Rent Crysis 3 for PS3
view large frontback

Crysis 3

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $12.99

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.2

1516 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Mar 17, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Overview
=====================
I really enjoyed this game. The story, varied route options, and predator bow made this much better than Crysis 2 for me.

It is a good rent and possible buy for any shooter lover. In fact I owned it, but sold it. My concern was only 500 people playing multiplayer already means there won't be a community for long and laggy matches when you do get into a game.

The new predator mode in multiplayer is awesome and sold me on the game.

Pros
===================
1) good story
2) play stealth or guns blazing
3) predator bow and predator mode

Cons
===================
1) already no community in multiplayer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Pretty to look at

posted by josurprise (SEATTLE, WA) Apr 12, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Pros:
+Great looking graphics
+Some engaging game-play at times
+Gadgets can be fun to use, the bow especially

Cons:
-Unforgiving checkpoint system that results in permanent upgrade losses with no options to save or load a game
-Linear, corridor shooting
-Story is cringe-worthy, characters are dull
-Certain mechanics, such as stealth and throwing objects can be wonky and frustrating

Overall:
Much like a big budget explosion movie, it's a bit fun to watch but is easily forgettable and not really worth a second look.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

BIG Improvement

posted by Randman1 (NEWARK, NJ) Feb 23, 2013

Member since Jul 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Game is much better than "Crysis 2". Very small glitch but it really doesn't affect the game play. Weapons are nice and the added Nano suit attachments(tricky when selecting them). I enjoy the stealth, cloaking & armor(both normally timed-out quick in part 2). Lot of action. I'm more of a 3rd person player BUT this 1st person shooter is 1 game you can have fun w/. To each his own for those who rate this game below 7. This is 1 of the TOP shooter games out so far. Those who like action, stealth,etc MUST rent game at least. Very Good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Crysis 3 - An improved yet altered game (8/10)

posted by apples14 (UNIVERSITY PARK, PA) Feb 28, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Crysis 3 offers a memorable story that players can get immersed in. The stunning visuals of the game help pull you in as well. The story in Crysis 3 serves as a prequel to the series, in that you play as Prophet, and you experience the nanosuit from his perspective. Previous Crysis players will especially like this. The Protagonist, Prophet, talks. That alone is a plus side, because I don't know about you but I'm pretty tired of the main character having the inability to talk. The game controls are easy to learn, even to new players. There is almost never a dull moment in the storyline. The story itself is good at building up to the climax, and the ending is spectacular. You can sense a bond between the characters. Throughout the game, you'll get the choice to take the silent approach or a direct approach. The levels themselves are huge, much bigger than those in Crysis 2. In my opinion this is a good thing, but some players may beg to differ. Despite my positive remarks on the game, there is only one question that I still had. If I ask it then I would reveal a spoiler, so I will just state this: this game is obviously a prequel because you are playing as prophet (I know this because something happened to him in Crysis 2...) yet at the end of the game he didn't give the.... That's all I'll say, if you beat the game you will know what I mean.

The replay value lies more in the multiplayer. I didn't feel like replaying the SP at all because some levels were so big and it had shoot that and this moments. In multiplayer, the new maps offer a certain amount of time before you get bored of them but the new game modes hold a great deal of enjoyable moments. There are alien guns lying around too which alter your HUD and make you feel superior when you obtain them, and skyline (a classic map in Crysis 2) looks so different, but in a good way. There are slightly more killstreaks, and you can even take control of a robot that shoots plasma (I forget the name of it).

Try

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT

posted by NATUREBOY35 (DECATUR, GA) Feb 20, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Absolute must own,graphics are sick,story ok,gameplay amazingly fun.Attack situations however you want. Multiplayer is also good not great but solid.Overall one of the best FPS i've played .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

so so

posted by compelled (MAYBEE, MI) Feb 28, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I agree that Crysis 2 was much better. I felt very bored with this game and thought it was too short... and as far as trying to sneak around and stealth kill it did not seem to work, every time you kill someone others are alerted almost instantly.. so i give a 6 for effort.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good But Not Great

posted by Magicman88 (CANOGA PARK, CA) Feb 21, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game ha amazing graphics and high production value. Voice acting and sounds are incredible.

My problem with this game is that it doesn't seem to know what it wants to be. It tries to combine so many different awesome features, however, you find yourself just using one consistently.

There are a great variety of weapons and upgrades. The problem is, that I spent 75% of the game cloaked sneaking around enemies.

Its fun to play and the universe is immersive, it just feels like it is missing something as your playing it through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

DANG!!!!

posted by greg01 (MADISONVILLE, TN) Feb 21, 2013

Member since Jan 2010

4 out of 12 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

WHATS UP !!! The other crysis games were so good i couldnt stop playing till i was done!!! this is not that way at all, I played for 15 min then stoped then went back and 10 min and said to my self this game STINKS!!! sorry to all the haters theres gonna be, but for real this game could be so much more but i feel it lacks what it needs for greatness. if you have nothing better to do then play it but it just didnt do it for me...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best FPS i have played in a while.

posted by Raydawg760 (TEMECULA, CA) Mar 3, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

So i read a lot of reviews about this game, and they range from, "the graphics are terrible" "the game hurts my eyes" or "the story line sucks" all of these reviews are false and not even close to being legit. I played this game from start to finish, and my overall review, this is the best fps game i have played, the graphics are amazing with full 1080p/1080i HD resolution, amazing sound and an amazing finish to, in my opinion, the greatest fps campaign in console history. this game does have one major downfall which is multiplayer, barely over 1000 people online on ps3 consoles, and never finding a match, and when u do, its nothing like the beta which was way better. All in all i can rate each category, GRAPHICS: 10/10 SOUND EFFECTS: 9/10 CAMPAIGN: 10/10 MULTIPLAYER: 3/10 Not a must buy game but a must rent from gamefly, u will not be disapointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

not as good as i thought

posted by skaterfreak8771 (LAKEWOOD, CA) Feb 28, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

there's been quite a few fps games i never got into this is one of them the main problem is that it seems like they focused on graphics instead of gameplay because the graphics are great but the gameplay has that been there done that sort of feel anyone remember the first crisis? remember how it was open world/sandbox? thats what would have made this one great i think they should have kept the open world instead of adding the fps campaign while it does add a small amount of sandbox feel it doesn't quite nail it the story doesn't do a good job catching you up that completely ruined the story for me sense i never played crisis 2 and only got about half way through crisis 1 the multiplayer is somewhat good but seems like cod and halo slapped together (i hate both cod and halo so dont go around calling me a fanboy) the main problem with multiplayer is is the match making i get kicked out of every game and it takes about 3 minutes to join one but could have been my connection ending my review this game has one good thing and only one good thing the graphics everything else is average at best dont buy and renting it is probably not the best idea either unless you liked crisis 2 otherwise ignore this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Meh

posted by NikkiNein (TAMARAC, FL) Feb 21, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

3 out of 12 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

To start of my review with something positive, the game was pretty. The graphics were top notch for a multiplatform game. But for me, a game shouldn't rely on the visuals to carry the game, gameplay should come first. It just felt like a generic FPS, the whole armor thing is unique I suppose, but after 2 games, it's not that impressive anymore. I didn't bother playing longer than an hour before returning it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Final boss freeze!

posted by tlh85 (HAVELOCK, NC) Mar 3, 2013

Member since May 2012

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game was awesome and I really enjoyed until after I beat the final boss and my game froze after going to a cutscene. I tried 5 more times and it happened each time. If I died during the boss fight it froze. If I selected to quit the game in the options it froze. This is a problem across all platforms and it needs to be fixed. I give this game a 3 because this a major problem preventing me from completing the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Eh not good

posted by Incogitant (OREGON, OH) Feb 22, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

gameplay hurts my eyes, i think it may be the low frame rate. gun control feels weird and i am completely lost on where the story is. also the volt part of mission 6 seems to be poorly developed and a pain in the butt to get by even on easy. don't waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Slow shipping

posted by jdubb77 (STERLING HEIGHTS, MI) Feb 20, 2013

Member since Feb 2006

4 out of 35 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

awesome gamefly says this shipped saturday the 16th, and nothing yet, nice service...what a joke

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

best game :)

posted by alexnderthgreat (TWIN FALLS, ID) Sep 10, 2014

Member since May 2014

for the multiplayer it has imporved over the months cuse i came free for the P + there are lote more players then on pc and 360

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

hated

posted by deathkiss1013 (MOUNT WOLF, PA) Aug 30, 2014

Member since Aug 2013

Hated

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Alright Gameplay, Weak Story

posted by Siirasa (DETROIT, MI) Aug 17, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

The Gameplay is pretty cool, utilizing the suit to become the true predator, But the real issue with this game is the suit, Not gameplay but story wise, If i had to sum it up the story is basically Guy in suit saves the world again. It trys to go deeper than it actually can, Its good for renting but not for buying

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game

posted by Metaparadox (EUSTIS, FL) Mar 7, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

I really enjoyed this game much more than I did Crysis 2, one obvious reason would be the bow that was introduced into the game, and the big thing about the bow for me was that you didn't have to pop in and out of stealth mode in order to kill someone like you did in Crysis 2 though if you try to kill someone with a gun in stealth you still need to do the old trick of aim, un-stealth, shoot, re-stealth. Over all though it seem to be the same game in many ways but for me I was fine with that since I haven't played Crysis 2 in over a year or so I instantly knew how to play the game even without the tutorial they throw at you in the beginning of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

crysis 3 what a joke

posted by JLKimbril8199 (FALKVILLE, AL) Dec 22, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

game sucked got it yesterday played it for 5 hrs give or take 1 hr beat it just put it back in mailboxcrysis

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

crisis 3 by tyler

posted by Tyizhi_209 (JACKSON, CA) Oct 10, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

Campaign was quick and simple,didn't really find any "oh my god" weapons either. Multiplayer was basic, won't find too much more in it then any other shooter. That being said the game was alright nothing special, i gave it a 5/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

cool game

posted by ksambad (SANTA ROSA, CA) Aug 23, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

story and suit powers are cool, got thru the story and multiplayer was pretty cool, no hardcore(COD) tho kinda was a turn off. guns are cool overall a fun play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Meh

posted by THELORDDEATH99 (FLORISSANT, MO) Aug 20, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

Crysis 2 was a great game to me. The gameplay was fun and difficult, and the fact that Alcatraz didn't talk added to the idea that he was a "grunt". Crysis 3 was a mixed bag. Some problems weren't fixed from Crysis 2. Some were worsened. There were some steps forward though. The bow was a welcome addition, allowing you to fire arrows stealthily while cloaked. Also, the ability to fire a few gun shot with a silencer while cloaked was good as well. The auto marking system with the visor was a nice improvement. But, there are some negatives. When spotted, my thought is to use stealth to escape so the enemy will think I've left. But instead, the enemy remains on caution. This was a drawback to me because the enemies don't continue their patrol routes, making stealth much more difficult. Also, I hoped that stealth kills would no longer require the cloak, but they still do. The story in Crysis 3 was confusing in the beginning. I knew that Prophet was back(somehow) in this game, but I don't recall him being captured by Cell. I wasn't used to have a talking protagonist in this game, but it almost didn't matter. All of Prophets comrades(new and old)think that Prophet is becoming more and more like a machine. It was an interesting idea, but I liked Alcatraz's "just a grunt" feeling more. The pace is a little fast for my taste. The alien menace, the Ceph, are back fairly early on, but there's no reason to fight them. Instead of nano catalyst, there are new pickups that give you upgrades. This resulted in me not fighting the Ceph as much. The characters didn't stand out to me, but there was a plot twist that took me by surprise. The story mode took me about 8ish hours. That said, I finished it the same day I rented it, so it kept me pulled in. The ending was... interesting and better than most game endings. Overall, Crysis 3 was a good game, but it wasn't nearly as good as Crysis 2 to me. It had awesome moments, like using Ceph weapons. It's a 7/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Pretty good

posted by parkpunk (KETCHUM, ID) Jul 12, 2013

Member since Aug 2005

Great game mechanics. Right up there with Call Of Duty. Graphics are awesome too. Weapons are great. Cool upgrades and nice to be able to change them during the game.
I'm just not a huge fan of Sci-Fi or horror shooters. This is both. They get old fast for me. It's also a very busy game. There's a lot going on. Overwhelming at times.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Crysis Game Yet

posted by chargerbrett (DAYTON, OH) Jul 11, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

This was by far my favorite Crysis Game. Loved the stealth and storyline. It was hard enough to keep you entertained but not over the top that you get frustrated and quit. There is a lot of ways to kill the enemy and a lot of room to move around. I didn't like the upgrading suit because it seemed like it didn't really do much. This is a def must rent if you like sci-fy or first person shooters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

replay ability

posted by jspawn89 (GLENN HEIGHTS, TX) Jul 6, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

it was a very interesting game to say the best of. I found it challenging, but once you finish the game you expect to keep what you have accomplished and try to get all the rest you have miss on the first run through. I rate the reply-ability at 2. the designers need to catch up todays gamers and allow: save points, replay-ability, and in-game leveling that grants bonus to the gamers accomplishments.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse