Rent Cross Edge for PS3
view large frontback

Cross Edge

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.2

1890 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not for everyone.

posted by Aneira (ANCHORAGE, AK) Jul 24, 2009

Member since Oct 2006

34 out of 34 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Since reviews are 2000 characters max, I'll just skip any prefaces and get right into the meat of it.

Gameplay - Arguably the most important part of any video game. This is a turn based RPG, and battles take place on 2 3x4 grids: One for your party, and one for your opponents. You can have a maximum of 4 characters in your front lines (fighting party), and you will have to arrange your party in such a way that everyone can play to their strengths best. Example, York is a ranged damage dealer, so he can hit targets with some skills further away than a sword slinger. Your party can also link attacks together to pull off some wicked cool combos, and if you really get into the swing of things, and fully understand the flow of combat, you can crank out 500+ hits in one combo. Really good stuff. Your enemies can do the same to you, however, so watch out. If combat animations get too tedious, you can hold L2 to skip through it all. A most welcome feature.

When you aren't fighting, you will be searching for souls on the world map. When one is found, it can lead to a story event, or show a "Save Point" (you can save anywhere on the worldmap) in which you can buy / sell / synthesize / upgrade items. Unfortunately, this game is incredibly complex, and it's a crying shame that the in game tutorials don't cover nearly enough to understand how to do things. If you can stick with the game though, you'll find a rewarding (albeit a bit tedious) crafting system.

Graphics - 2D sprites on 3D backgrounds. There really isn't much else to go on. The graphics serve this game's purpose just fine, although this may be a turnoff to some. There is some noticeable slowdown during certain animations, and I've noticed the controller sometimes a bit non responsive at times as well.

Sound / Voices / Music - Voices are a mixed bag. Some good, some horrid. The music lacks any central theme, but not all of it is bad. Just nothing spectacular.

If you can stomach the grind, this game is enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

NIS - love 'em or hate 'em.

posted by BranFlakes (PITTSBURGH, PA) Oct 11, 2009

Member since Feb 2006

12 out of 12 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

You're either an NIS fan or you're not one, it seems. Personally, I am an NIS fan and I enjoyed this game. I wouldn't say that it's an epic or anything, but really, what is? It held my attention through two playthroughs; one without guide help and one with guide help (Truthend + bonus content).

IMO, gameplay > graphics. This game had good gameplay. Always love the huge combos! :) Also, games that reward you for being good at them (guard breaks and overkill) are a plus in my book. Combo timer could've been extended or maybe removed. If you remember your combo moves, it's really nothing but an annoyance.

Music and sound was good. Generally, if it doesn't annoy me or anyone else who might be in the room, I'm in good shape. Some catch phrases, beginning of battle phrases and level up phrases got a bit annoying though.

Characters. I always love a healthy (large) selection of characters, especially when they actually have personalities and events linked to them (Prinny FTW!), and they're not just fillers. Cross Edge has that covered, even if some of the character's personalities are annoying.

I guess what I'm trying to say is that I wouldn't have been angry if I bought it. Two playthroughs on hard mode, 100+ hours... that's good enough for me.

If you like RPGs, give it a shot... if you don't like it, that's why you have Gamefly, isn't it? :P

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Point of View Required

posted by Xenith (ALTOONA, IA) Jun 5, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

20 out of 22 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

If you're familiar with any of the Nippon Ichi (NIS/A) titles, you're well-aware that they all share a rabid fascination with sprite-art and tongue-in-cheek dialogue, all of which thankfully are replicated in Compile Heart's new crossover RPG, CrossEdge. Not every game needs cutting-edge graphics to be good, and this is proof.

Not quite a Strategy RPG, and not quite a traditional RPG (your turn is based on AP remaining and combined agility stats), CrossEdge's combat takes place on two 3x5 grids, one for allies and one for enemies. Each and every attack in the game has an Area of Effect (AoE) that dictate which squares they can hit, which in turn shows you where you should place each character; if you don't check the AoE, you could place them in a situation where they can't attack! By using certain combinations of three attacks, characters can perform a special combo skill, which does large amounts of damage; the same applies to EX skills, which can be used by taking damage and defeating enemies.

The story behind CrossEdge exists solely to explain the reasons behind why all of these characters are together in one world, but overall provides a rather decent experience on par with the original Disgaea. Nothing major or groundbreaking, but certainly isn't awful. You're shown dialogue through the sprites interacting and/or portraits, similar to the majority of NIS games. Again, nothing new, although the dialogue is just as campy and humorous as what you'd expect from the creators. The english VAs are pretty decent compared to what you'd expect, and lines are delivered with believable emotion. The option for japanese dialogue is present as well, which is a boon for some of us.

The sound is pretty basic, but the biggest letdown isn't so much the game as the tutorial; there is almost none. You'll learn more by pushing every button on each menu than from the game proper, which is frustrating, but ultimately a non-issue once you get the hang of it. Take with patience. <3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Simple, Addicting, Fan Service Unite!

posted by Trucidatio (METAIRIE, LA) May 30, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

44 out of 52 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

Cross Edge, is the product of five game companies. Most characters are new creations for the game. Capcom brought in a Darkstalkers' roster. Morrigan, Felicia, Demitri, Jedda and Lilith, are just some character options you'll see in this RPG.

Gameplay is very simple to pick up. While you don't freely move around during the battle phase like in the game Eternal Sonata, for example. You are presented with an attack gauge that is similar, in that you can do more then one attack per character. Early in the game you will learn how to chain character abilities for added damage through a tutorial.

The story is enjoyable to follow. Just to give you a glimpse of what you may read in this game, here is a quote from Morrigan, it appears very early in the story. - Morrigan: "I have this tingling heat in my bosom...and I like it."

Is your interest peaked yet? If you like where this was going, don't stop now. Download content is already in the works for additional scantily clad outfits and perhaps a modest set thrown in the mix.

Finally, you get the option to install this game. It takes 15 minutes to do so and I'd recommend it for no load times. You will also be able to select language dialog between English or Japanese (recommended). This game has a good mix of trophies at a balanced level of difficulty. So, get this game in your queue and make sure to vote!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

RPG fans BEWARE your in for a scare

posted by Purgatory (SANTA MARIA, CA) Aug 7, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Now what could be better than this? A dream come true for RPG fans?
Darkstalkers!? OMG! Disgaea! OMG! but look closer and you will see just how big a mistake this whole mess is. Cross Edge takes players on a journey with two typical (very typical ) Main characters, A rash loud and excitable teenage boy named York and of course the more quiet sensible teenage female lead, Miko. Now Cross Edge Sounds like a pretty complex story having several groups of characters with story lines of thier own-not. The game flow is about as unpridictible a two headed coin you look for an orb on the map fight/meet someone new add them to your group...again...and again... and again. As the battle system goes youll be wondering why Morrigan (who starred in 3 fighting games with a rainbow pallete of moves)is stuck with stabbing enemies with her wings Once every turn. The battle begins with either the enemies or your turn depending on your amount of AP it is with this count of AP every character has that alows then to carry out actions in battle. AP is limited though wich means whwn the first turn comes around you can only really do one thing per character.
Instead of buying new and more powerfull equipment youll be forced to grind difficult battle after battle till you aquire the needed items to synthesise and power up weapons. The battle system really faulters when it comes to actuall moves and skills each character good luck obtaing at the most 2 different attacks through a third of the game.
In conclusion Cross Edge Is Tolerable if your desperate to see these different characters interact but as the story progresses youll find that
there is little to none group discussion between the ragtag group of characters and wonder why their even motivated to stay in a group at all.

"Cross Edge" for the PS3 is without a doubt the BIGEST dissapointment of the gaming media this year. Cross Edge

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Lack of a story does not ruin the game

posted by Kelsaurus (BRANDON, FL) Jun 8, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

The game has the most cliche, over used, boring story I've come across in a long time. The reason for this is so they can bring all the super popular characters from their respective companies titles.

The height of the game is obviously the characters, the combat, the synthesis system, and the insanely powerful characters you can eventually make. It blends all the games these respective characters are from (except maybe Dark Stalkers) into one beautiful creation of a game.

I started the game in hard mode... and it is brutal at first. Once you get deeper into the synthesis system and get used to your characters combo abilities it gets much easier. The other modes lock out portions of the post game as well as what you can carry over in a NG+.

The game is very addictive and rewarding, you'll spend hours creating new things through synthesis ( Mana Khemia) progressively making your characters insanely powerful. (Disgaea)

The Fan Service is probably the selling point for a lot of people, and they know it. There's tons of costumes you can collect for each character. ( Ar Tonelico) The only thing I don't understand is why they're not wearing said costume in battle.

In short it's a fun and rewarding game fans from all games will find something to like from this mass colaboration of genius. The only failing point is the story which is rather bland and uninteresting, even the little events you run into are very dull. Luckly there's a skip option that lets you skip through these scenes, as well as the ability to speed up battle (Fantastic for hard mode grinding) its certainly worth a rent for the not so sure crowd, but to me its a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A very fun RPG that gets unfair reviews

posted by 666Lildemo (NORTH VERNON, IN) Jul 15, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I've read alot of reviews that made me hesitant to even bother picking up this game, but i went ahead and got it because i love disgaea,and figured a game with a Prinny cant be all bad. I'm very glad i did.

Everyone complains about the "way too complex" battle system, but after 5 battles i understood all the basics and had no problem with it, in fact i had a great time trying to figure out all the combos and such.
I believe most the people who are reviewing these games dont play much in the role-playing department, so they complain that its too hard and complex even though any rpg fan will catch on in minutes.

Another thing that everyone complains about are the graphics, and if you'r looking for an amazing 3d game, quit looking at jrpg's, the graphics aren't amazing or anything, but if you appreciate the style of sprites then you'll love them as much as i do, a game doesnt have to be full 3d to make it enjoyable, and if you think that then stop looking at games like this.

I didn't care much for alot of the music, i just dont enjoy music in games, but the voiceovers were great, both in japanese and english, and i enjoyed the sounds of battle as well.

For some odd reason, alot of the reviews complain about the variety of characters, which is kind of the whole point of this kind of mish-mash game, i enjoyed playing with each of the chars and unlocking thier skills, learning their combos, etc.

As far as replayability goes, theres alot to do, following the "trueend" will get you the good ending, several extra characters, and unlocks 3 extra zones and alot of fun new bosses, not to mention there are tons of armors/weapons/items to make yourself, and if you enjoy earning trophys you'll want to unlock them all.

In closing Cross Edge is a great game that gets bad ratings because the people reviewing it dont take the time to get to know the combat system and/or they aren't fans of diffrent types of RPGs, which makes me wonder, why did they try this one?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ugh.

posted by Schpenke (THE COLONY, TX) Jul 27, 2009

Member since Nov 2005

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The Good:

1) The addition of the PS3 weapons/armor downloads prior to starting a new game will allow you to tear through this game with little to no worries.
2) The battle system, for as many complaints as I seen it receive, isn't all that bad. Had the removed the idiotic combo-timer I would have almost said it was enjoyable.
3) The score is very good
4) The controls are easy and intuitive. I had no problem changing characters, coordinating attacks, or navigating menus.

The Bad:

1) Holy cow does this game become boring quickly. The same battles, the same formation, the same painful dialogue over and over again. Is this what JRPGs have all morphed in to?
2) If you have played Enchanted Arms then you know what the battle system is basically like. Sort of. You have a grid in which to place your 4 characters (yes.. out of a cast of 23,234,323 characters you can only use 4 at a time). Grid placement is actually important as some character's attacks have short ranges, etc etc. Same formula. Except once you have a winning formation with characters who can perform chains you have NO REASON TO CHANGE IT EVER. The only time formation becomes a chore is during surprise attacks as your characters are randomly placed.
3) The dialogue SUCKS. Do we really have to see eight cut scenes involved these characters saying broken sentences? Do we really, really need to see these characters argue about mundane drivel while the storyline is actually sort of compelling? JRPGs are disappointing me quickly in this formula. I can understand heavy relevant dialogue, but it seems this was just to add time to the game.
4) A COMBO TIMER!? Look.. be an RPG or not. Combo timers are a weak mechanic that are reserved to putty game flaws. RPGs should be thinking affairs, not twitch responses. I would have loved to have thought about how to best chain some combos, or consider switching them up once my attack started. Nope. Lame timer.

This is a rental at best which is sad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

I'm sorry I bought it

posted by Cabbit (Seattle, WA) Jul 17, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

I bought this game because I really liked nippon ichi because they're my favorite company. It took me about a few hours to realize this game was a mistake to buy. I wished I had rented it instead.

It seems that the developers were more concentrated on appeasing the "fanservice" side of videogames instead of making an actual worthwhile game. Though my brother Tim who actually cares about that, told me he didn't like the game either, because the "costumes" didn't change the in game graphics. It just changed the cutscene things. And the status changes. Honestly though I dont' get why they even make fanservice things like that, if they are going to have that kind of fanservice, why not give us some cute shirtless boys or something? Honestly >< I didn't play the game long enough to actually know but the online guides said that the boys don't change with their costumes so that immediately made me upset. This is the like 20th century, girl gamers exist, stop catering to perverted teenage boys ><

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The true review

posted by Killimajig (TAMPA, FL) Jun 8, 2009

Member since Jul 2005

7 out of 19 gamers (37%) found this review helpful

There are reviews for Cross Edge that range wildly, although they really shouldn't. Here's the truth: Cross Edge is a severe disappointment on several levels.

If you're really a huge fan of Darkstalkers/Disgaea/Etc, then you may find some enjoyment in this game due to the concept of throwing them all in the same world. The developers had a huge range of really interesting characters that many people will recognize. However, that's where the enjoyment and high-scoring reviews end.

Cross Edge is a confused mash-up, the plot is painfully cookie-cutter and bland, and it never really fills out. You will spend a lot of time reading useless, banal chatter between your cardboard-cutout party members.

Speaking of the bland character sprites, the overall graphics would barely be passable on a PS2 game. There are some enemy models rendered in 3d, and some are badly animated sprites. All of your characters' battle sprites look like something out of Final Fantasy 3.
For a game released in 2009 on a system that can run Uncharted and MGS4, this game looks unforgivably horrible.

Do you enjoy backtracking over and over again to places you've been hours before to meticulously search for one item or cutscene? You're in for a treat; There's plenty of that in Cross Edge. Don't expect any of it to advance the weak plot though.

The few areas referred to ingame as "dungeons" consist of inexplicably bland side-scrolling boards. There are no visible enemies, but you can still be engaged in combat, even while jumping. This is actually one of the least annoying aspects of the game.

Overall, Cross Edge is a mashed-up mess, and doesn't do any justice to the characters used, the developers, or PS3 owners in general.

Do yourself a favor; Download a hi-def screenshot of Morrigan's sprite and set it as your desktop wallpaper. It's much more fulfilling and fun than actually playing this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

First RPG I stopped playing after 3 hrs.

posted by Nakirend (JACKSON HEIGHTS, NY) Jun 3, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

11 out of 33 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Cross Edge, hmm, where to begin. Well I must say that I didnt like the art-style of this game. And although I have no idea as to the history of development nor the fan-base's ecstasy over its release State-side.

But, I must say that from my perspective as a 23-yr old avid gamer with many RPGs under my belt, this was the first game in which I actively hated most if not all the characters on-screen. I literally got a headache every 30 mins for about 3-4 hrs this past weekend while playing this game, which seemed to dissipate only after I shoved this atrocity to my mental health into the mailbox.

Every single character introduced has a certain Japanese "naivety" that just makes my blood boil. Even the demon-girl from Darkstalkers, Morgan, has a certain mischievous attitude that degrades into nothing but a few name-callings which are supposed to imply her "bad attitude" (?). Which was sad because as an inhabitant from the Demon World I was really hoping she would kick the nausea-inducing protagonists in the bum and put an end to this helpless "Aw shucks," attitude every damned 'tween-looking character exhibited.

Alas, it is with a heavy-heart that I condemn this RPG as one of the worst I have played in a long time. With winners like Fallout 3 and Fable II, and Valkyria Chronicles (which although it has some "Aw shucks" characters, at least they are logical and sweet to a bearable degree), to spend my game time with.

If you are renting this without any other option at the moment, then by all means go ahead and try this out. I am sure tons of people will have much more patience than I do. But if you are a more "Western-RPG" viewer/novel-reader/gamer then you should probably just wait for another game on Low priority to be shipped to you.

Also, the tool-tips to inform the Player on how to effectively play are very parse with the examples and intricacies, and many people online have implied that a thorough read-through of the manual is a necessity. Keep this in mind.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sorry

posted by Raffy927 (WEYMOUTH, MA) Apr 12, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Sorry is all I can think of when I think about this game; allow me to explain my feelings.
I have to ask your forgiveness for I could only play this game a little over 3 hours, they were unberably boring.
The game is boring, the acting is horrible, the fighting system is way too complex (each button does something but usually it does what you don't want to do) for those that are used to the "select your character press X and choose action" type of RPG you will absolutely hate this game. I now realize that I have wasted 3 hours of my life, which I could have used it with my wife, and I deeply regret renting this game.
To everyone else I say "if you don't believe me then rent this game and cry".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A throwback to nothing.

posted by KidGhost (WINTER SPRINGS, FL) Jun 3, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

5 out of 18 gamers (28%) found this review helpful

I didnt really high expectation for this game to begin with.
Which doesn't mean i didnt give it a chance, Its just the same old played out JRPG genre regurgitating a game with a crossover of 4 for other games which 2 have never even really cared over to the states well.

The plot is the generic throws you into the middle of the plot and expects you to play and understand whats happening. This game would be cool on super nintendo and if you were japanese...

Graphics : Fail (very dated and just brings nothing new to the table)
Controls : Fail (Over complex menus with no intuitive instruction.)
Story: Fail (Games with no grounding plot are just a waste of time trying to get you interested in nothing)
Fun : Fail ( There just nothing i can even say)
Sound : Pass ( The only thing this game has. Bad dubbing but the effects are there. Thats the only plus. Musics terrible to.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Just Simply Bad

posted by LuckyBuck (BATTLE CREEK, MI) Jun 1, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

5 out of 18 gamers (28%) found this review helpful

Alright, I was looking forward to this game and was excited when I found out I was going to get it. I even was considering keeping it before I even stuck it in the PS3. I was certain that this game was going to waste hours and hours of my life this past weekend. Well I wasn't wrong about that, it did waste my hours but mostly in dialogue that happens a lot.

This game looks great but plays horrible. The tutorial where they explain how to fight was simply too simple for the complexity of it. Every early battle you struggle which is not a good sign for RPGs. If you want people to play through the game you need to hook them in not baffle them with why isn't my characters doing anything.

This game would have been acceptable for PS1, but with the capability of the PS3 they totally ruined what could have been a great RPG for the system. This game almost reminded me of games from the Turbo Graphix days.

Give it a try if you liked the characters from these games and who knows you might be able to pick up the game and enjoy it. Be warn its a lot of dialogue, walking around trying to find events by hitting "X" and they entering into more dialogue. Oh yea to make the game faster you have to download the game into your system which takes a shorter time (10 min) then some of the non essential dialogues.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

worst rpg i've ever played

posted by jacobtime (OREGON CITY, OR) Jul 8, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

3 out of 11 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

I'll keep it short and sweet this is the worst rpg i've ever played i made the mistake of buying this thinking i'd love it as i'm a fan or rpgs and a fan of the dark stalkers series. It has very poor graphics for a ps3 games i did'nt care for the voice acting i thought the combat system was awful they tried to hard i think to make it something diffrent and it just does'nt work. Final thought don't buy don't rent just don't play it i traded this game in three days after buying it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Lag on a ps3? on a 2d game?

posted by KainRpg (FARGO, ND) Jun 4, 2009

Member since Jul 2006

3 out of 11 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

The battles system was kind of harsh and dull, in the fact you had lag between deaths and item drops, just points where it locks for 2 seconds while your waiting,<I know the countdown timer is not lag, but I'm only talking about times when it has already reached 0>

this game is good for its humor, and the fact it has all the characters from the old games, but I would rather just go back and play those games.

Its no fun to grind and kill monsters when you have to wait 5 seconds for it to cycle threw a death of a creature x5, you almost need another game to play while you play this one, just to keep you from getting bored fast during the down times.

honestly they should of just threw this game to the ps2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Seems Like Old Gameboy Game

posted by Bettascott (RALEIGH, NC) Apr 5, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I was very disappointed in this game, in that it is turn-based but of the caliber of games I played on my game boy 10 years ago. Only difference was that the toons had a lot more cleavage for a cartoon, but it was still corny lines, turn based and terrible plot, at least for the 20 mins I played the game and couldn't stand it any more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Cross Edge = Cross Over/Over the Edge

posted by teejay13 (GREENVILLE, NC) Jun 3, 2009

Member since Jun 2005

4 out of 19 gamers (21%) found this review helpful

Everyone loves a cross over right? Your favorite characters from different games meeting up to battle the baddies. Unfortunately in Cross Edge, most of the characters come from games I've never even heard of and the ones I have heard of, I never played.

Okay, so the selection of characters isn't the best. What about graphics and gameplay? Well, for a PS2 game it's pretty good... Oh wait this is a PS3 game, I'm sorry. The 2d sprite graphics in a semi-3d world are just plain insulting to the PS3's capabilities. The PSP may have been a better home for this game.

We all know the real-time battles in RPGs are more popular these days then traditional turn-based. So when a company produces a turn based game, they try to create some hybrid of realtime/turnbased and almost always fail miserably with some over complicated system. Cross Edge battle system is like a mix between traditional Final Fantasy and Eternal Sonata. Not a good mix unless you like taking your time to hurry up. The battles feature the good guys on the right and the bad guys on the left. When it's your turn, you can take your time deciding what to do but as soon as you make the first move, you only have a few seconds left to finish everything else you want to do. This applies to the whole team, not just one character at a time.

What about the story? I don't know, it didn't keep my interest long enough for me to see a story. This is really weird considering how long the Fire Emblem-esque cut scenes lasted. At least the dialogue was dubbed in English. Too bad the personalities of the characters were so cliche, I could pretty much predict what they were going to say before they said it.

In closing, if you must play this game, rent it, don't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

w t f

posted by doomaloom (LAKE VILLA, IL) Jun 13, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

3 out of 18 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I didnt even make it through the tutorial, thats how dumb this game is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Save your time and money

posted by ecg408 (GIG HARBOR, WA) Jun 14, 2013

Member since Feb 2011

Maybe I didn't give this game a fair chance. I just couldn't get into the story line... but maybe it's because I'm not missing a chromosome. And I'm not a 5 year-old. I was hoping it might be redeemed by some decent gameplay or graphics, but I was wrong. The gameplay was needlessly complicated by way too many mindless buzz terms - overkill, half kill, armor break, chain, blah, blah, blah - coupled with an oversimplified tutorial that neglects to even explain the basic control functions. And the graphics were on par with the old Dr. Mario game on the NES. So after about 20 minutes of mind-numbing pseudo dialogue and blind button-mashing through a few battle sequences, I got bored and sent it back in. The only reason I rated it a 2 is because I'm hoping there has to be something better in the game that I didn't see... you know, some reason for anyone to play past the opening sequence.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Cross Edge

posted by ARTSYMARTSY333 (FLINT, MI) Sep 8, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

It is a colorful game action packed for the younger player in mind

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Cross Edge

posted by L26 (HIALEAH, FL) Jun 20, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

Very awesome story very original. It is a team tactics type of game. You get to play as mulitiple characters which is great. You have different endings as well. This is a must have for people who love rpgs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Painful.

posted by KLSnow (APPLETON, WI) Jan 23, 2012

Member since Jun 2007

After a rough day at the dentist, I was kind of looking forward to a few hours on the couch with this. I played it for half an hour. It has potential but the dialog is absolutely unbearable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good for Anime Fans

posted by akazecks (SANTA CLARA, CA) Oct 4, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

I enjoyed this game for the interactions between the characters. It is always difficult to make a game with characters from different universes but I sorta liked it. The drawings are well done and the extra costumes for the female characters are cool. Just would like them to also change for the males, it is kinda weird changing a costume for the male characters and nothing happens but stat changes.

The gameplay is not bad but it is a bit slow paced, and constantly pressing the find button to get to your next objective gets really annoying. I just want to move on with the story, not spend 10 minutes combing the map for a new event. Thats pretty much the only gripe I have about the game.

Again, if you watch anime and love the interactions, you will enjoy the game. If you want a gameplay filled game, with lots of things to do outside of upping your stats, skip this game, it was not made for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome...

posted by Naruto_Godtoad (LOMPOC, CA) Jul 7, 2011

Member since May 2011

this game is rlly fun and little difficult to understand the battle controls but indeed fun!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse