Rent Crisis Core: Final Fantasy VII for PSP Games
view large frontback

Crisis Core: Final Fantasy VII

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.5

3629 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best PSP Game Ever

posted by Crazykid (ENDICOTT, NY) Mar 28, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

36 out of 39 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

The graphics blew me away. The very beginning cut scene, the graphics, the voice-to-lip movement was in perfect sync, and it still retained a realistic feel. Still has that beginning of time RPG combat feel, but it's now more than just turn-based. You move around, hack-and-slash, cast spells, and more. Half way through, you even get yourself a girlfriend. Not bad looking either. The storyline is relatively new, offering new characters, new monsters, and new enemies. The environment is realistic and well designed. No expense has been spared on the amazing level of detail that has put into this game. The cut scenes are cool, providing you with audio and written dialect. I hate it when games just give you text. A lot of effort and time has been put into this game. A UMD can hold up to 1.8GB and this game is ~1.7GB in its uncompressed format. That goes to show you how much "stuff" is in this game. Great game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by psppsp (YACOLT, WA) Jun 17, 2008

Member since Nov 2005

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game made me understand FFVII more its visually the best game i seen on PSP and i dont like the stupid little DMW thing that spins at random times but other than that IT IS AWESOME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Homage to a Classic.

posted by aenderw (GREENSBORO, NC) Mar 26, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

38 out of 43 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Final Fantasy VII is my favorite RPG of all time. Period. Vagrant Story, Xenogears, Persona 3, and the slew of Final Fantasy games pre-Playstation round out my list. Needless to say, I was practically forced to purchase this title. If you are a fan of VII, then I would assume you've already picked this up. Otherwise, here are a few things I've noticed:

The game gets repetitive after a while. The real-time battle system uses a DMW (Digital Mind Wave) function that works in a fashion similar to a slot machine in Vegas, leaving your leveling, limit breaks, and summons up to seemingly mere chance. I can't say that I particularly enjoy this aspect of the game at all. In fact, compared to my old materia system of PSX, I hate it. You could probably hit 'X' throughout every battle and beat the game.

Another so-so is the camera. It has the attention span of a ferret on crystal meth, and leaves you wondering who would benefit from such a flaky perspective.

That's it. Those are the scars found within. Now for the good...

It's Final Fantasy VII. The world and myth around this game are quite possibly the most popular in RPG history (debatable, I'm well aware.)

The FMV scenes between 'X' mashes are PHENOMENAL! I had no idea my PSP could output like that. In fact, the graphics in general are really good... but when you squeeze the CGI in between, they kind of stumble in comparison.

The story is very good. I was enthralled and will definitely play it again. There are also nearly 300 side quests you can complete for extra items, materia, and story tidbits.

There is also the token "optional boss" with nearly 50 million hit points. Minerva is a tough one, but it's something to shoot for.

For fans of FFVII, this is a 10 of 10. For others, it's between an 8 or 9.

Short and sweet version:

Is it worth it to play this game? Yes.

Will it worsen your craving for a FFVII remake? Most definitely.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Crisis core Rocks

posted by Jetknight (CLEVELAND, OH) Dec 29, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Well this game is the best Final Fantasy title for the psp. The graphics are awesome and the best part of all is the Crystal clear sound. Unlike the sound of other titles that the background music is to loud and the voice over is too low or viceversa,in this title the sound is equally match to the voice over bringing an ultimate movie experience. game play wise this title is like playing a upgraded version of final fantasy 8 is very fun i highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Passing on the Buster Sword. TAKE IT! YOU NEED IT!

posted by Asudak (JOPLIN, MO) Apr 16, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

There is so much that can be said about this game. It's visually stunning graphics. It's innovative gameplay. It's amazingly sad ending. (That also ended up making me want to play FFVII) And then.. There was that Freakin' TEASER!! God plz let them Remake FFVII! I will buy a PS3 for that game and that game only!!!

Sorry, sidetracked :P

This game is RoFlOmGwTfPwNz0rZ! It is the game that made me understand EVERYTHING about all the loose ends in FFVII the game and Advent Children. I'm going to buy this game. I may play it maybe once or twice more.. but I am buying a copy and putting it in a display case. FFVII is indeed one of THE BEST gaming series's EVER. If you love Final Fantasy in the least bit, Play. This. Game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It's the story that never ends!! lol

posted by BigOda (MIDDLEBURG, FL) Mar 26, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

It seems that they are kind of raping the FFVII franchise these days. I think in total there is about 6 different things dealing with the game itself. But, that does not change th fact this game is good. It sticks to the storyline of FFVII and really explains who Zack and some other characters are. The battle system reminds me of FFXI because you don't have time to plan out your attacks. You have to think on your toes and I really like that. The thing I think I dislike the most is the slots that control 95% of everything you do. But, I also like how you can use a massive amount of moves because of the slots. It has it's pros and cons I guess you could say. I mainly got it for the storyline, but I think this is a buy and not a rent. The game is just to long to play and in my opinion will have a good amount of replay value to fans of FFVII and....Sephiroth!!! Sorry, had to make that joke. Anyways, I hope you enjoy the game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

one of the two best graphic games on the PSP!!

posted by dulun21 (CHANDLER, AZ) Mar 30, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

10 out of 16 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Crisis Core and Chains of Olympus really show the hardware capabilities of the PSP . One thing you will notice right away is the graphic, of how it looks so stunning that you thought it's a PS2 game instead of a PSP.. I rated this game based on my enjoyment of the game.. if rated it on tech level.. it will be around 8-9. I don't know if it's because i know how this game will turn out in the end kind of ruined it for me or not.. but sometimes i didn't exactly draw in while playing this game or not as eager to get back and play it after stopping :( Anyway, Crisis Core is action-rpg, one man party, live action battle. There are some new changes here and there.. but if you are those who can easily adapt to new materials easily.. then it's no big deal. Your limit breaks and summons will be control randomly by the DMW (the slot). The DMW is useful in boss fights but annoying during random battles sometimes. Crisis core include ideas from various games like; Star ocean 3 (ability to run around dodging attacks and magics), pokemon (being able to carry only 6 materias at a time), Grandia III (mana egg fusion). The game is kind of boring the first 2-3 hours into the game due to limited abilities and materia. Once the missions mode are unlocked, you should play through those, since they are the only places you can get your summons, powerful materias and items. It you play it fast, the game will last around 18-20 hours... but if you try to unlock everything.. probably 27+ hours. There's no world map in this game, leveling up is also random by the slot machine as well. It's a little weird at first but you will get use to it :) Crisis core is a decent RPG, but one of the best Graphic game on the PSP. I'm lookin foward to the remake of FFVII after playing this game :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game, but...

posted by ffcloud7 (SCHUYLKILL HAVEN, PA) Apr 1, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is truly a breakthrough title and raises the bar for hand-held role playing games. It really has it all, a driving story, sweet sound fx and visuals, and a unique battle system that makes every fight stand out. The battle system rather works like a slot machine- but only cooler and more complicated. You can earn bonuses like No MP cost or Invincibility depending on which numbers align. It also controls your leveling ups,limit breaks and summons- which by the way are ALMOST complety random and you'll most likely be throwing them out in random battles and not boss fights. :( oh well. But it really is a fun way of fighting and as you progress in the game it will grow and evolve. The story line is rather short, only 15 hours. but with tons of side missions you could easily put 50+ hours into it. Check it out!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

adds more to the wonderful world of FF7

posted by owman3000 (ALBANY, CA) Apr 10, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have not played the original Final Fantasy game on the PS1, but do I know the story. Even if you don't know the story of the original, Crisis Cores' story is still fantastic. The game play could use a bit of work though. It is basically just pressing X button the whole game, but who says that isn't fun? The leveling system also needs work. Leveling is kind of like gambling. Its a slot system. Whenever the numbers 777 appear on your reel thingy, you level up. And whenever you have the same three faces of a person on the reel you use that persons signature special ability. To keep the reel spinning you gotta keep fighting. Its not too bad when you get used to it though. The length is perfect and you will probably want to replay it again on hard mode, at least I did. The bosses though. They're fun and tough but the only thing that ticked me off when your fighting them, is they have no health bar, you can never tell if you're 75%, 50%, or 25% through the boss. At least in other hack n' slash titles like God of war they had health for the bosses only, same with devil may cry. Hopefully that will change. There are also a lot of memorable moments in the game. Have fun with it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

couldn't do it

posted by Expansions (BALTIMORE, MD) Jul 1, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

So I rented this yesterday and had it back in my mailbox this morning.

The graphics looked amazing, the setting was good, the intro was good.

But good god, the combat system made me want to drown puppies.

Basically, you mash X. You occasionally hit L or R or Square, but not too often. And you watch your character attack, at nearly real time, but with this slight annoying delay that makes you realize quickly the game is neither turn based nor an action rpg.

For this reason I had to return it after a few hours in... I just couldn't put up with the combat system.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A badly designed Final Fantasy.

posted by eroman97 (NEW HAVEN, CT) Sep 28, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

A badly designed Final Fantasy is a real surprise,and that is my overall opinion of this game.The dumbest battle system ever implemented and mind numbingly boring,long,unskipabble cut scenes really made finishing this game a chore.The first Final Fantasy i have not enjoyed playing.Randon leveling up is incredibly stupid and hopefully will never curse a Final Fantasy again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Ok first of all this game is way overhyped

posted by Jeramiah (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Apr 13, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 13 gamers (15%) found this review helpful

Ok first of all this game is way overhyped. I own Final Fantasys 7-12 and in no way does it even come close to FF7. The things that i hate about this game, (in order from first to last), are:

1. Slot machine DMW system is used for everything!! This includes summoning, leveling up your character and materia, limit breaks. I can understand adding a random element to the LB system because of all the dependency on limit break that arised from FF8, and the tricks to getting a LB every turn, (using Aura), But random leveling? Are you freaking Kidding me? I know alot of people just go around leveling up their characters but you could make the monsters/bosses get harder after certain levels also found it FF8.

2. You have no armor and cannot change your weapon. For example if you wanted to increase your attack power or defense you have to either level up or equip materia that have defense+1 or attack+3 attribute etc, (the materia only have one attribute). This REALLY suck becaus you can only equip 4-6 materia at a time. Say you equip cure, fire, steal, and HP+, you have no room to equip any more materia.

3. Corny, Corny, Corny, Corny. This game has more corn then all of the midwest. Genesis will read a line from his favorite play loveless, "infinite in mystery, is the gift of the goddes, We seek it thus and take to the sky," and at first its cool. But then he reads it again, again, and again throughout the game every time you see him thats the first thing that comes out of his mouth until it becomes a cliche. The zack character is extremely corny, "I am going to be first," The first half of the games thats all he talks about like a 13 year old girl and it's quite annoying.

4. It Climaxes way too soon. All the major events in the game happen in the first half of the game, then it just drags on after that and your just waiting for it to end.

5. It doesn't tell you anything you didn't already know or suspect if you have played FF7

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

How can we milk this series today...?

posted by Vignirsson (SANTA CRUZ, CA) Mar 29, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2005

3 out of 27 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

That is the only thing that I thought when I played this game, and it still doesn't solve the major problem as to why I should care about a prequel to a game that I didn't care for when it was originally released.

Now, with that out of the way, this game is a rehash of FFXII in its gameplay and mechanics. Battle system is handled more like an action RPG, button mashing styled game. There is no turn based action so if you are looking for that, be prepared. It is much like FFXII without the lock ability, just swing away and follow the little cursor that accompanies every target. There is an interesting slot mechanic that goes with the battles at times but, eh... It is more just glitter and gloss than anything really substantive (in my opinion).

Graphics are great for the PSP, they flow really well and make things look decent. However, the cutscenes are a distraction as they are the high quality that SE loves to put out that do not blend well with the rest of the game itself. If that is your cup of tea, then I am sure you will be impressed. The story is what you would expect of a prequel, something to set up the original game but really... It is something that only a hardcore fan could get sucked into, I am not a hardcore fan and it certainly didn't appeal to me.

Inventory screen is the standard that you would expect, except you have the modern influx added in, such as e-mail and whatnot. Again, this is sort of a hit and miss mechanic as it serves some purpose but could have easily been something else instead.

Really, I can break it down like this; if you loved FFXII and FFVII, then you will be in hog heaven with this game. If you aren't in love with either one (and I admit, I don't like either of them), you should probably skip this game and move on. Because really, how many more rehashes of the same game can you get into that doesn't really have any resolution?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Do the words "Final Fantasy" make a game

posted by borislav (DES PLAINES, IL) Apr 30, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

No. I grew up with the series and can honestly say I've enjoyed my fair share of Final Fantasy games, but in recent years the series has taken a turn for the worst. It happens with TV shows (jumping the shark) and it definitely happens with games.

What I don't understand is how Crisis Core manages to score so well with the popular reviewers. Do they feel obligated to give a high rating because it's such a big name? Does Square just send out tons of free gifts? I can't say with certainty and I really don't care.

See, despite the reviews, I've avoided playing the game for nearly a year because I knew exactly what it would be--an all flash, no substance, totally metrosexual and XTREME! experience. After finally renting it (else my Game-Q be empty) I got exactly that.

I'm not going to go into details because I know FF (FF7 in particular) fanboys will feel obligated to love the game no matter what, but let me just say that if you took the words "Final Fantasy" out of the title the game would score a few points less. The gameplay and storyline are just plain average. It gets the high ratings for its name and graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Sad

posted by Doktop (SAPULPA, OK) May 26, 2008

Member since May 2008

1 out of 10 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

I have played all of the FF series and was exited to know that this one was on its way. Oh boy was I disappointed. The style of combat drove me crazy to some it might be easier but not me. The story line not so well also, and FF7 and FF8 are my favorite. This story was not fitting in very well. I am going to stop here because I do not want to spoil your mood for the game. Get it and see it for yourself. You might like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Mindless gameplay

posted by teamc1700 (PLEASANT HILL, IA) May 16, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 15 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

Let me start by saying that I have always been a fan of square (now square-enix) they have produce many fine titles , and i was eager to play this one when it came out but it was a total disappointment. Yes they did a beautiful job as far as graphics are concerned,but game play was just awful.
The Game Play
You run around mindlessly mashing the x button that is beyond being repetitive, as far as i am concerened they should have made a movie out of it. The only redeeming quality for the game is the story and to be honest for me it wasnt enough to keep me interested in the game at all. Instead i went online and got the story so i could put the pieces together for myself.I'd also like to say that it is ok to say that this game is bad because there are not many people saying that and i find it extremely hard to belive that there are that many people out there that think this game was innovative or unlike anything else out there in which made it good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

really boring and repeative

posted by peterce1111 (EAST LONGMEADOW, MA) Oct 16, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

this game is really boring and repeative

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Crisis Core Review

posted by Joker4479 (SALEM, IL) Mar 21, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

I loved this game.
I /really/ did.
I did have a few complaints.
Maily the leveling up and special attack system.
I really didn't like the fact that it was based on basically a slot machine.
So you have no clue when you're going to level up when you do.
You can level up once every few hours or 5 times in two minutes.
Of course when I fought Sephiroth it didn't level me up OR give me a special attack.
But, if you are a Final Fantasy Fanboy (or girl) I recommend this game.
It goes into a bit of more detail about the events before, during and after Sephiroths betrayal at Neibelheim.
And will bring up that all consuming question.
"DOES AERITH LOVE ZACK OR CLOUD."
I'm sorry.
But in FFVII her saying that her relationship with Zack wasn't that important...
Really...
She's all over him in this game.
But I digress.
Oh, and as all Final Fantasy games are likely to do, have a kleenex box ready, becase you will have feels from this game.
YOU WILL.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

i did like this game

posted by superflykid89 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Aug 6, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

it was a lttle easy but it got a little harder so it was fun until i lost more than five time but it a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game for any gamer

posted by OldRed (MECHANICSBURG, PA) Apr 25, 2012

Member since Jan 2011

Crisis Core is definately one of the best games for the PSP. While the game may lack an open environment, there are several different side quests that the player can do. These include missions available at save points to rounding up spies. The main story itself is also amazing. The battle system gives the player much more control over the battle. This includes giving the player the ability to block for decreased damage or dodge to try and avoid all damage which no Final Fantasy has done before. The graphics are also outstanding for a handheld game. All in all, this ia a terrific game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Masterpiece

posted by justasian (LEVITTOWN, NY) Jul 4, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

As someone who has played and beaten ff7 a multitude of times, this game was a must buy. IF you have ever played ff7 than trust me you will love this game. This game took an almost unremembered side character, Zack Fair, and gave him a personality; a face to remember. I was blown away by the depth of this game; the detail. This game made Zack one of my favorite characters of this series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

it was ok

posted by Papamericano623 (GLENDALE, AZ) May 30, 2011

Member since May 2011

at first i was like...."maybe this has good gameplay" then i played it and was like "nah ill stick to final fantasy x" but i will admit the graphics and story could not have been better and some of the DMU from the summons was AWESOME because it had its own cutscene and everything same with zacks DMU'S i personally like the IFRITS dmu because of how epic the cutscene is and next to that is the golden dragon thing with EXOFLARE but it is also hard to understand the game because i dont understand the ranking up system to this. Not that its bad, but the only way to rank up is having a good DMU i guess and i dont even know how to work that. I have only made it to the 6th chapter but i think thats as far as ill go. it was alright.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

zach1class review on final fantasy crisis core

posted by Zach1class (OAKLEY, CA) Oct 4, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

I do like the game. I gave it a ten for rating but now it is time for the hard part.I liked the story and I liked the characters names.The graphics were amazing and so was the combat.I liked how the combat had 4,5,or 6 circles that you have options so you can attack use magic special attacks,regular attacks,and potions.The voice acting could have been a little better and overall it is a pretty good game.I have played the game twice and right now I am playing it again.This review is now over and see you in my next review.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Crisis Core: Final Fantasy VII review

posted by Raziel111 (LINDSAY, CA) Sep 12, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2010

Overall, I liked the game. The character and story were good and so was the combat. It even brings back some old characters from the original Final Fantasy VII. One of the things I liked about was the combat. For one, if you decide to attack, and get attacked yourself, the game will continue the attack or move after the enemy attack is gone. Not only do you get to swing your sword around, you're allowed to use a power up slot machine. It's where the slots are made of pictures of characters that you've met in the game. Getting all three slots to land on the same picture turns combat into a mini cutscene where you do an ultimalte combat move. Plus, if you get all three pictures, enemies can't stop you from using the power up. Any damage they try to cause will automatically be blocked. Plus, side missions are a great way to level up and make the game easier. Some of the missions allow you to get new monsters on a seperate slot machine, which can wipe out a whole field of enemies. The graphics are also really cool to. Probably some of the best for the PSP. There are flaws though. In combat, the slot machine will give you powerups that you just dont need, while you are begging for the others. Also, the uninterupted attacks can get on your nerves, as it stops you from healing yourself if the attack you just took is about to kill you, which can kill you. Plus, in the side missions, there are certain powerups given to enemies that can kill you instantly. Those are annoying, as well as the abillity to cause you immobillity while the enemy is just hacking away at you, leaving you dead without a chance to defend yourself. But, taking the side missions away can make the game quite short. But, my favorite part was the ending. Sad and cinematic. The way I like it. It was a little graphic, which is pretty weird, considering it's a final fantasy game. But, overall, the good parts dominate it to make a very good game. I'd recommend it to anyone I know. So, play it already.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Classic gone bad

posted by cbatey (EIELSON AFB, AK) Aug 22, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

This game is one of the best looking for the PSP; however, it is by far the best overall game. Other than Looks and Sounds this game does not have much to offer a true fan of FF7 or FF8. There is no exp, instead leveling is left up to chance. I for one hate this idea...this concept leaves the game very repetitive and having to rely on the side missions(which are quit boring) to level. You may spend hours to only find yourself leveling only once. It is very frustrating. If thats not bad enough, the battle system is just as bad. Pounding X for hours on end, only to let up to watch a total random vagas style slot pick and choice which skills level up, which special attacks are used, and even how strong those attacks may be. Other than pressing X the battle system is completely random and leaves the player with little to no control over their own character. This title is nothing, I repeat nothing like playing FF7. The story is awesome and closely follows the FF7 story line. Looks great and sounds even better; however, due to lack of combat I can not bring myself to give this title anything more than a 4/10. I love the FF seres and have beaten almost every know title, but i regret to add this is far from my favorite.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse