Rent Dante's Inferno Divine Edition for PS3
view large frontback

Dante's Inferno Divine Edition

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.4

10401 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Attention to detail makes a great game

posted by 4Kings (JAMAICA, NY) Jan 29, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

26 out of 26 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ive never written a review about any game before, but after playing this one, I'm pretty much forced to.

First, the storyline. What I liked the most about it was not just the content, but the speed of it. Within the first 20 mins of the game your pretty much already in the underworld and fighting minions. If people are complaining its a short game, they're are misguided. If the game seems fast, its because the story develops and progresses at a sped up rate, but I feel that its a good thing because it just lets you get back to the action that much quicker.

Next, the actual game play. What got me first was the fluidity of the game. The movements of Dante and his attacks were smooth and looked like they just led into one another (not choppy). I noticed no lag between entering the controls and the execution of the move. With the speed and control, the attack sequences are intense.

Graphics: Using an HDMI cable and a 24 inch screen, the graphics were a lot better than I thought it would be. There were crisp images and beautiful environments. I thought the lighting would be awkward in a game set in the underworld, but it turned out stunning. Also, yes, there is nudity, but if you feel like thats an issue, grow up.

Sound: Great voice acting, especially when performing certain attacks. Really makes you feel the grit and anguish in the game. Your in the underworld after all, people pretty much should be screaming and getting tortured.

Overall, I loved every aspect of the game. You can really tell the developers took their time in making this game and paid close attention to every detail. After beating the game, I found only one minor glitch, a feat not too many games can even boast about. As a side note, I loved the fact that they incorporated a wicked Scythe into the game instead of sword or something. Really added depth to the grandeur of it all.

Well, that's my first review. Hope you found it helpful. Would definitely recommend picking this game up and playing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

under rated game

posted by bulldog01 (COAL VALLEY, IL) Jan 26, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i, have never written a review before but i feel the 7.5 rating for this game is a little mis-leading. the game is'nt a direct reflection of the story told that shares its namesake, but more like a guideline of its content. the graphics are wounderful, the game play is easy to learn and apply, along with enough of a story to keep you watching the cinematoghraphy after a level is completed. this game is certainly not for the young as it has more than its fair share of nudity, violence, and gore. so if your old enough and the afore mentioned qualities do not offend you then by all means take this review as a strong recomendation to rent this title. i would and am thinking of buying this game to add to my personal collection, i beliefe it is a game you can play again once you have beaten it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Real Truth

posted by South20345 (CHARLESTON, WV) Feb 16, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

194 out of 225 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Yes it's like God of War. If you like God of War you will like Inferno, unless you are a fanatic who gets upset at things like that.

I will address all of the complaints that people are having with this game.

Length - This is not a short game, yes you can finish it in 2-3 days if you have nothing else to do but what game can't you finish in 2-3 days if you have nothing else to do. this is a 10 - 12 hour game. if you complain that it is too short that must mean you liked it. also, if you say you beat the game in 4-6 hrs. you aren't truthful.

Boss Battles - I don't know what some of you consider boss battles but there are plenty more than 3. i can think of 6 off the top of my head. it can still be a boss battle if the character you are fighting is just a tiny bit bigger than you.

Like God of War - So what! if you don't like GoW than don't play Inferno. if you do like GoW than quit complaining and enjoy the game.

Graphics - If you rate the graphics low you are a hater.

Storyline - The story is simple. you have to fight your way through the circles of h#%& to free your lady from Lucifer. There are no twists and i don't know why there has to be. if you need a twist tell M. Night Shamylan or however you spell it to make a game. i will correct myself, based on your definition of twist you could say that there is one.

Yes there is some nudity but if you are focused on that then it is time to grow up.

Inferno is an awesome game. I will play it through at least 1 more time prob 2. Graphics are beautiful and the gameplay is fun. i had a hard time putting the controller down because i wanted to see what was coming next. and the game is not easy by any stretch, once you figure out what it takes to defeat a boss it will seem easy but you still have to execute. i recommend this game to anyone who wants to just have fun playing a game. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game and story ever!!!

posted by successful (UPPER MARLBORO, MD) Oct 27, 2010

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was well done, and I didn't want it to end. It is just as good as "God of War". This game is a buyer!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Exreamly Hardcore

posted by godhand (JAMAICA, NY) Aug 15, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

if you love god of war then you will defenitly love dantes inferno. they both have almost the same game play experience and the games graphics are really realistic. but some times the puzzles in the game are so hard that they get one your nerves. overall awesome game to play then any other and if your a god of war fan you should definitely try this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Circle of Sloth and Unoriginality

posted by The_Hyphenator (TULSA, OK) Feb 15, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Dante's Inferno is not a bad game. I know it's not a bad game because it's the same game as God of War, and that was a good game. I tried to go into this title with an open mind, but the more I played, the more it became apparent that this was God of War with a literary/Christian paint job. Granted, there's nothing technically wrong with the game, the combat is fast and precise (again, God of War), it has plenty of gory, over-the-top moments, and the graphics, while not special, do run at a consistent 60 fps, which is important for a game like this. But it just feels contrived; nothing feels as cool as it should, the setting feels like every Hades level from the GoW series mashed into one with some more overtly Judeo-Christian influences, and the only original feature is a "morality system" where you can absolve or punish enemies and the damned souls you meet in the underworld. But all this does is give you experience that affects the skills you can learn with your cross or scythe, respectively. Even the plot is God of War-like, with Dante's dark backstory being told in a series of progressively unlocked flashbacks.

Bottom line, if you're an action game junkie and need something to play, this is a competently executed title. But don't expect to replay it or even remember it when you're done.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Nice!

posted by jonesdj (JOHNSTOWN, PA) Nov 22, 2010

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I wasn't planning on getting this game until all my buddies kept telling me to try it out. Let me tell you this game doesn't disappoint. Graphics, awesome. Controls, simple to learn. Camera actually doesn't get you killed for a change. All in all I highly recommend this game to people who like games like GOW. Needless to say I'm buying this game on payday.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dante's Inferno

posted by vitaly206 (MISSOULA, MT) Oct 29, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this is one of the best games i have played. if you like god of war or darksiders than this is the game for you. graphics are awesome and the story line is great. you can upgrade your abilities and movies and collect souls on the way. the game is challenging but not to hard to the point you cant get anywhere with it. but like i said, this game is awesome and anyone who gets it will enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

All Thumbs Up

posted by dad22girls (SAINT GEORGE, SC) Sep 22, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My personal opinion of this is that it was a kick-butt game. Plenty of action and boss fights. The additional mana spells help out and they level up as well.
Yes, there is nudity. I personally liked it. It was nice to see a game where they are not afraid to cross that line and put the game out.
Some people whine it is repetitive but most action games are where there is fighting.
I gave this game a 10 and I think it truly deserves it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The blue man is helpful

posted by Tyne91 (BELLEVILLE, IL) Aug 13, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The story line at first was a little hard to understand at first but after playing the game after a couple of hours the game got to be more interesting. At first I skipped talking to the blue man but then I went to him half way through the game and I figured out that he some times gives you powers that can be helpful through the game and he also makes the story line more clear to understand.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

wow!!!!!!!definatley not for kids

posted by JRuiz87 (BROWNSVILLE, TX) Aug 12, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

at first i was like eh i ignored this game but my brother told me i should play this game so i decided to rent the game and as soon as i started playing i was hooked. this game is awesome i mean your going down into underworld and like its freaky to hear all the ppl screaming and the monsters you face and stuff its awesome. this game was surely intenede for mature audiences. and thats great casue the makers of this game went beyond which is awesome only thing i regret is not wanting to rent this before. the story is short and it is repetitive BUT the story is great and if you are a gamer who likes to collect things and unlock trophies and such you can go over the game again with all upgrades and stuff which is awesome. i think the freakisest monster was the cleopatra chick the one from the lust tower man that is crazy. BUT YEAH IF YOUR NOT SURE IF TO RENT IT OR NOT RENT IT, CAUSE IT IS AWESOME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Greate game as good as God of War

posted by Corvuslab (CHICAGO, IL) Aug 10, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok, it is almost impossible to not compare this game to God of War (GOW). Despite the similarities (which is not a bad thing at all) the game is spectacular.

The high-resolution video clips are way much better than GOW. At the very beginning of the game the expressions of Dante's face are amazing. God of war never got it right. The realism of some of the scenes made me doubt that the scenario and characters were computer generated.

The voices really seem to belong to the character. They were very well mixed with the environment and character. It never felt cheesy and misplace. The acting was amazing. Even though GOW had great actors to do the voices, these voices never quite matched the characters and they always felt fake and misplaced. Don't get me wrong I Love GOW, but they could've done a little better on the voice mixing (specially Kratos).

The storyline could be improved..but it is not bad at all. By the way you will love the scary babies.

Conceptually this game is creativity all over. The character design is impeccable. You are attacked by creatures that are truly disgusting and sometimes just unexpected.

So, if you like GOW and it is not one of those stupid little gamers who are GOW freaks you will definitely love this game. Did I mention the graphics in end of the game??? WOW!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by Mike3083 (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Aug 9, 2010

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First off this game is so fun kind of remind me of god of war, Good game and some easy trophies too

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

God of War OR NOT?

posted by U2MEREVIEW (CLARKSVILLE, TN) Aug 5, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I first saw the game Dante's Inferno I was amassed with just the storyline. After waiting to finish up endings in other games I finally got to play it. The beginning was fast paced and it jumped straight into storyline so for those gamers that like to hop into the action this game is for you. Dante's Inferno game play is similar to God of War. If your a fan of the God you will more than likely been a fan of Dante. Are they the same not by far. I guess you will just have to experience the intense action for yourself to truly be able to enjoy the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great game guy!!!

posted by RAWHEAD (NEW BEDFORD, MA) Aug 2, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this is a great game, more like god of war except even more goth. rent this game its definitely worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

dante's inferno

posted by annihilate (SOMERVILLE, NJ) Jul 31, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is like god of war but it just as gud the levels are very fun and its non stop action in every level the bosses are fun to fight lots of upgrades and weapons you can either decide to be a good guy (holy) or bad (unholy) each with its own set of weapons and upgrades some parts of the game do get a little annoying though so you will need lots of patience the higher difficulties are impossible to do due to the waves of enemies overall it is a very fun game but once you beat it no point of going back to it unless u want the trophies

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Glad I played it

posted by dcheitel (ORANGE, CA) Jul 22, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The best way I can describe this game as God of War but not quite as polished. The graphics were great, gameplay decent but the controls sometime felt a bit clunky compared to GOW3.

No regrets to playing, and look forward to the sequel.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Almost a perfect game!

posted by damianrock (DULUTH, GA) Jul 14, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Wow, lots of comparing this to “God of War.” Yes they both have a man, who can jump, climb, and slash with a sharp weapon, but then you might as well say “GOW” (2005) cloned “Rygar” (2002), that cloned “Devil May Cry” (2001), that cloned “Castlevania 64” (1999), that cloned “Virtual Hydlide” (1995), which is all a clone of “Golden Axe” (1989), etc. The point is, everything is similar to something else, what matters is improvements, so get over it. If a comparison is to be made= GOW is a direct rip-off of the “attack-and-twist in slow-motion” idea from Rygar (which also uses mythology figures), which came out 4 years before it, furthermore Dante is most like DMC, simply because you use an unlimited shooting weapon most of the time. Kratos does not!

This game is a perfect adventure to go on. You get the scare of He!!, a history lesson, to play savior or condemner to historical figures, and gruesome fighting. Unlike similar games, it is NOT mindless killing waves of enemies, there is a lot of platforms and puzzles, and the levels are not typical (you don’t have bosses for each level), which means the movement isn’t “monotonous.”

This game shines from the captivating story that makes you want to know how it ends. Whoever said there are “no plot twists” obviously didn’t play past the second level. Heck even watching the 80 minute anime would tell you the story, which is well written, full of self-realizations, and just like the original poem is a stab at trusting yourself or preachers, over the Word of God. And the setting it is exactly how the Divine Comedy was written.

My only complaint is it’s too straight-forward. There’s no backtracking and there is no “trying to figure out which way to go.” Even the “hidden” items are fairly easy to spot the first play through.

I played through twice to get all the upgrades. Definitely, worth a rent, maybe a buy, as the add-on pack gives multi-player and custom level design. Things “similar” games don't!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game!

posted by olpdog (FOUR LAKES, WA) Jul 12, 2010

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed playing this game. It was entertaining and kept me thinking. The only issue I had with the game was the view was occasionally a problem. 95% of the time, the view they gave you worked just fine, but in a few instances it would have been nice to see the area from a different viewpoint. I hope a followup is released soon!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Its Awesome

posted by DerSniper (WILLIAMSTON, NC) Jul 8, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

A very good game. i have all trophies for it even the platinum trophy the only trophies i dnt have is the dlc stuff. but its very detail... has good game play and better then god of war!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dante's Inferno

posted by TisCaddo (HUNTINGTON, WV) Jul 7, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Game came in the mail yesterday and played it most of the day and honestly I can say it's a very fun game! If someone says that it isn't, well then they are wrong. The graphics for it are pretty good and the gameplay is easy enough to understand letting you go Unholy, Holy, or even a mixture of both. The music to the game fit perfect with it and the story line itself was really good as well! The only down side I had against this game (call me a wimp lol) was the challenge to stay 8 seconds in the air :p

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

To All You Haters

posted by madavis (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Jul 2, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Yes, this game plays like GoW, and I enjoy GoW like a lot of other people, but the way you all go on and on about how this plays too much like GoW is sickening at best. It begs the question that GoW is the best game ever made, and we are all lucky to be playing such a glorious game. Thank you to all the players that can get over the fact that Dante's Inferno is just like GoW, and enjoy a fun game. And to you all who say the plot of Dante's is boring obviously have never read the book, and need to do so immediately because it is an amazing book, and how can the creators of the game make said game any better with the little they have to work with, because the main character in the book never fought anything; if they made the game like the book that would be one boring game, but they did a great job on the storyline. The graphics in Dante's rivals that of GoW, yeah I said it, because the graphics are amazing. And finally to those who say there aren't enough boss battles, Dante's has just as many boss battles as GoW 1 and 2 combined. All-in-all Dante's Inferno is a great game, and anyone who rates it less then a 7 is too obsessed with GoW and needs to try out other games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Exceptional Undertaking Yields New Underworld

posted by tarzzan (ODESSA, FL) Jun 22, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game play was well crafted, and the detail of the cut away sequences was stunning. The story was true to the original classic work and the adaptation fresh and innovative at the same time. While the "sins" seem dated by modern standards, this was part of the charm of this game, which held true to original order of sins of the flesh and sins against God, etc. The controls and sequences used to win battles were not overly difficult to use, even for an older gamer, although I would like less mashing of the O on the controller, which has never been my favorite way of winning a battle. I would advise any player of the game to have read the classic novel, because it is this background that imparts the game with charm. The classics are not taught as they once were, and the game is difficult to understand without this context.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Dante's Inferno

posted by swat1983 (WAYNESVILLE, NC) Jun 18, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you like a good action/adventure then you'll love this title.Puzzles are of moderate difficulty and game length is a bit shorter then i was hoping for but all around this is a great game.If easily offended with nudity this game is not for you.
Enjoy:)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Stunning

posted by wwcnd2 (PITTSBURGH, PA) Jun 17, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I played the demo just now and i have to give it a 9-10 already. To the gameplay and the graphics, its absolutely remarkable. I can not wait to play the full version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse