Rent Crash of the Titans for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Crash of the Titans

Not Rentable
Also on:DS, PS2, GBA, Wii, PSP Games
GF Rating
7.0

1631 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Crash of the Titans is DEFINITELY worth playing...

posted by nixhex311 (IRWIN, PA) Nov 20, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

but not a purchase worthy game.

At least in my mind due to the replay value of the game. Definitely a fun game for those that were a fan of the previous 'crash' titles, abliet a little different gameplay.

I imagine if you played on easy it wouldnt take you that long, but setting the difficulty to hard (and trying to max out all your stuff to effectively get all the required achievements and such) will give you about 13-18 hours of gameplay.

Definitely not an EASY 1000 (gamerpoints) but with some time and thoroughness you can get the 1000 in your first run through of the game.

Definitely worth checking out!

XBL:thenixhex311

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Crash...what have they done to you?

posted by Yggdrassil (TAUNTON, MA) Nov 6, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Being a big fan of Crash Bandicoot since he was first introduced to the PS1, I was expecting to play a bad game when I saw this. I was pleasantly surprised. Granted, it's not the best I've ever played, but it's not the worst either. The game has incredibly tight controls, some good graphics, and it does provide a few laughs. The levels are challenging, but it doesn't push the line. They make it fun, but challenging.

The game isn't all sunshine and rainbows though. It has some flaws. One being unskippable cut-scenes. No matter how times you do a level, you have to watch the scene over and over again. The game also throws in some cheap deaths with the enemies. The characters are STALE. I can't stress this enough. I don't know what development was thinking when they were making them. The humor runs real dry, real fast. There are some funny parts, but a lot of it is just, ugh.

Honestly, that's all I really found bad with the game. I had fun time playing this game. The achievements are challenging, but also really fun and satisfying when you get them.

Though these aren't the same characters I grew up with, Crash of the Titans was a fun experience. With great level design, some humor, and challenge, this game was well worth the rental. Even if you're skeptical, just give it a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent kids game!

posted by catinabox (SOSO, MS) Jan 9, 2009

Member since Jan 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is really fun for both adults and children alike. Graphics are lacking a bit but thats to be expected on a game for kids. The sound is really good too, the monsters all have a funny accent for each region which keeps it funny all the time. I reccommend you pick this up if you have the chance :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

hey check it

posted by Hector79 (HIALEAH, FL) Aug 12, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

game is just to much fun and im 29 nuff said so the game is good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Crash Game since the Original Playstation

posted by JSilver (STUARTS DRAFT, VA) May 7, 2009

Member since May 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is, in my opinion, the Best Crash game since the very first Crash Bandicoot game which came out for the Playstation one in 1995. I remember when The Lair of Cortex came out for Xbox around 2002....and I hated it. This game has a much different layout and premise as the original, but it re-ignited my interest in playing as Crash again after some bad sequels and a long wait. In this game you get to "Jack" different types of monsters donning different attacks which is big fun. The graphics are colorful and bright. The levels are laid out in a way that resembles the original Crash Bandicoot by running straight ahead to the end of the levels. The controls are solid and very responsive. My only complaint was that I had a very frustrating time with the Boss at the end of level 17 on normal, forcing me to restart a whole new game on easy to enable me to beat the game. But you can play this game co-op which I wasn't able to do but it looks like it would be fun and make fighting a bit easier and more even. So, if you have been craving a decent Crash game and you haven't played Crash of The Titans....then give this a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not like the old days

posted by SmokinJOE (GARLAND, TX) Dec 26, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I got this game for my kids because they weren't around to know "Wrath of Cortex"...From what I gathered from this game, it's nothing at all like the older Playstation 2 versions, but my kids enjoyed it. The graphics are ok, but my mind was still stuck in "old days" mode. It's better than some games I've played, but at the same time, if I want to play Crash Bandicoot, I'll drag out the old one from WAY back in the year 2001.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

classic

posted by lilgruzzer (LIVERPOOL, NY) Jul 28, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

frankly, this game is bad. But if you like the classic crash games you will enjoy this game for the first time through, but the game only lasts about 5 hrs. so rent this DONT BUY IT!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's mostly good

posted by Jetpack (PUYALLUP, WA) Jul 16, 2008

Member since May 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Whether or not it's like previous Crash games, it's still a fun platformer in my opinion. There's a lot of hidden idols, costumes, abilities, etc. to collect. Most of the dialog is funny and well written and the voice acting is actually pretty good.
My only real gripe is the sometimes frustrating jacking system, especially in the large melee battles where you must work you way up the jacking ladder by jacking smaller enemies and working your way up to the largest one in the battle, especially if you start on foot and even worse if you're facing more than one enemy at once while on foot. This will a lot of times happen because you die during a large battle then the game decides to start you off at the beginning of that battle on foot when originally you started that battle riding a jacked creature. Aside from that complaint, this is a solid platformer with a lot to offer most gamers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Excellent replay value in my opinion

posted by scavenger (DELBARTON, WV) May 16, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game keeps me in stitches just listening to the random dialogues. Graphically it is Crash Bandicoot so don't expect wizardry in that department. Playability is excellent and it becomes even more fun as you collect more mojo and power up. I can and have played through this game several times. It is just laid back and fun and well worth the purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Co-op Game!!

posted by Kingjip (WEST YARMOUTH, MA) Mar 12, 2008

Member since Jun 2004

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a really fun co-op game. It's a little easy but that doesn't mean it's not fun. I played thru the whole game with my 8 year old daughter and we had a blast. The graphics aren't anything special, about on par with an Xbox game. There's a lot of extras to grab to like different skins which have different effects for Crash. There's 20 levels and each one takes about 20 minutes. We beat the whole game on easy in about 8 hours.
One downside to playing Co-op os only the main player will receive achievements for playing. That's kinda of a bummer but my daughter didn't seem to mind.
Definitely a great renter, maybe to purchase if you want to 100%. Gets a little tougher on hard. We played hard up til the 3rd level but got stuck so we dropped it down to easy. Great game for co-op with the littles ones!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

a different crash experience

posted by kevinwpbfl (WEST PALM BEACH, FL) Mar 10, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Crash of the Titans isnt really like the earlier Crash Bandicoot titles, whereas the older titles were more platformers, the new Crash of the Titans is more action and combat orientated.
Its still alot of fun though and does a good job of keeping the Crash humour(i got a chuckle out of the missions names)
the graphics are solid and the framerate moves along well.
the sound is good as well the voice acting is done very well.
the game controls pretty decent no complaints there either.
achievements are easy to get, takes about 20 hours to get all 1000 points.
all in all its worth renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good/great game

posted by htfdwlfpac (EAST HARTFORD, CT) Oct 12, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

7 out of 15 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

AS youve read in other reviews this game isnt like alot of the oth Crash games,BUT WHO CARES. A new company has taken over the Crash saga and did a very good job. THis isnt a horribe game as someone else said it was. Is it a 10,no its not but its VERY GOOD. Rent it before you by it and try it out. I liked it very much

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Just off by a little bit

posted by morgan72 (STRATFORD, CT) Jan 22, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game close to being a lot of fun, but there was something just a little off. The gameplay was pretty fun, and the missions were imaginative and challenging, but it was a little "off" in re to the game having a personality if you follow me. The sound effects, background music, etc just didn't jibe to keep everything cooking like a Sonic style game for the nex-gen. Add a few more moves, unlock the 360 degree visualization and some more oomph to the characters would have really added something. It was ok for a winter weekend of messing around, and I am sure the kiddies will like it, but take it or leave it. I'd be interested in an improved sequel though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Crash can still be fun.

posted by xTCATx (MOBILE, AL) Nov 20, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I've been a fan of Crash since the playstation 1 console and since the series has gone down hill for a long time, Crash of the Titans is a giant step in the right direction, i found some of the original sounds that i remember from the first few games missing but other than that the game is really fun to play..kinda hard at some points. If your a crash fan don't miss it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Flawed, but Good

posted by DaMikeSC (COLUMBIA, SC) Mar 9, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Crash was the first big 32-bit mascot platform star. His PSX games were absolutely a blast to play --- well, the first 3. The forced perspective and the occasional races into the camera were fun challenges.

Time has not been good to these games, though, since the 32-bit era died. Wrath of Cortex was pretty tired and while Twinsanity was amusing, it was hardly awesome.

So, my faith in Crash of the Titans didn't start off high.

The game, honestly, is not bad. They decided to not make the exact same Crash again and, instead, opted for a different type of experience and I must applaud them for that.

The game is a pretty traditional platformer, but with the gimmick of your ability to "jack" stronger enemies. And while the gimmick is a nice addition, it also becomes the biggest failing in the game.

The levels are nice looking and the controls are not terribly hard to get straight. But, the levels tend to be lengthy and the ending of them tend to be headache inducing and are more tedious than enjoyable most of the time.

It is a nice touch that you actually have to jack smaller enemies to get to the biggest ones --- but when you have to fight several smaller ones at once and you can't deal with them one at a time, you have a mechanic that becomes more of a nuisance than a joy.

In fact, these constant level ending battles ended up making me stop playing the game. It got irksome beyond all words to have to hope that you don't somehow die on your first life because getting through that whole final boss encounter when you start off on foot and weak is just enough to make one dislike life.

I have a bit of hope for Crash after this as there does seem to be some potential here, but the game is way too flawed to recommend to anybody.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Worst Crash Ever

posted by OldSkool36 (SAN GABRIEL, CA) Nov 28, 2007

Member since Jul 2004

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

As a big fan of the Crash games on the Playstation, especially the first one, I gave this game a chance even after watching disappointing trailers of the game. I have to say that they took everything that was great about Crash games and threw it out the window. The gameplay sucks, the characters are annoying, and it's just a big waste of time. Those other reviewers are way too generous. This game sucks, and if it wasn't a Crash game then no one would even know that it was made.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Wonderfully entertaining

posted by JeromeJTK (ROCHESTER, NY) Oct 16, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I recently purchased this game after enjoying the demo quite a bit. I think it's it's very well done and entertaining with some funny dialog to boot. My only complaint so far is that it looks like it's going to be a short game. I played a bunch the night I bought it, reaching a 25% game completion level. I'm enjoying it so I hate to see the main story-line come to an end and only left with going back and trying to get certain things, replay value will be a little low.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Wow

posted by ChazfromNV (LAS VEGAS, NV) Oct 9, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

5 out of 18 gamers (28%) found this review helpful

I cannot believe how horrible this game really is it is nothing like Crash 1,2,3 and Ctr For Ps1 i mean its nothing like it. Its Very Cheesy and for young kids but it is insanely boring and repetitive if you are a crash fan dont get this game because you will be very dissapointed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Crash of the titans

posted by spyrofan (ADAMS, MA) Oct 14, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game is awsome i love to play it in my free time it would be a great game for children and adults alike. It has all the original characters that you remember from the ps2 or ps1 games. I gave this game a 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME GAME!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by matthew13 (CHESWICK, PA) Nov 2, 2012

Member since Jul 2010

I HAVE THIS GAME AT HOME BUT IT IS FOR WII AND I WAS THINKING I SHOULD GET IT FOR XBOX CAUSE I WILL BE GETTING RID OF THE WII CAUSE I AM GETTING THE WIIU SO THAT IS WHY I WANTED TO SEE IF I SHOULD TRA DE IT IN OR JUST GET RID OF ALLMY GAMES TOO. WELL CYA BYE...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Supa bad game

posted by blizzard98 (CHICAGO, IL) Jan 26, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

This was a horrible game. what happen to the old crash i know and love. Now this game is just so bad, what happen to the only moves were spin, jump, crouch. Now you can punch thats just bad i mean supa bad. There was no point of making this game and thsi was just plain waste of money and if it wasnt shame on you people. It takes money to make great games dummies.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

back to the good old days

posted by Jonsayman (WABASH, IN) Jul 24, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

I like this game because it reminds me of the clasic crash games no it is not platform but not yet free roam. it has a good story line and to top it off you get to kill huage titans and ride them using them agenst the little gyes

i say if you like the old crashes you should check it out

The saymannater

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Crash of the Titans

posted by LadyD37 (SARASOTA, FL) Feb 23, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Found game to be very frustrating and not entertaining.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fairly Good

posted by jaguar7676 (TITUSVILLE, FL) Dec 24, 2008

Member since Nov 2004

Good Graphics, ease of button use and funny storyline make this a worthwhile rental. The only problem is that it's too short. I finished it in one setting, course i could have made the difficulty setting harder.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

VERY GOOD FOR CHILDREN

posted by diggler (HIALEAH, FL) Aug 31, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

MY 3.5 YEAR OLD AND MY FOUR YEAR OLD BEAT IT IN SEVEN DAYS THEY HAD LOADS OF FUN PLAYIN TOGETHER NEXT UP INDIANA JONES!!! WISH THEY MADE MORE GAMES LIKE THIS

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse