Rent Crackdown for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Crackdown

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.6

11060 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Must... get... ORBS!!

posted by KrispyD (YORK, PA) Feb 20, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

148 out of 160 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

In spite of what some might have you thinking at this point, Crackdown is an awesome game. It's the ultimate sandbox. While for some the lack of a cohesive story to hold things together may be a disapointment, but for some, such as myself, the free form ability to do just about anything from the get go is a nice feeling of freedom you don't usually get in a video game.

Your job is to take out 3 gang leaders. To do this, you need to take down at least some of their underbosses. You can do this in any order you want.

The thing you'll be doing the most of, however, is building your skills. In a RPG like twist, you gain experience in things by doing those things. It basically comes down to killing guys certain ways, though there are a few other ways to build up skills. Agility skills are mainly leveled up by collecting green orbs found at the tops of buildings and the like. Collecting these things will haunt you, even in your sleep.

The best part of Crackdown is the coop play. While it's incredibly fun to blow stuff up by yourself, it's even more so when a good buddy is along for the ride. The best part is that you're not limited by some invisible tether, you're both free to roam about the city as you please. The game is so free form that you can choose to just fight each other instead of working together.

The worst part of crackdown is the complete lack of story. It's almost like a low budget FPS in that respect... as in there is none. This is more of a design choice than anything else, and in the overall sence of the game it works, but for some this is something that ruins the game. I like a good story, but Crackdown, I think, actually benefits from the lack of narrative.

Crackdown is one of those games that's hard to explain and rate, especially given the limited space given here on GF. For people who desire a free form playground experience, this is THE game. If you need a story to drive the gameplay, steer clear

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The very definition of a "sandbox" game

posted by Twizlex (DAUPHIN, PA) Feb 20, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

90 out of 100 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

The only thing that would make Crackdown MORE like a sandbox was if the environment was actually made out of sand. Real Time Worlds had this basic concept: take the mayhem part of GTA and turn that into a game. You get the freedom to tackle the "missions" (if you can even call them that) in any order and in a variety of different ways. The basic idea is that there are three gangs that are taking over the city. Each gang has 6 bosses and a kingpin, for a total of 21 gang leaders to take out (7 from each of the 3 gangs). You play on the side of the "Agency" as a supercop, with all the perks of being "super" such as super speed, super strength, super... uh... driving ability. Like the Elder Scrolls series, your skills increase with use. Kick a guy in the teeth or throw a dumpster on a dude and your strength increases. Shoot people in the face (which we all do in real life, right Jack Thompson?) and your firearms skill increases. Blow stuff up with a rocket launcher or grenades and your explosives skill increases. Get the idea? The only skill that doesn't increase this way is agility, which requires you to hunt down "Agility orbs", normally found at the tops of buildings. Collect enough orbs and your speed and jumping height increases. You then utilize your skills to tackle the enemies whatever way you see fit. Jump over the peons to get to the boss, or use your explosives skill to blow EVERYONE up in one move.

The best part about this game is the ability to play with a buddy. The crazy things you can think up with two players are just awesome fun. If you aren't agile enough to scale a building, get in a car and let your friend throw the car onto the building. Or use a car as a bomb by having one person drive it into the enemy and dive out at the last second before the other person shoots the gas tank. The fun is limited only by your imagination. There's no story, really, which may be a bummer to some people, but I think it just gives it more freedom. A solid 9.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Do you enjoy chaos? If so, this is for you

posted by HouseMN (SAINT PAUL, MN) Jan 26, 2009

Member since May 2008

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Take a Saint's Row, GTA style game, subtract the story, add some rather insane player character abilities, sprinkle a little chaos in the mix and you have Crackdown.

As with most of my reviews, I'll start off with the goods and bads, then go into more detail.

Goods:

- Combat is rather intense at times
- Graphics are solid
- Character abilities (super-human) are FUN
- Online co-op is a blast (chaos²)
- Targeting system works well
- Wide open city from the start
- There are plenty of bad guys

Bads:

- Lack of story
- Missions are very repetitive
- You're penalized for doing harm to civilians
- Civilians are too easy to hit with cars (if I weren't penalized, I wouldn't care)

When considering Crackdown, I believe the deciding question one should ask is, "Do I need to have a great story line?" and "Do I want to create mayhem in all sorts of different ways?".

If you can't live without a solid story, you will be disappointed by this title.

If you're looking for a game you can pick up and play for 15 minutes, or hours on end, and cause havoc, this is a good pick, ESPECIALLY if you have a friend to co-op with. My Cousin and I had a blast playing this on live.

The weapons in this game are pretty standard for the most part, but they fit in well and are decently balanced.

Character abilities (as far fetched as they are) are also pretty balanced and add a lot of fun to the game. If this title did not have the ridiculous factor that these abilities bring, it would be a sub-par experience.

The graphics in this game are pretty good. I have seen a few user reviews who say they're absolutely rotten, which I frankly don't understand. Was your TV on? They're definitely not the best in the world, but they are far from terrible.

In the time I spent playing I did not run into any killer glitches or other problems that would make my face hurt.

Overall I found this game to be a lot of fun, and I plan to rent this again down the line.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not the worst game, but not a great one.

posted by Cameron360 (LAKE JACKSON, TX) Aug 1, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I didn't care much for the graphics, gameplay or side missions aka " races " etc. The boses were too easy in my opinion, and it didn't last long. ( took me about 2-3 1/2 hours. And the multiplayer isn't even that great, seriously, lags alot and the only thing giving it 1 thumb up is the fact that you get upgrades and vehicles are cool when you get to a certain level.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Crackdown, Like the white powder?

posted by Whiteness (DEERFIELD, IL) Mar 18, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I found Crackdown to be a good rental. It is not worth a buy but it has a good Co-Op feature which attracted me to the game in the first place. It is a bit of a cops and robbers type game. I would highly recommend putting this on your GameQ. The nice way of leveling up is a also a nice feature. The verticalness of this game is also a great trait.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game!!!

posted by Kitler (KNOXVILLE, TN) May 14, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

22 out of 25 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

No matter what you have heard, I am telling you this is a great game! If you liked GTA, then you will be blown away. The best part about this game is the open world. Go anywhere you want. Get there anyway you want. Play with a friend on Live co-operately. And of course, throw a car on your friend every now and then just to keep him on his toes. Graphics, sound, and gameplay is great. You will not be disappointed. This game will not bore you in the least. Enjoy!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Skeptical at first but it warmed up to me.

posted by Desdecardo (Paso Robles, CA) Jun 14, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

16 out of 18 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

First, I bought this game so that I would have the chance to play the Halo 3 beta.

Second, I didn't understand that the Halo 3 Beta was not going to be immediately available. (yeah... I am stupid.)

Third, the second caused me to hate the game for a couple weeks.

Ok. After those couple of weeks though the game became my most cherished game in my library.

It has the sandbox feel that GTA has. You can choose to complete missions, kill random hooligans, or level up by finding markers around the city. What sets Crackdown apart from GTA is that this game defies the laws of physics. You can jump 6 stories in the air or fall 100 stories and still live. You can blow people up into the air and still fire your projectiles at them and get awarded for it.

The graphics are pretty good for the size of the game. The bad guys are hard but if you are leveled up this doesn't really matter.

The controls are easy if you are used to FPSs.

And once you max all your skills you don't have to worry about loosing skill points by killing innocents or the agents that always get in your way.

It is just a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Good Game

posted by cornflake (CORNELIUS, NC) Nov 13, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game itself is pretty good. It makes you feel like you are the god of the entire city, jumping from rooftops, throwing a semi into a random civilian. But the graphics suck, and there is really not much of a story line. It is really fun if you have a friend over and your bored, and is full of lols, just for the tiny things, like punching soldiers off of rooftops. A must rent, and a possible buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Crackdown lays the smack down!

posted by unifiedac (SACRAMENTO, CA) Oct 10, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is full of non-stop action with plenty of difficult challenges. Unlike the Grand Theft Auto series, Crackdown is more out of a comic book. The power and vehicle upgrades determine your progress and ability to gain achievments, which keeps the game moving and the player interested.

The online multiplayer is no different than the single-player and requires that all players have an excellent connection, otherwise all players will experience some nasty lag.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

That CrackDown is alright

posted by October30 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Sep 25, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It ain't the best game, but if you liked GTA4 and any Hulk games. You might wanna give this one a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

kinda repetetive...

posted by dinomite8 (MURRIETA, CA) Aug 24, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is fun but as you conquer the 3 gangs you will notice the same pattern to what your doing and that makes the story kinda weak. its really easy and the graphics dont even come close to what the xbox 360 is really capable of. On the other hand its always fun to be able to leap across buildings and throw a car into an unexpected crowd of civilians. this game is fun but if your like me youll be sending it back in 1 or 2 days.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Open-City Bliss

posted by VernJargon (GREENVILLE, SC) Aug 9, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

While the combat formula is repetitive: find a boss, go in for the kill, repeat - this game offers a ton of reasons to be a "good guy" and clean up the streets. Whether it is jumping from building to building or blowing up a cluster of baddies with your grenade launcher, true fun is to be found and had in this game. Upgrading your character becomes addictive, as the more you play the higher you can jump, farther you can throw, and so forth until you are almost unstoppable by the end of the game. The achievement points are playfully put into this game, and you will have to work to get all the points. Good fun game without the heady puzzle solving.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Rent it, play it, buy it, love it

posted by MarkDizzle (ROUND ROCK, TX) May 16, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I agree 100% with what Sparxxx said, this is a very enjoyable game. It has long lasting playability and a captivating freedom.

Your ability to maneuver free of time constraints is a key element of the fun. Being able to put it on and just go nuts taking out bad guys gives instant gratification while the well developed story line provides the depth to keep your attention.

The guns, cars, explosives, amazing run and jump abilities, and hand to hand combat are all well done and worthy of spending time developing each.

The graphics are unique in that the items that require detail (such as explosions and water) get it in spades and those that don't (building pillars and ledges) aren't distracting to the eyes.

My recommendation is to download the demo for free and then decide on if you're interested. I'll be you will be!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game is TONS of FUN!!

posted by Sleezebag (DELAWARE, OH) Feb 27, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

Crackdown is what most people call a sandbox game which tipically means that you are in a certain area or space and you get to go ANYWHERE ypu want right from the start of the game (though i dont encourage you do untill you are powered-up enough to take on harder gangs). Crackdown however is a combanation of a sandbox type game and GTA. You go around taking out spacific gang leaders untill you weaken the empire anough to take a shot at the Kingpin. Sucessfully removing the kingpin rewards you with lots of orbs. The orbs you get from enemies power up your character and, depending on how you kil the person, powers up 1 or two of your main skills. Your main skills are Agility, Driving, Firearms, Explosives, and strenghth. All of them power up as they are described except agility which powers up as you gain the supplements scattered around the city. There are also lot sof weapons in Crackdown. There are 3 differnt explosive weapons, three differnt types of granades, about 4 or 5 different machine guns, 2 differnt shotguns,and 2 differnnt snipers. Whats really fun about the game is powering up your skills. Agility makes you run really fast and jump very high, strength makes you have more health and be able to pick up heavier objects, explosives makes things that go BOOM do more damage and have a bigger blast radius, firearms mkes your guns more accurate and stronger and driving makes you cars do some very cool things like go very fast and do barrel rolss and flips! Theer is also and Online co-op but this really insnt too fun because if you want some orbs or somthing you have to kill the peopl eand with somone else there gives you less orbs for yourself. I would really only reccomend co-op if you need help with a mission. Crackdowns hraphics look sorta comic-like. Everything is cell-shaded but it looks good.
GAMPLAY: 10/10
GRAPGICS:8/10
DESIGN:8/10
ONLINE:6.5/10
STORY:7.8/10
OVERALL: 9.6/10 A very fun game that has lots of replay value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best 360 Sandbox Game to Date!

posted by naTeeZZel (EDMONDS, WA) Feb 24, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

The title says it all! Crackdown truly is the best 360 "sandbox" game to date, in my opinion. Although there are some flaws, like horrible music, and lack of story (those are the big two), Crackdown is actually a lot better than I had expected!

Crackdown doesn't have a story what-so-ever. You play as one of many genetically super cops (if you could call them that) which have abilities that you upgrade to be stronger and faster. There are three main gangs in Pacific City. Los Muertos, The Volks, and Shai-Gen. Each gang consisting of many, many gang members, bosses, and the kingpin. There are a total of 21 bosses that have to be eliminated in order to beat the game. That's it. No story. Just plain old shoot the gangs and move on.

The positives of Crackdown are very addicting. First of which are the green agility orbs. These can be similar to finding hidden packages in the GTA series, but far, far more addicting. With 500 of these little green orbs, running around finding them, to me is more addicting than cigarettes! No joke! And the more agility orbs you collect, the faster and higher you jump. You can run about 25 mph and jump 30 feet by collecting a good amount of the agility orbs. Hidden orbs are also a blast to find and those upgrade every ability that you character possesses. These skills are: agility, driving, shooting, explosives, and strength (hand combat). Each can only be up to a four-star rating which is the highest rating for each ability.

The graphics in the game are very unique. It's a mix between cel-shaded and fully textured 3-D graphics. They are not the best on the 360, but the world is by far one of the best I've seen in an open-ended game and the draw distance is just breathtaking. You can literally see the cars and pedestrians move on the other side of the city when standing on top of a tall building.

Final positive thing is the co-op! Simply the best co-op ever by having a friend play with both free roaming. Pretty explanatory.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Loge

posted by LogeMeph (ARLINGTON, VA) Feb 20, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This is by far the best XBOX 360 title to be released since Gears of War. The gameplay is immersive and addictive, primarily because of the spot-on controls and levelling-up features. And despite the weak and misguided review from Gamespot, this game will be a sleeper hit: not only because of the non-linear gameplay and "RPG" aspects of increasing a character's abilities, but because of the brilliant multi-player. A number of my friends and I are already excited about dropping our characters into the expansive game-world and engaging in cooperative play, or just to shred each other to bits. I anticipate countless sleepless nights.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game for any action fan

posted by morph4590 (CEDAR, MN) Dec 3, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

First off lets talk about what crackdown is all about, crackdown is a gta clone but with many tweaks and changes to the game play and graphics and pretty much everything but the mane gta style core game is still here so if your a gta fan you can pretty much just get this right away, in crackdown you play as a agent from the agency, its all pretty vage and dull but crackdown is not about the story and what I mean by that is there is pretty much no story in crackdown there is a weird crazy ending but it doesn't really make sense. The gameplay in crackdown is just awesome the game has this sense of power and super man feel kicking a car 40 feet into a set of explosive barrels and shooting the barrels and watch the body's of dozens of gang members go flying never gets old this is the kind of crazy action that you will be doing in the game, when your of foot, there are a good verity of cars and trucks on the game as well as agency cars that are great fun the drive there really isn't much to say about the driving its pretty basic and you'll be to busy jumping from roof to roof to care about the driving. The graphics in crackdown are great thats all i need to say there just awesome. so over all this is a great game, if you like action games this is the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Nice Change

posted by Krazed (CALDWELL, ID) Feb 21, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The best thing about this game, is your ability to just about whatever you want to when you want to. You are locked out of things like the GTA games or stuck with the monotony that goes with True Crime. Along with missing a more involving story, a nice addition would have been character creation. But, overall I think this is a great game for the 360 and I would like to see more in the future.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Solid....

posted by Fire451 (BURBANK, CA) Feb 26, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Let me start by saying this...DO NOT BUY THIS GAME ONLY FOR THE HALO 3 MP BETA save your $$ for the actual game. With that being said Crackdown is a solid game. I really enjoyed playing a "super" cop and jumping from roof top to roof top brought out the spider man in me. All said and done I had a lot of fun playing this game, for the most part.
My major problem with this game is the voice over guy who guides you in the game. 90% through the game he is still telling me basic things about the game over and over again, and you cant turn theses "hints" off, unless u turn the VOICE volume down, which takes away his 1 good quality, telling you when you have low armor. A couple times he repeated himself 6 times in a row.
The graphics are not next gen compared to G.O.W. and the frame rate has some issues later in the game, im assuming due to the # of baddies on screen, and there are various clipping and camera angle problems.
The story is pretty weak. U need to find the different members of the gang heir achy and defeat the lower members to weaken the defenses of the leader. Each member is supposed to take away a gang attribute like guns or strength, this wasn't to noticeable. Difficulty is basically adding more baddies to fight at once. The biggest problem with the story is the Intel your given about each of the 21 bosses. Sometimes you have to do special things to get to them, but you have to figure it out on your own, the briefing gives you no hints. The most you get is a red exclamation on the screen (but not on your map). Once you get to the boss, especially if u have upgraded explosives and a rocket launcher, bosses are cake, and i mean all of them.
Some of the skills like driving were a waste of time unless ur going for achievements(faster to scale buildings)
Multiplayer is just co-op. This game REALLY needed a 8player vs or something
Although there is a lot of bad, i had fun. Great way to relieve stress/or add stress. RENT first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Most underappreciated Xbox 360 game!

posted by JorgieX (EAST TAUNTON, MA) Dec 9, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Most of us hardcore gamers beat this game found all of the ORBs and are maxed out. I have been playing this game for years now and I still love it. The animation, gameplay mechanics, visuals and the audio are all some of the best on the system even in compared to the latest releases. The game offers drop in and out "entire" campaign Co-Op gameplay were you can go your way and your buddy can go theirs. The open world is the gold standard, you can jump to the top of the highest point in the game and just jump off to the ground smashing everything in your blast radius. Throw trucks, climb just about anything you can grip your hands on and the overall feel of the controls are solid and dare I say perfect. At this point (and price) you owe it to your self to add this to your collection before part 2 comes next year. I hope you like my mini review.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

crackdown

posted by tbmobb (TAMPA, FL) Mar 12, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

good overall game as well as the game play its self. I love the idea of superhuman cops and robbers. The only thing a don't like about the game is the co-op. Better have a lot of friends or u might have a hard time finding someone to play with you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

CRACKTOWN THE GAME

posted by expyeb (GARDENA, CA) Feb 23, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This reminds me of the Incredible Hulk but with machine guns. A very good combat simulator. Overall a solid fun game. The graphics are good but why have the Jet Set Radio look. Remember Wind Waker and the cartoonish Link. Nintendo won't make that same mistake twice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great but needs a patch.

posted by shrapnel (OSHKOSH, WI) Feb 21, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Crackdown is presents gamers with a unique combination of leveling up your skills as seen in RPGs with with the free form game play of sandbox titles like GTA. Giving you the ability to mold your agent into the ultimate force of gang crushing destruction and use him to blow up, gun down, curb stomp, or run down any one and any thing. The game play is what ever you want it to be, you control the pace of the action. Whether you want to sit back with a sniper rifle or jump right in with grenades and a shotgun. In fact the only real tasks in order to complete the game are the elimination of the gang leaders. The controls are tight making scaling the roof tops for orbs refreshingly fun as opposed to just frustrating as in many other title. But here is my one major complaint every so often your agent well start firing what ever weapon you have equipped many times leaving you with out ammo and reloading at the most inopportune moment, this usually happens when exiting cars while surrounded by gang members. The coop play is for the most part awesome allowing you to team up and rain down twice the destructive justice. Or test your skills in a head to head death match across the city. Here is the second fault in the game players searching for a coop game are given a list of players playing the campaign who are signed into Xboxlive this is frustrating for both parties simply because while trying to play a single player campaign you receive messages (which stop your game play) to allow players to join your campaign every 2 minutes. this is frustrating for both parties. Beyond these small faults the game is really awesome its a definite buy, or at least rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Don't Believe the Hype

posted by grendel (HOUSTON, TX) Apr 19, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Here's the thing, Crackdown is a good game...for about 2 hours. Then you realize that between searching for power-ups, your sandbox gameplay they brag about, really only lets you look for the bosses, beat up their henchmen in their lair of choice, rinse, repeat. That's all it is. You spend most of the game trying to power up with races and jumping contests than you do actually playing through the story. That's lame. It's tiring to hear about all this open ended gameplay. you have four choices and where to go to progress the story. That's it. It's not open ended if you can just go anywhere on the map. The GTA series is open ended. There are hundreds of things to do. HUGE difference. I can't even use my playlists in the options menu! The only reason this got above a 4 is for graphics, sound, the Halo 3 beta, and those first 2 hours. Thank god for Gamefly, because I would shoot myself in the face if i dropped 60 bucks on this!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A Decent Title, with a LOT of hype

posted by HansomeDan (SAN DIEGO, CA) Mar 2, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This game has some good ideas, mostly taken from other sources; and incorporates them into a familiar experience that is accessible to almost any gamer.

Two parts GTA, one part City of Heroes(PS MMORPG for those unfamiliar). This game incorporates the free-for-all format of the Grand Theft Auto Series, with a take-off on San Andreas' feature of stat increments, taken to a further level, in what appears to be an attempt to mix in a bit of City of Heroes. You slowly build a supercop by finding stat-related items around the city. At your liesure, you hunt down various gnagsters, druglords, etc. the game brags about total free-form solutions to taking down these individuals, but it's a much smaller claim than you would think. In reality, you usually have one or two ways to physically get to the enemy, you're going to have to infiltrate a base/hideout/etc to get to them, which will be heavily gaurded. And ultimately, you'll have to fight your way to them, even if you find a shortcut in, etc.

This is a decent game with two shortfallings:

-Too much hype(Largely due to the Halo 3 Beta)
-Promises that would be hard to make a reality: Much like 'Fable', there were too many big promises that couldn't be kept with this game. It's still no more free-form than GTA or Spiderman 2. It's not really 'however you want to do it' if there is only one solution, and there just isn't much room for variety here with how to get to the targets.

Ultimately, you've played the formula time and time again. It's not a bad formula, but I'm personally becoming tired of it, and hoped for more from this title, because it was made clear that this would be the next 'big one'. Sadly it's not. If you haven't tired of the GTA formula, give it a try, it's got different style which is nice, but ultimately it feels the same, right down to shoddy controls, akward aiming, and a shallow excuse for "freedom of choice". But that won't deter a lot of fans of the gametype from enjoying it. And rightfully so.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse