Rent DC Universe Online for PS3
view large front

DC Universe Online

Not Rentable
GF Rating
7.5

542 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game, gets repetitive

posted by halfastronaut1 (GREENSBORO, NC) Apr 13, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was my first MMO, got very excited to hear one was coming out for PS3. I enjoy superhero comics but am not a fanatic.

LOTS of fun creating characters: choosing power combos and customizing your look are great. The "mentor" system is cool too, you'll be fighting alongside legendary heroes or villains within 20 minutes of starting your character. There are somewhat different storylines for your character depending on which mentor you choose, but not a huge difference, and you'll end up running missions for all three hero/villain mentors anyway once you level up a few times.

The flying movement mode is exhilarating. It's easy to get lost in the fantasy of that much freedom.

You can choose to go all the missions solo as you level up, or team up with others. When you create your character, you will decide to play mostly player vs. environment (PVE) or player vs. player (PVP). The latter is more risky but victory against a higher level player is so satisfying. If you go PVE, you will level up more quickly.

The Bluetooth function is still buggy as of this writing.

Main drawback is how repetitive the game gets once you level cap at 30. Your goal becomes to upgrade your equipment to ultra-advanced stuff. There is no way to do this solo, you WILL need to team up and do player vs. player missions. You will die, a lot, at first. For me, this gets repetitive. I'd rather create another character and do it over... but the missions all start to feel the same.

I've enjoyed my subscription for 90 days, but likely won't play anymore. I'd buy it again though, knowing how much fun it was.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Incredible

posted by johnrrodge (VERO BEACH, FL) Jan 11, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

56 out of 69 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

I cannot believe how incredible this experience has been. I've put about 10 hours of playtime into this today and I only want to play more. I am a huge comicbook fan but not a big mmo fan, but I was incredibly pleased with the combat and the questlines. I loved hanging out with my comicbook heroes and doing fun little quests for them. Even the fetch quests are made fun by the Joker squawking in at you.

The reason this is a 9 instead of a 10 is the price, it is a little too much. For what they are offering now it is a little bit to much. But people need to understand that this was just as much content as WoW launched with so people need to get this game. There will be expansions and patches that expand the game and make it worth the 15$/month. People need to support it now. We need to support something cool and new so that people will make more of these sorts of games, and please, do not let the price drag you down, it won't be like this forever.
In conclusion I gotta say, it is well worth every penny

Gameplay:9
Story:10
Graphical Design: 10
PriceL 8
Overall: 9/10

Please people, support this thing so that developers out there know that gamers support innovation.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

DC fans rejoice

posted by JuggaloWil (LAS CRUCES, NM) Jan 25, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

16 out of 21 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

If you have ever played a MMO before you know that when first released they are clunky, ugly and just plain confusing. But, when given the chance, bugs are fixed kinks are worked out and a better user interface is installed. DCUO does have its kinks right now, but it is one of the better looking MMO's out there. Yes you will be confused at first, but a few helpful people or just a bit of exploring and you got it down. With the promised expansions and updates to fix issues, plus a free 30 days to play, you can easily get to the lvl 30 cap in a few days/months depending how much time you place in it.

DC fans will find all their favorite heroes and villains alive and kicking and will even get a chance to help them out on missions. A unique story line gives you the idea that you are actually there for a reason and not just "logged in gamer 4237" You can be a Superhero just flying along enjoying the sights and spot another hero fighting Bizarro. You could either just watch it unfold, helping him out if he does get knocked out, or jump in the fray and help out and both of you would get the xp after Bizarro takes a dirt nap. Or if your a Villain, why not help Bizarro out and cause a bit of chaos yourself.

With a wide enough fan base this game could one day challenge Blizzard's Titan WoW.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not worth the rental

posted by HelinC (SIOUX FALLS, SD) Jan 28, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

37 out of 59 gamers (63%) found this review helpful

For those complaining about how you cannot rent this game, you need to stop and think for a bit. In order to play the game you have to have an online account. One account per game. This system just does not work with rented games.

The game ends up being button mashing fun for a few hours. After a few days you are at the level cap of 30 with not much to do except make another hero/villian and do it all over again.

One of the staples of MMO games is missing from this game, depth. Quests are boring, game is mostly button mashing and pvp is more of the same.

IMO not worth the 50 bucks plus another 15 every month.

Giving it a 4 due to the looks. Lacking points in gameplay, controler layout and depth.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

DCU Free to Play

posted by Arshus1 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Dec 6, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Ok first off, just cause you cant rent this game doesnt matter. Its free to play, download, and enjoy. Im a huge comic book junky and even more so a DC fan more so than Marvel. Still waiting for the epic day when DC vs Marvel. Anyways, if your not familiar with pc type mmos than get ready to adjust. First off the communications system in the game is just awful. There is so much depth here you will feel right at home with the environment. The DC characters look fairly good, character creation is fun, and I enjoy the size and scope of the game all together. Oh did I mention is f2p? 2 char slots, 3 mentors a piece evil/good, not unlimited char specs, ex: no green lantern, only 3 different travel abilities (speed(the flash), acrobatic, flying) to choose for your characters. Still, thats not bad for f2p. I cant say enough. Create a hero/villain, interact with DC's heros/villains, visit Gotham, Metropolis and more, and oh BTW its FREE! I hope this review is informative and gets everyone playing this awesome game. Thanks so much for reading, see you in DCU.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Now Free to play on PSN!!!

posted by nickryder (HAZEL PARK, MI) Nov 13, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I downloaded this game on my playstation 3 3 days ago and i have to say I'm impressed! They started the game free to play but the download takes a couple hours but it is soo worth it. anyway f2p get two character slots and certain limitations. premium is if you spend more than 5 dollars on purchasable merchandise and 8 character slots and legendary is the 14.99 a month but you get full access to everything including free DLC and like 32 slots for heros or villians. The only thing i can complain about is the login queue. having only one us ps3 pve and pvp server makes it a high population sometimes laggy but not bad and long load screens and login lines. it's free so download it and check it out!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awesomenesss

posted by snake787pr (NEW BRITAIN, CT) Jan 12, 2011

Member since Feb 2008

6 out of 15 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

i play the beta n it was out of this world , couple mistakes ,
but thats why is beta to see how it work . geting ready for it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not Worth The Price!

posted by ruffnecknsob (CASPER, WY) Feb 11, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

5 out of 21 gamers (24%) found this review helpful

DC universe online is stupid. leave it to sony to wait this long then start charging for online play. I have x-box live already and the price for that just went up. I love my ps3 because i can get online without a subscription. But now for one game they want us to pay $50 then $15 every month after to keep playing a single game online. I for one will not be buying into any of that.

If sony feels like they made a mistake with their online gaming, then they should revamp their whole network setup. But the price for this one game and its monthly subscription is too high. Its more thanx-box live gold, and i can play more than just one game online with that.

Now, because of the ridiculous subscription price I have not actually played the game. So my rating is souly based on the outrageous monthly rip off they pulled with this game. As much as i was looking foward to playin this game, i will not be paying $15 a month for something that might get boreing after a couple months. If i did, i would be out over a hundred dollers and stuck with a game that no one else can play without paying the same rediculous monthly subscription fee.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Down Load on the PSN

posted by Arshus (GREENWOOD, IN) May 28, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

DC Universe. Its solid as a f2p MMO. Especially due to the fact that its on the PSN. Whats good here is that its free. Its got some beautiful graphics going on. Voice talent is present. Not sure if Vincent Conroy is Batman or not but I know Mark Hamill is Joker.
All the cast is here. The Lanterns both sides Will and Fear. Lex, Dark Adam, Bane, Killer Crock to name a few. Cyborg, Batgirl, Dr. Fate it is the Universe.
Fighting is straight forward with up close fighters or distance. Both with their own set of combos and influence upon the battlefield. With swords, axes, arrows, duel wielding guns, automatic rifles, or brutes with just their fists.
With status effects, booster effects, and elemental effects from fire, green/yellow constructs, cold to get the flow goin. There is a lot of customization here.
Making either an villain or a hero to the cause is up to you. Picking a mentor based on that preference guides you through what kind of experience you will have in the game. Hero guides are Wonder Woman, Superman, or Batman. Villains are Lex Luthor, Joker, or Cerci.
This is an MMO to be experienced. As a comic book fan, with all the elements of our greatest super heros and villains alike there is little to be let down about. Comic book cut scenes, top notch voice acting, and an original story. Its fun to say the least.
However, with all the good going on here it is an MMO. That being said it does get old. The communication system is a failure although it has gotten better. Its formatted to HD tvs. Without such, its very difficult to read texts. Thus, the communication failures.
With customization abound, hero or villain choices, an original story and free to play. DC Universe is fun...for a while. Poor communication system, relentless on goings of the same fighting, and some minor glitches here and there it does it get old. Hope you at least give it a try. Thanks for your time and game on!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Subscription Req

posted by snazzygabe12 (PROSPERITY, SC) Jan 28, 2013

Member since Jul 2012

The game can be played Free to Play, however the cap for currency is 2000. Which is extremely low. Whatever you do, do not pay for the expansion packs and not get a subscription.

Overall pay to win game. Repetitive in gameplay, however a fun experience.

This game does not compare to other large mmos like, "The Lord of the Rings Online". I strongly suggest looking into The Lord of the Rings, which is a 10 on my rating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

DC fans dream

posted by DavidWolf001 (TAMPA, FL) May 11, 2012

Member since May 2012

This game is that is an awesome game to play, it has everything you want from a DC game so far I have fought The Joker, Two-Face, Scarecrow,Harley Queen, Bane, Sinestro, Clayface,Bizzaro, Black Adam, Deathstroke and many more and that is just the hero side there is a whole different story lines for villains.Not only can you team up with your friends and fight this villains but in most of them you actually team up with a famous hero. What is even better now is that they made it FREE that's right you can do all this FREE so if you ever wonder what it would be like to fight along side Superman, Batman, or Green Lantern just check it and I promise you will be hooked.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

did they change?

posted by maltliquor (LAWRENCEVILLE, GA) Jan 23, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

i thought they changed to play on line free now, did anybody else hear that?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

MMO with flare

posted by CaliberChamp (COOPER CITY, FL) Jan 23, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

DCUO, has become free to play. This game gives you control of your character and the way you want your character to look. The action oriented gameplay really makes this game a joy to play and is fun even when you are level 1 unlike most MMO's. If you always wanted to make your own super hero and bring them to life this is the game you should play. I recommend the PC version over the PS3 version unless your computer doesn't meet the specific hardware requirements just make sure you have a game controller to play this game if you do plan to play it on PC. I've played both versions, the PS3 crashes more and takes a longer time to load you into the game. Only thing the PS3 wins in is population, but PC's population is slowly catching up since this game has gone free to play. The PvE is fun especially within a group. PvP is good, but I would suggest learning about this game more before going into PvP since you will get beat easily if you don't know anything about your stats and loadouts. Once your level 30 PvP is really fun. I highly recommend this game to everyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

While still in its Beta stage..

posted by Mysterylocket (NORTH VERNON, IN) Oct 18, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

I played this back when it was free and still in it's beta stage, almost a year ago. Even then, it was great in graphics, and the most in-depth rpg I've played in a really long time.
I have nothing bad to say about this game, The only problem with this game lay with my internet service. lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

DC Universe is good and bad.

posted by michael123 (FORKS, WA) Sep 14, 2011

Member since May 2004

I downloaded the DC download from the PS3 store and was shocked of how long the download took, over 48 hours! When i got into the game finally i was very impress with the character cuztimazation and the choice of weapons and powers. The upside in the characters is that no one really looks the same like in other MMORPGS everyone has their on look too them. The gameplay is like any other MMO tutorial in the begining and you meet your buddy or your commanding officer or whatever. When you are actually playing the game it seems to be very glitchy almost every day i would find myself in a tree or in a building. But i can see this game doing very good in the future.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

MMO on a console?

posted by racoonsurvivor (HIGH RIDGE, MO) Jul 13, 2011

Member since May 2011

Normally I am not a fan of DC, I am a Marvel man and if this game were set in the Marvel universe it would be a solid 11 this game has a lot of content to offer from raids to pvp to stories that involve all of the DC people others may know and love, (I didn't even know Wonder woman was an Amazon before this game.) Anyway there is a pretty in depth character creator unlike some of the pre class systems (WOW) and then you get two roles to bounce between as you deem fit each with there own bonuses to your class. not to mention they each get there own power bar. When showing off your look you can lock it so it never changes no matter what gear you get or show off a mash up of all your favorite gear. PVP servers have the most people and the world isn't huge but it packs alot of stuff in it and I think the 15 bucks a month is fair. Plus they are getting Green Lantern DLC this summer so ring up and come party.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by DasKonig (MESQUITE, TX) Jul 4, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

I used to play MMOs, not too many games compare to this. Great graphics, good story and really fun to play. Amazing customization and character development. My favorite part is no matter what kinda armor you wear, you can change the look of it......also being able to beat down super heroes/heroines is really fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Several things

posted by BaIIsweat (MEDFORD, OR) May 26, 2011

Member since May 2011

First thing I want to say is:
Stop crying all of you who can't rent this or are awestruck by the concept of a monthly subscription. This game is an MMORPG, and the majority of MMORPGs that require you to do more than click a "Free Download" button have subscription fees. That or they had a subscription fee in the past (I.E. LOTRO). Talking about Xbox Live Gold and MMORPG sub fees is comparing apples to oranges.

If you don't like sub fees, MMORPGs probably aren't the type of game for you. Just rent a single-player or multi-player via internet connection RPG. Not a MASSIVELY MULTIPLAYER ONLINE ROLEPLAYING GAME.

On to the game:

Most MMORPGs that are currently running are either ancient (WoW, FFXI, Eve, etc.) or they suck.

DCUO is decent, which is far beyond what I can say for the majority of MMORPGs released in the past several years. It's got an interesting storyline, albeit lacking some depth, and the more traditional superhero or villain aspect of this game is nice in comparison to Champions Online. The gameplay is fairly smooth, and the graphics are pretty solid.

On the drawbacks, the level-cap is entirely too small. This is what ruins mmorpgs for me, personally. I find end-game content to be boring or lacking in many departments. This game is no exception to that. The only real option at the level cap is to start another character, and the "fun" in starting a new character quickly diminishes before even reaching max level a second time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

a little flawed, but one of the few ps3 mmo's

posted by dead_scilence (SINGER, LA) May 21, 2011

Member since May 2011

As most people will point out this game has some flaws such as the level cap being 30, repetiveness, ect. but what game doesent have a few drawbacks.
What they don't tell you is what this game got right, they let you fight along side some of the greatest hero's, and villans ever known. the character creation has great depth, and your character is extreamly customizable. The missions are hard, but mmo's are made to be a group effort anyway. The level cap is 30 and is gainible in a couple days of playing. However after the level cap you are able to purchase iconic battle armor which not only proves your dominance, but also helps you as you team up with other players for end game missions, raids, duos, alerts, and pvp. There are two world types PvE, and PvP, pve stands for player vs enviorment inwhich two players of diffrent morals (hero/villan) must toggle their pvp flag to fight each other. And PvP, in a pvp server it's kill or be killed, if a character of different morals see's you he will be able to attack no matter the diffrence in levels.If you are thinking about buying this game, please note you can buy from the store, or download off of playstation's online store, the game comes with a one month free trial, but is $15 each additional month. That's about all I can think of to write about.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

DCUO

posted by WillTNS (ANNANDALE, VA) May 12, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

Is by far the best and worst RPG/MMO I have ever player and it all comes down to this Great Solo play have ever the MMO part of this game blows cause it all boils down to the people that you get stuck with. No Friend no MMO.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I LOVE THIS GAME!

posted by AZEAZEL187 (ORANGE, VA) Apr 20, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

I LOVE THIS GAME!I love everything about it i love the characters i love the neverending battles i love it all this game is awesome!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

easy is better

posted by marbly23 (PLEASANTON, CA) Apr 9, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

this game is the main reason why i bought my ps3. i watched youtube videos of people playing it and i feel in love.

i was a little dissapointed to find out this is extremely hard. when you start out in brainiacs ship or whatever the first 3 lvls are easy. that had me thinking it would be easy to get to lvl 30. i was so wrong. so as i got to the real game i was constantly dieing. and theres no way to avoid that unles you get a lvl 30 to help you. and thats even harder. i have spent hours and hours before trying to get someone to help me get my lvl up. NO ONE helps any1 but themselves. i dont understand why the people who made the game would put 15 guys in a room and expect you to be able to kill them all by yourself. people say once you get to lvl 30 everything is harder. if thats the case then i dont want to get to 30, just give me my money back. i have been playing for a month and im not even lvl 30 yet. i dont no how ppl get there in 3 or 5 days like they say they did.

othere then that minor problem its a great game lol.
nice graphics, controls are good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dc universe online

posted by Justen (PANAMA CITY, FL) Mar 13, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

Hands down the worst game i ever played.
i will never buy one of Dc's stupid games again

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

looks awesome!

posted by dam31497 (CAPE CORAL, FL) Feb 1, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

this game looks like itll be incredible! So my only question is...why cant i rent it. WHen i checked for it here like 3 weeks ago it wasnt even here, and now that it is, i cant even rent it. THIS SUCKS

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »