Rent Crash: Mind Over Mutant for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Crash: Mind Over Mutant

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, Wii, PSP Games, DS
GF Rating
5.8

1196 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Crash Has a Mental Overload Comeback!

posted by marshall84 (ASHEVILLE, NC) Oct 14, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2008

13 out of 18 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

I just got it today & wow I’m having so much fun! I can’t put down the controller! The gameplay went back to the roots & original feel of the 1st Crash Bandicoot for PS1. Graphics are very bright, beautiful maps,environments,& controls are simple. The Tiki masks that gave you Invincibility are not in the game so far of what I’ve played. Note, I’ve played for over 4 hours now.

Crash has the ability to take over the minds of his enemies in this new game. Crash can also absorb an ability the foe he’s battling & defeats. It’s an interesting & unqiue concept that works very smooth, hands down. The levels of course are quite long. Some timed mini-missions that were secrets from the previous Crash games of the series.

You can still collect those classic golden apples for points! I’m a Fan of Crash Bandicoot, except for Crash Bandicoot: Wrath of Cortex. I wasn’t fond of that title as much. For anyone who is new to the Crash series, I most definitely recommend renting it, to see if it suits your style & type of gameplay you enjoy.

The game involves vast amount of puzzles, many enemies just about every turn you make. For those Crash Fans I definitely recommend put in short: go out and buy it. I don’t think it’ll disappoint any Crash fan. The developers did a fine job bringing crash back to life in a very nice refreshed manner & it turned out fantastic! Hands down.

My only main concern is the camera angles, they don’t tend to go with you as you move Crash, running, rolling, spinning-kicks, dive-bombs into the floor, and so on. Overall, this is a very well deserved 9 out 10. I hope you enjoy this game as much as I have. I appreciate your time for reading the review. Enjoy! Happy Gaming!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Crash! Where Arte thou?

posted by CrazeFan (BROOKLINE, MA) Dec 6, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Big Bro (High school gamer): I used to play Crash as a kid, and he was one of my favorite mascots of all time. Better than Mario, better than Sonic. Today Crash is in the hands of Sierra, who've done NOTHING good for it.

It's the same story. Crash goes after Cortex, and to be honest it's actually pretty good. I admit the cut scenes are funny, and they bring the old crash charm back to the game, but that's about all that's good.

I hear this game was developed in 1 year, and boy does it show. The "open world" aspect is so unneeded and so annoying. In an early interview replay-ability was mentioned, and boy the replay-ability of the game is AGRRESIVE. You will constantly be running the same levels over and over (sometimes backwards.) There's absolutely nothing that made me want to play the game after the story (even though the game told me I had only finished 43% of it.)

Oh, and one question... Why does crash get dizzy?!? In the old games he used to spin forever and it didn't alter the game's difficulty!

Little Bro (Youth gamer): I started my own game on this and it took my forever to get around. The game is also hard because it doesn't always tell you what to do.
Big Bro: Sure it does, it's just not very helpful to the rest of the game.
Little Bro: uh... Some of the monster's powers are just not useful to game play. (True) The story line was extremely short, and why did they bring the old guy back?
Big Bro: for the fans. Actually i do admit that was a nice move, although you never see N-brio outside of cut scenes.

Finally:
Crash Bandicoot just isn't the same. Honestly, it's a game to make money. Here's an idea! Bring crash back to level based, bring back spinning, and bring back Tanwa! I loved Crash's girlfriend in the first game, why was she kicked off?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

What Happened to Crash Bandicoot?

posted by motox9 (CANTON, OH) Apr 7, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

What ever happened to crash bandicoots like the original 3 or 4 of them for the PS1? I personally dont like what happened to the Crash Bandicoot series. Crash has physically and mentally changed throughout the game series. For example just look at the cover of this game, then look at the cover of Crash Bandicoot one, see the difference. And where did all these mutant creatures and stuff come in??? seriously. I give this game a rating of 2 or 1 because of what happened to the series

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Disappointing

posted by MsMeowMeow (THOMASTON, GA) Oct 1, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Yay! Another video game that gives you no clue as to how to get through a level! (sarcasm)Just the thing to have a pleasant gaming experience. (/sarcasm)

Seriously, when are game designers going to "get it" when it comes to level design? I don't mind a puzzle here or there, but when you can't rotate the camera to SEE WHERE YOU ARE GOING and you have crazy levels that you cant figure out where you need to go, then that's just bad level design.

Bleh. Unless you enjoy frustration, stay away from this stinker.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not working

posted by 5n0ugh (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) May 8, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

it was scratched up so i couldnt play it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Maybe I Missed The Boat....

posted by FloydBoy3 (WASHINGTON, NC) Mar 24, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Totally disillusioned and returned the game with only 35% completed. Up until now, I have NEVER, not concluded a Crash game (hangs head in shame and disparagement.) It's nothing for me to sit down and complete all levels of a Crash in a weekend, then go back to wrap up the loose ends. 'Mind over Mutant' had me and Crash spinning aimlessly around in circles until we were both dizzy; back and forth; there was no direction. The graphics were fair to middling and I enjoyed a few chuckles over the comments from the characters, but personal it was a huge waste of time and effort. Keep in mind opinions are like belly buttons and another famous orifice of the human anatomy in that they are both smelly and we all have one. ~:-}

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

very bad

posted by ZOMG123 (BUDD LAKE, NJ) Nov 3, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

i prefer the other crash bandicoots like the 1st and other ones. this one completely changed what crash bandicoot really was and i didnt likeit. they should of kept it in its original game. now u dont beat levels or anything. its just a long continous ridiculus game...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Crash: Mind Over Mutant is a Wreck

posted by Largefont (ORMOND BEACH, FL) Oct 24, 2008

Member since Jul 2005

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game is a complete makeover from the last one which was alot of fun. In this new instalment the camera is fixed which is horrible since you have to explore the world around you and the only way to look around is by moving the character. There are sub levels that barely can be seen and only found by accident. You try to freeze water as you stand next to it and the mutuant missess his target. you then have to wait for the power bar to recharge in order to try again which takes about a minute. its not like the first which you jump onto a mutuant and then jump onto another. This game is just bad. you are not taken to new worlds instead the map of the same world expands and you will not even know it; so you become lost. you will not know what to do next.

Sloppy sloppy sloppy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

crash mind over mutant

posted by layzboy (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Dec 21, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

its a good game just after a while it gets boring because of the walking distance it makes u walk from one point to another which is very boring and the cut scenes of the game are a little bit odd

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Honest Review

posted by MigPortes (BRONX, NY) Nov 9, 2008

Member since May 2007

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Only rent this game if you have kids at home, or if you are really bored and all the games in your Queve are not available.
I got this game thinking it was easy 1000 achievement points, butit wasnt like that. The game is not difficult, but to get all the acheivements you need to find a lot of hidden stuff all over the maps and the story and gameplay are not interesting enough to keep you doing so for so many hours.
On top, of that the controls are not the greatest around and the graphics are so SO.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A pretty nice Crash game

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Oct 25, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

One thing i would like to say before i even start is if you have only played the first Crash Bandicoot, you might not like this game because i thought this game is quite different. I personally loved all the crash bandicoots, and i like this one too. Not as much as the old ones but its still very good. I thought the first one is just that classic that can never be beaken. One different thing is when your in a mission and a cut scene shows up its like a cartoon (and sometimes black and white). I think the graphics are not really as good as they could be. The story line is ok, but ive seen better. Most of the stuff from the last games is in this one too. It says that it has Live for it, but i honestly didnt see how to use it. But its proubly like coop or something. Overall i liked this game and you really need to consider renting this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME,AMAZING U NAME IT

posted by DoRRitoMAnN (OLDSMAR, FL) Dec 18, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

I LOV THIS GAME I PLAYED AS A KID AND ALWAYS WILL :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Game is an endless maze

posted by fredthebeagle (LANSING, MI) Oct 9, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

I liked the easy gameplay controls of this game, and I didn't mind the cut scenes. Thats about all I have thats good to say about this game. I got about 2% % of the way through it and it told me to "Go to some school or another" and I then spent about 2 hours of play time running in circles trying to find the location. The map doesn't make it at all obvious how to move around, and the camera doesn't allow you to change your perspective. I'm sure I was just missing a door or a ladder or something that I COULDN'T SEE. So if you like aimlessly running around in circles and getting mad because you can't see where your going, then you'd love this game. Otherwise, its dumb. Sending it back at 25% completion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

SUCKS

posted by lilimary47 (SUNNYVALE, CA) Apr 27, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

THIS GAME SUCKED IT WAS A WASTE OF MY TIME AND MONEY. DO ALL OF US A FAVOR TAKE THE GAME OFF THE MARKET AND THROW IT IN THE BURNER!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Could have been pure gold, but...

posted by abraham (ARLINGTON, VA) Jan 23, 2011

Member since Jul 2006

To be fair, I love Crash Bandicoot, so this might seem biased to those non-fans of both the series and cartoony platformers. That being said, I would have given this a 9 except for three things: it's repetitive, insequential, and way too obtuse; in other words, finding the collectibles is a near exercise in futility because you can't get to them without jacking a monster somewhere down the line, and, again, this gets repetitive, because you have to go back to levels that you get sick of seeing over and over in order to get collectibles (I go to the trouble of doing this because I'm a 360 achievement hound).

And unlike other games in the series, getting from one area to the next is way too difficult, to the point of being downright irritating. Other than that, it was seriously addicting fun, and as funny as ever. It seems like nowadays every game is rated based on its online playability, which (mostly) isn't my thing, and I miss the humor and cartoony distraction of fun platformers, because Crash Bandicoot always reminds me of watching my favorite cartoons on Saturday mornings as a kid. Definitely worth a try, and overall, it was worth the wait.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWSOME

posted by Mongrel (BURTON, MI) Sep 10, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

ok this game was amazing, i love the different animation styles for the cutscenes. Yeah you may only have like 35% when you beat the story but that gives you a great reason to Keep playin to get all the great secrets! Now i admit the camera got irritating at times, BUT this is the perfect games for Chrash fans Young and Old!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst game ever

posted by vaedalsam (HALTOM CITY, TX) Jul 18, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

They should have just left crash as the classic lvl play game everyone loves instead they screwed it up by trying to throw some free play in there and screwed it completely up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Games this bad shouldn't be released

posted by honkyjesus (GREEN BAY, WI) May 12, 2010

Member since May 2010

Where to start? First off, the game itself seems to be an Arcade title, and a cheaply made one at that. This bears no resemblance to the original few games on PlayStation, this plays like a kid's game that should have never been released. Bad rental, bad game. I have plently more space but nothing more needs to be said.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

My 5 year old loved this!

posted by Huntress (ALISO VIEJO, CA) Nov 5, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

I have to give top stars to this game. It was fun, exciting and my 5 year old loved playing it.

The game is just plain fun. Very game player friendly. It can be boring towards the end since it is a wash, rinse, repeat type of game. That's one reason I rent games rather than continuing to buy them!

However, it is very entertaining and will keep their interest for awhle.
It is not difficult and my little guy had no problem with any aspect of the game. But then he is a very good gamer.

I recommend this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Crash: Mind over Mutant

posted by bLuEfiRe81 (GRAFTON, ND) Feb 20, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

I didn't play a Crash game in like a decade... and after this game I think I've been missing something. Crash: Mind Over Mutant is a good platformer, great for people of all ages. Also, you can play with a buddy at the same time and same screen. Though, the cons of playing with a buddy is that who ever is player 2 doesn't get any achievment points... come on! Other than that you're going around finding parts to fix a tivo... then try to stop Envo's new mind device from taking over the world. Bottom line... You can rent it or buy it... it's good times!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

crash mind over mutant

posted by pimp022 (MUSKEGON, MI) Nov 22, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

this game is okay but first one is better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

For new gamers only

posted by Steevo (WATERFORD, CT) Oct 20, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

Pros:
+ The game itself operated flawlessly, as far as controls/visuals/loading. No bugs/glitches/slow-downs or such were noticed.
+ I can see the appeal to a younger audience
+ The game mechanics are very simple, with only a few combos and such to remember

Cons:
- The fixed camera is a real draw-back, as some of the exploration has the character moving 'down', towards the player. 80% of screen real estate is forward looking, and only a small sliver shows geography 'below' the character. This limited viewing window becomes very frustrating, very quickly. Enemies 'below' the character become obscured.
- Level progress sometimes becomes frustrating as doorways, buttons and switches are sometimes not apparent. Though, this is mainly due to the art style of the game.

Overall:
This game would be best suited for a younger, less experienced audience. An audience that still learning to use the controller and could not handle having their attentions split between complex control schemes and deep storyline.

Anyone who picks up a controller and naturally tries to 'move' with one analog stick and 'look' with the other will find themselves frustrated often.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Okay gameplay - easy achievment points

posted by tunatoast (TORRANCE, CA) Oct 18, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

Just to ellaborate, I'm only two hours in and close to 200 achievement points. The gameplay is smooth and realtively easy thus far. However, there were a few spots which were frustrating. Some of the jump attempts are ridiculous and areas can be misleading.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »