Rent Cursed Mountain for Wii
view large frontback

Cursed Mountain

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.0

585 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Controls get in the way of the experience

posted by Renegade17 (COLUMBUS, OH) Mar 19, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I first played Cursed Mountain, I thought it was a cool game, it made me tense and cautious, and I even marveled at the graphics a little bit. But then I found out how bad the controls were. Turning the guy was like turning a tank, and movement was sluggish. As hard as I tried to ignore the controls, I found myself making mistakes over and over again because I couldn't turn the character enough, or so much that I missed my target. What was marvel turned into frustration and I grew tired of taking hits or missing items because the character couldn't move the way I wanted him to.

Everything else about the game is pretty good, although the story could use a little work, I was engaged in the game enough, the atmosphere was great, the tense situation of not knowing what was ahead was exciting to me. The music was in tune with the game itself, keeping everything in that scary tone without overdoing it. Overall, I would say if you can tolerate the clunky controls and you like scary games, give it a try, you might be surprised at what you might find.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game!!! Silent hill, Resident Evil fans ONLY

posted by treboose (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jan 5, 2010

Member since Jul 2008

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

DO NOT believe the other reviews you read about this game.
Cursed Mountain is a well done game with Silent hill elements. It also has Resident Evil and Eternal Darkness elements as well. If you enjoyed the silent hill games and the classic resident evil games then you will feel right at home with Cursed Mountain.
Graphics: 8
The game looks good! Solid graphics, nice effects.( there not 360 or PS3 graphics) There are parts of the game where u will pass through an area where the camera will tilt and the colors are washed out witch give the game a creepy feel.( kinda like Silent hill, Eternal Darkness camera angles)
Game play: 9
The game is fun to play. I specially like killing the ghost with a swing of the wiimote. Our hero may be a little slow for some people but it did not bother me one bit.( its a survival horror game what do u expect) again if u love silent hill then u will have no problem.
Story: 10
The story is well done and thought out. Its a different and refreshing story. It has a lot to do with religion and the a cult. The story will suck you in.
Controls: 8
OK if you have trouble playing this game then you just suck at video games. I did not have one problem with the controls at all. the screen tells me to swing the wiimote, i do, it works every time. Simple!!
Sound: 8
Not much music in the game but you wont even notice. there is a lot of ambient sounds. there are parts where you will hear people whispering and people in pain like if there south of heaven. Does a good job of keeping the scare factor up.

This game is a must Rent or BUY for Survival horror fans.( specially when its only 20 bux. be quick cuz they did not make a lot of copies of this game so it might be hard to find soon.) You wont be disappointing. Its not for people who only play Call of Duty or button mashing games. This is for intelligent gamers who have patience and like a good story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Slow, but pretty cool.

posted by wrongbad (FLAGSTAFF, AZ) Oct 2, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

PROS: While the presentation seems fictional this games actually refers to real myths and deities and adheres to the religious canon. My wife is a Religious Studies major and she was impressed with the conceptual idea of the story.
Also I found that while this game lacks in overall playability it more than makes up for it with originality. I found the overall quest to be intriguing and the mini-quests difficult but not tedious.

CONS: This game is really boring and seriously should not even be referred to as a game. Your character moves like a WWII vet with a limp--a.k.a. slow--and that is while he is running.
Furthermore, I managed to clear the first level and most of the second before I started to get a sense for what is going on. You are constantly bombarded with fragments of a story that doesn't really make any sense or have much of a premise and I kinda got the impression that the developers made it up as they went along. My favorite part here is when your character learns to use his third eye from a 10 second conversation with a monk that pops out of nowhere and is never seen or brought up again.

OVERALL: Again, I would not call this a game where it not for the fact that you are on a quest and supposedly killing stuff (ghosts can't really be killed, but when they are it looks pretty cool). Despite the heavy cons I actually really liked this game. The setting was new and the concepts were exploratory. I highly recommend this game for mature thinkers and not so much for the quick action button jammers. Heck, this is GameFly, give it a shot and you might like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Clunky mountain

posted by decapad (BRONX, NY) Sep 12, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2007

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Hello, this is a clunky fighting game in disguise as an adventure game. It's sort of a hybrid of Silent Hill & Eternal Darkness - but NOT nearly as good as either. Very limited exploration, no creative puzzles & a slow paced goofy story insure your fun will be limited. To top it all off - they add loads of stupid combat with a character who can barely move let alone fight. Our hero is a real lame excuse for a rugged mountain climber. And for the icing on the cake - the Wii controller scheme for this game is plain frustrating. Really wanted to like this one, but alas, it sucked! To better games ahead! My best, D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Digital toxic waste.

posted by brainofj (HARRISON TOWNSHIP, MI) Dec 17, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

This game sucks. Flat out. There are no redeemable features to speak of. Let’s run down the list of this game’s many faults.

Lame pseudo-spooky “cut-scenes” that are really just still shots with color effects? Check.

Dismal two-tone graphics (in this case, a brownish-orange and black) that make it difficult to discern any of your surroundings? Check.

The horrid cliché of “you can’t do the action as described in the manual until the game tells you about it”? Check.

The follow-up cliché of “this item/object/action is available after you do this/go there”? Check.

D-level voice acting? Check.

Obnoxious sound-effects, such as a persistent high-pitched whine that will make you think your Wii’s disc drive is malfunctioning? Check.

Ridiculous holes in the game’s logic, such as a mountain climber who can’t hop up over a chest-high wall in a town, but can jump from one building’s rooftop to another, because it’s the path the game wants you to take? Check.

Needless waggle? Check.

Ponderous in-game “journal” entries that take forever to read, offer no real clues, and are set in a font that requires the Hubble Telescope to magnify to a readable size? Check.

No map system to speak of? Check.

Stock characters and plot (missing brother, eccentric and twisted millionaire, ghosts)? Check.

I take it back. This game has one redeemable feature: you can take it out of the Wii and use it as a shiny coaster.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Worth a rent

posted by lock0134 (ELY, MN) Apr 10, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Any vivid horror survival fan should check this game out. As MANY others from the genre it is a slow paced exploring cheap thrill mystery. The story is based on a mountain climber trying to rescue his brother from the Himalayan mountains. The controls can sometimes be awkward and this ends up being it's biggest flaw. Some cut scenes are also unnecessary. The pace of the character can be considered annoying but this is common in these types of games as it's aimed for you to capture the atmosphere and not to be rushed through wielding your m16. The storyline is what really keeps the game going. Throughout your exploration you will come across books and journals which help develop the story based on Asian culture and religion. The sound and music is a great and appropriate addition however the voice over acting is poor. While there are different ways to kill the ghosts your best option is to just slash and hack them with your ice pick rather than using your 3rd eye. This is due to the the poor combat motion system.

pros
story is incredible
music and sound spot on
average graphics for a wii game anyways

cons
voice over acting
motion controls are awkward

IF you are not a fan of slow paced horror survival 3rd person types than you will not like this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good game with few flaws.

posted by nattonline (NORCROSS, GA) Feb 24, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If the control were better and the graphic were more convincing, this could be a nice game that everyone should try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

MoMos anyone?

posted by bodhisat8 (BLOOMINGTON, IN) Sep 29, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

A wonderful game for intellegent gamers! Warning, you will be hungry for Tibetan food.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Boring

posted by chenjoe617 (GATESVILLE, TX) Nov 23, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Title says it all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Nice

posted by SamRivera (HUBERT, NC) Aug 31, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

4 out of 12 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Climbing mountains is the easy part; fighting off spirits and saving the hero's brother from the afterlife, that's another story.
Cursed Mountain has you taking part as an expert mountain climber who has to follow a trail to find his brother - who is lost on a climbing expedition. But it’s mostly an exercise in shooting ghosts and getting past doors with gestures from the Wiimote.
Granted, this game does have a very nice look to it; it has got some of the best graphics that I’ve seen in some time.
But the combat system on display here is one of the most user hostile I’ve ever seen.
First problem: You guy moves like a snail. His run is the same as most characters' walks. Getting around each level tried my patience.
Soon, he gets a powered up climbing axe he can use to shoot and hack into ghosts. The hacking into ghosts is no problem; if all this was me and the evil spirits going into melee combat, then it would be okay.
But when the ghosts gets ranged attacks and when they attack three at a time, then more problems show up.
Second Problem: the ghosts move faster than my guy can run, so I have to use ranged attacks on them. But to use the ranged attacks, I have to hold down the C button and use the thumbstick to manually aim the crosshairs at the ghosts (a very hard thing for me to do).
Third problem: Holding down the C button also plants him to the ground so while I’m aiming at one spirit, another one is shooting me in the back with its attack that I can NOT dodge.
In the last few levels of the game, these cheap shots will take off a third of my life; it wasn’t long before my slow moving hero died - several times over. This game needs a radar, the ability to run and gun and a manual lock on in the worst possible way.
Fourth problem: some Wiimote gestures (thrusting forward) hardly register. This just adds to the overall aggravation.
Cursed Mountain’s curse is its combat system and it’s too much for me to overcome. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Exremley unconsistent. not even worlth a rent!

posted by tidusguy99 (SHOW LOW, AZ) Sep 14, 2009

Member since Oct 2006

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

When you walk up a stair, you disappear for a second then reappear on the step, and the graphics suck, you can barely hear the voice acting cuz the music is too loud the story is bull, it had potential but ruined it, so don’t try this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Cursed Mountain Cursed Playing

posted by unboundmin (TUCSON, AZ) Apr 8, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I think the game could've been a good game IF if had played. The game froze everytime I loaded it after 10 minutes of playing, reboot-freeze; no point in playing which was too bad. Don't know if it was this particular CD or what but not a good experience. Know it wasn't my console as it doesn't happen with any other game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

No Silent Hill/Fatal Frame

posted by rmfreeman (NEPTUNE, NJ) Nov 19, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

First and foremost, the visuals and gameplay are more than a little embarrassing. Everything is 'early PS2' quality, which is to say it's choppy and unimpressive. The gameplay isn't any petter, falling back on the mediocre survival horror fare that the Resident Evil series grew out of ages ago.

The scares are equally unimpressive, as the creators don't really seem to understand suspense, pacing, or even what's scary. They keep falling back on 'Jacob Marley' ghosts for all the frights, and the fact the game takes place in broad daylight doesn't help.

I gave it a 5/10 simply because it's not a 'bad' game per se, just a horribly outdated one, with a lackluster story, and no scares to speak of. I wouldn't pay more than $5 for it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

don't bother

posted by dreep2684 (CROUSE, NC) Nov 23, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

This is by far the worst game I have played on the Wii, graphics aren't great and the game play is terribly slow. I have played games that were great on the wii but they were cheap low budget games. I don't know what these people were thinking when they released this game, Im really dissapointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

dont rent

posted by games4ever (CHAMBERSBURG, PA) May 11, 2010

Member since May 2010

what ever u do do not rent this game it is a wast of money
1. slow pace: very slow pace
2. not scary: this game pretends to be a horror game its not
3. hard to navigate: i was on one of the first levels and i couldn't find wherever i was supposed to go

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

I didn't know I was in for a work out

posted by Pickel668 (FREEPORT, IL) Mar 17, 2010

Member since Feb 2006

Survival Horror was never meant to be a work out plan and simple. If your hearts going because of a fright ( small fright it maybe) you don't want to get your blood pressure going do to a spin the wiimote in an up ward motion. The controls in this game are unresponsive sometimes they work sometimes they don't. The cut scenes aren't bad its just I don't want to keep watching them I kept playing this game hoping it would get better or over and neither seemed to come. So like any responsible player I pulled the plug.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Slow, boring, and bland

posted by Chuckd74 (MIAMI, OK) Mar 5, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

I have supported the Wii since day 1, I believe the system has a lot of potential for some decent games but all we seem to get are cheap expirements. Cursed Mountian is one of those that absolutly fails to entertain, or thrill in any real way. It starts off slow progresses slow the "combat" is slow, everything in this game is slow. I literally fell asleep playing it, what a let down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I give it a 5

posted by jw13kef13 (DARIEN CENTER, NY) Feb 21, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Thats what it is. Not good not great and I have scored games lower. Rent it first. It's slow paced so give it a chance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

bland mountain cursed with horrible controls..

posted by garou777 (HERCULES, CA) Jan 4, 2010

Member since Apr 2006

The only thing as scary as the title are the controls and the monotonous gameplay. During the boss battles, it was darn near impossible to dodge the enemy while the main character trots everywhere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Annoying Game Play

posted by QUEENPEACH (EVERETT, WA) Oct 22, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

If you liked the weird twist-your-controller-like-this sequences in Star Wars' Force, then you'll like this. The creapiness of the game was good, but the gameplay was really frustrating. And the sound kept switching from soft to loud, with very little regulation. Overall, it's a pretty annoying game to play. Not at all what I'd hoped.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »