Rent Cruis'n for Wii
view large frontback

Cruis'n

Not Rentable
GF Rating
5.5

291 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

Entertaining just like the arcarde

posted by youngpoe79 (WESTMINSTER, CO) Dec 27, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2005

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is exactly like I remember it in the arcade. You drive as fast as you can, can pull off a few tricks and hit ridiculous jumps. There isn't too much to it really. You can beat the circuit mode in a few hours and then the fun only comes with racing your friends in Multi player mode. I will say that I did think the steering on this game was better than I have seen on other racing games on the WII. I would say this one is leaning towards the slightly sensitive end with the steering but once you get used to it, it's not bad at all.

I measure everything against the burnout series because that is my favorite racing game, and this one is not close but it is a fun rental for a few days but it does get old quick.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The Wii Shovel ware wave continues...

posted by zMDude (SOUTHFIELD, MI) Dec 23, 2007

Member since Dec 2003

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

In another shameless attempt to cash in on a Wii audience that has shown a distinct failure to reject bad games, Midway has ported 2004's Fast and the Furious arcade machine to the Wii, under the name of the joint Midway/Nintendo owned Cruis'n moniker.

It's just too bad that, 1. The game is a lazy port job whose best extra are commercials for other bad games. 2. The arcade game itself isn't very good to begin with.

As has become standard with every Wii game that involved racing, Cruis'n's big improvement is that you can steer the car with the Wii remote. This feels more natural than pressing a control stick, but you sacrifice precision. While this isn't a big loss in a game like Excite truck, you can't help but to be frustrated by smacking into on coming traffic(and losing your lead to the obviously rubber banding AI.)

The game features twelve tracks, designed in and around areas of Los Angeles, New York and San Francisco. Unlike, say, PGR, The tracks are linear A to B races that place realism or city accuracy at the bottom of the priorities list. This should be no shock to long time Cruis'n fans, but it's embarrassing to see multiple Empire State Buildings and Transamerica Pyramids within plain view of each other.

While I'm speaking of things that look embarrassing, the game's graphics will make you feel like you've been sent back the Dreamcast days. That this game, made in 2004 couldn't beat Sega's 1999 swan song's visuals is bad enough, that it has to compete against 2007's racers is much worse.

Due to the game's arcade nature, you will see all this game has to offer within two hours. You can upgrade your car between races and earn more by winning money, but you will quickly grow bored of the short tracks beforehand.

I can't recommend this game to anybody but the most nostalgic Cruis'n fans and gamers with no sense of quality. At 30 dollars, this game's asking price is 25 dollars too high.

Rent it and forget it. Better yet? Just forget it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Cruisn On 2 Wheels! Actually A Pretty Good Rental!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Dec 3, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This version is better then th N64 ones and suprisingly pretty fun. Sure it is very weak on "everything" (AI, Tracks, Customization, Graphics, Interface); sure some parts of it does not make sense like going through buidings and water. The framerate and control was fine. All in all Midway did a good job and I would say it is worth a rental (but not in the top 5 Q slot).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

THIS GAME RULES

posted by createuser (DALLAS, TX) Dec 4, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If you enjoy a game to just beat it in 30 minutes then send it back this game is for me! I played all the cruising games cruising usa cruising worlds cruising exocrine and cruising roads

this one IS DEFINITELY THE NEWEST ENTRY. it may have the worst graphics since halo 3 but the gameplay is surprisingly additive. its fun because you dont have to worry about hitting stuff because most of if you just SMASH through. You just want to keep playing to see what kind of silly level and bad graffix are coming up next.

There are like 14 levels or something including "L.A. Ghetto".

Don't buy this game but if you played the others in nintendo 64 RENT IT FOR A LOL

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Two generations old.

posted by 35yrgamer (CLIFTON SPRINGS, NY) Dec 2, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ok well first thing up is that this is no excite truck. Wii Arcade racing can be fun if done right, the trouble is that this game isn't done right.
Bad graphics, bad framerates, bad control, bad AI, no online, and all around bad experience. It seems to me that this game trys to be like RUSH, but can't pull it off. For example you can rid on two wheels, pull wheelies, and grab some big air. but the big air lasts less then 2 seconds, and most of the time when your on two wheels its because your literaly driving on the side of a solid building. I have had glitches where my car got stuck in otherwise solid objects.
To make a long story short, do yourself a favor and avoid this game. I whish I did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

don037's review

posted by Don037 (DUPO, IL) May 9, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Cruis'n is a standard checkpoint racing game in the style of the old Nintendo 64 games Cruis'n USA and Cruis'n the world. It's more like the second one I mentioned, because of the wheelies and trick system. I can say this game works well with the Wii wheel but controls weren't the problem. The problems start with the long load times. I grew up with cartridge games and any load time sucks but most Wii games load fairly quickly. This one did not. Also, it seems buggy and I'd get caught by invisible walls. One more thing is that I couldn't seem to draft the other cars. This made it difficult to win races. You can upgrade your car but even the best car fully upgraded will get passed like it's not moving. This is a bare minimum game. Only 11 tracks and about 8 cars. There's not much to do. Once I unlocked all the tracks, I saw no reason to continue playing. With the buggy walls and unforgiving A.I., I see no reason to even rent this game. I rated this game a 3 because it works at the very least but I wouldn't recommend this to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

cruis,n game for wii

posted by davids (NORTH WALES, PA) Mar 24, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

crusin for wii is a very fun game to play I bet if you rent it you will like it.So if I were you I would rent
it because I know you will like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

For Cruis'n Fans

posted by Killar998 (LOWELL, MA) Dec 3, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is really fun for fans that liked the 64 ones, its awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

fun but limited replay

posted by jlalb06 (LONG BEACH, CA) Aug 8, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

I had fun with this game. The controls were hard at first but got the hang out of it eventually to where I could come in 1-3rd place in order to move onto the next track. I was able to get the lowest score on all of the tracks except one. I liked having the various cars to chose from but the Supra worked best for me in regards to the turns, etc. I also had the highest amount in damage too. It doesn't take you long to go through this game and there's another a lot of replay value with it either. I'd say it's good for a rent if you like racing games but I wouldn't keep it as it would get too boring too quick being limited to the same tracks over and over again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Continuation from the Classic

posted by ninjakx (BILLERICA, MA) Nov 24, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

I personally liked this game because it is the one game that if you rent or buy it, you know exactly what to expect. I also thought that it worked very well with the sterring wheel and it is pretty fun with two players. Sure you can beat the game in a few hours but if you want the arcade feel in your home, then why not rent this game?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

GREAT GAME

posted by Cadeyamaha (GIG HARBOR, WA) Dec 14, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

This is toataly awsome, its better than NFS Prostreet!! Im toatly going to buy it for christmas after i get a raise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

THE FAST AND LAME...

posted by REPS911 (SAN DIMAS, CA) Dec 12, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

THIS GAME IS BASICALLY A PORT OF THE FAST AND FURIOUS ARCADE GAME. AND IT'S NOT A GOOD PORT. NUFF SAID.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »