Rent Dante's Inferno for PSP Games
view large frontback

Dante's Inferno

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, PS3
GF Rating
7.5

398 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome graphics... gameplay solid

posted by prisoner6 (ATLANTA, GA) Mar 10, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

As an English major, you won't be surprised that I love the concept. As a PSP enthusiast, I've rarely seen a game that pushes the limits like this one. The music, dialog and graphics are startling.

The gameplay is good, but not unique. Very God of War like. I would highly recommend a rental, because it seems like the game is not long, but well-worth the time!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Near perfect conversion!

posted by ShinGundam (PALMETTO, FL) May 11, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you own the PS3 Dante's Inferno, then this is literally the portable version of it.
With identical levels and puzzles, this PSP version will not offer anything new... oddly enough, since most PSP versions have a little "extra".

And for those without a PS3, then this is a real treat!
Based on "The Divine Comedy", the game has a solid background, storyline and engine.
As you travel down the Nine Planes of "Heck", you get to either absolve or punish "poor unforunate souls" on your travels, granting you either light or dark powers. (although in the end, it doesn't really matter which side you choose)

Jokingly known as God Of War 2.5, Dante's Inferno's game engine is nearly a twin of its older brother... which is not a bad thing, after all.

Controls are tight, camera view is tricky (on purpose, to make the puzzles more difficult), the graphics are as good as they get on the PSP.

Comparisons aside, like I said before, a great solid game!
A definite must have!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dante's inferno

posted by bckeyekila (YPSILANTI, MI) Apr 27, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

was one of the coolest games i played in a while... it was very similar to God of War but still had a great story line and felt like it would never end. Have to say it was a fun game i enjoyed playing alot and could not put down till i beat it. Enjoy an prepare to FIGHT HARD!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

watered down port

posted by oakskelta (MC EWEN, TN) May 26, 2013

Member since Feb 2012

as someone that loved the console version of this game i give this a 7.5 because it is very similiar. they did a good job but lets face it, the psp can only handle so much and i think they pushed this as far as they could to make it an authentic feeling port. the bosses are a little dumbed down and obviously the in game animation is a little short on delivery, but overall it turned out good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

?

posted by cosmicdaft (DENVER, CO) Jan 16, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

I'd write a good review about this game because dantes inferno is awesome game but I never go it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I would love this game. If it worked.

posted by cwheatley15 (ATCHISON, KS) Dec 6, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

Unfortunetly, Gamefly sent me a copy that wasn't working. It could get to the menu, and you could press anything, but it you happened to click on new game the game would spontaniously freeze. :/

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awsome Game !!

posted by Cassidy2011 (PORT SAINT LUCIE, FL) Nov 16, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

Well another game i am certainly buying i got close to done and i didn't even finish it i just sent it back because i loved it ... I have to say it is alot like God of War to a extent so if you were into that you would certainly like this game and it has some good peep shows for adults lol Graphics were great and i just hope they make another !!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

to much dirt review

posted by tomuchdirt (LAS VEGAS, NV) May 17, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

hello and welcome to the review this game has a mix of heaven earth and the below ok you defeat death to get your deadly schythe you see your love beatrice and your fatsee ya laer best game everher dead in your home so you take the cross to get the divine powers of the lord our father when you enter the down under you will see a very white bluish figure love it is the good spirit of your father who was killed the bad spirit is a big man you will have to fight you shall go thru the nine gates of the down under to get your dear beatrices soul back you will destroy luicefer and get the lovely beatrice back if you like this game play god of war as well okay

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A great game, but graphic with nudity

posted by pmcwith3bo (HULL, GA) Sep 24, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

I would strongly suggest to parents to only allow older kids to play due the nudity during the video's. I played the classic, so it was probably not as intense, but still lots of action with fighting and blood flying everywhere. As to the nudity, a topless Beatrice during the first part of the game along with Lust during that level seemed a bit redundant with a nude Dante at the end. I am sure the bloody graphics are something similar to Bioshock or Halo, but there were times you got too up close and personal. All around a great game, but definitely wouldn't let my 15 yr. old and under play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

just a shallow game with god of war skin

posted by embuster47 (ANDERSON, SC) Jul 8, 2010

Member since Oct 2004

i have to say i did not enjoy this game i mean there are bugs 1.the sound is too low you cant enjoy the sound fx 2.randomly freezes,now i hate to see EA copy scea gameplay come on ea you are here to make games your unique way and make the game enjoyiable to play but dante's inferno is not i would buy because the gameplay is boring the puzzle solveing is a downfall overall the game story looked good but i did not wanna continue on it got boring quick the moment i started if you really want a game like this buy god of war chains of olympus i enjoyed that more because the gameplay and puzzles are top notch sorry but dante's inferno went up in smoke quick very disapointed with EA ):

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Fan Boy Review, Did not like at all got board fast

posted by FanBoy85 (LINCOLN, NE) Jul 7, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

Fan Boy Review
System: Sony PSP
Game: Dante’s Inferno
I don’t know exactly how to start this one out. First I will give you some of the title description and I suggest reading it before you start playing it because as much of a gamer as I am I was completely lost the first 5-10 minutes of the game. A classic work of literature becomes a sinister action saga in this game inspired by Dante’s “The Divine Comedy.” Ok so make sure you Google that to know what the heck they are talking about cause I don’t. Journey through the nine levels of Heck on a quest to save your beloved from the jaws of the underworld. Ok that is just half of it and as I mentioned before you should read the rest so you know what is going on because the beginning of this game is confusing as heck unless you already know this game title before you play it. Not only is this game confusing but also it resembles a game that we have review and played before does “God of war” ring a bell. That’s right. Whoever made this game must be a fan because the game play fighting style, movement through the levels, magic, health replenishes, saving, and boss battles are all the same. The only difference is this game kind of sucks. I will say after getting through the confusing parts and knowing what was going on I starting to get interested in the game but there are also some problems with this game that take away from the game. Any time the game wants to load the screen freezes for a few seconds also you and I could probably go through this game without every getting hurt or die. Granted I am testing this game on mid level there is still no challenge to the madness. Using one move the whole time and your able to hit and kill all your enemies. You also have the ability of unlimited block where any enemy or boss cannot penetrate. You might think that to be ok but I don’t it takes away from the game and make it to easy to quickly be boring. If this game just wanted to be a decent story line game mov

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not a G.O.W comparison review

posted by clintonk (SAN MARCOS, CA) May 4, 2010

Member since Apr 2009

Yeah we know it's just like God of War okay! BIG DEAL! If that's the only thing you can say then
you don't need to be writing a review. Now lets get past that part. This game is just what you'd
expect from a PSP game. They changed a few things and/or removed them from game play but
for the PSP the graphics are ok the sound can be choppy at times yet its still seems like the
PS3 version. It wasn't a great game to begin with but it didn't really get any worse. It's still fun
and you will be thinking "ugh! I've done this before".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Psp version = not good

posted by Chumba1 (WEST JORDAN, UT) Apr 9, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

Well, to put it bluntly, I had been waiting about 5 months for this game to come out, i was so psyched when I first played the demo on my friend's Xbox 360. I rented the game, and I was disappointed within the first hour of gameplay. There seems to be A LOT left out of the game compared to the xbox version, if you're planning on renting our buying this, get it for xbox, or ps3, but not psp, its no where near as good. On top of that the audio sucks and the graphics could have been much better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Copied

posted by Apollo919 (CRESTVIEW, FL) Apr 1, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

This game was almost an exact copy of God of War:Chains of Olympus. Short storyline,Bad storyline, and worst of all it had bad audio.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Still a fantastic experience.

posted by djcomputro (SAN ANGELO, TX) Mar 23, 2010

Member since Jun 2004

When I first played the demo for this game on the PS3, I was completely blown away. I knew that I had to play this game as soon as it was released. My enthusiasm diminished a little after reading the GameSpot review but I still thought the game was worth a try. It most definitely was. I greatly enjoyed playing the PS3 version and imagined it to be a preview of what God of War 3 may be like. The action was fantastic, the puzzles were few and far between but not nonexistent, and the story glued me to my chair. Suffice it to say, it was a great game.

I would have to say that one is doing a disservice to the PSP version by comparing it too much to the console version. It may feel a little stripped down but I believe that they were able to preserve as much of what made the console version great as was possible. I was very impressed with this game and how much they were able to squeeze into that little UMD. There were a couple of times, when transitioning from one circle of "h-e-double hockey sticks" to another, where I would have had no idea what was going on if I hadn't already played the console version a couple of times. They also removed some more of the challenging parts even though the difficulty in combat seemed somewhat greater. Still, just as a movie is never as great as the book it's based on, we learn to watch the movie first. I envy anyone who plays the PSP version of Dante's Inferno first and then plays the console version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »