Rent Custom Robo Arena for DS
view large frontback

Custom Robo Arena

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.9

389 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

one awesome game!!

posted by mega96 (HAMPTON, VA) Jan 17, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is very fun and AWESOME!!!espesialy if you like 2-player!just one thing YOU WILL GET HOOKED!!!!i got hooked on it scince the first game and i got hooked on the ray model series.one little tip RENT THIS GAME!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great

posted by gamefan642 (BELLEVILLE, IL) Dec 2, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

if you liked the custom robo game for gamecube you will like this game it has top notch graphics for the DS. this game from me gets a 10. awwwww yeah

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

custom robo arena rocks!

posted by barron (TURLOCK, CA) Dec 15, 2007

Member since May 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is probably the best nintendo DS game i have EVER played I kept this game for an entire month. The only reason i sent it back after a month was because my brother took it and mailed it back. Now back to the point, this game has a great control layout and a good story line. It is though not a very good game to rent if you are one of those people who will only send the game back after beating it. But it is perfect to own because it is almost impossible to beat unless you have had it for a few years because if you are like me you like to get everything possible on the game to beat it. The way you can customize you're robot is a good aspect to the game too. while fighting in a tournament a kept multiple robo bodies and weapons with me so i could switch them depending on the opponent. basicly it is an all around good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awsome Multiplayer but lame story mode

posted by mtrusela (PHOENIX, AZ) Mar 25, 2007

Member since Mar 2005

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Custom Robo Arena is defenitly worth renting. The Multiplayer over Nintendo WIFI is amazing, I would say the most impressive wifi set up yet. You battle 2 out of 3 matches against people all over the world and on top of that people that you play, you hve the option of making them a Rival. So after you build up a Rival List you can search for rivals to battle in the future. It also has voice chat, so you can talk with anyone on your friends list while playing, and the quality of the voice chat is near perfect. If you have the abilty to get on Nintendo WIFI, this game is amazing.

Now for the story mode, I haven't really gotten into it all that much but it is really slow and you read A LOT. You just wonder around like your playing pokemon and asking everyone you a question hoping they will tell you where to go. If your in to this type of RPG(ay) You'll love it, if not you'll hate it.

If you can play multiplayer this game is a must rent, if you can't I would still reccommend checking it out, just don't get your hope's up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Rumble Robots

posted by Pizzalogic (DAVIE, FL) Apr 15, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2006

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

Custom Robo is a arcade style fighter involving robots made from custom parts obtained thru certain tasks in the story. Sounds fun, is it?

Gameplay: Surprisingly the game works well. Moving, shooting, dashing. It all worked perfect. I never found my self confused or angry bc of unresponsive controls.

Presentation: The game goes for an 80's robot theme. Even with the music, which is all guitar solos. Menus are impressive and simple to use. Story on the other hand could be better. And longer. Its full of characters you just wont care about or get involved in.

Lasting Appeal: Story mode will entertain you for a little while. The real fun is online ofcourse. With so many combonations and robots. You'll never get tired of accepting a challenge.

Conclusion: Even with am ALRIGHT story mode. The game still stands tall as a DS must have. With tons of robot custom combos and online battles. You'll find your self wanting more of a challenge for your little fighting driod.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Robo-bashing fun

posted by Caspian (ABILENE, TX) Apr 30, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

For your convenience, I will be dividing my rating into traditional categories. Custom Robo Arena is a game about, you guessed it, customizing robots to battle each other. There isn't really much else that can describe it.

Story:
You are a kid who gets into the recent fad of custom robos (you know, like the kids used to like pokemon, except custom robos are real in this.) Your nearly perfect, ultra monotonous family, consisting of your mother, father, and older sister who works, give you a robo to start out with. Good for you. Before long, you are competeing in tournaments against other local schools, until you eventually fight in the robo cup. Along the way, you must fight members of the evil team ro....I mean greybaum terrorists. The story is charming, in a pokemon kind of way, and, also in a pokemon kind of way, it has no voice acting, and the story is told through text. But you enter your name at the begining, so all the characters KNOW YOUR NAME. WHOA!

The storyline also has some good, simple humor:

"Marv? No, I know no Marv. MY name is Mar.....ty. Marty! And I'm not wearing a disguise.

Gameplay:
If you hate pokemon, don't worry, because the gameplay is much, much different. You equip your robos with different parts that do different things. Whoever gets his/her opponent's health to drop to 0 first wins.

Graphics:
While you walk around, standard GBA 2d graphics. The robos in battle have beutifully detailed 3d models, and everything about it robo fights other than environments are top notch for the DS. No complaints about graphics.

Sound: Generic mediocre-good quality rock music plays wherever you go, from walking around to fighting. At least it doesn't have any lame lyrics. No voice acting, but the robo sounds are accurate and pretty crisp. That is, I only assume they are accurate, because I have no idea what a real life elecric shotgun sounds like when it hits a metal miniature robot.

AACK! Out of space. I give Custom robo Arena an 8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

rocks

posted by Nevets01 (MADISON, TN) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

get it get it get it get it NOW

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome game! buy or rent it,please read my review

posted by roboboy (COOS BAY, OR) Jul 16, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

OK, first off this game is awesome. I like this game because it has a great story, awesome and intense battles, and the great graphics! The story is good but it sometimes gets repeatative, I have nothing bad to say about the gameplay,and the battles are AWESOME!. The graphics are pretty good, but sometimes they are a little sharp, but most of the time it has nice smooth texures. And thats pretty much all I have to say.I hope you liked my little review.=]

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Custom Robo or Custom Hobo?

posted by Hitster (ORLANDO, FL) Mar 26, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

If anybody has played the first one on the Gamecube then you know how annoying the sound was while the characters were talking. Well they got rid of it. As for the character interaction in this game, it's almost as if they took a step backwards.
How they treat you reminds me of the old Lassy show. "What was that Hitster, your friends are trapped in a well? And they're being cooked alive? Thats a good Hitster, Who wants a Treat? Histser dose, doesn't he." You would think that maybe they could of at least give you some lines instead of just "yes" and "no", or the occasional three word response to pick from. But besides that the other characters aren't to bad. They will make you snicker every so often, and they are stereotyped in weird but humorous way.
The look while not battling is a traditional 2D view, like the Pokemon series, but when you get into a match, the game turns into a 3D environment. The look is a little dated and the shots look the same sometimes, but it's not bad.
This is where the game picks up though... for a little while at least. In the beginning you start with the average nothing special Robo. And as you fight you receive money based on how well you do. Then with that money you can spend it on either better parts that become available over time, or on a "Diorama". Which is a fancy display for you Robo. In this "Diorama" you can pose your Robo to your hearts content.
The main part of the game is the fighting and the customization. The fighting isn't as good as it could be. The matches are either Easy or... Easier. And as soon as you get the Robo that you like, it becomes and even easier. The customization part is pretty good, but once you find what you like it pretty much ends there.
The Meat is all in the online 1v1 matches. You have a couple of choices of who to fight and there is a rival option as well. Also you can fight by your rank in one player.
All in all, its a buy if you like Robot games, otherwise just rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

It was ok

posted by dooger (SYRACUSE, NY) Jul 3, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was ok. I liked the fighting system it was fun to play, BUT this game is very repeditive. It seems like the same day over and over again just with a little tweak. I also gave this game a low rating because i didn't like the fact that you have to buy all of your parts (ecept for the couple that you get in the beginning of the game.) I liked the GAMECUBE version better because when you beat someone you got a part from them. Also the prices are way to high, it's $20 for a gun but you only get like $3 per match in the beginning so it is kind of anoying to get new parts. I give this game a 4 out of 10. (if you have a GAMECUBE or WII you should rent the GAMECUBE version and you'll see what I mean, plus it's way better)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Armored Core for Beginners

posted by JonnyYeags (COLUMBUS, OH) May 19, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is a really fun game. The story is nothing to really care about, as the game focuses solely on the robo combat. The battles are 3D and very quick paced.

This game seems to be like a robot version of Pokemon. That is, the biggest thing to do in the game is to collect a bunch of parts to put on your robot and figure out what combination you like the best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Custom Robo Arena

posted by harleydm118 (TAMPA, FL) Jun 3, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

I just love how you make your robo individual and how each one is different. Also it's cool how each fight is different and can change in a matter of sconds. I think this game is just amazing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Repetitively repetitive

posted by davidbonatz (RESTON, VA) May 6, 2012

Member since May 2011

The reasons for the low rating:
- Each day in the game is very similar and thus gets boring very quickly
- Once you find a combo you like, you can pretty much use the same combo against every single computer, and thus get boring
- The out of battle graphics are a throw back to the game boy color (Note the in battle graphics are nice).
- The music is really repetitive and boring
- All robots have the same mount points and the same possible mounts. So nothing fancy to ooh and aah over
- Number of the characters are not special or very unique, and I disliked them to the point I was hoping for bad stuff to happen to them
- Lots of little things that are present in other games of the same genre they could have done to get the player more invested in the game but they did not have. (Example: Let the player choose the name of your team).
- Your character level does nothing (one exception needed to be at certain levels to advance the game), so gaining exp is meaningless
- Since you only need one combo to win all your battles and test out parts before you buy them, so you do not need to buy many parts
- The lack of need to collect exp and money makes random battling almost pointless.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

bam boom kabam

posted by cameron10 (CLIFTON PARK, NY) Jul 8, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

super super super super super super super super duper awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

robo game

posted by rockogibi (BROOMFIELD, CO) May 19, 2010

Member since May 2010

the amount of talking in the game was very annoying but other than that the game was good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Its okay I guess

posted by Ilovepuppy (WOODWAY, TX) Aug 17, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

Alright its a pretty good game. Only one problem it gives u horrible head aches!!! I even got a migrane out of playing it!!! its ok play it but be warned of the head aches.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun Fights Bad Story

posted by joddajodda (LYNNWOOD, WA) Oct 15, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

Its fun to play the battles, but the story is pretty thin.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Custom Robo Arena-not as good as original GC title

posted by muffinlord (PICKERINGTON, OH) Jun 18, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

WHY ITS BAD:
This game is actually pretty good. Normally, I'd give it a 7 or 8 out of 10, but it just doesn't live up to the the original Gamecube version. First of all, no free play! That's the best part. Second, its a lot harder than it should be (you have to really be pro to beat it)! Lastly, its short. Very short.

WHY ITS GOOD:
Wi-Fi and DS download makes it awesome for battling Friends with your robo! And some Custom Robo pros who want a challenge will like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »