Rent Dark Sector for PS3
view large frontback

Dark Sector

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.5

2392 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Really conflicted about this game...

posted by GFR013 (MERRIFIELD, VA) Apr 2, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2004

29 out of 33 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I really want to like this game more than I do, but there are enough problems with it that I don't feel I can give it a higher rating. For example the graphics and visual effects look great, until you start to look at them too closely then it starts to lose some of the "shine". The wall that looks great at a distance becomes obviously pixilated when you get right next to it. Also, there are some MAJOR (body parts through the wall type thing) clipping problems I haven't seen in a game in quite some time.

The weapon systems (power up options for the firearms), and the versatility of the main weapon is really imaginative. I especially like how the abilities of the main weapon develop over time and how you sometimes have to use multiple abilities to work through puzzles[1]. However, one would think a three bladed weapon would be a little more effective in hand to hand combat ;) Speaking of which, third person is not my favorite perspective, for this game though I don't think it would be possible to do it any other way, however it suffers the same problem most third person games do in hand to hand combat... facing multiple opponents is really difficult. You're never facing the right way and turning is impossible. If you try create some distance by running, the opponents find a burst of speed and keep up.

The one thing I will give the game without question is the sound. One of the first bosses is a helicopter and between you turning around and the helicopter flying around the surround speakers really get a work out and you know exactly where it is. Very effective use of sound the entire game.

So, if you like shooters/adventures, definitely rent it. The controls aren't bad, the story is lame (but skipable ;)), and it's a lot of fun if you can overlook the short comings.

[1] Which brings up another issue though in that sometimes what you are supposed to do to solve the puzzle and make it to the next level is not the most obvious thing in the world.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Hodgepodge of Great Games = Failure???

posted by Sleezebag (DELAWARE, OH) Mar 31, 2008

Member since Oct 2005

16 out of 19 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

I was actually looking forward to this game quite a bit. The Gears of War like look and the cool Glaive weapon really got me interested. The Truth is, the game is great at first. It all flows real well and shooting enemies or decapitating enemies from cover is fun, but I soon realised that that is basically the whole game. The Story is pure c-r-a-p on a log. I have to say, this is the first game that elludes me so much from the teh story because it is so hard to follow and feels like there are several cutscenes missing that need to tell me more. I think that this is how it goes; You are a CIA agent from America during the cold war who gets infected by some infection in Russia. Then you..... yeah.... Thats where it looses me. Its that confusing that you'll lose track of whats going on if your not like super focused on teh story. But, the Gameplay makes up for this a bit. If you played Gears of War, youll get teh gameplay real quick. You get on cover and roll with X and peak out with L1 and fire with R1. You throw your Glaive with R2. The mix of galive-play and gunfights is cool but the bad part is that the enemies are so weak and die one well placed hit of the glaive. So you barely use your gun(s) during the first 3 or so hours of the game. then during the middle to close end, you end up just using your guns beacuse you start to fight stupid fast and strong creatures that the glaive pretty much becomes usless on. You can melee attack with O, but it does miniscul damage. You can do finishing moves on enemies that are stunned and these are always gorey and satisfing kills. The boss battles are really fun. They challenge you to use all aspects of the glaives powers (and there are MANY MANY powers). The Graphics are excellent. This is the next best looking game on the PS3 next to Uncharted.
GAMEPLAY:8.9/10
STORY:5/10
DESIGN/CONTROLS:8/10
GRAPHICS:10/10
ONLINE:N/A (didnt play it)
OVERALL: 7.9/10 Its worth a rent, dont buy it like i did :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Overall really impressed

posted by Jusmezz (HASLETT, MI) Mar 31, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

Pro's:
Beautiful graphics
Gameplay is outstanding at times
Best weapon I've used in a game

Cons:
spotty storyline at best
multiplayer is limited
a few minor graphic texture glitches
context sensitive controls can be flaky

Overall, I'd say this is actually one of the top ps3 games I've played. The story isn't great and it isn't groundbreaking in any particular category, but it is really fun and controlling the glaive never gets old. If you can forgive it's shortcoming's you will really enjoy this title. It's what you would get if Resident Evil and Gears of War had an evil baby together.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

where to begin

posted by Neecie1 (NEWNAN, GA) Jun 13, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

The graphics to the game are great and the change from fighting bad guys to creatures is nice in having the best of both worlds in this game. On the other hand controlling your character sucks, the aiming is horrible and who creates a game where they throw you immediately into a gun fight and no tutitorial. I kept getting killed trying to figure out what all my character did. I had to figure out how to reload my weapon, how to press up against a wall. I somehow accidentally threw a frag grenade which i am still trying to figure out how i did it. I was trying to change weapons and I accidentally did it but only only happens accidentally because I don't know which button does it. Overall the gameplay as far as the use of your character TOTALLY SUCKS!! They needed to have it where you can press a button and automatically face your enemy instead of getting beat in the back of the head or shot because your going around in circles trying to face them, that would have helped alot. It was extremely frustrating and disappointed playing this game because of it and it did not make my gaming experience pleasurable.

The other negative thing was that your character could not sneak from corners to keep yourself from being killed while your trying to take a shot at them, so your left in the open trying to take your enemy out.

They had the right idea with this game and Hayden the character can do some cool things but had they tied all their loose ends, it could have been an awesome game. That is why i gave this game a rating of 5. I Have played it for 2 days trying to give it a chance but I am returning it. Your suppose to have fun with a game not get mad and frustrated, especially at the developers of this game. Nice try though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Dark Sector Review

posted by mretzloff (MATTHEWS, NC) Apr 5, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

PLEASE READ THE ENTIRE REVIEW!

Introduction: Step into the shoes of Hayden Tenno and get ready to uncover some Cold War secrets. A character who, at first, doesn't enjoy killing, an interesting weapon, and great graphics, make this an interesting rent!

Graphics: The graphics are great. However, there are no beautiful landscapes; all you see are buildings and destruction.

Gameplay: You're given a new weapon, the glaive, and standard guns with different names. It might take a while to learn how to use the glaive to its full potential, but otherwise the controls are simple.

Story: Unless you listen closely, you'll get lost in the story. Overall, you're using Cold War technology to uncover secrets. However, the story doesn't ruin the game.

Originality: The only thing that is somewhat original about Dark Sector is the glaive. Overall, Dark Sector is nothing more than Gears of War and Rainbow Six:: Vegas combined.

Length: The game should last you 10-ish hours, more if you beat it twice, and even more if you play multiplayer. At times Dark Sector seems lengthy.

Bottom Line: The reason why Dark Sector got a 6 is because it brings nothing big to the table. Dark Sector was hyped to be a top-notch game, and it isn't. Also, if you've played Gears of War, you've played most of Dark Sector. Dark Sector borrowed many things from Gears of War, especially the cover system.

As an overall game: 6/10
As a third person shooter game: 5/10
Best part: ---
Worst part: The lack of a compelling story

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Pretty Hate Machine

posted by Zlash99 (AURORA, CO) Nov 27, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Pretty- Great looking graphics and texturing for about 90% of the game.

Hate- Storyline goes no where fast, weapons are boring and upgrades are less then helpful

Machine- Much like any industrialized item... throw gliave, guide for the kill, repeat... not much in the way of fresh after about 3 hours of gaming. Bosses are a touch different but still same concept, throw, guide, repeat.

Overall 3 because this was obviously rushed. So many unclean control issues and graphics issues. Storyline is winding and non-cohesive.

Rent, get frustrated, return... repeat

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Almost a perfect 10

posted by ebook32 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Mar 29, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

9 out of 18 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When I first played this game, I felt like the game was a perfect 10. Dark sector is well balanced the storyline is good and learning the controls is easy. However, after a few hours of playtime. I notice there are no cut scenes, no map, no clear objectives or hints and the worst part of the game is after a short fire fight your left to solve some silly puzzle to move onto the next chapter. This alone made me upset, after a fire fight, I expect to get into another fire fight asap, to keep the flow of the game going, but that's not case with dark sector, there is a big gap after a good gun battle. Dark sector is only a good game to rent and return as soon as your done with it. The game is worth a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great concept. Looks good. Kinda hard

posted by AncientGmr (RALEIGH, NC) Aug 11, 2008

Member since Feb 2004

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed playing this game and the storyline was believable without any ??? during the gameplay. Easy enough to play, minor glitches, good A.I.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

This game is boring.

posted by Kyle44 (NEW YORK, NY) Jun 14, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

There really is nothing to it. This game is boring. It's like they took the most generic parts of every shooting game out there and put it into one game. handgun, check. grenades, check. shotgun, machine gun, etc, check.
Their 'special' weapon is slow and frustrating. It's so boring I'm not even going to describe it so basically I'll just say that you would rather have two handguns.
Graphics are good, but who cares if the game is no fun. It's like saying let's go sit through an hour of Dane Cook just so we can be in a nice venue. Pass on this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Enough with the zombies already!

posted by DiscNinja (BURLESON, TX) Aug 5, 2008

Member since Nov 2003

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I was having a bit of fun taking out soldiers with the Glaive but then the stupid zombies showed up. (Groan) Zombies again? Can't developers come up with something besides zombies and vampires?
The Glaive was fun to use but would've been more fun if you could guide it's flight. Actually, I am not sure that you couldn't, I got bored before I found out.
The graphics and sound are really basic but serviceable and serviceable is ok with me.
Not every game can be a must play blockbuster.
One thing that bugged me though is that you can't run. You can only use the military style quickwalk and a roll/somersault.
Which is really annoying when you're getting hit by enemy fire and trying to reach cover.
Other than the use of the Krull like Glaive this is just a average game.
Now, can we get a Krull game please? Or maybe even a Captain America game?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Alot of games mixed into one

posted by skinyjeans (KANSAS CITY, MO) Mar 31, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Take Heavenly Sword,Gears of War,Drake Uncharted fortune,..Mix them into one game and you'll have Dark Sector...The story isn't all that good but the gameplay is fun...and the graphics are great..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sucks

posted by salami (PEEKSKILL, NY) Apr 2, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

Terrible.........that's all I'm gonna say.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Normal

posted by solomon79 (SPARTANBURG, SC) Feb 26, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

This is another run of the mill first person shooter game with okay graphics. Fun for a little while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Boring and repetitive

posted by firemang (LEVITTOWN, PA) Jan 30, 2013

Member since Jan 2006

Game starts out strong and for the first 5 or so levels it is a pretty good game. I'd even go so far as to say it's worth playing, but I'd never buy it. By level 6, it just becomes the same old stuff over and over only a little bit harder. Also there are no trophies and there is a very clunky use of the motion sensitive tilting feature of the dual shock controller. It is so frustrating trying to get the glaive to move with the tilting of the controller that it makes the game no fun far to often.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Agravating

posted by OrangePulse (BUFFALO, NY) Dec 25, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

This game was awfully strange. I was stuck at parts, I died at parts, and at parts when I thought I was going to have been surprised, I was stuck with the typical result of an overused surprised attack. It's not that hard of a game, but with very little pointers this game is very difficult to figure out how to play and how to fight bosses. I ended up trying, wanting to finish this game, but the stubborn typicality of the game just pushed me in the other direction, having me send it in early.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent, but not great.

posted by ZKB (RIO VISTA, TX) Aug 7, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

Pros: Good graphics, gore, cool weapons and powers, crazy plot

Cons: tedious, linear, zombie-like mutant thingies

This game is okay. Its has a pretty unique aspect to gameplay, the Glaive. A few levels after you get it, you get the ability to control it after it is thrown, letting you hit people behind cover, while you yourself are behind cover. Which comes in handy, as the enemies are crazy accurate, and their guns pack a mega punch. The gunplay is typical 3rd person shooter. The enemies seem endless at times. Sometimes you pass up the point where you need to go, simply because it isn't clearly seen, ex. a button on the other side of a fence that you need to throw the Glaive over, then maneuver into to open the gate. For the money, this game seems worth it. $Five used at my local GameStop.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Dark Sector

posted by Gamecreep (ELMWOOD PARK, IL) Jan 2, 2011

Member since Jun 2005

I can't believe I am saying this but I completed the entire game except for the final boss. So, in essence I didn't complete this wretched thing because of a final boss that pretty much ruined my experience. DS wasn't a bad game by any means. The Glaive could've been fine tuned a little as well as having been given the option to have your character increase/decrease speed with the push of the right analog stick. Otherwise, I found the game to have nice graphics and be pretty varied in overall gameplay. Basically, I didn't find myself to be bored in DS. However, and maybe some of you will read this and laugh...but I simply could not beat the final boss. Believe me, I tried everything too. I spent around 2 hours (Yes, 2 hours!!) trying to complete the game when I finally decided that since I didn't buy the game, well then why was I trying soo hard to complete something that I didn't financially invest in. Therefore, i sent it back. The final encounter of the game was just not designed correctly and therefore led to more frustration than satisfaction in completing a game that I probably would soon forget about anyway. So, to everyone who's reading this. go for the rental and may you have better luck.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Dark Sector review

posted by Raziel111 (LINDSAY, CA) Nov 15, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

The game is ultimately a disapointment. It could've been really great, but it failed. It's a first person shooter. It's about a secret agent who gets infected with some kind of organism, and is able to produce a weapon that has three blades, is used like a boomerang, and can not only kill but retrieve items. The weapon is known as the glaive and is really cool. It has an eerie feel in the begining is very grayish. Like most games these days, there's no health bar, but a red screen. It will also give you a choice on wether or not you want to skip a cutscene while it plays.

Also, you have the abillity to sprint, making you harder to hit, as well as a rolling manuever and cover shooting. The glave is able to take attributes like fire and electricity to help you with both enemies and obstacles in battle. Your blade not only can kill people by slicing their limbs off, your blade is also like a flashlight.

Sounds good. Wrong! Locking on for an RPG is annoying as it takes time to work. Power throws with your glave take exact timing which sucks. You're usually outnumbered and as soon as you take out an enemy, somebody will most likely take his place. Melee enemies are annoying and can kill in three hits. They're also hard to kill. Fixed guns are usless against guys with guns, as it's very inaccurate and gives no cover whatsoever. Plus, the gas grenade is annoying and interferes in battle. But, the worst is that the game constantly leaves you hanging, wondering what you should do next, even though it doesn't tell you.

Overall, the game could've been really great, but it had to much flaws in it to pay this any mind. Nobody play this, unless you have an incredible tolerance for obvious flaws.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Dark Sector

posted by MattLandoc (FAYETTEVILLE, OH) Nov 14, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

so far this is an entertaining game. I have just started it. I like the shooting mode and it is very user freindly. The only thing not the greatest is that it starts off in Black and White. and I am not a big fan of that, but I belive that it will change as I get further into the game. The guns are pretty cool so far and the challenge is good. I like the way the life bar works and the way that the game is layed out so that you get a good view of what you are doing and the way that you navigate around is also very good. this game was recommended to me by a Game Stop employee and he was right. It is one of the better shooter games with great graphics and a relitively cheap price of $20 when purchased used. which is a great way to go, by the way. Why pay $50 for a new game when it will be half the price used in about a year or less. Great game to play and a definate reccomendation by me for sure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

NICe gAME

posted by offhand (THOMASVILLE, GA) Apr 10, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

i realy enjoy this game it was fun it had good graphics and u can get off of walmart for like 10 dollars so its worth the money

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Repetitive nightmare

posted by knifeguy (WINCHESTER, VA) Apr 3, 2010

Member since Sep 2008

If you enjoy havin nothin but repetetive gameplay for hours and not being able to hold on to a cool weapon for more than a few seconds then this is the game for you. The controls are off and steering your glaive is almost impossible. Instead of wasting your time on an out of date game like this one, try something try something more current and unique. Games like Dark Sector are a dime a dozen.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Relax and Enjoy

posted by jromeo (Washington, DC) Feb 6, 2010

Member since Apr 2006

A lot of gamers and gaming sites hate on this game. I personal can't understand why, especially since we're talking about the game as a rental. The game play is a tempo good for beginners and pros, using the glaive are fun and easy you should get a kick out seeing your enemies run from it as you chop them down. There are some puzzle to solved, but none that wouldn't fry your brain, you can chose to going guns blazing or dissect your enemies carefully with your glaive. The atmosphere is dark and dinky feels like Eastern Europe (I can't say it feel quite like Russia, but in the ballpark) matches the game play. As with any first of three person shooter the melee attack kills instantly and looks really cool. The bosses feel new and different because of the way they will play out. There are three negatives I can see to this game. 1. This game is really short, I beat it in one day and I was pacing myself. 2. There is an option to buy weapons and ammo at really high price, but believe me there're plenty weapons lying around. This feature is just wasted in this game. 3. The storyline, I think most people can understand what's going, but it tough to feel it. Let's face for a twenty something like I the cold war plotline lack the urgency of a WWII game, but that just me. I say to my follow gamers got forth and rent this game for a weekend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun Third Person Shooter

posted by tank017 (GLENDALE, CA) Jan 19, 2010

Member since Sep 2005

fun Idea of dual wielding a gun and a glaive.

The powers you gain for the glaive keep the game fresh:

being able to control the glaive while its in flight

charging it with elemental power (fire,ice,electricity) and later on setting it off like a bomb in the likes of whatever element you have it charged with.

reflective shield

limited,but useful stealth ability..

Game is easy overall,its almost hard to die really..

And the AI is somewhat under par.

Story line didnt grab me at all,I never truly knew what was really going on throughout the game (obviously this could have just been me)

all in all though, an entertaining game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

darksector the claive

posted by darqnezz (WORCESTER, MA) Jan 13, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

for the most part this game is great!! other than useing the claive for certain levels..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pleasently Suprised

posted by Supathug18 (GLASTONBURY, CT) Dec 29, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

By all the negative ratings I read I almost didn't give this game a chance, glad I did. Love the game play, its just a shooter but you get a neat little melee weapon to throw and hack away at things with.. If you switch away from motion sensor control you can control the flight of your thrown weapon with the L stick, quite fun and DEADLY. Give this game a try, you'll have fun decapitating rows of hapless soldiers/infected civilians.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse