you not to get this game or not. I've only played a total of an hour or so. Just can't get into it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

very dated and disappointing

posted by CaliGamer (SANTA MONICA, CA) Apr 17, 2014

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I love this game because it's made to be difficult. It's VERY hard to find games like this anymore. However due to the incredibly outdated graphics and terrible audio and a clumsy controller interface the most difficult thing about this game is enjoying playing it for more than short periods of time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not for new players

posted by SeanConstant (HAMPTON, VA) Mar 27, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game is specifically tailored for experienced players who are familiar with the franchise. Running around as a zombie gives you a sense of defeat. Apparently you can't die once, but the game controls don't allow you to safely navigate with out experiencing death and it's outcomes the hard way. I do not recommend this game for anyone with stress related issues.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I guess I just don't grt it

posted by wallablue1033 (SPARKS, NV) May 13, 2014

Member since May 2014

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

After reading other reviews I feel really dumb, because I couldn't even get going in this game, and I have been a gamer for over a decade. sent it back after fighting to get started for over 5 hours

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Game Sucks

posted by OntoSumthingNew (MIRAMAR, FL) May 2, 2014

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game sucks. You get hit once and then you die; what kind of bull is that? This game isn't worth renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dark Souls DODO

posted by JeffJeff93 (TEMPE, AZ) Apr 29, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game seems like a Skyrim want to be but the didn't want to put the money into it. you fight humongous giants wit a little blade. every time your hit it takes half your health i just feel they could have equipped the character with a little more to start the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst ever

posted by gorin (LAUREL, MS) Apr 23, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

this is a terrible game I would never spend even $1.00 on it. a total waste of time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING!

posted by Jordan12345 (JOHNSTOWN, OH) Jul 28, 2014

Member since May 2014

I honestly came into this game hating it almost returned it but i am extremy glad i didnt i have played a ton of games in my time an i can honestly say this is the best, the most teeth grinding, exciting, suprising game ive ever played so i highly reccommend getting this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Big letdown

posted by quintfl (BLUE RIDGE, GA) Jul 25, 2014

Member since Mar 2011

I own Demon's Souls and Dark Souls and love both of them so I was looking forward to Dark Souls 2. I received this game in the mail and after playing it for about 5 minutes I realized they can't make Dark Souls any better but they can make it worse. In the short time that I had Dark Souls 2 I fought 3 bosses. All 3 bosses did the same moves and could all be beaten the same way. Most of the non-boss enemies could be beaten that same way as well. Also, enemies stop respawning after you beat them a certain amount of times so 'farming' for souls is limited. Your weapons' durability decreases WAY too fast as well. About 5 points every enemy you fight and then when the number gets down to 0 the weapon breaks. There were also a few times where I said "where do I go now". The major difference between Dark Souls and Dark Souls 2 is that, while both games will make you yell out in frustration and shut the game off, Dark Souls will have you coming back for more. Dark Souls 2 will have you taking the game out of the system and sending it back to Gamefly. I'm glad I didn't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Difficult but satisfying

posted by Homerdough (NEW YORK, NY) Jul 14, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

First off, the game is made to kill you. There are enemies hidden around corners and that ambush you as you pick up items. You have to deal with it and on a first playthrough, you're likely to die in such an encounter. The controls are also a bit difficult to get but once you understand the stamina bar, it's doable.

However, successfully completing one of these encounters (especially on a first try) is really rewarding and gratifying. One time, I hadn't had a checkpoint for about 30 mins so I was very slowly going by and reached the boss fog and during the fight, I got hit and had about 2 hp left or so. But I won and I was yippeeing like a schoolgirl.

Once you get your good equipment and stat allocations, you deal a good amount of damage and the game is more learning the enemies than getting stronger. Luckily, if you mess up your stat allocations, you can reallocate your stats with a limited item to play as a different build, which warrants many ways to play through the game.

One thing I really hate about the game is that if you don't use a guide, it's near impossible to complete without pulling your hair out. The game doesn't tell you (and if it does, it doesn't do a good job telling you) where to go. Illusory walls are absolutely ridiculous because they may hide incredibly useful checkpoints and the only way you'd know is if you pressed X on every single wall you pass by.

Another instance is a few bossfights that become much more doable if you do a completely out of the way and obscure action to even the playing field.

All of these things seem impossible to know without a guide. However, when you fight bosses, it's very rewarding to feel them out, know their attacks inside and out, and whittle them down. I'd advise against using a wiki, unless you're really stuck (for like 3hrs+).

Aside from the lack of direction of where to go and illusory walls, this game is great fun and has massive replay value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

For anyone who likes a challenge

posted by Rahmashock (LYNN, MA) Jul 13, 2014

Member since Aug 2013

Just like eveyone else, I myself love a good challenge and believe me when I tell you this, this game will get you rage quitting so hard. Your'll find yourself swearing at the tv and literally slapping the controller or even yourself. This game isn't your average run and slash type, it's more of carefully reading your opponents tactics and moves and attacking at the right moment. Now the enemies are hard and your'll die alot and I mean "ALOT" but the satisfaction you get from defeating the boss is an extraordinary feeling. I only started playing this game cause of Pewdiepie and the way he kept dying and his facial expression made me want to try the game out. Before I end my review, one tip for anyone new playing the game, watch out for ledges, cliffs and holes. I died alot falling off.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

More of the same.

posted by cheeky (WASHINGTON, DC) Jul 7, 2014

Member since Mar 2005

The graphics are just as bad as the first as are the controls. I'm happy that people like this game, I'm just not one of them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Rewarding?? Yea right, rewarding my butt!!

posted by juanillo19 (BURLINGTON, CO) Jul 7, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

I don't understand why people are rating this game so high, yes this game is extremely difficult, but where the heck is the fun in that?? Don't get me wrong, I like a challenging game, but only when the game rewards the gamer for such headaches, like unveiling a deeper, more exciting story line with beautiful graphics and cut-scenes, but YOU DON'T EVEN GET THAT!!!! The graphics are barely sub par, the story is super boring, and you die for almost every dang thing, whats the point of a game being so dang hard if you can't even get passed through it to enjoy the story?? At least reward the gamer with gorgeous details/graphics and cutscenes, but theres rarely any! Huge waste of my time, dont get this game if you want to experience a cool story and get done with it in a couple weeks!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fun fun then death!

posted by Hinata64palms (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Jul 1, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

Wonderfully excruciating. A challenge that excited and enthralled.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Don't Waste Your time

posted by Hmayes19 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Jun 27, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

This Game is absolutely horrible, poor graphics, poor game control, poor story construction,and designed for you to just keep dying for no reason. I hate that I wasted my time even installing it on my system. I'm not certain what passes for an RPG game these days. But this is worst than anything I have ever played. reminds me of a knockoff version of a PS2 elder scrolls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse