Rent DanceMasters for Xbox 360
view large frontback

DanceMasters

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $12.99

GF Rating
3.4

385 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

Not as Good as DDR

posted by Ninjalord (BIDWELL, OH) Nov 5, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

23 out of 24 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

I have played DDR a couple times, it was fun fast paced action. This is..hard to follow. If your a master dancer you might get this perfect, love it...but for me someone who doesnt dance alot its hard to follow cause you cant tell when your gonna need to make a movement. Trying to dance like them is hard when you dont know the dance itself, i found myself struggling on easy. The songs are of course random fast paced songs ive never heard. Comparing this to the other Dance game for Kinect called Dance Central by the creators of Rock Band Three, is pitiful because that game is far better.

I know im reviewing this game but the comparisons will help. The other game Dance Central is so easy to pick up and do its amazing, its easy to learn and you actually follow the movements not hit little waves or do little steps. Dont even rent this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Lol.

posted by xMitsu (MORRISVILLE, NC) Jun 30, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I dont know what everyone is having a problem with in this game. I think the game is fun. It isnt the same as dance central but it sure is fun when you play two players. Its just like DDR but moving. same great music. The music isnt main stream but thats ok because we get games like DDR because of the techno/jpop whatever type of music...not so much for the main stream music.

Game does not have a tutorial like mode but thats ok. Games are for fun jump right in and figure it out. I loveeee the graphics too.

GIVE IT A TRY.

cant knock something before you try it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not as bad as some think

posted by bugsgriff (LINDEN, NC) Jan 5, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

There are no tutorials before each song to teach you how to dance for that particular song. You end up jumping right into a song that you have no idea how to dance to. My kids had a hard time trying to keep up. But have played some of the songs so many times that they know the dances now. We also have Dance Central, the kids have played every song and now seem bored with it cause there is no challenge with it.

The songs themselves aren't that bad. They are techno/trance songs not main stream songs, which my kids like. Its something different. Personally I get tired of hearing the same songs all the time. I'm tired of hearing Lady GaGa.

If you want tutorials to teach you the dance before each song, this is not the game for you, go ahead and buy Dance Central. Want alittle challenge? Go with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dance Masters

posted by fivestars (BUDD LAKE, NJ) Jan 24, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is the worst game ever made. If I could give this game a "0" I would. Music is bad(unknown?????). Me and my kids play alot of games.....this one is again the worst.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Slow and old fashion

posted by Zori (LATHROP, CA) May 2, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

its best not to buy or rent. The entire game was not a good experience. My 10 year old tried one song then, took it out and gave it back to me to return in the mail.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by lgambrell (HAMPTON, GA) Jun 12, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

This game doesn't make sense at all your not even dancing you are poesing,it is SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO boring!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dance Masters

posted by mcgranny59 (SWEETWATER, TN) Oct 12, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

I rented this game and it absolutely sucks!!! You can't do regular music on here and its only like 15-30 seconds long for each song. I should have done my research on this game more cause I would have NOT rented this game. I am very disappointed!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

are you kidding me

posted by kamrynsmom (STONE MOUNTAIN, GA) Jun 8, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

I RENTED THIS GAME AND HAD IT FOR 1 DAY IT TERRIBLE BETWEEN DANCE CENTRAL OR DANCE MASTERS I'D CHOOSE DANCE CENTRAL.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not playable

posted by hypoxic (CARBONDALE, IL) May 9, 2011

Member since May 2011

This games is by far no comparison to dance masters. There is no learning of the dance moves. You just have to flap your arms and it says perfect. Waste of time renting this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Challenging But Fun

posted by Crazy_Muffin (WINNSBORO, TX) May 7, 2011

Member since May 2011

First of all, let me just say that Dance Masters is NOT as bad as everyone is making it out to be.
The first good thing I can think of is the character design and graphics. The main character is pretty and the outfits are cute. You can tell the designers put a lot of effort into the graphics, so kudos to them. I also really liked the fact that you can save and replay your performances. It's really neat to see yourself onscreen. The scoring can be confusing at times, but once you learn how to read the dance analysis it's easy to figure out which part of the routine needs improvement. The multiplayer feature is fun, and two people can dance at the same time, one of the things Dance Central lacks. So, Dance Masters has many good points that should be mentioned.
Dance Masters does need some work before it can beat Dance Central, though. Specifically, the controls could be must better. It is confusing to see the thing you want to select on the left hand side, but have to move your hand to the right to select it. There are many tracks on Dance Masters, but I have only found a few songs that I like. But, really, the game was made by the same company as Dance Dance Revolution, so what did you expect? Lastly, the Xbox Live feature was disappointing. I couldn't find any matches, which renders it practically useless.
Overall, Dance Masters is a fun game once you get past the tricky controls and strange music, not to mention figure out a routine. However, once you do make a high score on a challenging dance, it is a very satisfying feeling. So, if you enjoy trying out new things, including music and dance moves, or if you're an up-and-coming dancer looking for a challenge, this is the game for you. If you want manufactured pop music with easy routines to improve your self esteem, go with Dance Central.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Thought wrong..

posted by shywalk (FREDERICKSBURG, VA) Apr 13, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

I thought this game would be runner up next to dance central but its far from it. I like the fact that it places you in the game screen so it feels like your there! untill you notice your floating in mid air.and the other dancers are walking thru you...not the mention the horrible songs ...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Don't Recommend

posted by Takyla (ROCKY MOUNT, NC) Apr 8, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

Very hard to follow, I also didn't like the music selections. My son didn't like it either and we love dance games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better then people give credit for.

posted by Javaldor (ARVADA, CO) Mar 19, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

When I first played Dance Masters, I was disappointed in it. I wasn't sure how to play(I finally found the tutorial, which explains the basics), and I thought it was annoying to just be thrown into a song. I played it on easy to see how it went, and was highly disappointed. But, I didn't give up, and decided to try it on expert. I figured I could play DDR on Expert, Let's see how Expert plays out. On easy, It's really doesn't require much, wait for the pose marker, and match it. On Intermediate, It's adds a few more things to try, making you match steps, hand gestures, and poses, while expert sometimes makes you do many of them at once.

In the comparisons to Dance Central, The biggest thing I found was the mainstream artists draw the DC crowd. In Dance Masters, Many of the Parapara routines are Eurobeat songs, and Almost all the other songs I played in a DDR game as some point in time.

Fans of DDR will enjoy the familiar songs with new routines, but the lack of any true song DLC right now is disappointing.

I've also seen and heard many complaints that the motions aren't tracked well, but I've never had a problem having my moves tracked.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DONT BOTHER

posted by miking101 (PORT JEFFERSON STATION, NY) Mar 10, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

Dance Masters makes me want to cut my eyeballs out.These songs are either japanese or like from the 70s and movement system could barely read u and the moves just pop out on the screen and they expect u to actuallly do the moves heres something i wanna say F U KONAMI!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

DanceMasters is the new revolution

posted by acidbrn (GRAFTON, ND) Feb 16, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

Having played through the Dance Dance Revolution I was excited to hear that the developers were releasing a new game for the Kinect.

The game doesnt disappoint, it may not be a precise as Dance Central but thats what makes this game stand out. Dance Central at times is too accurate at times and requires more time devoted to it. DanceMasters a fun jump in game anyone can play and at the same time provides more then a deep enough challenge for gamers who are looking for a new game to master.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

LAME

posted by XBOXMAN12 (ROARING GAP, NC) Feb 15, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

Never heard any of the songs - they sound made up. Dance moves are not picked up well by the kinnect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

This game isn't very good.

posted by CNDBacon (LEESBURG, OH) Jan 19, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

There wasn't much dancing involved. Most of the time you have to freeze frame a pose or use your hands to follow circles on the screen.
Also, the music choices didn't seem very good. The characters reminded me of watching a DOA game.

If you want a full body tracking, good dance game. Try Dance Central.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not worth buying

posted by Spike11230 (NORWALK, OH) Dec 28, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

If you don't care that the songs are from no name singers,
Then this is the game for you.

Pretty much useless for folks who care about the music.
Not worth buying, not really worth renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by Primal (GREENSBORO, NC) Dec 17, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

Just one word Terrible.. :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »