Rent Dante's Inferno for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Dante's Inferno

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PSP Games, PS3
GF Rating
7.5

17841 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Critical Review of Dante's Inferno

posted by deholt1013 (AUSTIN, TX) Feb 10, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

146 out of 156 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

Dante's Inferno is a beautifully conceived game, and like many gamers, I was very excited to get my hands on it. But there are definitely some major problems with it.

The combat not only plays seamlessly and responds well, but it looks fluid and believable. The same goes for the character models, and the cut-scenes are especially good-looking, using both CG and animated scenes to flush out the story. Each of the 9 circles is designed to reflect the sins of the souls trapped there, and you will have to choose whether to absolve or punish people trapped in the Inferno.

The biggest problem Dante's Inferno has is pretty much the same problem most games in this genre have. There are moments in which you have to traverse a room with well-timed, precision jumps, and if you mess up, you will either die and have to start over, or fall down to an area that will force you to start over. If having to repeat something multiple times doesn't bother you, then you'll give Dante's Inferno a 10/10.

Also, there are times when you may die multiple times trying to figure out what specific way the developers want you to handle a situation, be it combat or otherwise. You may be fighting a boss and be stuck in an infinite loop of the boss making the same attacks, because you are supposed to attack in a specific place or dodge a specific attack to trigger the end of the fight.

FINAL WORD: Dante's Inferno is an epic game with over-the-top action and beautifully gruesome visuals. The combat sequences and leveling of your weapons and powers is definitely fun. However, if having to repeat a set of perfect jumps over and over just to exit a room frustrates you, or if you don't like to get stuck in combat or rooms because you haven't yet figured out the secret thing you're supposed to do, you might want to reconsider (or buy a strategy guide). Dante's Inferno definitely loses its edge and fun factor to moments of frustration and--dare I say--tedium, but it's still an overall good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Almost converted to Christianity...."almost"

posted by Diz666 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Apr 6, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

64 out of 68 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

Perspective from a semi-hard core gamer, and "graphics freak":

Pros:
Amazing graphics! - The attention to detail is absolutely stellar, easily one of the best high definition gaming experiences I've ever experienced. The sense of scale is amazing. I play on a 50" Plasma and truly felt like I was part of the action in some sequences.

Sounds: I play (like many married men with young kids in the house) primarily at night when the "others" are sleeping. As such, I use wireless surround sound headphones - and let me tell you - the sounds in this game will make your skin crawl. The soundtrack never stops will moans, groans, and cries from the condemned - the sound creates such a unique tension.

Combat: The stylized combat is great fun...the ability to hack and slash a monster and absolve or punish added a cool flair. Although you'll likely stick to one-or-two key combat maneuvers you can power up for different approaches.

Unique in concept: Take a literary classic about the darkest place known to man and make a video game out of it...effing brilliant! I read the book in college and this game pinpoints the creepiest aspects of it. And yes...God of War freaks...the game is unique, albeit slightly borrowed in game play.

Easy Attachment to the protagonist: Its easy to develop a bond with Dante, you'll find out the he is flawed like all of us...yes can kick some major demon butt.

Cons;
Lack of Camera Control: Okay, so the game is on rails...that doesn't bother me too much. The big gripe I have is lack of camera control which has become a staple in many games.

Repetitive: The first six-seven hours of game play are intense and fun...then it gets a little repetitive. In some instances you can predict the sequences of monsters that will materialize.

Humor: Okay...some of you may agree with me. I like serious, horror styled games...but there needs to be a little bit of relief. A few non-sequitars here and there would have been nice. I don't know...maybe a cameo by Ozzy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pushing the Limits

posted by AndyP29 (WARWICK, RI) May 5, 2010

Member since May 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm not really into the Action Adventure games like God of War, Devil May Cry, or Prince of Persia, but i wanted to try this game out since it is a modern, very liberal take on one of my all-time favorite books.

The story itself is superb, while almost as far detached from the book as possible. Playing as Dante you do encounter individuals specifically referenced in the Inferno, some of the most infamous individuals of the Middle Ages. Virgil acts as your guide once again but this time he has made a deal with your wife and you that he will be praised to his lord by Beatrice herself when she ascends to heaven.

The action in this game is such a blatant rip-off of God of War that i wouldn't surprised if there was a law suit against EA for copyright infringement. However, this is not a bad thing at all. The action flows well and the upgrades are devastating. Blood is plentiful and giving the player the choice to absolve or punish combatants was a great idea.

Graphics are par for the course, nothing really breathtaking. Although, the imagining of (blank) is excellent. Its quite the desolate, disparraging place Dante made it out to be in the Inferno.

Sound is terrifying. That is all.

Overall the game was a great rent but not something i would consider playing through again. Once was enough for me, but if you're looking for something to distract you for a night or two, then i would definitely recommend picking this game up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

HeII never looked so good

posted by cernunnos (GAINESVILLE, FL) Feb 8, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2009

110 out of 130 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

First off, Dante's Inferno presents us with some really nice graphics and a solid 60 fps frame rate, let's hope nobody tries to complain about this game in these particular areas because Visceral got all this right.

GOW clone? Sure, there are similarities but it is beyond me why people would complain since GOW was such a hit. Is too much a good thing really that bad?

The combat is solid and fluid my only gripe is lack of camera control which should be mapped to the right thumbstick but instead gives us a "dodge" option. After playing Darksiders it takes a minute to get used to this change.

I'm sure there are purists out there who will never be cool with their precious poem being turned into a video game but forget those people, they probably don't even own Xboxs. Did Visceral take many liberties with the source material, it is very evident but honestly now, do you really care if every detail from the poem is presented exactly how it was written hundreds of years ago? Didn't think so, so long as HeII looks brutal and cool and it's in HD, that is what REALLY matters.

Dante's Inferno definitely delivers. Even if you never read/heard of the poem this game is just as enjoyable for the newcomer and for those of you who have read the original source material, it just makes the whole adventure that much grander. I guarantee you will see a few things here and there and think "hey, I remember something like that from my college lit class!" (or high school AP for you smarty pants!)

The only downside I can see, some of us may feel obliged to read/re-read the poem, which will definitely take alot of precious gaming time away from us but may keep our consoles from over heating, so it's not much of a downside really. Also, Xbox owners we got jipped, no special edition + we will have to pay for our DLC :(

Buy this game. DLC in April, map editor, coop mode. Rent then buy or just buy. Regardless of what you think about this review, feel free to Go To HeII

hehe

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game!

posted by denzo45 (ASHTABULA, OH) Nov 9, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed the plot of this game, which was based on 'the Divine Comedy' where Dante travels through the 9 circles of 'heck'. The game in of itself is fairly linear, and easy to learn. If you've played games such as Enslaved or Assassins Creed, it's similar in the gameplay, but far more linear. You go around killing hellish enemies, giant evil bosses, all to save the soul of your beloved Beatrice. Along the way, Virgil guides you on your quest. You can pickup coins, relics, and shades to strengthen your powers. You can also absolve or dam'n' souls while killing them, which will go to your unholy/holy powers, unlocking combo attacks and other moves. Some people may say this is a short game, and I clocked in around 6 hours to beat it on classic. I don't bother with difficulty settings unless achievements call for it. It's a fun game, with a variety of baddies to kill, and items to find. My only gripe is that the save system is a little wonky. The only way to save is at the beatrice statues. If you die before saving, it sends you back to the last statue you saved. While this is a minor inconvenience, it does get annoying having to replay through an area and collect all of the items you just collected. You just have to be very precise with your movements and you shouldn't die. Other than that, this game is definitely fun to play. It is obviously a mature game with the content that is in it, and there is quite a bit of nudity and lots of grotesque environments but nonetheless a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Interesting Yet Missing

posted by ENVADER1 (MOBILE, AL) Mar 23, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

The game plays very clean from the start. However over time it becomes extremely repetitive... not much changes from the start til the end except for the boss fights which each have their own unique way to handle them.

Overall I found the gfx a 10/10 it looks great throughout.

Story I actually really enjoyed and kept playing to see what would occur next in the tale.. I was not disappointed. 10/10

Gameplay I will have to give a 6.5/0 because as stated earlier it was repetitive - I would have hoped to see a little more weapon layout or something instead of a combo tree. Seemed that I was lacking where it could have added some interesting new paths.

So overall giving it a 7 because though the gfx and story were great, it is how the game plays that matters. If you enjoy a story that occurs throughout your game and pretty straight order of play - you should enjoy this game in a play through once... maybe twice to try Inferno difficulty!

- ENVADER1

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Ah Heck

posted by TheMouse (RALEIGH, NC) Feb 9, 2010

Member since May 2009

25 out of 32 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

This game is as beautiful as it is raw. The story follows Dante, alongside Virgil as a guide of sorts, through Heck. What you experience is an unbelievable adventure through the most wicked place imaginable.

First, I will state the obvious. It looks and plays very similar to God of War. This isn't a flaw. There are so very few games which feel as epic as the GoW series, and Dante's Inferno delivers a similar warmth (pun definitely intended).

Second, the gameplay is smooth and reliable. Movements flow together so that you will not be angered by unwanted motion. Although there will be times that you wish you could rotate the view, the game is supposed to be played with this restriction. The lack of camera movement makes you commit to unseen paths in your search of various treasures and items.

Third, the characters are well-done. From Dante's dialogue to the many heck-bound souls, you will feel the pain and anguish of countless characters throughout the game.

This game is not novel in a strict sense, but it is a very good addition to any gamer's library. The story resembles the book in places, but even the creators will admit that they took many liberties in molding this game (following the book to the T would make a very boring game). The enemies are vicious, the bosses are imposing, and Dante handles it all with a giant scythe and a little motivated revenge.

Play this game. You are depriving yourself a fantastic experience if you don't.

A strong 9/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

AN AMAZING RIDE

posted by rpinedo49 (SAN BERNARDINO, CA) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

First off let's just get this out there; the game takes alot if not everything from GOD gameplay.

That doesn't stop it from being an amazing game though! The graphics are amazing with a solid gameplay & story line that is just fantastic! The boss levels are each so different that you require a new approach to each, & all of them are AWESOME, I mean come on the final boss is Lucifer, need I say more!

Well worth the RENT!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Beautiful but unneccesarily frustrating

posted by 3883883338 (ALSIP, IL) Feb 18, 2010

Member since Feb 2009

12 out of 16 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Visually this game is exceptional and the game play is crisp and responsive. Both the voice acting and music are also very well done. In addition, the customization of your abilities is well thought out and executed adequately.
However, at the end of the day I found myself disappointed and frustrated by the overly complex and surprisingly unforgiving jumping and maneuvering style puzzles. You are constantly presented with endless scenarios involving precise jumping/running/landing obstacles that have zero margin for error. This game is short, and I spent more time monotonously reloading and reloading from the same position than I did playing. There were certain points in the game where I died fifteen or twenty times trying to get the meticulous timing down perfectly only to be forced to repeat the same process again 10 minutes later in a new location.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Disappointing At Best

posted by Jim1927 (RUFFS DALE, PA) Mar 8, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The grapics are decent, the fighting is pretty good, and the movement is fairly smooth. What kills this game for me is the puzzles, the jumps, the over use of QTE"s and the sometimes awkward camera angle.

I think this game could have been great, but you will go from fighting droves of beasts only to turn the next corner and have to do a series of very annoying swinging jumps or cross platforms that collapse beneath you and you only have a split second to hit the correct button prompted on the screen. You miss the chance and end up doing it over and over again. This just destroys the flow of the game, you go from an epic battle to doing a series of jumps more annoying than some of the jumps in Super Mario Bros. 1. I though they left this kind of stuff back in the 1980's.

The puzzles are the same way, its not that they are overly difficult its just that they take away the momentum of the game. I honestly think you spend more time doing puzzles and jumps than actually fighting. To top it off most of the times you die will be from timing a jump wrong or messing up a puzzle instead of actually dying in combat. There are times that the camera angle is just not right and you have no way to adjust it, so it leads to many of the deaths I speak of. Getting a clear view of where you are supposed to go would probaly help the jumping/landing issue a good bit.

The QTE's are just way overused in this game. Come on does every door you open in the game really have to be a QTE! Every boss battle and most times you absolve or punish an enemy are QTE's as well. The one thing you will learn is just how fast you can press your B button!!! Maybe they should include a new controller with it in case you wear yours out.

With all that being said if you really want to play this game please rent it before you buy it. There are some fun parts but the frustrating parts far out number the fun ones. I had about 9 hours in this game and I did not hurry through it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dantes Inferno review

posted by axemanbbv (GREEN BAY, WI) Mar 7, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

This game's concept is a pretty cool idea. There is only one very important ingredient missing from what would have otherwise been an awesome formula: FUN! Plain and simple....this game is no fun. The combat and boss fights are pretty cool and there are some neat and original elements around that. The problem is the rest of the game. The puzzles, platforming and swinging/rapeeling are just flat-out corny and IRRITATING. Don't mistake that for challenging...that's not what I mean. Controls are clunky and just don't feel right. Prepare to try to get past certain puzzles OVER and OVER and OVER again (you die) to the point where you'll be yelling profanity at the TV. It wouldn't be so bad if the player had to endure this only a few times throughout the game but these elements are MOST of the game. I got about halfway through the game and finally asked myself: "Why am I playing this? It's not even fun..." I then ejected the disk, put it back in the mailer and out to the mailbox it went!

Bottom line: If you like this genre of game, go with DMC 4 or even Bayonetta, don't waste your time on this one!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great start, boring end

posted by victim36 (SPRINGFIELD, MO) May 28, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The game is visually stunning, plays smoothly, and has a nice variety of combat and simple puzzles. Definitely worth renting it and putting in the 7 or 8 hours to beat it on normal (zealot).

Regrettable after you reach the half way point, which is the start of Greed, it just feels repetitive. You run into the same scenarios, and enemies, and puzzle types.

Still fun, still exciting, and will still cause you to let loose a few expletives at your t.v. But, you probably won't bother playing through it a second time.

Gave it a 7, which is lower than it deserves. But, I tend to score on the low side naturally.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

While lacking innovation...

posted by Craftybond (BOWLING GREEN, OH) Feb 8, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

21 out of 37 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

It certainly makes up for it in style and visuals. Yeah, every review you've read so far is right, it's pretty much a direct Devil May Cry/God of War clone, but I could already tell that by the cover art alone.

I'm only about 2 and a half hours into this game so far, but it's very addictive very interesting thus far. At minimum, I'd recommend putting it in your GameQ now, if nothing else. You'll enjoy it, trust me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Y all fired up against Inferno?

posted by Dre077 (AINSWORTH, NE) Feb 15, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I have just started playing the game. I am may be half or close to half way through. I have read most of the user reviews. Some are a little too critical, too demanding. Yes we can all agree it is God of Warish. Visually stunning, great story and solid game play. What more do you people want? Yes jumps are alittle spot on, but so what?!!! And yes you may have to use your brain to figure out how to kill a boss, and it might get a wee bit repetitive. But what do you want? A game you can blow through without any challenges? This game as all agrees is similar to GOW and Legacy of Kain to me both great games. I was addicted from the start of the game. It's fun! Compelling! And I might play it again. It has a man fighting for his woman, taking back what it his, and from the devil to boot. PEOPLE don't be so critical just in joy it. Wanna play a bad game play the scorpion king on ps2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Nothing Special

posted by WiKK3D6iX (WESTMINSTER, CO) Apr 29, 2010

Member since Feb 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Is anyone as upset at this game as I am? I mean, yeah, it's fun, it's exciting, the story is engrossing ( even though it's nothing like the book ). But this might a s well have been GOW, just a different setting and different characters. The gameplay was identical which is never good. The graphics weren't even that special, I didn't think so. I mean I gave the game a 6 because yeah it's better than average, but not by much, I'm afraid.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not all that

posted by SS02man (BOULDER, CO) Mar 17, 2010

Member since Jun 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Honestly, if it wasn't for the HORRENDOUS control, this game wouldn't be as bad as I think it is. Any game that stresses me out more then gives me fun is in my mind a bad apple. There are parts when the control and camera angles are so bad you will want to smash and break stuff. You will find yourself jumping into lava probably 100's of times just because you couldn't tell where in the air you were during a jump. Figures this game is published by EA. Could've been good, but laziness and bad management result in yet another piece of EA trash.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game I've played since Batman Arkham Asylum!

posted by Sublime85 (ANNISTON, AL) Feb 12, 2010

Member since Aug 2007

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Pros: Amazing atmosphere, top notch audio, and a great story line that stays true to the book. Fun combat mechanics, stellar graphics, and just the right amount of collectibles to make it fun but not annoying. The game is challenging even on normal, and the achievements are easy to pick up.

Cons: Camera angles can be confusing at first, the double jump isn't always accurate, and there are too many "repeatedly mash B" sequences. The game is a tad bit too short, but not disappointingly so.

Now...to the persons rating this game as a 1 because of nudity, it's rated Mature for a reason. Do you honestly think a soul needs clothing, or even a demon for that matter? It's a pretty ill society we live in when dismemberment, beheading, death, blood, guts, bile, killing (babies), and the like are never given a second thought, but show an inch of flesh and you're all up in arms. There's breasts, buttocks, and genitalia in this game, so what? Everyone has flesh, and everyone see's it on a daily basis. If flesh bothers you more than violence, you really need to reevaluate your life.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Times

posted by EEllis06 (SPRINGFIELD GARDENS, NY) Feb 10, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I think games like this keep you busy in a positive manner. What I like the most about the game is of course the combat. I've checked other reviews online and some reviewers can be a bit brutal to games. In the end, it's all based on the individual gamer and their likes/dislikes. the game is fun...point blank.

The combat is rather basic but that shouldn't deter you from enjoying the fighting scenes. Due to their simple strikes, you can parade your way through various villains of all shapes and sizes, without thinking of how difficult the moves are to complete. I've played similar games like this and the more difficult the combat moves become, it can (I said it can, not that it's 100% definite) alter the fun factor of the game because you're spending more time trying to develop the button sequence correctly, limiting your ability to simply enjoy destroying as many enemies as possible. You won't have that issue here.

The graphics are okay, but not horrible to look at. As far as the story goes, it's also pretty basic and without going into any detail, try not to overcompensate in this area. I've read that the story isn't plot driven...this isn't an Oscar movie. It's exactly the kind of game you expect from the trailers and synopsis mentioned over the last few months. A guy is traveling through the realms of the underworld to get back his dear wife; along the way killing anyone who gets in his path. Is that worthy of a perfect 10? No! But is it "rentable" or worthy of a moment from your free time? Yes! I personally wouldn't purchase the game but I would gladly recommend renting.

By the way, if you haven't checked out "Dante's Inferno: Animated Epic," please do so if you like animated features.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A great game; Just needs a few kinks worked out!

posted by SkaVeNgeR (CHICAGO, IL) Feb 11, 2010

Member since Jan 2005

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is definitely a game to check out if you're into the high octane action games. You can easily see it was influenced by games such as Ninja Gaiden, Devil May Cry, and God of War. It's a mix between magic, hack and slash, and slight RPG. There are irritating portions of the game where the fighting just seems repetitive, but it has a great story, addictive gameplay, and upgradeability that lets you get stronger and more effective the more you play. I'm not sure entire length cause it seems like it's gonna be kind of short, but it's a must play!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

God of War Like

posted by Mestiso82 (KILLEEN, TX) Feb 9, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ok, this is a good game. Not the best in the world, but well worth a play threw or two.

You can get most achievements in one play. Two plays is a for sure 1000 points.

Only problem with this title is that it is Short. I mean it is really short. Did a play through in about 5 hours. This was on "normal" difficulty. No sense in playing on anything harder because no achievements need it.

I do like how they tweeked "The Divine Comedy" to fit in a video game though. It's one of my favorite books. Actually have Canto 3 tattooed on my arm. Anyway.... rent this title. Don't buy though. Not long enough for 60 bucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Dante's Inferno - Demonic game of the year

posted by LostSoul08 (HUNTSVILLE, AL) Sep 13, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Dante's Inferno pulls you in and throws you to the wolves in the first five minutes of the game. Most of the time this gets under my skin but the controls were so smooth that I took to taking souls like a fish takes to water. The moves were crisp, clean, and visually exciting which made me enjoy leveling up.

The large maps and puzzles kept my attention unlike most RPG where you go from one lair to another slashing and bashing. This had a Prince of Persia feel to it but the story was more adult. When I say adult... I mean ADULT... I couldn't play this game in front of my 3 year old. I was even embarrassed to play it in front of my wife. I mean the violence wasn't so bad. It was the S3X, I think there's less breasts in a chicken factory than in this game. If you are considering this game and have active gamer children... please think twice. This isn't for children or even teens.

The game would have been a 9 in my book but with the unneeded p0rn clips I wouldn't give it more then a 7.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Nice game that became frustrating

posted by koakawe (FENTON, MO) Mar 7, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was enjoying this game but then things changed.

Combat was fast-paced, the bits of history and mythology were entertaining. But that does not detract from the flaws I found.

Camera angles - which you cannot control - make it impossible to see where you are going or need to go at times.
But that was not the part that really annoyed me.
When I am happily smiting my enemies and absolving the worthy of their sins (only with an occasional death, usually due to the aforementioned camera) all the way to the 4th level of Hades, you would expect that I understood how to play the game.
All of a sudden I have to load a save game multiple times because I need to race between 2 switches and perfectly time a jump.
There is not even a power to slow time to make up for it.

After about the 10th try I turned the game off.

I will admit that many people may not have the same trouble I had, but I play games for fun (usually RPGs) and I do not devote dozens of hours to playing fast-twitch games.
If a game becomes overly frustrating then I am no longer having fun.
I am glad I rented it from GF instead of buying it based on the demo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

God of War on the 360

posted by antonio200 (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Feb 18, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Finnaly god of war on the 360 wait this isnt god of war this is dante's inferno it looks really the same the gameplays better graphics has 60 frames per second lots more nudity and is in H E L L lots of fun if god of war fan if not youll still enjoy! music score and acting is epic though gameplay:9
graphics:8
sound:10
originality:2
fun level:10
overall score:8

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boring

posted by Aclarado (SANTA FE, NM) Jul 8, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I don't know why they still make these types of games. It's like playing that old arcade game Gauntlet, hacking and slashing, except without any mazes and with long cutscenes and fancy graphics.

I guess if you want to see cartoon (undead) boobs and you don't care about gameplay at all then this game is for you.

To be fair, it was so boring I only played it for about 10 minutes before sending it back. Just not my thing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Strong combat, interesting story, not much else.

posted by Ihazcandy4 (PARADISE, CA) Feb 15, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Let my start by saying this: If you like the God of War serious, give this game a try. It'll make God of War so much sweeter when you finally get to play GOW3. This game is literally a rip-off of almost all the mechanics of God of War and it does most of it correctly.

Story- The story is very interesting, its very well paced and even though Dantes actions make him seem like a bit of a Dbag, it enhances the story. The Cursed souls you encounter and can Condemn or Absolve offer a bit more story and flashbacks to the years Dante was in the crusades are very interesting.

Graphics- The graphics are pretty good. it kind of seems like each section of Lucifers domain has walls made up of the same bodies, painted a different color and in different positions. They are however all fairly well done, not completely mindblowing but above average.

Gameplay- Dantes Inferno completely nails the hack-and-slash that we've been spoiled with by God of War. Combat is as good, if not better then in GoW, with the Holy/Unholy skill tree paths further enhancing the combat.

What takes away from the gameplay is the fixed camera, which combined with the terrible terrible platforming will have you falling off ledges and platforms all the time.

The puzzles are also uninspired, being more along the lines of trial and error then actually puzzling anything out. Tedious to finish but unsatisfying or fullfilling.

Visceral did a lot of things right, Well done story, very interesting characters and great combat but the poor camera/platforming and puzzles pretty much ruin this games potential.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse