Rent Dance on Broadway for Wii
view large frontback

Dance on Broadway

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
4.5

182 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

A Minor Mistep

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jun 17, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Not too long ago, a game called Just Dance came out - with a basic premise: All the player - or a group of players - has to do is copy the movements of a dancer on screen as if that dancer were the player’s reflection.
Dance on Broadway is a follow up to Just Dance. It plays exactly the same, except for the different music - Dance on Broadway has songs from hit musicals like Dreamgirls, Little Shop of Horrors, and Hairspray.
But this game is lacking something that Just Dance has: the different multiplayer aspects. Just Dance has the option of letting players play in a best of tournament, a red light green light game, or a game where the last person makes a mistake wins.
Those mini games do not appear in Dance on Broadway; Dance on Broadway just gives the songs (20 in all). All 20 songs are selectable from the first time the player plays the game; there’s nothing here to unlock This will turn off several players who are looking for medals/rewards/unlockable content.
Another turn off is the lack of love for the single player; this game is meant to be played party style or not at all.
A third problem is the game doesn’t recognize all the proper moves; several occasions it gives a miss when one isn’t warranted.
The last big problem I see here is the songs have a limited appeal - either you like them or you don’t. If you are into these type of songs and like to dance with friends, then give this game a try.
But Dance on Broadway just doesn’t have the songs that I’m into, so I say it’s a near miss. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Lack luster

posted by nathangame (CHICAGO, IL) Jun 21, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If your looking for your Just dance fix, like i was when trying this game you may be disappointed. with a general slow beat and lack luster songs this game did not live up anywhere near Just Dance. The songs are Broadway gold but don't really match up well when playing them and often the figure that shows you what dance moves to do are very different from what the character end up doing. the game got on my nerve's in a matter of minutes, glad i did not buy it. this game is only for people that LOVE musicals and Broadway songs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

hey

posted by beth (JOHNSON CITY, TN) May 11, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

hey i sent them both back today when can i get 2 more plz

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun Game Easy to Learn and Family Fun

posted by Ajdevens (LOUISVILLE, KY) Apr 13, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

The game is alot of fun. It has the most popular Broadway songs. There are different levels and the game is easy to caught onto and fun to sing along with. The dance moves are pretty simple. The only down side is that you can not change the level of the songs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Scoring makes this less fun

posted by maxsmom (CIRCLE PINES, MN) Feb 18, 2011

Member since Dec 2008

I liked the concept of this game...dancing along to show tunes. But the scoring is so unreliable and so inaccurate to movement being done that I could be exactly mirroring the onscreen dancers and still get marked as missing a move. Finally I just opted to dance how I wanted to and having fun and it made the game more enjoyable overall. If you want to just experience dancing to broadway songs, rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

boo

posted by cmchamp13 (LAMBERTVILLE, MI) Jan 14, 2011

Member since Feb 2008

The game is hard to fallow and they change the "camera" angle way too often and the song selection is small. I had fun once, but probably won't bother playing it again. I've played other dance games and loved them, but this one is mediocre in comparison.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Dance on broadway

posted by fathersilv (ASHLAND, OH) Aug 6, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

This game is okay, has no tutorial and just kinda thrusts you into some dance moves that you have no clue how to do because it never tells you.
my friends and I had fun with it but like I said it was confusing at first

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Great graphics but....

posted by lg143rg (GLENDALE, CA) Aug 2, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

the game has great graphics but just like Just Dance as far as the warning on what move your going to do.. if you are a beginner dancer not the game for you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Love the game - but bored quickly

posted by nikikate (LINDENWOLD, NJ) Jul 17, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

I love the game and the premise, but I wasn't wowed by the selection of songs - except the Time Warp. They actually HAD the time warp! Sweet! My other issue is that you can't download more songs. I would totally be sold if there were more songs available. Maybe in the future!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Boring!!!

posted by IcHiGhOsT (APPLE VALLEY, CA) Jul 14, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

No where near as fun as Just Dance. Song choices could have been better also.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »