Rent DJ Hero 2 for PS3
view large frontback

DJ Hero 2

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, Wii
GF Rating
8.0

274 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Y hate on simple fun game

posted by KJeezie (GREENSBORO, NC) Oct 19, 2010

Member since Sep 2007

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

If you have not had chance to check out DJ hero 2 here is perfect chance to give game a try. Like most when Rock bands and Guitar Heroes came out may think the games were a waste of time and critic said they should try real instruments. Will this make you a straight out the gate DJ, NO.? But could this game spark your interest in learning to be one YES. Not only has that it done wonders for hand eye coordination. If you own the first one this is a welcome addition to series. Would be nice if they would able to incorporate the other guitar hero instrumentals into future versions of the game.

Only issue is I l wish they left the Guitar vs. Turntable battles from first one game.

Game also has some sick mixes that would have never thought of and with an upcoming patch you will be able to use mixes from first version in second version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awesome

posted by zanderps3 (POMONA, CA) Oct 20, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

awesome game i like how Deadmau5 was in it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

DJ Hero 2

posted by sovereignslink (TRAVERSE CITY, MI) Sep 28, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

The game is fun to play through single player and online. The difficulty level is suitable for each gamer level of expertise. The tracks are well mixed and button pressing is well in tune with the song. Playing online is fun too because you can choose opponents who fit your difficulty level and not have to worry about being blown out by extremely talented oppenents. Overall, a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A step up from the original!

posted by Arkenium12 (NEWBURY PARK, CA) Aug 23, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

When I first heard DJ Hero 2 was coming out, I was skeptical but was glad there was quite a bit of time between it's release and the release of the original DJ Hero. I had hoped they would take the time to make DJH2 a quality title.

I loved the first one but felt it was lacking a little in user interface. Thankfully, they have implemented new in-game features such as freestyle scratch and crossfade sections that let you put a personal touch on the song. The mixes in this game are awesome and the inclusion of mega popular DJ's as playable avatars, such as David Guetta, The RZA, Tiesto, and my favorite Deadmau5, was REALLY cool.

If you're a seasoned player when it comes to rhythm games, start on hard difficulty because, for me, it was pretty fun playing on a higher level. I've watched people play lower than that and it was a snooze-fest so I guess that it's difficulty ranges to include all players, not just the hardcore rhythm gamers. The only issue I had with difficulty was the jump from hard to expert. It's really fun for someone who is versed in rhythm games to play on hard, but playing on expert can be really frustrating and takes away from the experience. Since you're too busy concentrating on hitting each sample, crossfade, and scratch, you're not enjoying the music and having fun.

Overall, I really enjoyed the game and recommend it to any fan of the original or somebody looking to experience a new twist on the rhythm game genre. Thumbs up Activision!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dj Hero 2 :)

posted by Rawkinshawn (SANTA ANA, CA) Aug 15, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

Dj Hero 2 is a very fun and addiciting game, trophy were a lil hard to get and its gets alot harder to play once you go into hard and expert but still very addicting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good track list, for the most part

posted by YPS1987 (MAHOPAC, NY) May 2, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

i like the tracks a lot more then the original dj hero and the freestyle modes make it more interactive..

but there are still songs that i can't imagine anyone enjoying.. let alone playing, imo this should have had more hip hop on it, since hip hop is what birthed the DJ craft.. but this game still seems centered on the house / rave crowed. but other then that, i approve. looking forward to more improvements in DJ Hero 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Same Fun Factor That DJ Hero Had

posted by SSOutPhase (AUSTIN, TX) Mar 27, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

Granted the music selection may not be as diverse and as large as the original DJ Hero but the new freestyle mixing is really fun and the online customization is pretty neat. Also the songs seems to be a bit more easier than the first DJ Hero. I play on Hard and can get 5 stars on about 96% of the songs. On DJ Hero my percentage on Hard was like 80%.

I ended up buying the game from gamefly simply because I love DJ Hero that much. If you do too then DJ Hero 2 is a must try, maybe even a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Music Got Awful

posted by officeninj (GAINESVILLE, FL) Feb 21, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2009

This sequel really doesn't bring much new to the mechanic of the game. There's "freestyle mixing" and they dispensed with the finite list of freestyle samples to trigger, but it's basically the same game wrapped in a new package. And the music? Forget it. At least the first one had SOME variety, mixing classics like Queen and Public Enemy and Marvin Gaye and even Motorhead in with the new Top 40 stuff. But this setlist is all flash-in-the-pan pablum from the last year or so. No variety, no diversity, no coolness factor.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

SO AWESOME!!!

posted by XMANIA (PORTLAND, OR) Jan 14, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

This game is awesome. I own this game and I do not regret getting it. This game dosnt have anything bad involved. Example (It doesnt let you hear any bad words). I have not played the 1st game, but have heard its better but let me tell you it had to of been hard to beat how good this game was. I love this game and would recemend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I AM A DJ MYSELF

posted by MR2TALL35 (YAZOO CITY, MS) Nov 19, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

this game gets the party started .. so when i dj at da club i dj with my ps3 because all my music is on here ..so sometimes i use my music videos on my travel drive and i show the videos while i dj... what dj would love this game. so that makes me the DJ HERO.....and i give it 10 plus tax......( LOL )

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I never though i would find myself here...

posted by Aragorn225 (FREDERICK, MD) Oct 26, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

I have to admit, i had pretty low hopes for this game when my freind called me over to play DJ Hero 2 with him. I was surprised, to say the least... He's my review people...

Gameplay: Nothing much different from the first game, but i did get a better feel when playing this time around. DJH1 actually bored me to the point where i wanted to throw it out my window and flame it with an imaginary flamethrower...

Sound/Graphics: Improved Sound over DJH1, so i was pleased. Graphics remain typically the same, but ruled out over my picky Graphic tastes...

Storyline: DJH1 was pretty linear; start out as a mere DJ-ist (did i say that right?) and work your way up to stardom, what music videogame doesn't go like that? DJH2 does the same thing, but this time, i really felt progress, which i can't say for DJH1 when i endlessly drudged through songs while grunting.

Controls: When i played DJH1, i felt stiff with every movement, and i grew tired of those annoying hand cramps i frequentely got after playing songs such as Poke Face (ugh... Lady Gaga...). Not with DJH2! The controls of the board moved very quickly and i was able to slide my fingers across it quickly without giving myself a burning pain.

Conclusion: DJH2 rises up above the first game, and actually made it to my "Videogames that are OK" List (which isn't easy!). But, here's the catch: just like previous music videogames, you have to buy the whole freaking set to be able to play. That's right, not only will you have to fork out a few bucks to buy the set, but you'lle have to find some inconvienient hiding place for the set to stay in (Good luck with that!) Lucky for me, i have a friend who owns the thing (Suckers!)

:foodndrink:

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game, Still Missing Stuff

posted by Sperethiel (FLORENCE, AL) Oct 23, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

This game is an amazing improvement upon the last DJ Hero title. If you played the first one and enjoyed it, this one will blow it out of the water.

DJ Hero is a good standout in the Music and Rhythm game industry because of it's unique step in a different direction of music. Where most people could care less if they added jazz to Rock Band (except me) this gives a fresh take on a different genre of music and creates a great controller for it.

Here's my take on the new game.

Gameplay is still very forgiving and really has no penalty for playing badly. You can always finish a song, but you may stink and make the music less enjoyable. This may or may not be your thing. For mme , its a casual experience amongst my other more difficult games. SSo I enjoy the change of pace. Taps, scratching, and crossfading is all back but now they have added some new gameplay features that change and improve the overall experience. Adding freestyle scratching, crossfading, and taps create an aura of awesomeness for the user when they get to contribute something themselves and not be guided on rails for an entire song. Eliminating essentially the "freestyle soundbites" of Flava Flav was the best thing they did. Be sure to download the free demo or rent if you want to see everything.

Graphically, it looks slightly better. New characters show some more detail than the older game, however it doesn't feel like a leap of improvement here.

Overall presentation of the game feels smoother with new UI and a cleaner and more updated art scheme.

Multiplayer is a blast, and the game has several different modes including a much needed overhaul to the singleplayer now called Empire Mode.

Most importantly the music in this game is great. EDM is in full effect but some non-mashups or non-remixes would be nice.

The game still feels like its missing stuff. It needs some creation tools. Character creation and the like. Customizing your own club would be fun as well. Maybe in DJ Hero 3. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »