Rent Culdcept Saga for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Culdcept Saga

Not Rentable
GF Rating
5.8

1668 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Culdcept Saga - The good, the bad & the ugly

posted by fakeblood (HUNTSVILLE, AL) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

22 out of 23 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

Culdcept Saga can best be described as the offspring of Magic: The Gathering type card games, & Monopoly type board games.

Story - The story in Culdcept Saga is almost non existent. You are sold into slavery & must battle your way out. You then accompany a princess on a journey. The story is very bare bones and ambiguous. Enough said.

Sound - The soundtrack is pretty good & suits the environments, but because an area can take hours to complete, there is not enough variety. Sound effects are mediocre at best & the voice acting is really bad.

Graphics - While the graphics are crisp & colorful, & the illustrations on the 500+ cards are beautiful to behold, the game is certainly not up to par with Xbox 360 graphics. This looks more like a PS2 game (with HD/widescreen support).

Gameplay - The game's only saving grace. You'll take turns against the AI in the single player campaign, or other players online, rolling & moving around a game board.

You'll randomly draw creatures, as well as spells & items to aid them in battle from your deck of 50 cards (which you can compile from your entire collection before each stage). You must travel around the board & reach all the forts before returning to the castle. On the way you'll place creatures, increase the land value to make your opponent pay a toll if they land on it & lose the battle, and invade the opponents lands. Whoever reaches a certain numerical value of gold/land value etc. first wins.

Defeating your opponent will net you about a dozen new cards, while losers still get a few cards before being forced to try again.

A final note is the difficulty & frustration level of the game. There is a great deal of skill involved, but also a great deal of luck to negate your skill. Many times the AI seems much luckier than you, not to mention at each stage they have access to more/better cards. There will be times you lose after hours of battle.

Even the small group of gamers this will appeal to should try before buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun but long

posted by BS64xx (ELIZABETH, NJ) Aug 4, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really like card games so when I saw this game I went right for it. It plays like a mix of Yugioh and Monopoly being that you use cards and move around a board. It was fun and once you start its really hard to stop. The only real problem I had with it was the same problem I have with Monopoly which is that it's too long. One of the matches took me almost an hour to finish and no card game should go on for that long. The story is a little weird but I was having so much fun that I kind of forgot about the story after awhile. If you like card games you should buy it because if you rent it you might have it for a long time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

What a great game

posted by Ace1177 (MESQUITE, TX) Apr 25, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Many people have said this game is like monopoly and yugioh and/or magic the gathering and that is the best way to explain the game.

Culdcept Saga is simply a very fun game, even if you don't like card games in real life. In the game you get to pick from many different cards that range from fire and earth all the to neutral cards. In the game if you place a certain card on the corresponding land you get a bonus while the neutral cards to not get a bonus they normally have special card effects to make up for this.

While the single player is a great part of the game I think the online play is where the game shines. Win or lose you will get some cards (at random) that you can add to your deck to make it stronger. The more you play through single player the more things you will unlock such as rare cards to more items you can use on your avatar in game (the avatar is the person that moves around the board letting you summon creatures)

So over all this game has lots to offer but as I said the multiplayer is by far the best thing about the game in MP there are many different ways to play other people to a simple 1v1 or even a 1v1v1 but my favorite is 2v2 as my friend and I made our decks to play off eachother. Even if you just started the game and don't have the best deck to play against someone else there is a setting called "blind match" that lets you pick a type of deck at random and lets you play with it. So everyone you are playing against get a random deck so you have a better chance to win and in this setting while it is not your deck you will get to keep the cards you get at the end of the match so you can upgrade your deck.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the fun factor makes this game perfect

posted by happythug (VANCOUVER, WA) Apr 19, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was such a nice surprise. Its really hard to explain its goodness. Its not super graphical or anything its like a monopoly and magic the gathering game mixed up. There are lots of rules and it can be tricky to learn it all, but that just leaves more room for strategy. Its very addictive and collecting cards to make your personal and unique deck is lots of fun. The story isn't very interesting, but I just can't stop playing. My girlfriend is addicted now too so I had to buy it. She even accidentally erased my save file when I was more than halfway through the game and I replayed through every bit and had fun the whole time. This game is not for everyone. Its not fast paced or action packed. Its a strategic board-game, but for those of us who enjoy that kind of thing you will LOVE this. I've not been unhappy playing this game once. Even losing gets you cards so you don't feel too bad. When I lose a round I just want to get back in the game and try a new strategy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Culdcept Saga

posted by GLSketch (Fulton, NY) Mar 28, 2008

Member since Aug 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Strategy enthusiasts rejoice! Cultcept returns! Imagine Monopoly only super Japanese and with Magic: the Gathering cards to lay down instead of hotels and houses. Yes, that is a little too simplistic but it gets the feel for what the game is really about. The object is to get to a certain point level before your opponent/s. You claim tiles by placing creatures on them if they are empty, or battling them with one of your creatures (this is not a battle in typical video game sense but more mathematical like a battle in Magic:The Gathering). You can use items and spells to boost your creatures or have other effects on gameplay. The games certainly take some time (half an hour to an hour) but you are rewarded by gaining new cards to add to your pool if you win or lose, gaining more if you win. Tiles are upgradeable, giving more strength to the creature defending it, and making it more valuable (meaning you opponent will pay you more if he lands on it and cannot defeat the creature you placed). Each level has a new board layout with a new opponent or sometimes two. You can go to past levels to practice before proceeding in the storyline, giving you some time to cool off and gain more cards if a certain level has frustratingly defeated you.

The game is addictive, fun, but the graphics could be PS1 and the learning curve is relatively steep. You may be spending quite some time learning the finer points of the game. It's well worth a rental for anyone who likes strategy games and those who enjoy it enough to keep it will have quite a challenge getting all the achievements the game offers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Card game strategy to the next level

posted by PepsiBlue (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Mar 11, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is great because it takes the planning of making a great deck, with the strategic planning of where to take control of certain territories. The maps in story mode continued to get better and better as I progressed within the game. The game was troublesome in the early stages. Once you know your deck, you can start to work on how to effectively use it. There are about 480 cards to collect, and they all work well. There are a few that stand out, and there are a few that you wouldn't put in your deck ever, until you see them used against you.

My only complaint about this game is that, I very rarely find anyone to play online. I have yet to play anyone. So... maybe the online community is lacking. But the story mode, and multiplayer mode is amazing.

If you like card games, and don't mind the time it takes to play through a decent game of monopoly. You should get this game. Definitely worth renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not For Everyone, But Good in its Genre

posted by pubConst (PHOENIX, AZ) Feb 29, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Others have said this is a niche and that is a given. There are definately some things that could have done better. The are card issues after reshuffle, allowing multiple cards in your hand that you only have one of in your deck. You can't pause battles long enough to read other players cards.
Like many others I found the Colesium 3 battle difficult, but it gave me new cards each time I lost and I was eventually able to win.
The game seem fairly well put together other than a few missing spots in the help and not being able to examine others cards that you encounter. If you are a short attention span FPS junkie, this is not the game for you. If you enjoy board games, CCG's, and other Hobbist type games with a fairly complex ruleset, then you will probably enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Game is fun

posted by FAInque (ORLANDO, FL) Feb 28, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this is one of those games that you have to actually give a chance to enjoy. the game is very enjoyable both online and single player and battles are fun. the games can last anywhere from a quick game to a little under 2 hours. if you get the opportunity i would highly recommend you try it. also fun and easy to play with several people multiplayer. learning curve is about 15-30 mins i would say. hope you give it a shot and enjoy :D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Card Game, a Nice Getaway from FPS's

posted by FATALV (RALEIGH, NC) Feb 8, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

12 out of 15 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Ok, I used to laugh at these Magic card guys , so i was very skeptical of this game. I played the demo, at first I was like what the heck is this small square board, -which changes in the full game- but after finishing the demo, I had to get it I couldn't wait for gamefly which was in transit.

The cards artwork is beautifully done, and creating your own deck of 50 cards to play with is what this game is about. The strategy involved in creating decks where the cards play off of each other will keep you plying for hours. designing a deck to match you gaming style adds to the enjoyment of this game.

the boards change as in the demo was a simple square, the boards change to add characteristics that will totally change your playing strategy.

The game SP mode has an interesting storyline, not much in depth, but fun. however, playing a board can take hours. i played a board for 2.5 the other night. win or lose you still win cards to add to your collection.

Overall this is a great game, that you can sit back and relax and enjoy after machine gunning down a few friends in CoD4.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Like Magic The Gathering? Like Board Games?Try Me!

posted by F0REM4N (LOWELL, MI) Feb 6, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

24 out of 32 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is so polarizing I don't know where to begin. They describe it as Magic the Gathering meets Monopoly and that is a fair description. If you like to customize, tweak, and build then you can find something of value here. The cards are beautiful and the game plays very well, especially with friends over Live.

You should know if you are predisposed to liking this type of game, if you are, than by all means rent it now. If you like shooting and jumping please move on sir (or madam).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Not only worth buying...its worth buying a 360 for

posted by Ketalis (FAYETTEVILLE, GA) Jun 22, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Alright it's a board game...its a card game...you all know this... what you don't know is that the story mode is just the tip of the iceberg...and unlike its ps2/dreamcast counterparts this story mode is incredibly deep and fun to watch unfold...vs mode is the deal breaker here...if you have friends who play video games then get this game. if you don't have friends but you have xbox live...then get this game. The stragities behind decks are insane. The only downside to this game is the fact that the matches can get kinda lengthy, this however can be changed in vs mode and online to best suit your schedule....you can do a 5 hour match...or you can do a 3 min match or anything in between...all in all id say at least give this game a try (and it will definitely grow on you)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Magopoly Cards?

posted by FutureBrie (PETALUMA, CA) Feb 29, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Ok, this game is a blatant and obvious offspring of monopoly and magic cards. It's actually really fun once you play a little while. The first couple matches are hard to get through without submitting to the desire of just turning it off due to sheer boredom. After you've played a few matches though you build your collection of cards and start to form your deck into something of your own strategies. The game is however really hard to figure out at first, it never explains all the rules to ou so you're kind of left to pick them up from observation and trial and error, which is annoying. Playing online is nearly impossible due to the lack of people actually playing this game, maybe that'll change if people give it a chance, when you do find a match it is really fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Addicting Magic

posted by lThirdeyel (WARREN, PA) Oct 3, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Just as you have heard its exactly the like card game "magic";Nevertheless its super fun, you may even become addicted. With Video games the word addicted isn't bad, Apparently; It means the game must have something that can draw a person in and keep them interested.The most absorbing ,and intriguing parts for me were finding\locating all the cards,Messing around with my "decks".
At first you might be like huh?..Especially if you've never Played the real "Magic card game".
I say give it time;Either way, fulfillment is what you'll get.
Their is more then enough helpful information. Every question you may have is answered and explained right in the help menu supplied on the disk.Its one of those games you get a pen an paper for,To remind yourself of the little things.Like what character gave you the most green cards,Spell cards, etc. I found myself jotting down the best spells and creatures, What map/land was easiest/hardest. Also what deck helped me to gather what i seek.
You get to create a bunch of decks,Packing them up with whatever you wish.From neutral,earth, water,Air,Fire,items,Tool- s,Armor,scrolls,Spells
(single-target)(Multi- target)cards.Changing book covers and naming them keeps everything in order. Also it keeps records & stats of how you did on each map.You unlock new clothes such as hats,weapons,capes,etc;As you play more and more an defeat different Characters.Who you also get to play as after defeating them.You may re fight them again and again to unlock more things.

Culdcept Keeps you and throws you off many times, Example:By randomizing the characters on the maps,just when you thought you had it down. Leaving it not so predictable and easy.I remember getting p1ssed off more then a few times with a couple of the characters, but that just makes you want to play more.

I personally can't say enough about this game , Their are many different lvls of play ,an Thinking involved. Its all about Strategy and does require Patience. Ran outta room lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The card game is fun, the board game is not

posted by markcurt (VANCOUVER, WA) Mar 11, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

There's a lot to like about Culdcept Saga, but the tedium of the board game portion and various other weaknesses caused me to return it without getting through the game.

Things that are good:
- The card game portion is a lot of fun, as is constructing your deck and collecting new cards.
- The rules are deep and entertaining, with loads of special abilities and various ways to use and support your critters.
- The online help is excellent, with lots of easy to follow cross references.

Things that suck:
- Battles are several hours long, and there is no way to say 'i give up' short of restarting the game. You are mildly penalized for saving your game coming back to it (?!). So often you will wind up realizing you're going to lose 40 minutes into it but you are forced to play out the remaining two hours. Players shouldn't have to try and find a way to escape your game
- The tutorials are sparse - be warned that you are going to have to learn the game yourself from the online rules.
- There is a lot of downtime in watching the computer opponent go every round. When i had more than one opponent i would keep my laptop nearby so i could browse the internet during their turns.
- I've seen several reviewers complain that the computer cheats - i initially dismissed this as sour grapes but i did notice some oddities in the computer opponent's luck. In one game i controlled a majority of the squares but the computer opponent managed to roll just the right numbers to skip over my most dangerous squares. And in another game i managed to clear a valuable territory three times, only to have the computer player land on it and reclaim it every time while i passed over it. So be prepared to be frustrated

Worth a rent if you are a CCG nerd, but steer clear otherwise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Monopoly meets Yugioh/Magic-type card game

posted by Surano (Puyallup, WA) Feb 20, 2008

Member since Dec 2004

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is actually extremely fun if you can get over the fact the AI is ridiculously hard at times making this into one frustrating affair.

Create a character is almost barren, story line is skeletal, just enough to make sense. Graphics are pretty good but theres nothing really graphic intensive so its really just pretty pictures in HD.

Also, don't give up on the 3rd Colosseum battle, maybe it was just me but that stage was ridiculous. Failed about 3 times, once you get past that it gets easier.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game to chill too.

posted by wicubbear8 (MADISON, WI) Aug 6, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I have the first instalment of this game for my PS2 and this one is just as great if not more so. Its a great game when you don't know what to play but don't want anything too long or involved. Graphics are way better in this one. Great to see new cards but glad there are old ones too. Love how you can change the look of your player. I'm not one for most card battle games but as I said this is a easy laid back game that's fun to play when you don't know what to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Monoply and YuGiOh have a love child...

posted by barbeau (FORT WORTH, TX) Jun 13, 2008

Member since Nov 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The review title really says it all. If you like board games, and you like the "summoning" cartoons (Pokemon, YuGiOh, etc.) then this is YOUR game. One game round can take hours. The tutorial is pretty much non-existent. There is no way to speed up the computer players rounds. The AI players can be REALLY lucky, and that of course just makes a person wonder what the programmers were doing to make it a challenge.
The game works by capturing territories by summoning creatures from the cards in your hand. Cards come from your book, which you can edit between matches to have the cards you want. BE CAREFUL, if you don't have a good and balanced book, you will find yourself in a bind. You may have nothing but items and no creatures, therefore being unable to capture land. OR, all creatures and no items, another problem, as it is sometimes difficult to take a territory from an opponent without an item to knock him down.
Finally, there is nothing MORE ANNOYING than being 1.5 hours into a match, feeling good about where it is going, only to land on a territory that your opponent has built up to some obscene amount and you lose the game. A save and load feature would have been nice. That's all I am saying!
The multiplayer is much more interesting than the single player, and if you and some friends are looking for a good way to pass a weekend, this is a great game to do it with. You can have a conversation, drink and snack while playing, as there really isn't much to do during the game other than roll the die, pick a card, and watch the amazingly lame and unanimated battle. Then, you get to do it all again!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great, original game - use Keep It Now!

posted by fiction (Everett, WA) Feb 12, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is great. The story is minimal and the single player campaign is simple and full of "lucky" rolls on the computer's part (in fact, it's programmed to roll the right numbers at the right times). However, the beef of the game is in its multiplayer, where you can take it online and truly experience a diverse and richly strategic metagame. There are countless competetive deck types that open up the game world to exploration and experimentation. The Monopoly-meets-Magic gameplay is phenomenal and balanced. I can't wait for expansion cards to be released via DLC so I can explore the game even more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Disappointing execution of a decent idea.

posted by Enrapture (SHEBOYGAN, WI) Aug 12, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Unfortunately the idea of this game -- the board game that has you battling opponents in a manner that is not unlike pokemon card of the game boy generation, there were no graphics for the battle except the damage to the cards. The battle system is somewhat boring and drawn out as well -- where 20 seconds is spent 3 would suffice.

The game plays almost identically to a game of monopoly, with controling lands raising your net worth to a goal.

I would not recommend this to anyone except those who really enjoy board games or card games. If you're a fan of monopoly and magic the gathering, then you might enjoy this game, but as a general gamer, this won't be something you're really into.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Horrible Game

posted by brianyanko (NEW BRIGHTON, PA) Jul 14, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Man this game started off ok, but then it was just downhill. There graphics are ok but its so so boring. There is about a zero replay value. I wanted to through my controller through the tv a few times. Rent at your own risk. This game needs a massive overhaul if I will ever attempt to play this series again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

a console collectable card game

posted by tac0ma (MELBOURNE, FL) Jun 18, 2008

Member since Nov 2004

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

a horribly inept and lame fusion of Monopoly and Magic: the Gathering. Card art is great, however player turn and non-player turn time is taken up the display of such cards during gameplay, i have used the bathroom, made dinner, moved my car from under tree while waiting for the non-players turn to complete. terrible game mechanics and rules; a waste of a game, nice try but absolutly terrible ( and i'm an avid gamers with such titles as Axis & Allies, BattleLore, Pax Imperium, La Citta, Settlers of Catan, Tigris and Euphrates, Formula De, etc).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

What the!!!!

posted by kvalenti76 (REDFORD, MI) Feb 23, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is very frustrating. Also the computer players cheat like old nintendo games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good Game!

posted by Raider23 (Omaha, NE) Feb 14, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Hiyas, and thanks for taking the time to read my review. I really enjoy this game. If you enjoy playing monopoly or magic the gathering, this game is for you. it combines elements of both games for a fun combination. The only 2 fall backs are that the tutorials are not very informative, and alot of game elements are not explained. Though, there is a great in-game help menu, it is tedious to have to look up something every time you need to. My only other complaint is that the first 2-3 matches are very tough, and you almost have to lose a few times to gain new and improved cards so you can build your book up. Overall a great game, and great replay value. Enjoy!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game 8 out of 10.

posted by Valuthor (FLEMINGTON, NJ) Feb 6, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

I love this game , on xbox we have to little strategy games, card games and board games.

This is Monopoly and Magic the gathering in one.

It is quick to learn, but takes a long tiem to master.

The reason i did not give it a 10 is the graphics look old, and it shoudl have been offered over xbox live nota s a cd. (like puzzle quest was).

Overal though it is a great game and has great but long online gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I gave up after 5 hours of watch the CPU cheat.

posted by rybreezy (DENVER, CO) Jul 25, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I enjoy odd games. At least this one had that going for it.

I also enjoy hard games. So much so that I set games on the highest difficulty I can, even if I have never played them before.

I also think a game should ease you into the rules and what to expect, not demolish you on your first match.

Also, a game made entirely of luck is just waiting to be very disappointing.

I don't enjoy watching blatant cheating happen on the three times I tried the first match. Thats right, tried, not beat, the first match. I couldn't do it even with the replacement cards. An example would be having the full amount of magic needed to win and being 6 tiles from the castle. Not only do I roll 1's and 2's but the cpu gets a haste card at the right time and makes it 14 squares before I can go 6, AND WINS!! Thats right folks, that is but one of the many examples.

The visuals aren't even eyecandy enough to make me stick this one out.

Give this one a skip and get your kicks elswhere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse