Rent Crackdown 2 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Crackdown 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.7

8964 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but...

posted by Droppo (MOUNTLAKE TERRACE, WA) Aug 17, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

47 out of 52 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

So much like the first game, I got tired and sent it back after about 6 hours into it. I own the first game. Why do I need to play such a similar game?

There are some new features added, but they aren't game altering changes. Just some new toys. The infected that come out after nightfall are, I think, very annoying.

I was disappointed that the story in the second one barely picked up on anything sinister suggested by the first ending. Actually, now that I think about it... the first game could have almost never happened at all and it wouldn't matter. I remember when I finished the first Crackdown thinking, "oh cool. Hope they do a sequel now to continue where this is going..." Well, the sequel is here... where's the hinted at story arc?

Overall, I gave this game a "good" rating of 7. If one has never played the first Crackdown, this one is certainly worth spending some time with. It's fun and collecting the orbs can be very addictive. If you've already played the first, there's not that much new to see here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Crackdown 1.5

posted by Warden72 (ALEXANDRIA, KY) Jul 12, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Played Crackdown? Then you've experienced 90% of what Crackdown 2 has to offer. Crackdown 2 adds different weapons and vehicles, mutated humans, helicopters, a gliding suit, and orbs that you actually have to chase. Looks and feels the same otherwise. The new content in the sequel makes sense as a $15 expansion for Crackdown 1 but not as a $60 game. Good thing I didn't buy this. It's fun, but a rip-off in terms of content. Gamefly has saved me SOOO much money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

My Opinion

posted by EricLee (EAST CHICAGO, IN) Jul 13, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well the story mode of this game to me seems to be alright I beat it and all but i was not completely satisfied with the game.
I Liked Crackdown More then I Liked this one that's for sure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Crackdown... Not so let down

posted by ValKnightt (CLARKSVILLE, TN) Jul 9, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

37 out of 45 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

I have read a lot of reviews on here saying how bad this game is.... but none of the things people are complaining about ruin the game in the slightest.. people just dont know a good thing when they have it. Not everything that i touch on is bad either so here we go..

most common complaints from reviewers:

1- yes this game takes place in the SAME city... hence the same map (not to hard to figure that one out)

2- graphics.. Cell shaded.... no way n64 or any other last gen console could play this game. There is way too much movement and other thigns.. but really the cell shaded form of this game gives it its "comic book" feel which is what they were going for.

3- Story.. well you are mostly right here.. not to great of a story, but really the story is short and sweet.. kill cell people... kill infected..

4- audio.. yes dude is really annoying when he talks over and over again.. then again this is a modern game and they have a nifty audio feature that lets you turn teh narrorator off

5- repitition.. It's a free-roam game much like GTA... you dont hear people complaining about its repitition... same thing

Things I enjoy: Not in order.. Mag grenades are my favorite..
1- climbing.. super human hero jumping up buildings is fun.. try to climb the highest building ever.

2- Mag grenades- Magnetic grenades- you throw one to an object then one to another object (like a car) and the car is pulled to the first magnet... you can put a magnet on 2 cars and watch them try to run away.. amusing.. you can hang cars from buildings- more amusing.. you can trap a chopper to the ground with one.. most amusing trying to watch it escape.

3- Splatter... running into a crowd of zombies and seeing a giant green splatter is great.

Overview: All in all this game isnt perfect, but get a buddy or two together and its a lot of fun. I enjoy it and recomend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Solid, but Same Old Same Old

posted by sidepart (SAINT PAUL, MN) Aug 18, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

16 out of 19 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

If you played Crackdown, you'll be able to jump right into Crackdown 2 without skipping a beat. There really weren't many changes made here to the gameplay. That's not necessarily a bad thing, I didn't have any complaints about the original. I was disappointed that they failed to add some kind of target selection like in Grand Theft Auto. So if you lock onto someone or something, and it's not what you wanted, you can't just hit a key to lock on to the next target to the right or left. I also didn't find many uses for the arsenal of weapons provided once I'd reached a certain point. I ended up really just relying on one combo, which was a little bit of a let down.

What I was most disappointed with was the story of the game. There was a lot of potential here, and the outcome ended up being way less than I had been hoping for. As you play the game, they've added elements that lure you into believing that you'll be given some awesome choices towards the end of the game. I had started expecting that I would be able to decide if I wanted to defend the Peace Keepers or go rogue and join the Cell. Alas it didn't branch out like this at all, and I was kind of disappointed. Perhaps they didn't have time to add this type of story structure or maybe they were trying to reserve this for Crackdown 3.

Still though, solid game like the last one. It's fun to screw around with, and find interesting ways to slaughter your enemies wholesale. The medium setting offers a good mix of frustration and success to keep the casual gamer's interest piqued.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

still fun crackdown

posted by Pete89 (HOLMDEL, NJ) Jul 6, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

32 out of 39 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

While thie sequel doesnt seem like much..as a fan of the first game..i still love this game. Theres enough to add some freshness..i love just running over zombies and getting new orbs and audio logs to collect..that was where a lot of the fun came from...the targeting system isnt rly that bad and on my hd tv crackdown 2 looks pretty good..the story is lacking..its basically just go here..activate this..activate this fight zombies..repeat..theres cell locations to wipe out too as well as foot and driving races..4 player is fun and messing around with other ppl is awesome

story-6/10
graphics 8/10
controls 8/10
online 8/10
overall 8/10

dont hate so much ppl..sheesh

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Do you like collectables?

posted by XboxFan200 (HIALEAH, FL) Aug 14, 2010

Member since May 2008

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I will sum this game up as short and simple as I can.

These are the things you can do:
-Collect 500 agility orbs
-Collect 300 hidden orbs
-Collect 30 renegade orbs which run away from you when you get close
-Collect 30 renegade driving orbs which run away when you chase after them in a car
-Complete 15 rooftop races
-Complete 15 driving races
-Go through 40 stunt rings
-Go through 40 wing suit rings
-Close 25 freak breaches
-Turn on 28 beacons
-Set off 9 sunburst bombs
-Gain control of 28 tactical locations

Do you like collecting in a video game? If you do, there's a lot of stuff for you to do. If not, avoid this game at all costs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Mediocre

posted by DeksOne (BRONX, NY) Aug 5, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

actually liked the original Crackdown more then this, I felt the variety in gangs as well as the boss battles was better. Also the fact the cars got better with your skill was cool in part 1. However the game wassn't terrible. The wingsuit was a nice add for this game but I cant think of much else that wowed me. Glad I didn't buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Crackdown 2, A Letdown?

posted by Koovo3314 (NEVADA, TX) Jul 12, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

When I first played this game it reminded me of the first Crackdown with a few changes. Instead of challenging you with hunting down crime bosses and fighting them in ways relevant to your skills, you will be fighting only two groups this time around: zombies and terrorists. The weapon choices are fun as you combine multiple weapons for different effects as you jump into a horde of zombies and watch them explode and dissolve into the wind. The vehicles from the first game are back along with the addition of a buggy with a turret attachment and a tank. The driving can be overlooked, though, as you jump through Pacific City, leaping up the tall building and fall back to earth, landing on a terrorist vehicle to soften your landing. And the story, the little of which exists, is not even worth remembering it was ever there.
Overall the scores go as follows:

Story = 1/10
Graphics = 5/10
Gameplay = 6/10
Multiplayer = 6/10
Orbs = 10/10

The game is a disappointment to anyone who has not played Crackdown before but fans of the first game will find some joy in seeing all of the old locations from the first game and hunting the new Renegade Orbs across the rooftops or through the streets packed with undead foes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better than the first

posted by CraCkJaCk2 (MIAMI, FL) Jul 12, 2010

Member since Apr 2009

11 out of 15 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

i love this game. the first was still pretty good and i still play the first. The armor in this game doesn't looks more like chuck norris should be in it. the thing that is weird, people wanted this game to take place in another world. which makes no sense, if you played saints row 2 and liked it, then why you rating Crackdown 2 badly?

The map is still the same even with some debris. the story and plot, is still fun, i've beaten the game and im starting a new one because i love the gameplay. I like how they added multiplayer, and i cant wait for Toy Box when it comes out. For the people who dont know what that is, in crackdown, you downloaded a pack that lets you use god mode, super sprint, super jump, etc... but they are calling it toy box because they probably have....better toys to play with.

I love this game, i still laugh at the agency voice (guy who usually says "MMMMM....agent Flombae") and i love how this has more features than the first one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Crackdown2

posted by Tiodos (COLUMBUS, OH) Jul 31, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The Game had a lot to live up too, and sadly it was to much. Not once did i feel drawn in to the story. The main story was way to short and bland. DEFIANTLY NOT A GAME TO BUY.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Crackin' out

posted by ERICnSTEPH (MIDLOTHIAN, IL) Jul 22, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I bought this game. I should have rented. :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Still Crackdown But Shorter

posted by terrill120 (AURORA, CO) Jul 19, 2010

Member since Apr 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

You have read all the reviews about this game. The developers had a chance to do something big however they used the same map and just pasted new missions over it. Helicopters are a good edition. Supercar is just a small super car. The level ups were easy. A nice addition was the way of showing you were orbs are are around you by pressing up on the controller. But still the game was WAY TOO SHORT. Of course rocket launchers and grenades ruled the day for PVP. Still a good play. Not worth 60 bucks.

story-5/10
graphics 8/10
controls 8/10 (except wingsuit mode 5/10)
online 7/10
overall 8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

crackdown 2 aka crapdown 2

posted by BigRob88 (SHOHOLA, PA) Jul 17, 2010

Member since Apr 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

As an avid gamer I love it when an unkown company can make a game that compete's with big names (like those queens at EA). I rented crackdown 1 from gamefly not knowing what was in store, so once I beat the story I couldnt wait for a second (which for a while didnt feel like it was going to happen). Once I heard about 2 I went out and pre-ordered that day and could not wait till I got to play the second. Maybe I should of payed attention to the reviews, because once I realized its the same map (which has its pros with its cons), and the story is so cheesy I was ticked off. Once I played through with my buddy (without another agent the game is so freakin reptative its a waste of time) I went to gamestop and traded it in. I think what really has me ticked is that they pretty much sacrificed the story so they can add in a multiplayer (which sucks) which is a typical EA move (screw the fans so we can make more money). The co-op is great but like I said unless you have 1-3 buddies playing then the single player is HUGE waste of time. The only reason i give it an 7 is the pure fun of power sliding into HUGE crowds of freaks, and blasting cell in the face with the harpoon gun. Only buy this game if u have buddies to play the co-op with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I have all these powers why do i feel so powerless

posted by 25DonkRd (ATLANTA, GA) Jul 12, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

What i didn't like about crackdown 2 was the fact that there was no story to speak of other than the first 15 minutes or so of the game. The climbing mechanics are just awful. Your agent will grab onto a ledge sometimes and sometimes he wont and it almost feels like it is up to fate and made me feel powerless even though i had all these other powers i couldnt climb a building unless it had a certain type of window and even then sometimes you wouldnt grab onto to that window; it was frustrating, especially when you are doing rooftop races or trying to capture deceptively moving orbs called renegade orbs. The city doesnt look that much better, if it does look any better, than the first game. There isnt even a new city to explore, the city you are exploring is just a wrecked version of the first one. Fighting is sort of always blah. You run up, punch people in the face. Shoot rockets at them. Shoot people in the face. It isnt varied enough. Although, it is somewhat diffucult enough so it feels like you are doing something, but the way i approached every fight was run in, get shot a lot, shoot rockets at people. It doesnt make me want to do it over and over again. It is just something i have to do to get an achievement. However there are some parts i found very fun. The fact that you can still build a somewhat geneticly modified man into a absolute beast is fun. Although the time it takes to build your man into a beast was too short for my liking and once he is beast, well, he is beast you cant go any further, which i didnt like, why cant if i work hard enough turn my agent into superman? Why set a cap, be it the same cap in the first game, on his growth? Going around and collecting green orbs on top of buildings is still fun. Flying around in your wingsuit, once you learn how, is cool. I found playing online campaign more fun than playing alone. I never played pvp so dont what that is like. Crackdown 2 is 10 hours of fun, rent this game, dont buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great fun, but not much has changed

posted by tronsta (ROSELLE, NJ) Jul 9, 2010

Member since Nov 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Overall it's a fantastic game. But as returning users will notice eventually, it's basically more of the same. Aside from some tweaks, it feels a lot more like Crackdown 1.5 than 2.

You're an Agent, genetically engineered to gradually build your potential into a literal beast of justice, becoming so strong you can throw cars, or becoming so agile that you can leap from building to building. You can a standard array of weapons and vehicles and the gameplay consistently challenges you.

On to the good stuff:

1) Ultra fun multiplayer modes. 4 player co-op on Sadistic difficulty is wonderful.
2) Great sandbox game.
3) Improved on some of the smaller annoyances from the first game.
4) The day/night dynamic is enhanced with different enemies and different opportunities, depending on what time it is in the day.

On to the bad stuff:

1) Really not much different than the first.
2) While you can certainly keep yourself busy, non-sandbox gamers may get bored pretty quickly.

I would have ranked it higher if this was the first game in the series, but being a sequel, it really does fall short of being great. Worth you time as a rent for sure but unless you are an ultra collector and/or you want to really rock this thing online, don't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun to Play

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Jul 9, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Is a direct conception for this title... Crackdown2 plays a lot like Saints Row2 and title [Prototype] -- A third person shooter you run around in and devastate anything. With a few things that didn't make much sense and annoying voice overs.

You play as an Agent, a super-agent that has been genetically engineered to perform duties for a Government organization called The Agency.
You have one duty and that duty alone is to keep Pacific City out of harm. As of right now Pacific City is ran down by infected humans... These infected humans only come out at night seeking more victims. You are to eradicate these abominations off the face of the Earth using High tech gadgets and vehicles The Agency supplies for you. If that isn't enough, there is a rebel group known as The Cell. These terrorist, radicals infest Pacific City during the day -- You have to push them back at all costs.

The story hasn't much depth -- but then I've only started playing. Crackdown2 is fun, you are given the ability to go online and run around doing objectives with a number of people.
The game design has a RPG flare to it. You level up and becomes stronger and a better aim as you run-down everything in your path...

The voice announcer or your handler(as the game puts it) is constantly babbling over the game. Telling you to do stuff like you are a lap dog... It wouldn't been so bad if he said other things but hearing the same thing over and over can get fustrating.
The massive map has a few parts in it that were kinda flat... without depth. On boats, there is Grass growing... Grass on a boat -- makes no sense at all.
The game has almost no background story.
No background drops in the environment(you only see water outside Pacific City) -- so Pacific City looks very Fake.
The controls are a bit clunky, the game [Prototype] had a far more fluent movements, the motion on this title is very clunky also.
Game Physics are off, everything seems to just float..

The game is fun and that is best!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Crackdown 2..... more like 1.2 actually.

posted by firefly7 (RUCKERSVILLE, VA) Jul 7, 2010

Member since Sep 2008

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

Crackdown 2 is everything in the original and.... that's it.
There are a couple of changes here and there but nothing really stands out.
PROS: I enjoy the PvP and the 4 person co-op and collecting orbs around the city is always a blast. The vehicles and the guns are always really cool and destroying zombies like it's early 2008 is awesome.

CONS: Graphics aren't anything special, climbing is true to the original (that's not really a good thing) there are times that you jump to a ledge and your guy doesn't grab on to it! The ability to customize your character gets down to 4 shades of the same color and 4 faces to choose from (which you don't see anyways) I also don't like that when you upgrade your driving ability nothing changes on your car like in the first game. WTH!

EHH: The Voice of God (as I like to call (Him)) gets kind of annoying after the fifth time He says, "Now can we get through the task at hand without the senseless killing of innocent citizens!?" (because we all know that we can't)

Now that I look at it the Cons outweigh the Pros, Crackdown 2 is an awesome rent, I don't know about an awesome buy. If you liked the original, you will like this one slightly less. If you've never played the first one, you will enjoy this game. RENT IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Fun and Addicting

posted by ACE117 (GREYBULL, WY) Jul 6, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

20 out of 30 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Crackdown 2 is in almost every way better than the first, and yet if you liked something from the first game it is still in the second one. This game gives you the feel you're in a comic book instead of playing a video game. To have a game that cares more about gameplay than it does how realistic that tree looks is a nice change of pace and gives the gamer an entirely new gaming experience. I recommend this game as a buy rather than a rent, because even if you beat the game it never really ends. With multiplayer and the freedom to do anything you want anyway you want the game changes every time you play it and if you only rent this game you'll soon discover that you may never want to turn it back in.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not exactly fun

posted by artcrime (LOUISVILLE, KY) Dec 19, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is very very repetitive. It feels like an xbox title and not an xbox 360 game. You basically listen to a voice with an internet connection spout off rubbish in your ear every minute or so and it soon begins to loop. You run around and fight bad guys with an awkward aiming system that more often then not forces you to aim at the inanimate explosive barrel that posses no immediate threat to you then the twelve or so bad guys directly infront of you trying to turn you into Swiss Cheese with a shot gun. If you must experience this game I suggest the demo from xbox live. The main game is the same thing as the demo only with more grind and a bit more places to run around in.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Poor follow up to the start of a promising series

posted by DigDoug (SEATTLE, WA) Sep 30, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

"Crackdown 2" is here and where-as they could have just improved slightly or offered new climbing puzzles with the same simplistic but fun Gameplay, they instead approach game design with a "let's make the fun parts less fun, take away other fun parts, and ignore the flaws" attitude. This approach is novel, to be sure, but novelty doesn't make a game good unless it involves a Katamari.
The same map as the first game is given a make-under. This is like a make-over, except the environments are lower, there are less interactive clingy spots on buildings, and we add a few not-fun underground sections. As you progress, they attempt to please you with a glider suit for aerial fun, except by the time you figure out how to use it, you realize its main purpose is to mess up the camera.
The same level up system from the first is also given a make-under for the most part, especially the firearms and aspect which no longer affects targeting as it did in the first, but unlocks new guns - you know, those things half the bad guys drop. Replace the word firearms with explosives and adjust accordingly for another example. Combat is still entertaining, but the first one did it better.
So, let's take stock: The combat is not as fun; the jumping would be as fun if the environments weren't worse to jump in; the driving was never fun to begin with; the generic enemies get the job done; boss battles are simple hoard fights; the plot is almost non-existent; the plot twist is the exact same as in the first one; the camera is awful; the one original item isn't fun to use.
Based on this, the big change I recommend for "Crackdown 3" is the design team.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

I am glad I rented this

posted by M49907 (PITTSBURGH, PA) Aug 13, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Because if I had bought it I would have been mad. This game is fun for a whole half of an hour. This game has the weakest story and campaign I have seen in a long time. The repetition is rediculous, I dont understand how they can even charge full retail for this game. It is the most repetitive piece of garbage I have played all year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Is it worth it?

posted by Frenzed (ALAMOSA, CO) Aug 3, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Let me just get this off of my chest right now. This game was fun...for the first six hours. But after hitting level four on all of my skills I felt that the game slowed down far too much. Maybe because everything leveled so quickly in those first few hours? It just didn't feel balanced. I enjoyed shooting things and doing missions for the most part but by no means do I think this is A perfect game. There are A lot of issues I had with scaling walls and getting to certain places that I NEEDED to be at. The driving felt pretty clunky a well. Not to say that the driving style in the game didn't fit the rest of the game it just didn't feel arcadey enough and it didn't feel real enough. It's like they tried to make it both and it turned into this very awkward mash up of many elements and they just didn't know where to take it after that. I don't think this was finished product, I don't think that this game is for everyone, but if you like free roam games where you can just put on some music, turn on the console, and shoot some stuff, this game is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Hardly an improvement over the first game

posted by albertoia (Henniker, NH) Aug 5, 2010

Member since Oct 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game starts out fine with a tutorial and an interesting premise with the threat of the freaks and the terrorist group cell taking over the city. However upon finishing the first objective you realize that that is the only thing you are going to be doing the entire game. You run around activating sunbeams to stop the freaks and destroying their lairs with a simple defense objective and reclaiming cell positions and replacing them with friendly units. You do that about 30 times then there is a different final objective and the game ends.

The entire story of this game seems like whoever wrote it didn't pay attention to the first game. They seem to forget that you find out the agency is power hungry at the end of the first game, and they reveal it at the end like it is some kind of surprise. There are a lot of other annoying plot holes which i wont spoil for the sake of the story.

This game has a decent multiplayer mode but i did not play it very much. Overall, this game is much too similar to the first in terms of gameplay, I dont think they changed ANY gameplay mechanics other than wielding objects as weapons you find on the ground and using turrets. Almost all of the vehicles are the same and the vehicle system is a lot less fun than the original game. It's even the same city.

I would only reccomend this game if you were a big fan of the original and you plan on playing co-op with somebody you know. And even then, only a rent because the campaign is only about 6 hours long.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Snister x2

posted by sinisterx2 (Bronx, NY) Aug 1, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

After playing the game you will have dreams of collecting orbs. So this game got a 7 from me. I believe they gave us the same great game that they gave us before. The game is great full of things to do. But the story line was way to short with very little cut sceens. Games story line are meant to bring you in to the story so this game does not bring you into there world. This game is only a one month rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse