Rent Dancing with the Stars for Wii
view large frontback

Dancing with the Stars

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2
GF Rating
4.7

746 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Work Out Game!

posted by Nautica (AKRON, OH) Oct 31, 2007

Member since Nov 2004

30 out of 31 gamers (97%) found this review helpful

This game is defiantly not for the lazy person. It is a keep you involved game, with for the most part up to date music. Its kind a like dance dance rev meets Wii. I enjoy it, its at least a must try for everyone

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Fun even with a few flaws

posted by Shazbot (BROOKLYN, NY) Jan 21, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

15 out of 15 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Overall this is a really good game that will get you out of your seat to best do all the movements.
This game requires a nunchuk in your left hand and the Wiimote in your right and dance steps are performed to the music by moving either or both controllers up, down, left or right and pressing the B and/or Z button to match icons move in from either side of the screen.
This kind of matching is not too far from the way Guitar Hero works with an extra dimension of timing the button presses.
Co-operative mode can be particularly fun in this game.
The early couples are nice and easy and you should be able to pass them within about the first 30 mins. As you get to the later couples the 'steps' come much closer together and can be quite tricky.
Could be better though. How?
The onscreen dancers don't miss their steps if you mess up for those watching you play and if they implemented this and then added an action replay feature for the last dance then it would be really entertaining to watch.
The professional level is not too much harder (at least not on the first four couples) than amatuer - the longevity of the game would be better with a bigger step up in difficulty.
The biggest gripe I have is that occaisionally the game will miss your movements on the nunchuk hand. I've tried three different ones and it is the same on all - this could be the sensitivity of the nunchuk itself though as I have noticed similar misses on Zelda. To avoid this make your movements much more pronounced on the nunchuk hand.

Overall this is a MUST RENT and is great fun whether you enjoy the dancing idea or not. Play for a few hours and you may get those familiar aches and pains that you got when you first bought your Wii and were not used to using some muscles! :-)
An expansion disk would be great or a 2nd version of the game with new features including those I mentioned.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not too bad... Could be better... Has it's moments

posted by Daistaar (NEW ROCHELLE, NY) Dec 14, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

36 out of 38 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

Dancing with the Stars is not that bad a game. It's actually a good game with only a few flaws. To understand this review a few things must be taken into account and I'll try to simplify them.

The Good:
First - This is a game for the girls. If your lady is a fan of the show, she'll love the game and it'll instantly score a 9 with her. The cast judges lend their voices, praises and criticisms to a very fun, authentic to the show experience.

Second - The animation is excellent. From flowing hair and swaying clothes, to motion-captured dancing by expert choreographers, the animation in the game is top-notch.

The Bad:
First - The selected cast are not exactly everyone's favorite competitors on the show. And there is no ability to create your dancer.

Second - While the animation is top-notch, it is essentially just a rendered video playing throught your performance. With that said, the dancers do not reflect your mistakes in their routine. They will do a flawless dance each and everytime with you hit all the notes or none at all.

Third - The Tracklist which, like the show, consist of well-known covers, leaves a lot to be desired. Many of the tracks don't motivate you and are not as easily recognizable classics as on the show.

Last - Not enough modes or new content to keep the game running fresh. Lines get old and repeated quickly. The short tracklist will have you playing the same dances over and over. The only real unlockables are professional difficulties.

My Synopsis: Unless your a really huge fan of the show, the guys should skip this one. If your girlfriend/wife/sister loves the show, pick it up for them. They will absolutely love it and you can have fun with them for a bit. This gets the job done perfectly for them, but leaves a lot to be desired for the male gamer.

7/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Definitely Worth the Workout.

posted by mnicklin (AUGUSTA, GA) Dec 18, 2007

Member since Jul 2005

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Make sure that you go through the tutorials before jumping into the game. This game gives you a good work out, especially if you are willing to put in the effort. My only complaint is that the game, at times, doesn't catch all the moves.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Singstar vs. DDR

posted by Txtxtx (CORPUS CHRISTI, TX) Jul 23, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is exactly like DDR but uses your hands instead of your feet. It was still fun though. My son and I played it for an hour. It was challenging and fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Silly stuff

posted by Trocergian (SCURRY, TX) Jan 15, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm not sure what I was expecting, but the game was pretty much just an exercise in waving controllers around without any appreciable payoff on the screen in game play.

Take into consideration I didn't exactly give the game a lot of time to "win me over", but after 20 minutes I slipped the disc back into the sleeve and said "This is why GameFly is so great. Imagine if we had actually bought this thing?"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

OK

posted by rhaile25 (POWDER SPRINGS, GA) Sep 22, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I thought you were going to actually be moving the dancers and if you messed up then the dancers messed up but I was wrong. I think it would have been better that way.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not Worth It!

posted by gameflyroc (AUBURN, GA) Jun 23, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

We were surprised to find this was super boring. We were expecting like Dance Dance Revolution or something but its not. Its terrible. You don't actually dance really. We played for 10 minutes and returned it! 2 adults and 1 teenager all agree.. not worth your time. We were hoping to learn some dance moves but its more like a game of simon says. REmember the game where you follow the colors and push the button? Not too much different. Don't waste your time on this one. I can't believe anyone even tested this and let it come to the public.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not dancing at all!

posted by MAX5JAKE4 (DANVILLE, CA) May 1, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was very disappointing. By the title, one would think that you could use the dance mat. After all it is called "dancing with the stars" not shake your hands to music. Maybe Konami, the makers of Dance Dance Revolution will come out with a more realistic dancing with the stars 2. Or maybe Activision should co-brand with Konami to allow the use of the dance mat on future titles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Why Am I So Confused?

posted by ctoppin (DETROIT, MI) May 1, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok so maybe it's just be but I foumd this game to be a tad bit confusing. I honestly just didn't get the point. So I decided not to frustrate myself and gently pack it back up and return it. My own personal bias, but it's not something I'd recommend. I'm sure there are better games to enjoy with the family or by oneself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Dancing in my Living Room

posted by whatwhat (DUBLIN, CA) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Okay, so first off, the idea of a Dancing with the Stars video game already seems kind of funky. But I decided to give it a shot, since I love the show SO much.

I was disappointed by the format. I wanted it to be more like Dance Dance Revolution. Makes it a bit more realistic and credible that way. Instead, you play with the Wii controller and nunchuck. It has the feel of Guitar Hero in that you have to press the buttons at the right time. And to its credit, the game does get challenging. Your synchronization has to be on point! And plus, it gives your arms a great workout!

While the game, for me, lost points for credibility, it's still a fun game to play if you give in to it. You won't learn any new dance moves, but your arms will be toned. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Dancing with the Stars

posted by Ownij02 (FRANKLIN, TN) Apr 19, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Fun game for a few hours. It's easy to learn the controls if you go to training mode first. Good game to have around for a cheap date with you and your girlfriend. Definite girl game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good for the females not as good for males

posted by dawgbone (HIGH SPRINGS, FL) Jan 19, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I mainly rented this game for my mother and she enjoyed it.I found this game to be alot like the game dance dance revolution which I truly loved.
It's not that bad a game,but it is better if you are a female.the game is a nice rent for a girlfriend,sister,or even a mother.I wouldn't call it a good buy though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Couldn't keep my attention

posted by Cristina (SPARKS, NV) Jan 18, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm not sure what I was expecting out of a dance game without a dance mat, but it definitely wasn't this. The music was uninspiring and it was difficult to have your moves register unless you stand still and just move the controllers. I didn't even finish the tutorial before I sent the game back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Dancing with Stars

posted by DefLepGirl (APACHE JUNCTION, AZ) Jan 11, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I personally didnt PLAY this game, but my daughters did & did not like it. They love the SHOW but didnt care for how the dances were all setup.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not worth your time

posted by kewl81 (ARLINGTON, TX) Jan 7, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you are a fan of the show and looking to join in the action as if you were a participant, then you're better off becoming famous and hoping ABC selects you to be on the cast in an upcoming season because this game doesn't get you anywhere close. Maybe the play station version with the dance pad is better, but the wii version is a simple game of matching a color with a slight hand movement. During game play you are too busy matching colors up you don't get to see the dancing. When you do get a chance to watch when someone else is performing it is noted that even if you mess up in the game your dancer doesn't mess up, so what's the point really? The interaction with the judges is horrific and the celebrity reactions are poorly done.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Bummed...

posted by Mathmattx (ELLENSBURG, WA) Dec 17, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

As an avid fan of DWTS, I was excited to try this game. I was bitterly disappointed. There aren't really any clear instructions...so it's not a load and play game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Entertaining, but boring

posted by cyllanseth (LITTLETON, CO) Dec 17, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I am an avid fan of Dancing With the Stars, and thought this would turn out to be a really fun game. The character voices, judging, and scoring is reminiscent of the show, but for me that is where the fun stopped. You must choose from their pre-created characters, like Emmet Smith, and you cannot create your own. The music is nice, but pretty much all you do is stand there (or sit) with the Wii remote in your right hand, the nunchuk in your left, and you move it to the arrows and press a button. It can get harder, but other than arm exercise, it did not provide much stimulation for me. Multiplayer was a bit more fun, but after a couple hours, it lost all appeal.

On the other hand, my 12 year old daughter and her friend loved it and played it all night long during a sleep-over and then begged to play more in the morning!!

Ok to rent, but I would definitely skip purchasing!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

you must be kidding

posted by twizelix12 (POUGHKEEPSIE, NY) Jan 11, 2008

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

who plays this stupid stufff. using a wiimote to do dance moves? yea ill remember that while playing guitar hero hahahahahahaha trust me dancing with stars is like dancing with a social reject

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Um...what do you expect?

posted by jebmcbee (ROSWELL, GA) Dec 14, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is a run of the mill beat based game play experience. for the wii you use the wii mote and the nunchuck to perform rhythm based movements, in the vain of a dance, such as the samba or cha-cha. It won't impress you with game play, the only tie ins to the franchise of "dancing with the stars" is the character models and the idea that you're doing dance steps. Simply waving the wii more left or right while pressing one button is the basic game play concept. my mom wanted to play it, so that's why i'm reviewing it, it could be fun for an hour or two but probably not much longer. Very repetitive game play, decent execution.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Dancing with the Stars

posted by cstuck (BARTOW, FL) Dec 20, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Too complicated to understand

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Yay I Am The First One!

posted by WiiFan08 (TRENTON, NJ) Oct 25, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 41 gamers (2%) found this review helpful

i might not rent it yet becuase i need more reviews to see if it isn't like Boogie. That game was a huge mistake to nintendo

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Boring

posted by kikiisme (ELIZABETH, NJ) Nov 14, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

This game to me was very boring because all you really did was move the nunchucks and wii remote. it was made so that during elimination you would always win unless you got a very low score and some move you can do and it wont count i would prefer just dance. My thoughts ...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

not what i expected

posted by run4life (ELKO NEW MARKET, MN) Oct 25, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

im very disappointed...all you do is stick your hands/arms out to the sides, bottom and top. you dont move around or anything. it was no where as fun as i thought it would be...so if youre looking for a game to dance to, dont get this one!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Where's the dancing?

posted by dewpep (TURLOCK, CA) Jun 27, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

With other dancing games, like Dance on Broadway and Just Dance, proving to be so much fun I was excited to try this one. I was extremely disappointed when I tried it. There is no dancing involved, just waving your hands at the right time. Skip this one for one of the other, better, dancing games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse