Rent Damnation for PS3
view large frontback

Damnation

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
2.7

2096 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Damnation... its damned alright

posted by Bklyn11236 (BROOKLYN, NY) May 30, 2009

Member since May 2007

154 out of 165 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

I had quite high hopes for this game.
For months I looked and hoped that Damnation was a good game and could help me cast away boredom for a bit.
I actually gave up the opportunity to rent Infamous a game I knew was gonna be great and fantastic!
Yet, I got something HORRIBLE instead!!

Damnation ran on a good idea... Assassins Creed jumps and twists fused with Gears of Wars aiming and capping.

Yet, it could not even clone these great game successors correctly. Damnation is absolutely bad!

Unlike the Assassins Creed it tried to clone, Damnation makes jumping anywhere boring and plain. Its impossible to jump to certain obvious areas that you wish to get to and on top of that the mild jumps that should be extremely simple are absolutely dumb. Jumping from wall to wall is easy but boring. The physics are also absolutely horrible as stepping next to any dead enemies causes them to bounce as if hit with a grenade and the use of mines is all but necessary. Your computer partners also are extremely useless as they die for LITTLE to no reason. Against a mere five people they will be wiped out with ease as you are walking taking shots and what not. Yet the physics get even worse as you punch opponents within the game

A simple punch despite the difficulty sends opponents NO WHERE!!!!!

The most powerful looking punches will only shake your opponent as they continue to fire guns and such at you. Yet, you must think that when you shoot the opponent they at least flinch or jump back

Answer:
BIG NO!

When you shoot an opponent all that happens is they continue to shoot back with barely a flinch and once your gun does kill em you dont feel like it was worth it.

Please dont rent this games
And dont support this company
To trash something this badly
They deserve the horrible record they have gotten

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Uggghhhh! Too much hype!

posted by Seth0620 (TIPP CITY, OH) Jun 1, 2009

Member since May 2009

56 out of 60 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

This game is horrible.... don't waste your time! Extremely sub-par graphics, controls are difficult making even the easiest jumps hard to accomplish, wall jumping is near impossible! Targeting and zoom system is laughable. Don't plan on doing much shooting- you'll be too busy "reviving" your teammates, who stand around doing pretty much nothing but being in your enemies line of fire. Extremely frustrating!!! Played out storyline (yawn) even the cutscenes are boring. Would have been a decent game if it was released 5 years ago. Check out the copyright date -2007-HUH?? You would think that 2 years of development would yield at least a playable game! The developers should hang their heads in shame for releasing this catastrophy!!! Don't waste your time and remove from your game Q at all costs!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

At least they got the name right!

posted by ExWifeH8tr (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 20, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

"Damnation" is that rare gem of a game that gets it all wrong; a game that must have sounded great in concept, but fails in a miserable fashion. I dare say that it is the product of A.D.D. as it appears to be a hodgepodge attempt to cash in on previous game successes. Sometimes this game thinks it is "Mirror's Edge", sometimes it thinks that it is "Motorstorm" biking around the South West. "Damnation" contains enemies that sound like a little too much like the Hellghast from "Killzone" or the Grubs from "Gears of War", and it is good to see that the Ghouls from "Fallout 3" found more work as the 'serum infected' populous.

The fundamental problem here is that "Damnation" does not do anything particularly well; for instance it contains enough bugs and collision detection errors to make "Mercenaries 2" and "The Force Unleashed" look like five star award winning games. "Damnation" is to video games what reality television is to cable; trite and accessible, with abysmal writing, voice acting, and sound effects. AI is difficult to program; however, it is quite obvious that the development team gave up on this game before it began. The laughable ease of the trophy acquisition is only matched by the sheer frustration of not being able to find anyone to play the game with in order to obtain those two multiplayer co-op trophies (In order to finish 100%, I finally went to my local video store and rented another copy to use on my spare system).

Even though I frequently say, "You have to play the bad games in order to realize the great games." Do not buy this game unless you hate the person you are getting it for; that being said "Damnation's" only selling point is that it has trophies for those hardcore collectors.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game should never have been put on the market

posted by ibanez42 (CENTRAL, SC) Jul 6, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is horrifically bad. The game creators should never have allowed such a terrible game to be release. Do not waste your time in renting it because you will send it back after playing it for 5 minutes. The controls are sloppy and the graphics look like they could be played on a PS1.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst game

posted by pakistar12 (BAY SHORE, NY) Jul 2, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

worst game i have ever played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Stay away from renting this game.

posted by KingShaun (Chattanooga, TN) Jun 18, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is one of the worst Ive ever played. All you do is jump around ever where like a monkey. This shooting and fighting sucks trust ive played a lot of games this is not worth getting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sucked

posted by matt24 (MINDEN, IA) Jun 18, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game sux soooo. much. aiming the guns is relly frecking hard. just ends up not being fun. the steam powered motorcycles were a joke. just sucked.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WOW! THAT SUCKS!

posted by GeeVee (ALBANY, GA) Jun 9, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Fortunately it wasn't I that wasted 60 dollars to such a lame game! A friend purchased it and after playing this for about 2 hours I can truthfully say I never want to experience that again. When PS3 games come out I expect next-gen material and this game came off as an early PS2/late PSX release.

The controls are extremely frustruating and no fun what so ever. The plot is WHACK! A medieval furturistic western swat team???? I can't tell you exactly what happens in the storyline; for all I know it could be an awesome story-line. I just couldn't make it far enough into the game before I lost control of my urges to change the channel

AND now, not even having renting it from Gamefly I had to get up from my chair and bring myself to this computer to share with others the scars this game has left me with. -sheds a tear-

Seriouly you guys, don't waste your time!

XD
GeeVee

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

omg why did they release this

posted by oldgame08 (ANTIOCH, CA) Jun 7, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

From me to you honestly ,good story idea but this game feels like it was supposed to come out circa 1999 2000 ,this is not next gen gaming ,originality yes, graphics yes landscape yes ,a.i. no ,fun no addictive no ,dont waste the rental you wont find anything but a so-so story ,no upgradable weapons ,no power-ups ,save your time rent something else .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

A game to skip

posted by Sorata (HOUSTON, TX) Jun 6, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was hoping this would be a great game and had high hopes for it. Then I got it and couldnt even finish the first level due to the slugglish controls and horrible voice acting... Glad I didnt buy it first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

They should have paid me to play this garbage.....

posted by happypants (REYNOLDS, IL) Jun 4, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game sucked form the time i put it into the ps3. The install time took about an hour or so maybe longer. that already put me in a bad mood i might of actually played the game for 2 or three minutes before deciding to put it back in the envelope and send it back to game fly. thats pretty much all i have to say other than it could have been a decent ps1 game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Should have been much better

posted by Chessfu (PORTAGE, IN) Jun 4, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2005

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Wow! his was a waste. No mapping system to see where you need to go. Weapons are not that great. Aiming is slow. And so on. Pity, could have been better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DON'T PLAY

posted by livestrong (CORAL SPRINGS, FL) Nov 22, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

15 out of 17 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

WORST GAME EVER MADE!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Damnation - The Worst Game Ever.

posted by ll2Scoopsl (KEARNY, NJ) May 5, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

There are bad games and then there is Damnation. Trust me folks this game almost made me retire from gaming. This game is so bad I wanted to purchase a new console to replace my now stained and tainted one. I just can't believe that in 2009 with all of the advancements gaming has to offer that developers still throws out garbage from time to time. The worst part is Codemasters (Grid/Dirt Series) has their name tied on to this. Damnation is set during Civil War times with two armies fighting. The end result was a country left in ruins with a new power coming in to take over. Yes the story is bland and boring. Damnation is trying to be a 3rd Person Shooter/Platformer and will be rated poorly on Presentation, Graphics, Sound, Gameplay, and Replayability.

Presentation 1/10: Game menus, cutscenes, character models, and environments are the worst I ever seen this generation of gaming.  

Graphics 3/10: Slightly better on the PS3 but even still this game looks horrendous. Textures and frame rates are all disgusting.

Sound 1/10: in game music is bad, vehicles make no sound when driven, and sound effects are stale.    

Gameplay: 1.5/10: Gunplay is downright bad. There was potential with the weaponry but it still falters. Movements aren't fluid, platforming is robotic,  and A.I is simply mentally challenged. 

Replayability 1/10: If I didn't play through the whole game the first time.....well you get the picture.   

Conclusion: This is thee Worst Game I've ever played. I played this co-op with a buddy and still delivered not a pinch of excitement or fun. Shame on Codemasters for delivering such a dreadful experience. Do Not Buy this game folks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Damnation

posted by 1great (HEMET, CA) Apr 28, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game made no sense at all. I had it for 3 hours and sent it back, i would not recomend this game to anyone. And if you bought it I am truley sorry

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Damnation if you like guys who like other guys

posted by logfanQ (MERIDIAN, ID) Apr 19, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Do not buy or rent this game. IT will make you cry your big gamer eyes out. If its the horrible gameplay, the bad story line or just the unusable crontrols. This game will make you want to shake babies for a living. I would recomend giving this to a hobo before putting the filthy thing in your ps3 i am still in shock so i cannot spell.
Good Day chap and have some better games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HORRIBLE

posted by zigwiglig (PLAINFIELD, IL) Mar 31, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the graphics were terrible for a ps3 game and honestly i had more fun playing saw and that game sucked pretty bad if i do say so along with 3 family members who couldnt even sit through the first 30mins of the game without falling asleep. the story of this game is lame and lacked a ton of personality and needed a new twist because the whole robot in the western time thing has been done already. you were better off making the wild wild west movie into a game and had will smith be the star.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Damnation...

posted by dannygam (PROVIDENCE, RI) Mar 3, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

....What to say...?! I know, waste of time and money! This gameplay is slow and lackluster...reminds me of Tomb Raider for PS1...! No bueno!! Weapon selection is slow and awkward, shooting requires absolute accuracy, I DEF DO NOT RECCOMEND!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Damnnation

posted by 19661112 (PERRY, FL) Mar 3, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

THE STORY WAS GOOD AND AS FIRST PERSON SHOOTER IT WAS GOOD, BUT THIS GAME REALLY NEEDS A MAP TO LET THE PLAYER KNOW WHERE HE/SHE IS LOCATED DURING THE MISSIONS AND THE OBJECTIVE IS AT. THAT WAS REALLY THE ONLY THING THAT MADE THE GAME FRUSTRATING, ALSO THERE SHOULD HAVE BEEN A LARGER SELECTION OF WEAPON CHOICES, I DID LIKE BEING ABLE TO CARRY AND USE ANY OF THE THREE THE PLAYER COULD CARRY

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

1 word BAD

posted by teenbleach (CHATTANOOGA, TN) Feb 26, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

at first before this game was out it looked good but as soon as i started the first level i hated it and im now on 3 levels in and the story is bad the AI is bad the gameplay is Bad. every thing is bad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

A pale comparison to the current generation

posted by Syionic (FONTANA, CA) May 31, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

20 out of 24 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This game comes along with a fresh genre that has rarely been explored and would have easily scored a 9-10 rating if it came out on the ps2 and it was 1999-2000. Unfortuntately this game is coming out a decade to late.

The graphics are subpar at best. Killing animation is slow and akin to flash game motions. The controls are very robotic and aiming is tough to handle. The maps are large and had they graphical support would be something to behold but once again the lack of financial backing shows how stretched this game design team was.

The voice acting is average and the storyline is interesting if your able to stomach the game mechanics. The character designs and weapons are very unique looking but that is about it. You would think that if they are going to explore the steampunk world they would evolve the weapons but outside if the style a gun is a gun is a gun.

All in all I have to give it a 3 instead of a deserving 1. The storyline has interesting parts, the large levels are akin to older tomb raider games and taking on the steampunk genre is a worthy gamble. Hopefully a larger corporate will infuse some much needed help in the sequel to really give this game franchise a chance in the future but for now. Nothing to see here, Please move along.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst game in PS3 history?

posted by rjcpdx (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Jun 12, 2009

Member since Jan 2004

16 out of 20 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

A crime against game-playing humanity: a world of steaming, bowel-draining FAIL.

Playing it is like waking up in Tijuana with amnesia next to some chick with a mustache. Forever.

Bad animation, bad weapons, bad repetition, bad voice talent. Bad music. Bad title credits. Pretty sure the disc looked bad, too. Bad bad bad bad.

I wonder if the devs have any idea how badly they've screwed the one-legged chihuahua with this game. If they don't, there's no hope for 'em.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Really bad

posted by urchin99 (MORGANTOWN, WV) May 30, 2009

Member since Mar 2005

18 out of 23 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Stopped playing shortly after the first cutscene. Aiming with L1 and firing with R2 I can handle. But reloading by pressing R3? How does one stand on a ledge, back pressed to a wall, and then backflip to a ledge overhead? This game was not developed for PS2...why does it look like it was? No mission objective screens. You get one look at the layout of a level then you are on your own. Camera alignment for proper jumps is nearly impossible. If this is an FPS why MUST I have a partner. They are constantly whining about needing help? And why is their dialog limited to only one sentence? Repeated ad naseum. Damnation dam sucks!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Nothing Here

posted by Goods74 (GARLAND, TX) Jun 1, 2009

Member since May 2009

17 out of 23 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

The firs thing you'll notice about this game is sub-par graphics. They are a couple years behind compared to current next-gen games, to say the least.. Probably a good game to play if your still using a cord attached to your ps2 controller. I put this game back into the mail the same day I got it, which I never do so I cant give much insight into boss fights or the story (which instantly bored me into hitting the start button ) but it just wasnt much fun. The combat system they have pretty much sucks, and the large scale enviroments they say you can explore for hours are filled with jack squat.
The game wasn't exactly difficult to play but wasn't fun either.

Bottom line.. save a rental, rent another game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Good grief man...

posted by jfrd48 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Jun 16, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

14 out of 19 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

The game had potential.

I liked the ability to scale walls and such, yet that's all you do.

Shooting at the bad guys was impossible with the game, and having to draw your weapon every time was annoying. You know, most games let you carry your weapon.

I gave it a chance, but after yet another crazy restore point redo, I had had enough.

Waste of time, don't put in your Q.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse