Rent Dark Souls II for PS3
view large frontback

Dark Souls II

Rent

Keep for: $19.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $39.99

Used: $19.99

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.1

862 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not for everyone

posted by sixstringsamura (INDEPENDENCE, MO) Sep 5, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Honestly this game is great. Extremely challenging, complete customization of your character, spectacular graphics and plenty of game time hours. I LOVE reading "1" reviews because it sounds like they either a) don't give it a chance b) it's too hard for them or c) they just want to win everytime they pick up a controller.
Not for everyone!! But if your up for a challenge get this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

IS THIS GAME FOR ME? DARK SOULS II A RENTAL GUIDE.

posted by Ezra81 (NEW CITY, NY) Sep 5, 2014

Member since Jan 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Note. First and foremost, The Dark Souls franchise is NOT for everyone.That is intentional. At first I didn't like this game. But I refused to quit.This game has seriously increased my gaming ability & helped me become a better gamer & for that I am eternally thankful.

OK, now for most of these 1 ratings, most likely they didn't play the first game Demon Souls (PS3 exclusive), or second game (Dark Souls). If they did, they would have spared the game from a bunch of improper 1 ratings, & spared themselves a waisted rental.

If you are considering about renting this title you first have to understand the type of game this is. This franchise is not your average "difficult game". It will eat you up and spit you out.

I will give you a general "rent if you ( ), don't rent if you ( )" guide. This can help you determine if you would or would not enjoy this game. I highly suggest that you also do some research yourself.

IS THIS GAME RIGHT FOR ME? DARK SOULS II A RENTAL GUIDE

1. For Gamers who played the last two games; Demon Souls & Dark Souls.For first timers I suggest you play Demon Souls first (easiest of all 3).

2. Gamers that have EXTREME patience. If you are not a patient person, this game is NOT for you. (UNLESS you are willing to learn patience. This game WILL try your patience. Constantly).

3. Gamers that want to test their gaming skills (this game will test your abilities & improve them).

4. Gamers who look for challenge, & play games on the hardest difficulty setting available. I can't stress this enough, if you play for fun, casually and or easy setting, DO NOT RENT THIS GAME!

5. Gamers who don't mind dying in a game several thousand times. (No I am not exaggerating, lol.) But, there is a method to it's madness. The point behind Dark Souls, is to learn from your death.

6. Gamers who don't get angry easily. Remember, it's just a video game.

I hope that I was able to help you, & remember: always research a game before renting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Big letdown

posted by quintfl (BLUE RIDGE, GA) Jul 25, 2014

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I own Demon's Souls and Dark Souls and love both of them so I was looking forward to Dark Souls 2. I received this game in the mail and after playing it for about 5 minutes I realized they can't make Dark Souls any better but they can make it worse. In the short time that I had Dark Souls 2 I fought 3 bosses. All 3 bosses did the same moves and could all be beaten the same way. Most of the non-boss enemies could be beaten that same way as well. Also, enemies stop respawning after you beat them a certain amount of times so 'farming' for souls is limited. Your weapons' durability decreases WAY too fast as well. About 5 points every enemy you fight and then when the number gets down to 0 the weapon breaks. There were also a few times where I said "where do I go now". The major difference between Dark Souls and Dark Souls 2 is that, while both games will make you yell out in frustration and shut the game off, Dark Souls will have you coming back for more. Dark Souls 2 will have you taking the game out of the system and sending it back to Gamefly. I'm glad I didn't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Here we go Dark Souls the game of death

posted by mars188 (BRISTOW, OK) Mar 15, 2014

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2003

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

Ok been playing this game for about 12hrs. Its a fun game no trouble with the Saving- works Great. But the deal that bugs me is you spend so much time just Lost in the Game. Like this Door is Cursed what do you need to open the door? Who Knows!!! So you are going all over Rehash Ground wondering what do i need too darn do??? Then you find a Boss then you find out you are not on that Level to beat him then you are Lost Again!! I do Enjoy these Games just something Magic about them that you want MORE MORE!! Then all the Dying from just Falling off Ledges !! You will find out!! Sorry for the poor Writing Skills i am just a Old Man that loves Video Games that cant spell sorry!! But Thanks!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game of 2014

posted by AaronThePlayer (MERIDIAN, ID) Mar 21, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Dark Souls is an unforgiving game. You'll spend 40+ hours grinding your way through beautiful environments, brutal enemies and dozens of epic bosses. All this is improved with constant interaction from online players who either kill you (if you wander into unforgiving terrority) or help you out (up to 2 players and an NPC) especially if you need to take down a boss or find yourself in a hard place. Overall the game is super hard and extremely rewarding experience. This game's a beotch and you will die, but the overabundance of tools and ways to take on the game makes it well worth the challenge.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the curse of the undead isn't over!

posted by peterce1111 (EAST LONGMEADOW, MA) Mar 13, 2014

Member since Apr 2012

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

dark souls 2 is a game where u are cursed and an undead person who has to remove the curse. it has alot of new features and is pretty similier to the first one but the difference is pretty much it has a really hard mode or a slightly easier mode. the game has new places to explore to go to and thats what i honestly like about. i was really excited when i opened up the bought package because i had waited so long for a sequel to the first one.

renting this game is a must if u love and have played demon souls/dark souls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Absolutely NOT!! They destroyed the Souls series!!

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Apr 17, 2014

Member since May 2010

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

They finally did it!! They killed the Souls series!! The deal breaker here is they put a limit on the number of re-spawns that the enemies get! The idiots went and they streamlined the game in a way that literally destroys the experience! Some of the greatest memories that I have of this series is finding rare loot on the bodies of the bad guys and they killed my loot hunting! You messed with my loot hunting FROMSOFT and I will never forgive you! The loot hunting was actually one of the highlights to this series which is what made all of the pain and suffering we endure worth it! Some cooperate monkey in a suit came u[p with the stupid idea of limiting our loot hunting thinking it was a good idea! To put limits on our game makes this game a shell of what little glory the series actually had.. Now this game is nothing, but a piece of garbage.. A lot of trouble started when the company CEOs think that they are incapable of messing up! You try working for hours on end to get a claymore from a blue-eyed knight in demon souls, and it makes the grind worth it! But you can't do that in this game! Because some cooperate dingle dorks think they should micromanage our experience with this game.. It is now verified that the people who make this series hate gamers, and they are begging for unemployment..
So, let us help them out by not bothering to buy this stupid empty shell of a game! Games like this are why we have GAMEFLY! RENT IT FIRST and see for yourself!
Try before you buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't do it

posted by newtboy (MCKINLEYVILLE, CA) May 19, 2014

Member since May 2014

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This was the worst game I've played in a long time. The controls are the hardest enemy (and the enemy's are incredibly difficult), and death by lack of control will be a regular occurrence.
The save points are few and far between, and you lose all your 'souls' (money) and whatever items you used before death, so next time it's harder, and harder, and harder to proceed.
Graphics are dated, control scheme is terrible and near unusable, save system is horrendous, instructions are non-existant, there's no map, gameplay is incredibly difficult, repetitive, and just not fun. There's no difficulty setting too. It's just awful.
A game for serious masochists only, and you really need to want to hurt and frustrate yourself to like this. It seemed like a Skyrim beta where only 1/2 the features and controls work at all and the graphics aren't optimized yet. Save yourself a headache, don't do it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Lots O' Fun

posted by OnionBun (TAMPA, FL) Mar 19, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I played about 7 hours worth of a bunch of different builds. As a vet of Demon's Souls and Dark Souls, I really enjoyed my time with DS2. I can feel the age of the PS3 with this game, so I am eagerly awaiting the PC release to fully immerse myself with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING!

posted by Jordan12345 (JOHNSTOWN, OH) Jul 28, 2014

Member since May 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I honestly came into this game hating it almost returned it but i am extremy glad i didnt i have played a ton of games in my time an i can honestly say this is the best, the most teeth grinding, exciting, suprising game ive ever played so i highly reccommend getting this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not For Me

posted by DravenCade (CRESTON, IA) Jul 21, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I can't say I enjoyed this game what so ever it was not me great for RPG lovers that enjoy a rediculously hard challenge and enjoy loosing all of our souls (used as in game currency) every time u die sure u can go back to theplace u died last in an attempt to reclaim ur precious souls but more then llikely if u died there once u will die again forfeiting all previous acquired souls so if u feel like slamming ur controller off the ground in frustration then this game is for you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

To Much Time Dead

posted by Jswilson1987 (TACOMA, WA) Jul 3, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

So if you die which happens a lot, you loose you souls, which are gained by killing enemies. Here's the thing the game is very difficult to begin with and all the enemies re spawn after you die or rest. 1 hit from a weak enemy can take a 1/4 of you health away i want fun game to play not infuriating ones wast of time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Avoid this game like the plague

posted by Love4Games (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jun 21, 2014

Member since May 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I play games for enjoyment. Sit back, relax, play a game. This game is nothing but frustration. I have more important things to do then play the same area over and over for hours because I got hit 3 times.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Hate it!

posted by beaverslayer69 (PIERCE, ID) Apr 20, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I've tried to get myself to enjoy this game since it has pretty good reviews, but I just can't play it. Not that it's too hard I just don't want to. I think I'm comparing it to skyrim, and it's not near is good as skyrim. I'm not going to tell you not to get this game or not. I've only played a total of an hour or so. Just can't get into it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

very dated and disappointing

posted by CaliGamer (SANTA MONICA, CA) Apr 17, 2014

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I love this game because it's made to be difficult. It's VERY hard to find games like this anymore. However due to the incredibly outdated graphics and terrible audio and a clumsy controller interface the most difficult thing about this game is enjoying playing it for more than short periods of time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not for new players

posted by SeanConstant (HAMPTON, VA) Mar 27, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game is specifically tailored for experienced players who are familiar with the franchise. Running around as a zombie gives you a sense of defeat. Apparently you can't die once, but the game controls don't allow you to safely navigate with out experiencing death and it's outcomes the hard way. I do not recommend this game for anyone with stress related issues.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dark Souls 2

posted by george69 (LUTZ, FL) Jul 4, 2014

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Shortest time I have ever kept a game ( 3hrs )This game was GARBAGE , On a scale 1 - 10 it gets a -2 minus BAD AND REALLY BAD !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I guess I just don't grt it

posted by wallablue1033 (SPARKS, NV) May 13, 2014

Member since May 2014

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

After reading other reviews I feel really dumb, because I couldn't even get going in this game, and I have been a gamer for over a decade. sent it back after fighting to get started for over 5 hours

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Game Sucks

posted by OntoSumthingNew (MIRAMAR, FL) May 2, 2014

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game sucks. You get hit once and then you die; what kind of bull is that? This game isn't worth renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dark Souls DODO

posted by JeffJeff93 (TEMPE, AZ) Apr 29, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game seems like a Skyrim want to be but the didn't want to put the money into it. you fight humongous giants wit a little blade. every time your hit it takes half your health i just feel they could have equipped the character with a little more to start the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst ever

posted by gorin (LAUREL, MS) Apr 23, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

this is a terrible game I would never spend even $1.00 on it. a total waste of time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Prepare to DIE...of fun!

posted by ManOfTwilight18 (MONTCLAIR, NJ) Sep 27, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

It's Dark, cramped environment makes the game much harder to navigate, the powers and abilities are amazing, and the boss fights are incredible, just be warned you're gonna die at least 50 time before you beat the game, so prepare yourself, you're gonna rage. A LOT XD

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

wow

posted by MrBravo (NORCROSS, GA) Sep 21, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

This has got to be one of the worst games I've ever had the misfortune of renting. The graphics were ps2-ish, I couldn't jump so a simple log or a 5ft wall would stop you dead in your tracks and I was easily killed by some wench with a spoon in my first 10 minutes of gameplay. LAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bad for Single Player

posted by shellcap (Granbury, TX) Sep 17, 2014

Member since Feb 2011

I only play single player games and this game basically has no single player mode. Should be advertised as multiplayer or PVP only game because those playing a single player game are forced into PVP game play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Difficult but satisfying

posted by Homerdough (NEW YORK, NY) Jul 14, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

First off, the game is made to kill you. There are enemies hidden around corners and that ambush you as you pick up items. You have to deal with it and on a first playthrough, you're likely to die in such an encounter. The controls are also a bit difficult to get but once you understand the stamina bar, it's doable.

However, successfully completing one of these encounters (especially on a first try) is really rewarding and gratifying. One time, I hadn't had a checkpoint for about 30 mins so I was very slowly going by and reached the boss fog and during the fight, I got hit and had about 2 hp left or so. But I won and I was yippeeing like a schoolgirl.

Once you get your good equipment and stat allocations, you deal a good amount of damage and the game is more learning the enemies than getting stronger. Luckily, if you mess up your stat allocations, you can reallocate your stats with a limited item to play as a different build, which warrants many ways to play through the game.

One thing I really hate about the game is that if you don't use a guide, it's near impossible to complete without pulling your hair out. The game doesn't tell you (and if it does, it doesn't do a good job telling you) where to go. Illusory walls are absolutely ridiculous because they may hide incredibly useful checkpoints and the only way you'd know is if you pressed X on every single wall you pass by.

Another instance is a few bossfights that become much more doable if you do a completely out of the way and obscure action to even the playing field.

All of these things seem impossible to know without a guide. However, when you fight bosses, it's very rewarding to feel them out, know their attacks inside and out, and whittle them down. I'd advise against using a wiki, unless you're really stuck (for like 3hrs+).

Aside from the lack of direction of where to go and illusory walls, this game is great fun and has massive replay value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse