Rent Dance Paradise for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Dance Paradise

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
3.4

442 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
3

Bad

Not a Dance Paradise

posted by Turret (MIDWAY, UT) Mar 5, 2011

Member since Dec 2008

23 out of 23 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I got this game hoping that it would be fun and because you have the ability to dance with more than one person on the screen at a time. I thought it was going to be dance central with multiplayer. The first day I got this game I was very very disappointed. All of the songs were good at least I thought but everything else just made the game unplayable. First off the wait time to actually get into a song and dance is way to long and it is a long process. It took me 20 minutes to actually start a song and by then I was bored and didnt want to play. The game does not tell you how to play at all so if you get this game you will fail the first couple times. Just the way the moves are and how they come up ruined for me because I was so used to dance central. Not technically a bad game but not a fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not so much dancing as just moving in sync

posted by inkedinaustin78 (AUSTIN, TX) Mar 27, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

11 out of 11 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

As far as dance games for the Kinect go, Dance Central is far superior to this one. I don't think the moves required for this game actually constitute dancing. I felt pretty ridiculous doing most of them. I also hoped that increasing the difficulty level on the game would add more variety or challenge. It didn't. I was pretty disappointed with this game. Played it once and had no desire to touch it again. Dance Central is way more fun, actually teaches you how to dance, and allows people with varying ability to be challenged. I think this is definitely more of a party game, since Dance Central can get quite time consuming (the time to break down and learn each move and then put it together). If you're playing with a big group and just looking to move around and be silly, then this is probably good for that. If you're actually looking for dance simulation, then don't even bother.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

It is NO Dance Central

posted by Wetz (NEW LENOX, IL) Feb 21, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

I had a decent time with Dance Paradise, but it is NO Dance Central. You have to mirror the dance steps coming down four color channels in real time. Jumping Left/Right depending on the color channel reminds me of Dance Dance Revolution. Dance Paradise is more of a rhythm based music game, where as Dance Central feels like you are dancing within the trappings of a game mechanic.

I do love seeing the actual music videos playing in the background, that is a nice touch. Dance Paradise uses your XBox Live Avatar, which is nice as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bummer

posted by Silverair15 (LIVINGSTON, LA) Feb 20, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I had high hopes for this game, but sadly after trying only half of a song i ejected the disk and sealed it in its case... Soo disappointed! Want a great dancing game for kinect? Get Dance Central!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

not a good dancing game

posted by alex95 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Feb 19, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i dont like this game very much i do the dances and says i still Missed? every time i try to play with some one it logs me out of my profile over and over again

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dance all night long!

posted by travjones27 (SALISBURY, PA) Feb 16, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 15 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

My wife likes this alot better than Zumba and other dance games out there on the market.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good i guess

posted by evanator1234 (EL PASO, TX) Oct 22, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

I liked it, except that Dance Central is a much better game and the avatar awards could have been better. also some of the challenges were outrageous. I would recommend this but not as much as i recommend Dance Central- if you want a n amazing Kinect dance game, DC is way better than this, Dance Masters and Just Dance 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

like controls, don't like the music

posted by waywardmar (FARMINGTON, NM) Aug 6, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

Feel the same way I do about Dance Central: very little music on here that I like. Won't be buying or Keeping for that reason. The loading times are also VERY slow.

The one really good thing about this game is I think it is easier to follow from move to move than any other dance game I've played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

I should have listened

posted by GOMEZGRL (BESSEMER, AL) Aug 2, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

This game is why you should always read the other reviews. I enjoyed the Dance Central so much that I went dance crazy...but this game was so bad that I just put up my shoes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Poorly executed

posted by photokatalyst (SEATTLE, WA) Jul 26, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

This game has so many flaws that they must have rushed it. First, the loading time is interminable. Plus, if you get bored and go to the bathroom while loading, it will detect you're not there and pause, which is a pain because after one loading screen, there is often another and you need to be there to "click through". The most annoying part is that instead of having generic music for the loading screen, you have to suffer through the game's music. This sounds like it would be a great idea, but after you have listened to the song loop eight or ten times, it gets really old.
Now we get to the dancing part. Unfortunately, this game doesn't teach you how to do their moves, nor is it forgiving when you screw up a move. I'm actually quite good at Dance Central, but there's nothing that is _less_fun_ than dancing to a chorus of boos until the game kicks you out. As a final icing on the cake, the game doesn't even give you a complete song to dance to, which is surprisingly disappointing somehow. As a final kicker, this game crashed by brand new XBox a couple of times.

This game is not fun. I tried and tried until I realized that it was just a waste of my time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

FROZEN TITLE, TAKES LONG TO LOAD, NOT FUN!

posted by SPECiiALxBBy (VICTORVILLE, CA) Jun 29, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

i popped the game in, it took what it seems like 10 minutes for the game to load to the start menu, what i noticed then that it was frozen on the loading page, so i reported the problem to gamefly, they sent me the same disc but supposedly fixed, but it loaded then it took forever to get to the songs, there are no tutorials on how to play and is no fun at all the same dance moves over and no difficulty change no matter which level you choose. if you want to play a dancing game CHOOSE DANCE CENTRAL! the best by far game for kinect.! please save yourself the time & money and DO NOT ORDER THIS GAME! (16 yr old girl)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Dance Central is STILL THE BEST!

posted by 1980Peaches (BISHOP, CA) May 15, 2011

Member since May 2011

Was looking forward to a game with more songs that could top Dance Central, but this is NOT it! Not impressed with the avatars, they make it harder to figure out how you should be doing the moves cause they look like Gumby figures! Verses Dance Centrals life like characters & a rolling moves bar so you have a clue of what you should be doing!!! Not Gumby stick your arms in the air & side step to the correct color!!!
Dance Paradise music videos were awesome, but how are you supposed to enjoy a music video & follow the Gumby moves & side stepping to the right color at the correct time! The music videos are almost distracting while trying to keep up with your avatar changing color bars all the time!!!
DANCE PARADISE SUCKED! So far for the Kinect Dancing Games, DANCE CENTRAL IS STILL THE BEST! Easily understood to follow with up coming moves at your right side so you know what move is expected next!!! Dance Central has better graphics to enjoy & help you to figure out the moves better!
No Gumby side stepping changing color bars avatar for me!!! Boooo Dance Paradise, keep trying!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game sucks

posted by skd121288 (BRONX, NY) May 11, 2011

Member since May 2011

second time i rented it both times i cant even get to the dancing part. very disappointing dance central much better. they should definitely give you an option for the kinect senor or the controller during set up smh straight blew mines -_-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Terrible Dance Game

posted by DEATHTRAIN (WASHINGTONVILLE, NY) May 4, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

Wonky controls, hard to control, constantly couldn't find me on screen.

I spent more time trying to start a game then playing one.

Dance moves are lame.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Dance Paradise takes the wrong steps for dance.

posted by Kingbill34 (SHELDON, IA) May 2, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

I have rented dance paradise and dance central. And the only nice thing about dance Paradise is that you can dance with 2 people at a time. the rest is bad. dance paradise is like gatar hero wise that you do not do the move till it makes it to the bottom which is hard to do and its more of make a pose at the right time more then Just dancing.

if you like dance games don't waste your time with this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Great songs, bad game...

posted by shywalk (FREDERICKSBURG, VA) Apr 13, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

I brought this game because I was lured in by it saying it had over 40 songs..and well it does have great songs in fact it has way cooler songs then dance central...and it has a video box where you can watch the actual music videos and it has great multi player modes. Then you realize the following....

First time I played...i stood waving my hand to play for 45 mins(no joke i hand to switch arms) because unlike other games that test your sensor to let you know if the game can see you...this game doesnt even tell its a problem it says wave your hand to play...then when it finally works it loads then again wave your hand to play screen. Tip: before you play adjust your sensor.

Most importantly...the game has the same basic like 12 moves for every song... your basicly doing boogie 70's moves like waving your arms side to side in all songs from 50 cent to pussycatdolls. Plus it doesnt even track you moves it basicly scores you by if make any random move at the right time...as you watch your char dance you like "umm im not even moving how am i doing that ". The graphics are also the pits...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

GAME STUPID TOO!!!!

posted by matthew13 (CHESWICK, PA) Feb 18, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

I THINK DANCE CENTRAL IS WAY BETTER THAN DANCE PARADISE CAUSE ALL OF THE MUSIC THEY PLAY IS REALLY DUMB AND I DON'T LIKE THE BEAT TO THE MUSIC OKAY THAT IS THE OTHER REASON Y I SENT IT BACK ALRIGHT......

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »