Rent Crysis 2 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Crysis 2

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
7.5

17414 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Crysis 2: Review

posted by Gumpppppp (Gorham, ME) Apr 3, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

116 out of 129 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Being offered solely on the PC, the original Crysis failed to be recognized as a household name. As such, the second offering from Crytek Studios did not receive as much attention as, say, a Call of Duty installment. However, Crysis 2 is a polished game that shines in a market lacking any other juggernauts.

The buzz around Crysis 2 has been due to the graphics, and in short, they are stunning. Everything is vivid and crisp, allowing you to get lost in the story. Even the facial animation, which so often breaks the illusion in other games, is very well executed.

Single player gameplay is immensely fun. Players assume the role of Alcatraz, a Marine forced to don the game's iconic Nanosuit and battle not only the military resistance group C.E.L.L., but the alien invaders known as the Ceph. The Nanosuit features the ability to both cloak the user, for stealth tactics, and a maximum armor feature, which allows for direct confrontation. The presence of multiple powers translates to multiple approaches to the game. In addition, some scenarios open up after careful investigation. For instance, when approaching a group of enemies, allowing their conversation to end instead of simply rushing the group could provide an opportunity to pick them off one by one covertly. The possibilities are numerous.

Multiplayer is surprisingly fun. It offers standard modes such as free for all, team deathmatch, capture the flag, etc. The nanosuit powers are still present, but not unbalanced. My fear that the cloak mode would dominate the game was quickly erased after several hours of play; while still a viable option, the cloak drains quickly and leaves the user quite vulnerable to attack if energy runs out. The best innovation of the multiplayer is the use of “dog tags” that are dropped after killing an enemy, and must be collected to earn killstreaks. This provides a deterrent against camping.

Crysis 2 is well worth a rent, and even a buy if the multiplayer appeals to you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fantastic

posted by SIDEKICKMAN (THOUSAND OAKS, CA) Apr 4, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The combat system was amazing, but my time owning it prevented me from playing online. All of the combat systems included in the game were well thought out strategically. It seemed to be a lot like a modern version of Halo in some ways, but was much more innovative than a giant human tank with big guns. This game provided a small selectuib if weapons, each having different uses. The sniper-rifle was the least desirable in the campaign. I think this game was great for rent, and I am not sure as far as owning it though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I really want to give this game a higher score

posted by msdawg81 (Olive Branch, MS) Dec 19, 2011

Member since Dec 2007

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

It does so many things really well. Beautiful graphics, character customization capabilities, and the ability to play the game in multiple ways. However, I just felt like the story was average at best and it just didn't really bring anything new to the table. I felt like I was playing a hybrid of games that I've played several hundred times before.

Unfortunately, I can't put my finger on what I was looking for, but Crysis 2 definitely had me wishing that there was something more to it. I think that I've been spoiled by so many great stories in games lately that this one just felt like a letdown.

In summary, if you're in the market for a smart and solid shooter, this one is definitely worth a try. However, I don't know that Crysis will necessarily be setting the standard going forward.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty cool...

posted by IamtheStig (PORT RICHEY, FL) Mar 29, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

55 out of 72 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

The only thing I knew about the first game was that there was no way my pc would run it. I was pretty stoked to see C2 coming to the 360.I had High expectations considering the hype the first game got. Is this game hype worthy? Don't think so, but it is pretty cool none the less.

I knew nothing of the story or even what the game is about. I like the way the story is unfolding. A little bit at a time, kind of like a mystery novel. Bits and pieces of the story are revealed a little at a time.

I am enjoying this game a lot. It is a competent shooter with tight controls and an intuitive controller configuration.

The star of the game is the incredibly cool and BA Nanosuit. It brings a new dimension to what would otherwise be another decent shooter. The nanosuit does for C2 what the leash does for Bulletstorm, or the Chainsaw Lancer does for Gears. I have read some reviews where ppl are comparing C2 to Halo. Really??? I don't see it.

The levels are open but they always lead you to where you need to go, Plenty of ammo, can be challenging in spots. Looks amazing. Probably in the top 5 games for graphics on the 360 to date.

While C2 is not groundbreaking, it is a pretty cool, competent shooter, and a lot of fun. I recommend you give it a shot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Real fun

posted by megafirepika (WASHINGTON, DC) Jun 21, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

i ended up beating the game today.

i went and bought it at best buy without having any knowledge of the game which was a risky move and i thought it was going to be a game like prototype where it was in 3rd person..when i saw it was a fps i was ehhh because i have a ton of fps games. this game turned out to be really challenging. you will die in the game because you have to be real smart when playing and everyone makes mistakes. i found myself making strategies hiding behind cover running to get ammo and switching gun and switching between stealth and armor mode. if u make the wrong decision it will be fatal.

the graphics are real nice and better than a lot of games and its real fun killing the aliens because it does not take just 1 shot to kill them and its a real challenge.

the only problem i had with the game was the checkpoint saves. you get a few checkpoints in the game where if you die you will go back to that checkpoint. the only problem is that between the checkpoints the mission is kind of difficult and if you die you go all the way back to checkpoint. Now this would not be a problem for me if the game was simple but its not. you can spend 10-20 minutes killing a bunch of enemies getting ammo hiding behind cover going into armor mode saving your energy and then you get far and get killed by 1 alien and then have to do it all over again. that really got annoying so much that i had to take a break when i died multiple times in 1 part.

all in all it was a good game and fun to play. rent it or buy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Amazing

posted by AJNicholas (BURLESON, TX) Mar 31, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

19 out of 26 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

This game was awesome. The graphics were incredible and the overall game play was fun. The guns are ok, but the suit and suit upgrades are a nice touch. The story of the game is easy to follow and is well put together. Overall this game is GREAT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

EA Rushes another game too quickly

posted by Elderelsak (CEDAR CITY, UT) Jun 10, 2011

Member since Sep 2008

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Crysis 2 is a great shooter no question. But the fact remains that it just feels unfinished, which is WAY too common in anything plagued with the EA emblem.

In all truth had this not been titled Crysis I would have given it a 8-9, but as good as Crysis 1 was, I feel required to judge this game based on Crysis 1. The suit feels a lot less powerful in this game, and the astonishing lack of refinement on the AI makes me have to knock 3 points off this game. At times i found the AI walking in circles, into walls (and in one level able to spot you perfectly in a pitch black room), or my favorite, the AI flocking to me while I was in stealth.

Dont get me wrong, Crysis 2 is a great game, and i would recommend my friends to at least rent it, I just feel bad that such great games are always rushed and feel unfinished by EA's lack of patience to let the developers develop and refine their work.

Story: 8/10 (Easy to follow and simple)
Gameplay: 9/10 (Same Crysis 1 feel to it, and everything works)
Graphics 10/10 (Even on the 360 this game is beautiful)
AI: 3/10 (The AI programming is complete rubbish)
EA: 0/10 (EA seems to ruin anything it publishes)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wow...

posted by RMVTerrell (AUSTIN, TX) Mar 23, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

33 out of 52 gamers (63%) found this review helpful

this game is absolutely amazing. the graphics are so realistic, the campaign is just breath taking, and the multiplayer. God the multiplayer is just so freakin addictive. think of the multiplayer like this. its like modern warfare 2 BUT without the campers, without the noob toobs, with better graphics, with more perks, and you can basically pro the perks 3 times. not only that, the controls and the way the game works is just so cool and addicting!

basically like a halo/cod hybrid, but with everything that was not good those games out.

if this review still does not tempt you to buy the game, then at least rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A MUST HAVE FPS

posted by Ericnation (HATTIESBURG, MS) Apr 17, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

17 out of 27 gamers (63%) found this review helpful

From the beginning to end your engrossed in the new and classic features that crysis 2 offers. The best of which, the suit control, has been simplified to encourage different tactics. The graphics are probably the best seen on xbox and the level of immersion your placed into from start to end just astonished me. RENT THIS FROM GameFly asap or miss out on this years best shooter.
TheEagerBeaver-Ericnation.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great if you're a FPS junkie. Otherwise; same ol'

posted by KrakenGrey (MIDDLETOWN, CT) Apr 24, 2011

Member since Oct 2008

16 out of 26 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

First let me clarify my 6/10 rating. I'm not IGN. I believe in realistic scores. 6 isn't bad. Games are largely over scored because the perception of a 7 as bad is becoming the norm...

Anyway, if you're a FPS fan, this game offers features no other game does. You choose your path, your style, your amount of mayhem. Go stealth and avoid conflict altogether, or armor up and rush headlong.

For me, that was cool, and it grabbed my attention. I'm largely becoming disillusioned with the FPS genre, but at least for a few hours Crysis 2 was new and exciting.

Then it stopped innovating. Playing in a huge city, I was kept on the streets. Looking up, wanting to run the rooftops and snipe at my leisure, I'm forced to run block to block..and then underground. OF course I'm forced into the subways. Lets not innovate to much now....

Then the enemy design. Humans are Half-Life rejects, Aliens are Halo wannabes. All of them are stupid. Worst AI in any AAA game I've played this gen. Snipe with a suppressed rifle from a block away, everyone knows where the shot came from. Go cammo, they assume you left. OR, they walk into a car by the handful and clip themselves to their demise. I'm embarrassed for the developers.

The graphics are amazing. Really beautiful. To bad they forgot to put effort in anything else.

After three hours they game is interchangeable with Halo or Killzone.

FPS is a dying genre unless a dev can actually do something different.

Then again, people will continue to be happy with the same ol formula I guess. It's too bad. The more you buy the same games, the more they'll make the same rehashed experiences.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Most Involved FPS on the market

posted by johnrrodge (VERO BEACH, FL) Apr 2, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

The FPS genre has been losing steam. Call of Duty after Halo after Killzone, the First Person shooter is being generalized into an empty eggshell. While I like Halo and CoD, they're not hardcore shooters by any means. The formula boils down to: Go into an area, kill some dudes, go to next area, kill some dudes etc. They try to mix it up but it just gets tiresome. But finally a game like Crysis 2 comes around and reinvigorates the entire genre. It's not a bro-shooter (as I like to call Halo and CoD) it is an involved and thoughtful FPS. Instead of running in guns blazing, you can sneak around, stealth kill a few guys, look for a good vantage point for some sniper activity, sneak over there, etc. It is really fun. You can approach any situation from numerous directions. And at the end of the day, you can upgrade your guns. Awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

What Halo should be...

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Mar 23, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

29 out of 50 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

Super suit and amazing graphics... Truly, what halo should have been... Crysis2 has some of the best graphics out there, and doesn't make everything look all blocky like Halo does. If you are fan of quick paced, high detailed games, first person shooters, and with creative/intuitive game dynamics... Crysis2 will facinate you...

You are a United States Marine in year 2023.
Waking up from being attacked, you find yourself confused of whats going on -- All that is clear is someone placed a suit on you and you are now apart of their cause.
New York is falling apart, a hostile force called C.E.L.L. is out to hunt you down and a unknown enemy is attacking New York, at the same time. You are too finish what someone has started and liberate the opposing forces.

Amazing graphics, fluent controls, and a very vivid game world... Crytek has created some nice eye candy and with game interaction to match. I found myself enjoying just looking threw the environment... You can pick up objects... climb objects... Basically, exploreing is something you want to do in the game. Using stealth is excellent in the game. You will also want to look for vantage points so you can get an idea of your surroundings...
AI is very intuitive they seem to not have a fixed rotation--meaning they will wonder around designated areas, not in fixed ordinates.

Multiplayer modes -- Deathmatch, Team-Deathmatch, Capture-areas, Capture objective and return to base... Utilizing the nanosuit with a wide variety of maps is very fun and quick paced...

If you like Halo, Farcry2, and other quick paced shooters... Crysis2 will be one to try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

very good campaign, but not so good multiplayer

posted by blubblubblub12 (CONCORD, CA) Apr 3, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

i played through the campaign, and liked it very much, but i just couldn't get into the multiplayer part of the game. i felt like they were trying to take what was good about halo, and call of duty and gel it together but it doesn't mesh well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Might want to rent first...

posted by Dunnmaster (ELLSWORTH AFB, SD) Apr 11, 2011

Member since Aug 2009

9 out of 16 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

After seeing the reviews for this game, both player and critic, I was excited about playing Crysis 2. However, at about the midway point of the single player campaign, I stopped tell myself that the game had to be good, had to get better, and finally came to the realization that is simply isn't that great.

First, the good. The graphics are awesome, possibly the best on the XBOX 360. I thought the 3D gave me a headache (unlike Killzone 3, which was immersive), but other than that, the game looked great. I also felt the controls were tight, and I really like the concept of stealth and armor as options to enhance your character on a temporary basis.

Now that bad. To begin with, the hit detection system has something very wrong with it. At times, I would line up my sights right on an enemy, fire, and then absolutely miss. I would have chalked that up to user error if it happened occasionally, but it happened way too often for it to be my mistake. This was made all the more frustrating by the fact that no matter what difficulty I used, I had to empty a full clip into practically every enemy, especially the aliens towards the middle of the game.

This brings me to the difficulty. As overpowered as I should have felt in the high-tech suit, I was owned pretty often due to the sheer numbers of enemies in each sandbox battle. I could live with this challenge if it weren't for the unintuitive checkpoint system. I could clear a sandbox, pass 3 waypoints, yet still not achieve a checkpoint. Thus, when death came (and it came often), I had to repeat 15-20 minute segments...very frustrating.

Finally, there were severe errors in the AI. Enemies at times would just run at a wall or stand completely still even though I was right in front of them. At other times, even with stealth activated, they would flock to me and overwhelm me out of nowhere.

Overall, I think this game was unfinished. If the developers played it and polished it, then it could have been great!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Very Pretty but lacks depth

posted by LordVag (KNOXVILLE, TN) Aug 4, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game looks awesome but its kind of lame. It has a very limited gun selection and the gunplay is not as good as it should be. It's also quite out of balance and the autosave feature has you repeating the same situations over and over until you pull the disc out and break it in half. I grew frustrated with the gameplay and the story and graphics just were not enough to keep me plugging away at it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Crysis Blew

posted by chodathecat (PHOENIX, AZ) Jul 6, 2011

Member since May 2011

8 out of 15 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

Invisible clipping on edge of debris makes it almost impossible to shoot from cover and hit your target. Not to mention EVERY enemy looks exactly the same and has the same exact death animation, which takes you almost an entire clip to achieve.

This game seems like it was rushed by EA and it almost seems like a graphics benchmark, something which a console doesn't need. Crytek is relying too much on their spiffy engine without focusing on the most important thing: GAMEPLAY!

Multiplayer is only enjoyable until you reach level 10, after which you are forced to play against mostly level 50's with everything maxed out and the worst lag I have seen in a 360 game ever.

Definite rental, but don't waste money and buy this game. I didn't even have the desire to complete the campaign... Ironically, I felt like the main character in the game; FORCED to fight a fight I had no emotional ties to. I mean you get thrust into a nanosuit by some burnt-faced Anakin look-alike and told to go find some scientist, while the army is out to get you.... Um why should I?

What I'm saying is, if you like FPS's just because you get to shoot things and sprint around aimlessly then play this. But if you like to feel an emotional connection to the main character, like in Halo, for example, then perhaps rent it first.

Single-player= 5-6
Multiplayer= 4

Game is a joke, kind of like Bulletstorm

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by shortysup (ELK GROVE, CA) Mar 22, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

13 out of 28 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

If you think COD Black OPS is better than this then you are out of your mind.

the graphics are AMAZING extremely realistic. I give them 10/10

The gameplay is also amaaazzinnggg. Very simple controls yet still requires strategy. It is also sometimes a little buggy but i still would give it a 10/10

soundtracks are awesome. they get you pumped right before a match! 10/10

Personally this is an instant buy! I already got the limited edition and i recommened you do too!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but Not Great...

posted by outSANITY (PETAL, MS) May 13, 2011

Member since May 2011

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game had a decent story with decent game play but overall the game seemed to drag on from scene to scene which left me wondering, "When is this going to end?" Also, the Supersoldier difficulty level was not much harder than the Recruit, in my opinion.

As far as the multiplayer goes, it would have been a good idea if it had not been for lag...

I did like how well the game played, the weapons, graphics, music and the ability to customize and upgrade the suit/weapons. I would say if you like a game for graphics and an FPS that seems like a split between Halo and CoD...then you might have some fun with it.

Enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boring!

posted by BatsDude (CORALVILLE, IA) Jul 13, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

6 out of 13 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

Granted the graphics were amazing, the guns were fun, the aliens were nifty and the scenery was grand.

But...

This is just a game comprised of many other ideas all rolled into one vague story filled with far to many questions and boring, linear hallways and horrible dialogue.

The gameplay was just as boring, the UI was bad, and the game overall was just lame. I played this from start to finish in 6 hours on normal difficulty. Wish I would have just kept watching Family Guy and sent this back in the mail.

Oh and the multiplayer sucks, big time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good graphics, weak multiplayer

posted by RwcSaint (REDWOOD CITY, CA) Mar 24, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

8 out of 18 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

the graphics are pretty good in the game, would have been better if it was an RPG because the area of the game and the story of it would have been perfect for it, the campaign is some-what okay just never really talked to anyone and little cutscenes showed up and got pretty repetitive not to mention the AI that assists you are pretty useless they dont do much but die. now to the multiplayer it is a mixture of COD and HALO. i got to level 16 and just didnt see the point in leveling up anymore you only get around 10 different weapons and the stats are pretty much the same, also all people really do is walk around or hide with their cloak which is pretty annoying if i say so myself. also i didnt know how many times i had to melee someone in order for them to die at times i had to hit them 2 times or at times 3 hits, but they would run up to me and smack me once and i was dead, also i shoot someone with a full clip while i have my armor on just for them to turn around and shoot me with 2 bullets and i die. Also the shotgun needs to be fixed to 2 shots minimun to kill at close range.

overall
campaign 8/10 same thing over and over pretty much but fun.
multiplayer 6/10 players need to get off camo's nutz and way too much BS thats needs to be fixed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Kind of a "Womp"

posted by CoMiKPL (CLIFTON, NJ) Jun 9, 2011

Member since May 2011

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Well dont get me wrong this a very pretty game. The graphics are sexy but thats about as far as this game went for me. I love me my shooters and there has to be some sort of gimmick to make a shooter stand out. This has none. I didnt even feel like finishing it, nothing made me come back at all. Your fast, your strong, your invisible... wowza how interesting. The story didnt interest me either. But hey thats one guys opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent

posted by Beta331 (LOVELAND, CO) Mar 25, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

11 out of 29 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Crysis, a franchise that had a terrible start on the PC because of it's near impossible set of standards for running it, spawned a sequel that came to consoles. I wouldn't say it was a bad game, the graphics are some of the best to ever come out on the xbox 360, but where the graphics were a shining success, the gameplay suffered. The game was well developed in terms of gun control animations and character design, but it felt repetitive more than once, shoot an alien with an entire clip, reload and put another clip into him. And if you are playing on any difficulty besides easy, you will run out of ammo very quickly. So for the campaign I would give it a 6, I see what the devs were going for, but it didn't really grab me.

Multiplayer was a different story however. ABSOLUTELY ATROCIOUS! Again, designed well great control and even better character designs, but the thing that killed it for me was the fact that I was a level 1, I have extensive fps experience and I would call myself an above average player, I get shots on point before most people and win gun fights. In this game however, there is absolutely no skill involved, if you put the time in to leveling up, you will get higher bullet damage and higher armor. Let me put it in a Call of Duty player's perspective. Imagine if you were playing a game and your health was on minuscule and you had a pistol. And your opponent had double health juggernaut and stopping power, with an rpd. That is what the multiplayer is like if you are going up against higher level players. So I guess I would give the multiplayer a 2.

Hope this review helped you guys decide, but remember, this is my opinion and everyone is entitled to their own.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Think Halo, only badder arsed

posted by lamefly (LOS GATOS, CA) Mar 23, 2011

Member since May 2010

8 out of 21 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

And you'll get Crysis 2. And when I say Halo - I mean Combat Evolved, none of the garbage that's come out since then. The game looks pretty amazing considering it's running on a 5-6 year old console, but I'd be interested in seeing it on a cutting-edge PC to see what it's really about. Regardless, this game looks fantastic. There's actually almost TOO much detail sometimes, you'll find yourself getting lost in it. But I guess that's what Crysis is about.

I'm not entirely thrilled with the multiplayer aspect right now. I find myself emptying mags into enemies (close range, short bursts, all that jazz) only to be killed by someone who runs up behind me or have the person I was shooting empty their entire magazine into my stomach and somehow kill me before I kill them.

Some of the game is simply hype (box art claims the "formidable army of aliens responds realistically to your every move), where I find that they respond to me no matter what unless I'm at an extreme distance and cloaked, and the human enemies spot me from over 100m as I switch my weapon from auto to single shot (in a position above them, behind a wall). If that doesn't make sense, I guess what I mean is the AI is a little -too- good, or a little too fast in spotting threats. Makes accomplishing tactical suggestions a little difficult so most of the time you'll probably be running and gunning with your power armor on.

Anyway, yeah. This game plays a lot like Halo, only more open-ended (or so it seems) with a few ways to get around/through enemies instead of just one. It doesn't mark all your enemies for you... but that makes it a little more realistic/difficult.

This is how games SHOULD be made. Pushing the limits of the equipment we have while making an experience a person would want to have, instead of the HYPE GAME INTO STRATOSPHERE, GRAB AS MUCH CASH AS WE CAN mentality the gaming industry has now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome.. Awesome Game..

posted by AugieFoo (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Mar 22, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

12 out of 33 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

Just played the multiplayer whice i love.. Ton of action, ton of ways to edit your game type for how you play.. Give it a shot if your thinking about it.. you won't be disapointed..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Cloak? Check. Armor? Check. Lots of aliens? Duh

posted by insomniasurfer (COLUMBUS, GA) Jun 7, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I'm going to skip the witty one liners, unnecessary analogies, and over zealous emphasis on things that don't matter to you (the reader) in this review if that's okay with you?

This game is most definitely a RENT. For those of you who appreciate FPS like myself, you will love the challenge this game presents. An interesting upgrade system is available for your character, weapon add-ons to adapt to situations, and lets not forget the super human armor capabilities your suit has. This opens up several methods of getting through tough situations throughout the campaign without immediately resulting in the typical fire fight each FPS has. The gameplay is great, graphics are amazing (I mean it is Crysis after all), and the story is decent. Epic scenes are scattered throughout the story so you will have those "badass" moments.

A few downers - The replay value is next to none. Once you beat it, you will more than likely not want to play through that story again. Just my own personal experience though. Multiplayer is just there. You may get a few kicks out of a couple of games, but if you played one FPS online, you have played them all. Not much else to say about it. The enemy AI is probably the biggest issue. The enemy targets were often sporadic in their actions or simply dumb. Sometimes you could get an easy target stuck on a bit of debris, other times you would have unpredictable AI out flank you in a seemingly intelligent manner and smash your face in, literally.

All in all, it is a game WORTH TRYING. Go ahead and stick it on your que. No hurry, just play it when you get it and send it right back. You will feel accomplished once you save New York. Trust me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse