Rent Crysis 3 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Crysis 3

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.3

2696 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Crysis is Back in New York

posted by AugustGreen0606 (SHERMAN, TX) Mar 10, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The next installment of the series was fun and the graphics were fantastic as usual, but it felt like there could have been more.

Graphics: It doesn't surprise me that Crysis is a beautiful game since it is powered by the CryEngine3. New York looks wonderful since it has been converted into a jungle and the lighting will definitely catch your eye.

Sound: The sound of your bow as you are about to take down a target is gratifying and your guns really feel that they can pack a punch. The musical soundtrack is nice as it helps to build tension or showcases the story.

Gameplay: The overall game didn't really feel all that different from Crysis 2 which is disappointing since it didn't feel like there was anything new to add to the plate other than a sub-par perk system.

Overall: I enjoyed the game and enjoyed being immersed in jungle-filled New York as I took down some Ceph but it still felt like I was playing an expansion of Crysis 2. I give it a 7/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun game, but not the best in the series.

posted by SmilingCat (Palmdale, CA) Mar 10, 2013

Member since May 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It's an enjoyable game although it is fairly short. If you played the first Crysis then you can really tell how much the consoles influenced 2 and 3 in how linear they are. However I played Crysis 2 on the 360 and really enjoyed it to the point of replaying it on the hardest difficulty. This one just feels off in some way. Maybe it's the length, very limited story, boring characters.

That is the thing though, on my second play through the game is actually strong in all these compared to most other FPS titles. Recently playing Halo4 and Black Ops II this par for the course. Coming off of Far Cry 3 though and enjoying Crysis 1&2 so much I felt this could have been so much better.

I would rank it last in franchise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fantastic Graphics, with not so great story play

posted by alpenglowRG11 (KIRKLAND, WA) Mar 7, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

(FYI only played story)-- I thoroughly enjoyed this one for the first couple hours. Fantastic graphics, tons of gadgets, customization for weapons, it really has it all...except for the game-play. It was the same old (as most FPS single player stories have become) blow these up, man this turret for so long, hack this, follow this numbnuts for a bit, and...I'm somewhat okay with that...but the story really didn't engage me in the least, and i was struggling to play this for more that 30-40 min at a time. All in all, great gamefly game to rent, but wouldn't recommend purchase. Happy gamin!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

So much fun and no code needed to play online

posted by LIQUIDFX00 (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Feb 24, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2012

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

This game is short is you play games like I do. I like to go through game fast. You can take your time and shoot every bad guy or alien but that takes way too long. This game is fun though and the graphics are beautiful. The story is smooth and plays out like Far Cry 3 without the humor. The last boss is the hardest part of the game but be prepared, you will die a lot during playing this game. This is the perfect rental game. FYI even though this is an EA game you do not have to have a code to play online. awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

a bow...

posted by ammodude707 (FAIRFIELD, CA) Mar 24, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The only thing new that was rather noticeable was the addition of the bow. Feels like an expansion pack to Crysis 2 rather than a new game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game is better than expected

posted by kbodin1 (LYNN, MA) Feb 25, 2013

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I read a few reviews on this game and some were good and some were not so i had mixed feelings when i got this game in, but they were quickly put to bed when i started playing. I played 3 hours right out the envelope.
Im not much on FPS but this one is pretty good. It kind of reminds me of the last Halo game a little bit but i feel this game is better.
The graphics were not perfect but good none the less. The gameplay has a few quirks, but the overall scope of this game makes up for it.
I think this game is very good, i just wish they made all the games like Skyrim where you can choose 1st person or 3rd person.
I was playing dead space 3 but i just sent it back because i enjoy this game a little bit more.
It's a great rent, possibly a good buy once the price comes down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GOOD

posted by RichardBlanco Feb 24, 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Now, this game has quite a few redeeming quality's,

The visuals and enviroments are ASTONISHING, aside from a few dank indoor areas, this is beautiful. The multiplayer is better than I expected, nice to have choice and freedom in multi, not just your average CoD and Halo style multiplayer. The guns feel like they have real power behind them, they don't just feel like BB guns. The character animations are amazing, on par with all of the other visuals.All in all this game has a very ambitious, intuitive flow to it, that seems is a rose in the mud of todays stereotypical shooters.

Sure the graphics aren't what they could be on PC, sure the FPS isn't, sure the devs pumped this out way too fast... But considering the alternatives, this is a game worth playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Graphics are the best, story not so great!

posted by Nore14 (URBANA, IL) Feb 23, 2013

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Fun game but needed more testing to get the bugs out of levels. Graphics too good because it was hard to see the enemies and forget about driving the buggy and seeing where you are going. Again, great game just needed more testing time for story development and level gameplay. Not the best of the 3, maybe the worst but great game in the end. Enjoy!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Game just is not good

posted by Brnhornet (ROSEVILLE, CA) Mar 27, 2013

Member since Jun 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

It constantly glitches...one on the campaign kept giving me an unloaded gun that I could swap or load...and the final boss glitched 4 times and froze my xbox so I watched the ending on Youtube....EA is really putting out some winners this year, no wonder the CEO quit!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

an AMAZING fps game

posted by killakam (ROCKLIN, CA) Feb 23, 2013

Member since Sep 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I havent played a FPS this addicting in a few years...
its fast paced, the best weapons from the start, no glitches or bugs that i found and the graphics are just beautiful. the particle effects are so real its crazy!
the achievments are awesome too, the game takes less than 8 hours to beat and you can get an ez 600 gamerscore out of it,

i recommend this game to anyone that loves a fast paced FPS with a good storyline

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Nice but flawed...

posted by Nemy009 (HOUSTON, TX) Feb 20, 2013

Member since Mar 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The game looks good and controls nicely, but there is a horrible sound bug that you run into on one of the early levels that totally ruins the experience. Hopefully they'll patch it so that on my second play through, on the hardest difficulty, I'll be able to get the full experience without any technical glitches.

I haven't finished the game so I don't know if this bug will resurface on a later level. Here's hoping that it doesn't.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Bored out of my mind

posted by cernunnos (GAINESVILLE, FL) Feb 22, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2009

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I found the campaign to be boring and tedious. The bow was cool for a minute and I liked customizing my weapons on the fly; however, I did not like the uninspired gameplay. There was nothing really new or fresh about this game. Follow this annoying NPC, go here, go there, hack something, shoot a guy, plant a charge...The story was not engaging in the least either.

Multiplayer didnt last long due to the persistent lag.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not Impressed. A letdown.

posted by jgarbuz (FAR ROCKAWAY, NY) Apr 10, 2013

Member since Jun 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was looking forward to this game, but the campaign does not make the grade. Neither the story nor the characters nor the gameplay are compelling. And it certainly doesn't look anything like New York to me. I enjoyed Crysis 2, but this one is a letdown. It's a better than average shooter, but just barely. Maybe a rent, but no cigar.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Skip this campaign

posted by Yikes78 (KNOXVILLE, TN) Apr 25, 2013

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Nice graphics do not turn this run-of-the-mill military shooter into anything special. Being invisible for short bursts? Meh. Guns are ordinary. Enemies are common AI soldiers. Aussie sidekick is annoying. Been here. Done this. I recall enjoying Crysis 2, which I rated a 7, but this chapter in the saga was boring. (I do not do multiplayer; this game might be OK for lovers of squad-based games ... I have no idea.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by PPandora (CENTER CONWAY, NH) Mar 21, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When the game decides not to freeze, the gameplay with well under what was expected. It feels like a knock off of halo. Anyways, will never play a crysis game ever again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

DONT WASTE YOUR TIME

posted by CarsonGraham (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Mar 6, 2013

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

DONT WASTE YOUR TIME......PLAY CRYSIS 2 AGAIN FOR A BETTER EXPERIENCE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Everyone welcome to Crysis3

posted by walesca (CANTON, MA) Feb 18, 2013

Member since Nov 2011

10 out of 25 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Ladies and Gentleman trust me on this one . If your one of those picky gamers then don't read but for everyone else , listen! This is a Game of the Year , now finally a shooter you can enjoy, The Graphic beautiful , Campaign is a more improved than the last Crysis(2) , Multiplayer is okay but you just need to get the hang of it . Trust me , last on Crysis 2 -the campaign started slow and it was kinda of confusing with if you need to stealth for this mission or not , in Crysis 3 straight to action! Nice and a cool way too And it finally tells you if you need to be stealth or have you Amour up . The enemies are not easy to kill but not hard , just aim to the head. /Multiplayer - Like I said this is a Okay /Good multi. Full with action , the only thing I hate is the cloak, everyone going sleath , it gets anyone. Here's a tip if your going to use amour or cloak , Don't Shoot while using . Why? Because your energy goes down and you'll die easily . But other than that this is a Game of the Year , buy it , rent it, use it from someone , because if your tired of the same old COD and these weak shooters . Then this game will CHANGE everything in your point in view !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

RENT

posted by thecrick (GUSTINE, CA) Feb 21, 2013

Member since May 2012

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

GOOD RENTAL BUT SAVE YOUR MONEY ON A PURCHASE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

NO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by tylerd1984 (VALENCIA, PA) Feb 25, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This game reminds me of the Game-fly commercial where the guy throws his TV out the window. Talk about utter frustration. Not only do you have to wait 2 min between getting killed and respawning while in multi-player, but you have to watch yourself die again and you have no way to skip it. Also, you can't save during the campaign, so if you die you start over extremely far back. I used to love Crysis...What have they done.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

crysis3

posted by reshad510 (ELK GROVE, CA) Mar 7, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

this game is garbage

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HORRIBLE AND BROKEN

posted by _5150_ (MIDDLEBURG, PA) Aug 29, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

I gave it a 4 at first. Then near the end I just could not take suffering through this fail of a broken game. So I gave it a 1. Just bad. I beat it on the hardest diff. Which was annoying. Cheap BS. Not a challenge.

I was extremely bored when I rented this. And even then it was horrible. Shame. I liked 1 and 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

boring and not challenging

posted by 2shoes (RIVERHEAD, NY) Jul 14, 2014

Member since Aug 2008

It was boring and not challenging. I hate team games, I prefer one guy and a lot of weapons and away I go. This was a letdown.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent. Nothing Special

posted by deven371 (OLD TOWN, FL) Jun 17, 2014

Member since May 2014

i can see why this game gets so many reviews as a 7. its nothing speical from the standard FPS. im also new to the crysis series. the bow is cool and the suit powers. but nothing super special

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Surprisingly Good Multiplayer

posted by KR4Q (WINNEMUCCA, NV) Mar 23, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

Crysis 3 isn't a bad game, but it is a letdown. The graphics, mechanics and polished controls promise much more than the environment, weapons and AI can deliver.

I'm having a hard time reviewing this because I really wanted to like it, but it fell short.

I'm new to the Crysis series and this is my first time playing a Crysis game. I was impressed with the graphics and controls and really loved the user interface with weapon mods, along with the Visor that marks targets and objectives.

You're also given 2 abilities. One being a stealth cloak and the other armor, which are balanced against the PvE with an energy bar that will quickly refill after depletion. The concept is a good one and forces tactical play, as run and gunning will result in death. Though I felt this was a cheap fix against the sluggish AI

There isn't much else to say about the Campaign as the story line is.. horrible... and the voice acting is even worse.

The Multiplayer, on the other hand, is actually really good. It's sort of a mix between Halo and COD, and it's done really well, especially if you consider that this is a Campaign based game.

The down part to the Multiplayer is that when I was playing (March 2014) there were only 200-300 other players online with about 15-20 matches. Joining queue was never a problem, though.

It should be noted that this isn't as good as Halo or COD, but it's a refreshing change to FPS Multiplayer and only just falls short of the two dominating giants.

This game is definitely worth a rent if your list of games to play is running short. Not worth a buy unless you really enjoy the Multiplayer.

Campaign 6/10
Multiplayer 7.5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Xbox360

posted by JMuscle64 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Jan 16, 2014

Member since Sep 2013

Game has good graphics, good gameplay and multiplayer that is actually pretty good for a game that seems like strictly a single player game. single player allows for a wide variety for hand to hand weapons... such as laundry machines.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse