Rent DMC: Devil May Cry for PS3
view large frontback

DMC: Devil May Cry

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $14.99

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
8.0

2101 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Devil may cry what more can you say

posted by HandledBubble93 (WORCESTER, MA) Aug 16, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I mean what can I say if you like devil may cry then you will enjoy this title, killed a lot of time for me had a great story if you ask me seems almost like a prequel don't know if that is what its supposed to be or not but that's just what it felt like to me overall the combat system is basic devil may cry fancy combos mixed with gunshots to keep it going devil triggers and what not but the story was just pretty darn good if you ask me I would say to give it a try if you like mindless violent games to pass some time this is for you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

OMG I Loved It...

posted by bigdog895 (PORT HUENEME, CA) Aug 6, 2013

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you like Uncharted, God Of War and Assassin Creed then you love this game.. It has everything action, adventure, horror and drama.. I highly recommend this game...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Hmmm...

posted by Nemy009 (HOUSTON, TX) Jan 18, 2013

Member since Mar 2006

12 out of 15 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Well, it's obvious from the story that the writers are conscience of current geopolitical/financial events. - Enslaving nations via "debt" is about as real as it gets folks. - On that point alone this game has earned some praise from me. My feelings on this new Dante is a mixed bag however. He's obviously been designed to be more relatable to the younger 18-25 generation, which in my mind is somewhat of a let down considering the original Dante wasn't really geared towards any one group of people; he was just a wild, crazy, nonchalant, demi-god. On the other hand, it's interesting to see a more real world interpretation of such a fantastic concept.

Story - Well I haven't finished the game yet but having played DMC 1,3, and 4, I can tell you that they've changed Dante's origin a bit. Instead of him being the spawn of a forbidden union between "demon" and "human", he's now the result of the union between "angel" and "demon", which completely removes any ties he would have to humanity. Strange they decided to go this route considering demons are simply fallen angels, and the union of demon and angel would just create another angel. Even the name Nephilim means the off-spring of the "Sons of God" and the "daughters of men" (i.e. angels and humans). Severing Dante's ties to humanity makes the story more a tale of vengeance, rather than a story of Dante feeling somewhat obligated to protect humanity because he is part human.

Gameplay - If you've played DMC4, you'll catch on pretty quick.

Graphics - Oh boy, UE3...

Overall - Interesting reboot of a series that may or may not have been in need of a reboot depending on who you ask. DMC4 was obviously Capcom's attempt to move the series away from Dante, but I guess the fans wouldn't have it, so they capitulated by giving us a reboot. Personally, I wouldn't have minded another romp with Nero with Dante playing a supporting role, but that's not what we got, so you gotta take'em as you can get'em.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Slaying demons with style + rock music is a treat

posted by Izzy_Duzit (MIAMI SPRINGS, FL) Feb 7, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Note: This review is being written by someone who has never played any of the previous Devil May Cry games from the original series. Therefore, this review will be made as if those games never existed to be as objective as possible.

Storyline: It has sort of movie-like feel. In a way, DmC reminds me of the movie, Blade starring Wesley Snipes because like Blade, the protagonist of DmC, Dante is a hybrid-being with special powers who specializes in slaying creatures. In this case, its demons as opposed to vampires. The plot is pretty original as it focuses on Dante collaborating with a psychic human and recently discovered twin brother to slay a super demon disguised as a powerful human being in the real world who controls the world through debt. There is an added incentive because this creature killed their mother (an angel) and eternally enslaved their father (a demon). As the game progresses, Dante evolves from a stubborn and rebellious lone-wolf character to becoming somewhat compassionate and more willing to trust others. The ending is initially pretty predictable but has a somewhat surprising twist; no need for spoilers.

Gameplay: The gameplay is where DmC truly shines as it definitely lives up to its hack-and-slash/beat em up theme. It revolves around high-action and predominantly close quarter combat against various demons (even bosses). It's a little reminiscent of playing Mortal Kombat because of all the fighting combo possibilities and Bulletstorm because of the scoring system for fighting creativity. The music, fighting, and scoring makes the game entertaining. Dante wields several weapons that each have their own useful attribute for a specific scenario or enemy. These weapons and special powers are acquired little by little as you progress in the game. The game has 20 missions and most have keys, secret doors, and lost souls to free in addition to demon slaying. Because of this, the game has decent replay value. An enjoyable game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

DMC Devil May Cry - Prepare for LIMBO

posted by cheeko2222 (MIFFLINTOWN, PA) Apr 11, 2013

Member since Nov 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

DMC Devil May Cry is the prequel to the #1 PS2 trilogy. Does it have what it takes to overcumb the hype and anxiety that is the fans?

Presentation - You are Dante. A Nephillim, half angel half demon, who just lives life as a human with humans. He drinks, he screws, and he parties until the arrival of a mysterious organization known as The Order meets up with him. He finds out who these people are and believe it or not but (SPOILER) the leader of this organization is Vergil, Dante's long lost twin brother. So Dante is told what has happened and what the demons have done to brain wash us humans and that Mundus is the boss of all the demons and Mundus just so happens to be the one who killed their mother and imprisoned their father in heck for eternity. The cutscenes look amazing but what I love most is that Ninja Theory managed to use the camera like in movies such as Star Trek and move it around to make it seem like you're watching something that's actually happening right now. The graphics couldn't be better and the color is so colorful throughout the whole game, especially in LIMBO.

Gameplay - The combat is smoother and faster than ever mixing Ebony & Ivory once again with Rebellion and quite a bit more weapons that you discover throughout the game. It's the same as any other Devil May Cry game but the combat is more refined to fit each combo, each hit, together all in one combo streak.

The Verdict - DMC Devil May Cry is by far the coolest and most energetic game I've ever had the priviledge to beat with an amazingly addictive story and unrepetitive smooth combat. Yeah, people would shun this game just because Dante has black hair but all I can say is that you are missing out big time. I give DMC Devil May Cry 10/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

DmC Destroys!

posted by Kratos_Killz_ (SACRAMENTO, CA) Jan 16, 2013

Member since Feb 2011

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

I love this game! I was skeptical when I first heard about the reboot of a great series, but once I started playing, it completely sucked me in. You play as a younger version of Dante who's naive and arrogant in his ways. The story is great and the weapons are insane! Like most games these days, the trend with using light vs dark powers is utilized here.

You start off with your trusty sword and pair of guns, but later obtain an angelic scythe and a demonic axe to start off with, and develop even cooler powers/weapons along the way (i don't wanna give too much away). What i love about the weapons are the combos. You can mix it up hundreds of different ways to unleash a series of combos that never end! Voice acting is great, and there are plenty of hidden keys, doors, challenges and lost souls to keep the replay value high.

There were only 2 downsides which is why i gave it a 9/10. Graphics were good but I think they could've been polished a little better. And some of the missions were incredibly short. Other than that, I can't say anything bad about the game and definitely looking forward to what Ninja Theory will bring in the sequel! DmC is an easy pick to rent but definitely worth the buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

RIP DMC

posted by mizzery9 (EUDORA, KS) Feb 7, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

9 out of 19 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

A giant step back for the franchise. The combos look good but being forced to use angelic and demon weapons got old, i barely even got use rebellion, the weapon this game is known for. Being able to pull enemies was a good idea but i missed nero's ability to manhandle an enemy and throw them half way across the map. The guns in this game were lacking and that plasma gun wasn't even worth using. Most of the time in devil trigger was spent chasing down the enemies I'd launched in the air and even then I'd be lucky if i'd managed to kill just one. Dante's character wasn't as interesting as the previous installment and it's not because of his hair color. Virgil on the other hand seemed like a complete pansy, compared to what he was the DMC 3. The game can be difficult on Dante must die mode, but you respawn in the same room more often then naught with full health so it just becomes a matter of persistence rather than skill. Things I did like where the Level Design, Graphics, and Theme of the game but the rest of the game was a disgrace. I can only hope they make a DMC 5 and at least conclude the nero, vergil, dante series that put hack and slash on the map.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

There goes the nostalgia

posted by w_willis101 (RICHMOND, KY) Feb 13, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If your a fan of the series, you'll want to look away from this title. But if your new to it, then it's not so bad.

Gotta say though, if you are, it will weigh pretty heavy on the heart....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Im very impressed with this relight of the series

posted by raymondx (APACHE JUNCTION, AZ) Aug 23, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

So yes i was skeptical because of dante an his BLACK hair but once you play the game it becomes clear why his hair is black.(After all this is the beging of the series as far as i know) This game still felt like the older games with a new splash of god of war kinda feel to some of the controls, which the new controls add tons of variations to your attacks an adding up style points. Great story, great graphics, and overall what this genre should be.
My only real complaints are sometimes i get sick of jumping around and the virgil dlc. I was so excited to be virgil an he was alright but kinda lame compared to dante. His combos were lackluster and hard to find ways to combine them, an overall he wasnt "fun" to use like dante with his flowing combos.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Rating

posted by AllTheRage (AURORA, IL) Jul 31, 2013

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I didn't play the originals, just kind of seen friends play them in passing.

Boss battles I give a 8/10.
Baddies 4/10
Weapons 7/10
Upgrades of abilities and moves 4/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

was ok..

posted by durango95 (DECATUR, AL) May 28, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

was just ok not really fun to play but killed some time ..didn't even finish it ..maybye just me but the other dmc seemed better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Good gameplay does not save this game.

posted by KristophG (CUYAHOGA FALLS, OH) Apr 3, 2013

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Well the only good thing about this game is the gameplay and even then it is a watered down version of Devil May Cry 4. We are in a day and age where we really cannot get away with having a good action game without having interesting characters and a decent story; this is where this game falls completely flat.

Let's look at Dante, the former Merc with the Mouth now turned into "F YOU" Man is going around stopping a huge corrupt government run by demons. Old Dante was cocky and confident but was also likeable; however this Dante feels like he is trying way too hard to be hardcore. He's is like that guy who says he is super cool but in fact is just really annoying and you want him to shut his mouth. However despite how bad Dante is there is someone they messed up even worse.

Vergil: How in the heck could Ninja Theory take a man of honor and power and would not harm anyone unless he was provoked first into a piece of garbage that would shoot someone who is pregnant and smile about it? He also likes to flaunt his superiority over humans like it is some sort of pissing contest. Old Vergil knew he was better and had nothing to prove, he just wanted more power.

The story itself is goes on and off from decent to outright terrible. The dialogue is boring and it feels like they tried to make Dante too "hardcore". It reminds me of Shadow The Hedgehog for the Xbox/PS2/Gamecube where Shadow cursed every 5 seconds.

Ninja Theory has proven time and again that they are inept in handling any game franchise. They should pack it in.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Stylish!!!

posted by Kingofhearts307 (KANEOHE, HI) Jan 16, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Burned pass my first play through on Nephilim in about 9-10 hrs. Realized how sloppy I am, dying more times than I'd like to share. Though good practice for the upcoming difficulties. The game overall, is awesome. Although the story felt kind of short, Dante's quips and use of the f-bomb made the cut scenes enjoyable. Ninja Theory did a pretty good job in setting the mood for future games.
Controlling Dante, is a bit different from previous games, mainly no "lock-on" button, but emphasized continuous switching during combat. Navigating through Limbo is a pain at first (Most of my deaths were from constant falling), and really sets the general tone for the entire game. That tone is PERCISION. Travel platforms are very slim, and mastering the alternating of devil & angel chains and the angel boost is a must. I found that there is a need to keep fingers over all shoulder buttons at all times.
Combat stands out the most. It is really what I or anyone else plays a DMC game for. There are so many options when in fight in order to extend your combo. Whether it be your 5 weapons or 3 guns, they all mesh together almost seamlessly. IMO DMC combat dwarfs Batman AC in this category. I found myself itching for a scrap every mission, just to get SSS combos... and not get hit. Failed at the latter. Scuffles in DMC promote staying airborne as often as possible. Notably, the Devil Trigger pops all enemies up in the air. There are also more than a handful of fights where you actually die if you don't.
I look forward to playing this game for a while, IMO its worth the buy. Bloody Palace comes out soon, as well as Vergil's Downfall DLC. Getting all the trophies will be more fun than tedious.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Meh...

posted by ironik42 (HILLSBORO, OR) May 14, 2013

Member since May 2013

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Exactly as the title says.. Meh. It's basically a bastardized version of God Of War. Not really that fun, but the graphics are kinda amazing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

dmc

posted by theredkey (CUTLER BAY, FL) Jan 14, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

great!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better Than I Was Expecting

posted by gamergirlrinoa (OAKDALE, CA) Jul 10, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

I was upset when I heard they were rebooting the series and changing things up, but after playing my opinion changed.

It's a great game with good characters and story telling. They use the same back story and names from the original series, just more up to date. Still full of cheesy one liners and intense gameplay that make Devil May Cry what it is!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome Game, Awesome Graphics, Awesome Character!

posted by chdezjr (MIAMI, FL) Apr 28, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

Devil May Cry is a great franchise - I'm glad they decided to go this route with the PS3 game. The graphics are awesome, Dante is the character we always wanted him to be, and I honestly had a lot of fun playing it. Very enjoyable as a rental...I'd even consider buying it. Even my girlfriend liked the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pure action!

posted by majorxolin87 (CHICAGO, IL) Mar 11, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

This game was non-stop from beginning to end! Great action, engaging story, and no glitches! This is the first Devil May Cry I have played and I loved it! Play. This. Now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun

posted by meb730 (HENDERSON, CO) Mar 5, 2014

Member since Oct 2011

A little long, but a fun time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty decent.

posted by Judgement_Day (NEWNAN, GA) Feb 19, 2014

Member since Dec 2012

This is basically what you'd expect from DMC. It was violent, but kept a decent storyline.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Really Good Game

posted by avidan72 (HILLSBORO, OR) Feb 7, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

...don't try to compare this to the original Devil May Cry series. This game should be expected to be an entity of its own. It follows the story line of the previous Devil May Cry games, which I enjoyed, but style-wise it is a very different game.

The weapons are pretty amazing (and pretty much the same as before). They use an upgrade method. The graphics and gameplay will give a good time.

The bosses are the hardest part, but after figuring out how the bosses are programmed, they CAN be defeated. I played at the hardest mode, and I only had serious difficulty on the last 2 levels. But it's a beatable game, and you can change the difficulty at the beginning of a new level.

It was a normal length game: 20 levels/ 10 hour game play.

Worth playing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

DMC review

posted by JamesGant (SHELBY, NC) Jan 23, 2014

Member since Aug 2013

It is sad that this game has a higher review than Dragons Dogma which is a better game made by Capcom. If capcom keeps making games like lost planet 1 and 2 and dragons dogma then they will be able to pull themselves out of financial hardship. But yeah this game is not good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This is one trippy game

posted by R3000 (GOSHEN, NY) Jan 12, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

I love how this game is so trippy. The maps all look beautiful and are unique as they morph around you. The story is ok and the things the characters say are strange but I'm not playing this game for those aspects. I want to kill demons. I own this game and downloaded Vergil's downfall as well and I can say that I enjoy Vergil's gameplay even more than Dante's. Both the original game and the DLC are short, the latter being only 6 missions but are both fun. I just wish Vergil had a blood palace (survival mode type) as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Play it!

posted by MadGreenFiend (YORK, PA) Dec 29, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

It's so awesome. We're buying it. Best remix of a classic game we've seen in awhile.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

i sent bak already

posted by bellacomalo758 (JAMAICA, NY) Dec 26, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

i sent in already

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse