Rent Cranium Kabookii for Wii
view large frontback

Cranium Kabookii

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
3.6

434 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

why bother renting this??

posted by tibbot16 (WEST HURLEY, NY) Dec 28, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

I don't understand why GameFly rents this game. You have to have the decoder glasses for anything to make sense. This was our first game from GameFly and it's upseting that it was such a bad experience. It's going back after only 1 day.
My advice, don't waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Try before you buy, no solo riders multiplayer fun

posted by gamer2k7 (KAYSVILLE, UT) Dec 4, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

13 out of 15 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

Anyone that has played the game Cranium, would be interested in what the Nintendo Wii counterpart Kabookii has to offer. Or at least this was my thought when I played it. After a search of a single video online, my interest was sparked on buying this game. It starts by having you select 2, 3 or 4 teams. This means that to play the game you should logistically have at least 4, 6 or 8 players. There are a plethora of mini-games that come from the board game and some that are Wii only. My personal favorite is Globetrotter. In it you have to search the globe for countries with flags, or countries with the largest landmass. The only problem is that the only order you play these games in is the order in which you spin them from a wheel (so completely up to chance). I have played the Globetrotter game once in a series of 3 complete games. A complete game is played to 24 points. But that aside, most of the games seem well built, with only one or two of the games don't feel quite right. Name that tune is a great example. You have to play a tune hitting musical balloons in sequence while your team guesses the tune. You have decoder glasses to see the name of the song they are to guess, yet without decoder glasses you can still read the hidden message fairly clearly if you look. I suppose it is meant to be played on the honor system, or if you don't directly look at the message corner you may not see the answer.
In conclusion, the game has it's perks and to those who are fans to the series the game will be enjoyed. To others the fifty dollars could be a bit much to a game where the mini-game selection is left to chance in a battle to 24.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Is this A "PARTY" game

posted by brockly (MODESTO, CA) Dec 1, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

20 out of 24 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

# of players: 1 (WRONG)

you will be needing 4+ people to play this game. I would have to say 8 or more to make it real fun.

Game-fly should not pick this game to rent. they dont give what you need to play the game. You need glasses (red plastic see threw) to read what you need to do and your team mates need to guess what your doing. I'm using a plastic see threw cups to see how the game gose. And going to look in stores to find something that will work or what I can make.

All in ALL if you have game nice in your household and there 4+ of you and you have see threw glasses laying around your house. Rent this one is not. Pick another game.

To bad I was looking to play this game so much..:(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Cranium Kabooki

posted by rhk6204 (WEST HELENA, AR) Jan 25, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Beware...You need special glasses to play this game. I did not receive any glasses so it was impossible to play! I think it would have been really fun if only...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Cranium Kabookii review

posted by USFHbomb (LEHIGH ACRES, FL) Feb 11, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Well, there are 2 main things missing with Cranium Kabookii which doom it to being a bad game.

First, there is no AI computer players whatsoever. You have to play in teams, and at least 2 teams. A mode where the CPU draws and the player has to guess would've worked. A 1-player mode is essential and a glaring ommission.

Second, a practice mode would've been nice. When you're not in the mood to play a full game, it would've been nice to pick and choose.

Oh, and you can't choose the length of your game either.

The core of the game is solid, but the missing features kill it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Waste of Time

posted by KidWarwick (LAS VEGAS, NV) Feb 9, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

This game is a complete waste of time to rent. Without the glasses it is not playable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

boring, confusing rendition of popular board game

posted by VJFranzK (CLAREMONT, CA) Dec 27, 2010

Member since Jan 2008

really bad.

i like the graphics! But the rest of the game is so boring / confusing that we decided to send it back before even finishing one game of it. For example - charades where you gesture with the wiimote, but it don't seem to actually register half the time.

ALSO: Some parts of the game are unplayable without RED GLASSES which must have been included with purchase of the game (DON'T!) but don't come with the gamefly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Cranium Kabookii

posted by fortuna (WALLER, TX) Mar 15, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

Ordered this for the whole family to enjoy, we gave it maybe 15 minutes top and felt what a waste... For one you need "special" goggles/glasses in various parts of the game and because you are renting this - they are not included...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

You'll Need 3-D Glasses

posted by Bosleps (GREENSBORO, NC) Feb 2, 2010

Member since Apr 2006

Some of the games are hard to pick up right away and if you have enough people to play effectively (at least 4, but the more the better), you might as well just bust out the board game! The advantage over the board game, as far as I can see, is the quick setup and cleanup.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Enjoyable!

posted by fyrwyf (HUTTO, TX) Jan 4, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

My family loves the Cranium brand games and have had a blast with this! You do need red glasses in order to play, but if you happen to have 3D glasses laying around, that works. We have the Cranium Cadoo board game and used the red glasses from that. Could also use red cellophane. Definitely would recommend this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Could have enjoyed it more....

posted by wiifamily3 (NORTH HIGHLANDS, CA) Jun 5, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

Unfortunately, GameFly didn't include the decoder glasses that are required for seeing the answers/clues for most of the mini-games within this game. However we enjoyed all of the mini-games that didn't require the glasses
I think the designers did an excellent job bringing the game into the interactive virtual realm. I own Cranium; the board game this video game is modeled after. I love playingit! We are NOT disappointed with the game itself. We are disappointed that GameFly did not include the glasses with our rental. GameFly should state somewhere in the description for this game, that the glasses are NOT included!!!
If the glasses were with it... we WOULD gladly purchase this game. Yeah... Kabooki!!! Boo... GameFly!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Gamefly Error

posted by dearcher (GREENCASTLE, IN) Mar 20, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

I think that this game would have been fun for the whole family except for one very important factor. In order to play most parts of the game, you need red glasses to see the clue that you need to draw. Gamefly did not supply these glasses and we of course did not have any! Other than that, the game would be great for family fun night.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

NO 3-D GLASSES

posted by 7796bry (GRANBURY, TX) Feb 5, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

The game would have been more fun if it had the 3-D glasses. you need them to play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

No glasses available with rental

posted by thomas20 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jan 28, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

this game looks pretty cool, but we never got to play it since we needed the special glasses in order to actually play the game. you'd think that the company would think about something so crucial like that for rental. the glasses are only available with purchase only...not rental. i was thinking about buying it if we could only preview it first. i was hoping to get some kind of credit or something for the time wasted in waiting for shipment both back and forth.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Cranium Kabookii for the Wii

posted by judylouwho (BURTON, MI) Dec 8, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

We did not receive the special glasses you need to play the game. So the first time through was ridiculous because a majority of the games need the special glasses.
We actually had a couple of real cranium games, so my kids searched for a pair and found them. After we had glasses to use it was a little more fun, but some of the games are still hard to do.
We did what it said to do. But the action never happened resulting in no points gained. Which frustrated all of us in a close game competition.

Some parts of it were fun. Probably ok to rent if you have glasses, but we are not interested in buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

good game, but not to rent

posted by roxy260 (HUDSON, MA) Jul 23, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

this game is really cool for anyone who likes two player or party games. But.... it requires speacial glasses to be able to read some of the answeres without anyone else knowing. These glasses did not come when i rented it. i had to just give up those points.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

We couldn't wait for the game to be over.

posted by momof5 (DE FOREST, WI) Jul 16, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

As a mom I'm always looking for games that I can play with all of the kids at the same time, and a game that will entertain everyone. I started playing this with all the kids but by the time we got halfway through the younger two were bored with it and the older kids were only playing to see who would win.

If you have the board game Cadoo this is pretty much the same idea but the board game is more fun. There are word puzzles, drawing, and acting. There's more but I can't remember all of it right now.

The word puzzles are difficult for most kids elementary school aged kids. The drawing my kids liked but it was difficult for them to make the picture how they wanted it while drawing with the remote. The acting part of it was really frustrating even for adults. You have to do the movements just right.

If you have the game Cadoo you can use the red glasses from that game for this game. If you don't have the red glasses then you shouldn't rent this game, you won't be able to read the secret words (even with the glasses it was a little hard.) Overall not worth the time. Play the board game version of it instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not bad... not great.

posted by Western (MILFORD, DE) Jul 14, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

If you bought this game at a store to play, it would be fantastic. Unfortunately, its not so good as a rental. Gamefly does not provide the necessary glasses to view the coded answers on the screen so you really can't fully play the game.
You cannot play by yourself against the computer either, it is designed as a team game.

That being said, it's not bad. Not as fun as the old-fashioned styled board game Cranium itself but cute and entertaining provided you have a couple people and the glasses.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The disc looked like it had been bitten by a dog

posted by cowmom97 (WARWICK, RI) Jul 11, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

This game had small bite marks on it and it was defected.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Just buy the board game

posted by layupfor2 (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Jul 7, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

This is a really bad adaptation of one of my favorite board games. You have to have at least 4 people to play (2 teams with 2 people each). You can't even play half the game because you need special red/blue glasses which gamefly doesn't provide with the game. If you like Cranium, just buy one of there new board games, and don't waste your money on this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Glasses are not needed (just a little enginuity)

posted by mikeull (PALM BEACH GARDENS, FL) Jun 16, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

Okay, before I continue.. I will say that gamefly SHOULD give you a pair of 3d glasses to use.. but they don't.

This game is a ton of fun once 4 or more people get going.

We used a red, translucent piggy bank and a blue wine glass to make our "ghetto goggles" and play the game.

As it turns out, you just need something red to look through with the other eye closed and you can see the secret words fine.

To be honest, I would rather use my own "device" than some grody glasses that have passed all over the country; us gamers usually have dirty heads, lol.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Family game

posted by Marino13 (KOKOMO, IN) Jun 12, 2008

Member since May 2008

I thought this was a really good family game. Luckily we have the decoder glasses from the game, so that made it a lot easier. Myself, my daughter, and my son played and just helped each other out when it came to a game where you needed 2 players, which made it fun. So, even if you don't have enough people for teams you can still play together.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Don't Rent Unless You Have 3D Glasses

posted by pondrboi (CITRUS HEIGHTS, CA) Jun 12, 2008

Member since May 2008

This game was okay and would be good if they had sent the 3D glasses that are needed for many of the games. If it was a low enough price then maybe I would buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's just ok

posted by Genius (CARMICHAEL, CA) Jun 1, 2008

Member since Feb 2004

It's ok but you need at least 4 players to play the way the game was intended to be played. It's true that the glasses aren't included but you can use the glasses from the Cranium Cadoo box game. I would guess that any red cellophane would work, as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Can't play without glasses

posted by amyliz421 (OMAHA, NE) May 12, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

This game might be fun to play if they sent the decoder glasses you need to play parts of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse