Rent Crash: Mind Over Mutant for Wii
view large frontback

Crash: Mind Over Mutant

Not Rentable
GF Rating
6.5

665 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sort of a Good Game

posted by Matthew17 (ONALASKA, WA) May 22, 2010

Member since May 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The mutants are good and the cut scenes in the co-op mode are awesome. When you jump from platform to platform you really don't know where you are going to land. The monsters are awesome. The game was easy to beat. I am 11 years old. The game should be harder to win than it was. There should also be more bosses.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

loving this

posted by kgralnik (HAYWARD, CA) Oct 20, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

been a bandicoot fan since the first one on playstation... n this wii version is a keeper

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Move Over, Mario! (Not Really, But Still...)

posted by lemonball (CHARLESTON, SC) Sep 2, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

While Mind Over Mutant isn't going to rival Super Mario Galaxy in terms of great platformers, it's getting there.

Pros
-Mutants. They are awesome.
-cool graphics, especially the cutscenes
-funny, random humor
-FULLY EXPLORABLE! YES!
-a pretty good story

Cons
-harder to reach distant platforms
-only a few new mutants; TK, Grimly, and a redesigned Stench
-needed more bosses

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

New Title Same Game Play

posted by Twiinz30 (DESOTO, TX) Jun 17, 2009

Member since Feb 2004

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed the previous Crash game however this one plays the same except the levels are little harder to get through. Now that Naughty Dog is no longer developing Crash....well the games are not as good.

I would rent this game but I would only buy it if it was going for less than $20.00

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Lots of Fun

posted by Creaks (RIALTO, CA) Mar 18, 2009

Member since May 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was a keeper. It is a lot of fun to play. The easy level is not too hard, but is enough so you can enjoy the game. And at least when you die, you just start over a short way from where you died. There are lots of places to save your game as you go along, so you don't have to keep playing through the one level-- way past your bedtime just to get through the level and not lose your place.

I could only find one walkthrough for the game at youtube under mariofan110 user name. The walkthrough is video and did help me in the few areas that I got stuck in.

The controls are easy to learn and it's lots of fun to go around bashing things up to get the little jewels.

I played it for a week, then decided I had to have it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A "Crash" course in 3D platforming

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Oct 16, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Stop me if you've heard this before: In the latest installment in the Crash Bandicoot series, the evil Dr. Cortex tries to become ruler of the land, and it's up to Crash and his friends to stop him. (Okay, it's not very original).
And just like the other installments, Mind over Mutant is a 3D platformer; you go from one point to another, jump over lots of stuff, collect lots of stuff, beat stuff up and do special moves.
But Mind Over Mutant suffers from the same headaches many other 3D platformers have.
First, a fixed camera that makes it hard to navigate the route, especially when you're walking towards said camera.
Then, the game has you backtracking several times over. In the middle of the game, I went though the same section three time in a row. That's far too much.
Third, the map is not very helpful; it's easy to get lost. When you do get lost, the game will try your patience as you make a very long trek to get back on track.
And some of the jumps made me grit my teeth in anger as I watch Crash fall to his death - several times over.
Still, there are some good thing about Mind Over Mutant. The mutant powers at your disposal are ingenious and fun. Beating up small guys with a huge monster is very fulfilling.
And I like the art style of the cut scenes (which are hilarious.) The story does tend to drag a bit, most notably in the middle where in order to get past a door you have to go through a long walk into the desert to get a creature that will open said door.
Crash: Mind Over Mutant is a game to rent and try - then you decide if you want to buy it or not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the allotments game

posted by jacobblast (BELLE VERNON, PA) Oct 24, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

it is the best game EVER beter than crash of the titans it so good i beat it . il give a code hold b in on a snip and it firing will increse 20 x foe.the funny part is when cortex says this.( cortex;and please no deth trap that take ten flippen hours.) ha ha ha ha. by oh p.s.after you save coco and crunch you yes you can where an nv and not turn evil it will rase your attack 100,000,000,000,000,000,0- 00,000,000 foe. just beat 1,000 mutants. and you can make the doomantor work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best crash game ever

posted by kingkool (LARCHMONT, NY) Oct 12, 2008

Member since May 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This was the best crash game i have ever played! Buy it or rent it it doesnt matter

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not Bad, But Not Good

posted by CJOB988 (EAST FALMOUTH, MA) Jun 23, 2013

Member since Jun 2007

I have played nearly every Crash Bandicoot game there is, and this game wasn't fun. There were good things and bad things.

Bad:
-Same Mutants
-Only a few new mutants
-Hard-to-reach places
-Feels like i'm playin the previous game

Good:
-Funny Cutscenes
-Cool Places
-Co-op

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good game. Bad controls

posted by pokemon1 (SAN CARLOS, CA) Mar 19, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

It's a good game but really bad controls it's better if you get it on a different console.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

That a big mutant... I bet I can ride it!

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Jul 3, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

Crash: Mind Over Mutant brings Crash Bandicoot back to the battle against Cortex and his low-rent minions. While I haven't played the last Crash (Crash of the Titans), all the media looks the same, suggesting little has evolved. Then again, Crash doesn't do anything Mario hasn't already covered.
Basically, Crash has to protect Wumpa Village (Mushroom Kingdom) from the evil Dr. Cortex (Bowser). Crash disposes of a host of generic minions (goombas and koopas), gains power-ups (fire flower) and collects orbs (coins). Occasionally, he'll fight a boss battle (koopa kids).
I know, Crash is different: he rides mutants. This is the main difference that sets him apart from other platform heroes. You can hop on the big monsters in the game and use their unique talents to advance in the level or simply waste other enemies. These mutants, as well as Crash, can gain levels while collecting orbs. The more orbs you collect while using the fire monster, the more strength upgrades you get. These monsters can die, but experience is applied to the type of monster, so no worries.
When playing Crash, smacking minions around can greatly increase your multiplier, up to 20x. This means all your orbs give you more experience, very useful at higher levels. Each upgrade gives Crash a nice bonus to spin strength, health punching power, etc. But if you get hit just once, you lose your multiplier and have to start again.
There are technical flaws with jumping and ridge climbing which comes with the control scheme. Some of the monsters have wonky controls or slow attacks, making them hinder rather than help. The cartoon cutscenes are clever, but far too long. And there's significant backtracking.
Crash should be respected for surviving in a genre full of icons. But he doesn't have enough of an identity to truly stand out. You'll like Crash, but you won't love him.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »