Rent Crayola Colorful Journey for Wii
view large frontback

Crayola Colorful Journey

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
3.2

254 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

"Crayola" Bland Journey

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Apr 6, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

11 out of 11 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It's a coloring book adventure as you get Violet or Filup (why'd they spell it like that?) from one side of the screen to the other.
Along the way, our hero will walk into a few obstacles like holes in the ground, walls, and boulders. To get around these obstacles you draw straight lines that make bridges, knock certain objects out of the way or by coloring in certain items like boats, clouds, and ladders.
Our hero gets to the exit, and you repeat the process over again. And again. And again.
Kids who like coloring books will find the game interesting. If only the game play elements didn't have any problems.
The mechanism used to flick objects out of the way is clunky and haphazard. It's only luck that I was able to achieve the art of obstacle moving.
The drawing part is also clumsily put together as it's too easy to make a bridge or ramp that our hero won't climb on board.
On harder settings, the game makes Violet and Filup into idiots as they mindlessly walk off cliffs and/or into deep water. Why they do that is beyond me.
But the biggest problem with Crayola Colorful Journey is that it's repetitive. Each level is the same; make bridges, color in items and watch Filup or Violet walk from the entrance to the exit.
If you're looking for a game based on a coloring book, try de Blob.
Crayola Colorful Journey just has too many control issues and isn't thrilling. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not too bad

posted by lautrey14 (ORLANDO, FL) Jun 7, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I think this adventure game was pretty cool....but not for the age you would think. I got this game for my 6 and 7 year olds, but they both were having difficulties playing it. The game itself is not too bad, but if you are trying to get all the crayons in all the levels, it is not so easy. My kids could not do it and I was even having trouble getting some of them. It walks itself and goes pretty quick, so you are constantly drawing blocks back and forth to get up to some of those high crayons. It was too difficult for the age it should have been designed for.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Don't bother

posted by ursuala (LIVERPOOL, NY) Apr 23, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

we rented this game for our kids who are 3 1/2 and 6. we realy counldn't figure out the point of the game. The characters just walk on their own and at time to fast to color in objects on the screen. We attempted to use the tutorial and it stopped working in the middle. I think it was becasue we were supposed to make a block or something and couldn't figure out how to get the character moving. I was very disappointed. I have yet to find a game that my 3 1/2 year old can do easily on her own.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not for Toddlers

posted by agadams (GALLOWAY, OH) Apr 9, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

This game is so bad that I had trouble not only playing it but it was so repetitive. Over and Over again the same things. My granddaughter was so excited to think she would get to color like the machine at Chuckie Cheese and was so disappointed she couldn't color. Then, when I tried to give her help I couldn't even do it. You have no control over the character walking or falling or anything else. Don't waste your time with this game it's not worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not what my 5 yr old expected.

posted by Lustie (KENNER, LA) Apr 17, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This straight out of my 5 yr old daughters mouth, "This game is a Rip-off!" I feel the same way! I could not even figure this game out. The character keeps moving & there is no way to stop it. It is ridiculous, I could not even figure out what the game wanted me to do. This is not a coloring game like our Ariel computer coloring book. Do not waste a rental, all you will do is bum out your kids!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not that fun

posted by silverbeowulf (NIAGARA FALLS, NY) Jan 14, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

We played it for just the tutorial and it was just to hard for my 7 year old.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

FRUSTRATING!

posted by E_So25 (YONKERS, NY) Jul 30, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

This game was super frustrating. i rented it to try to play it with my 5 yo nephew. I tested it myself b/c I know what his attention span is like (he's 5 AND a boy!) and this game was horrible even for MY attention span. It was super frustrating because the character goes BACK EVERY time you do something wrong, the functions of the tools (i.e. the crayons) are ill-explained, and the tutorial was no help at all. I only tried the beginner level (I'm afraid of considering what the other levels were like if BEGINNER was super frustrating). In short, this game should go back to the drawing board and it should be a little more interesting and engaging for kids.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not Kid Friendly

posted by allielayton08 (OAKLAND, MD) Mar 3, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

This game is not user friendly for children, as an adult I had a very hard time myself trying to figure the game out, it is slow moving and not really that interesting for children.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

duh

posted by charlotte9 (BAYTOWN, TX) Jan 8, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

some of the review peoplewrote about this game are rediculous they show pictures so u can see that its not a coloring book like "chuvky cheese" just causeit crayola doesnt mean itds for kids if u have problems with a game go to asite that has walk throughs for free dont just play it for five minutes andsay its a rip off try it dont be so negative

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Crayola Colorful Journey

posted by Heathert (CHELSEA, ME) May 19, 2010

Member since May 2010

this is the worst game ever, I rented this game for my 5 year old daughter since she likes crayloa and thought it would be a good coloring game. I got it home and it was so hard to play even on easy she nor i could play it and by time i figured out how to play it she had lost interest in it. I would not reccomend it to anyone

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Game - makes you think

posted by genuap (BERKELEY HEIGHTS, NJ) Feb 9, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

I originally got this one as something that my 3 yr old and 6 yr old could play together. Well, too tough for the 3 yr old, but the 6 yr old really took to it.

The gameplay takes a little getting used to - you really want to run through the tutorial. But it makes sense - you can not directly control the characters. But, instead, you have to figure out how to stop them, make them get to the top of the screen etc... only by drawing some basic shapes for them to climb on. It's sort of a puzzle.

I really enjoyed watching the kids figure out that they give themselves time by boxing in the character (drawing walls on both sides). And then they were easily able to create a series of ramps to get them up an over an obstacle.

Good game ... certainly makes you think.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Do not get this game

posted by hurd101 (NEWTON, NJ) Sep 1, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

I decided to get this game for my 3 year old, since we have been to the Crayola factory and he loves to color. I decided to try the game myself first to see if it would be good for him. Needless to say, I could not even figure it out, you can't control the characters on the screen, and when I clicked on the coloring book on the main screen to try that, the game would not take me there. Unfortunately, you can't rank a game zero, because this one deserves it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WORST GAME EVER MADE!!

posted by Darnell (CHEHALIS, WA) Aug 22, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

I bought this game for my 5 year old daughter and she doesn't like it. It was a total waste of my money. I bought it because I thought it would have lots of coloring and since it was made for kids I thought it would be pretty easy. Boy was I wrong. It did have coloring but it is not easy at all. I couldn't even figure most of it out. You have to draw blocks and bridges and if you mess up she turns around and walks the other direction!!! I have so many complaints on this game! Don't ever rent this or buy this!! It is a terrible game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Tough

posted by cook85 (SPRING VALLEY, CA) Aug 20, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

My 4 year old couldn't get ahold of the controls. So definitly don't recommend for younger children. I could barely get ahold of what to do. The worst part about it was not being able to control your character. It just walked on its on and you to block it in. So this isn't a game that is kid friendly because even my 12yr old sister was having trouble.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BORRING !!

posted by Tsoethe (VERO BEACH, FL) Jun 30, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

Once you get the hang of what you are supposed to do that is about the end of it! It was very difficult to play because the charaters just kept walking.. you could not control them. Very disappointing !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great for the kids

posted by dredcel (DEPEW, NY) Apr 14, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

I have a son age 7 and he had a blast with this game. My neices ages 8/5 loved it to. The tutorial helped them figure out the controls. Pretty easy to understand

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »