Rent Cosmic Family for Wii
view large frontback

Cosmic Family

Not Rentable
GF Rating
4.4

261 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Young Game

posted by deekim (HOUSTON, TX) Dec 29, 2007

Member since May 2007

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Pros:
Easy, easy, easy; something youngsters can play. Very cheery and gratifying narrators. They are easy to understand and give helpful instructions. Turn it on and forget it; young children can play without adult interference or supervision. Funny cartoon clips and all the colors of the rainbow. Different difficulty settings and nice autosave after completion of a level. Option to continue playing the same type of puzzle or game or you can decide to continue with the cosmic story.

Cons:
Only one player; you won't see mini party games here. Variations of the same puzzles. Very bland and solid colors, not much in between.

I borrowed this game from someone for my younger brother and he really enjoyed it. I finally find a game that he actually likes to play and I can't play with him. That's just not right.

This title is designed for very young minds (ages 4-8), which is not very clear in the description on gamefly. All the bad reviews are coming from much older players for which this game was not intended for.

More mature 7 and 8 year olds may not enjoy this title due to the repetition and cheesy clips. However, it does get more challenging if you set it at the highest difficulty. Embarassingly, I was finding myself thinking through some of the puzzles for a few minutes at the hardest level.

This title boasts that children can learn through play, but I am not quite sure what this game is teaching. Besides hand eye coordination, memory, listening, reflex action, puzzle solving, etc. I didn't see any math (yet), or reading. Maybe the things that it does teach will help children process information and to think quickly.

Personally, I don't feel that this title is worth the full price simply because it lacks multi-play. Borrow it from someone else for a few months or rent to see if your child likes it before deciding to buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great for YOUNG gamers

posted by PeakMom (HILLSBORO, OR) Nov 6, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I bought this game for my 3 yo and have been very happy with it. He has been frustrated for the last almost year because he couldn't play with his older brother. Now we finally have a title so he can join in the fun.

This game is about teaching skills, gross & fine motor skills aka gaming skills, not ABCs and numbers. And in that it is very successful.

I really appreciate that there are three difficulty levels. My experienced gaming 5 yo can have fun with it on the hard setting while my younger son can learn about fine pointing control with the remote on the easy levels. They both love solving the puzzles and clicking on all the different objects to see what they will do.

I will agree however that $50 is way overpriced. Rent it or buy it used.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not bad for kids

posted by barefoot (Tacoma, WA) Apr 2, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My son is 5, and this is just right for his age group. Easy enough for him to play on his own- which is why we rented it. It's fairly cute and educational without being obnoxiously boring. The graphics aren't super, but they're fine for kids. He was able to complete the whole game in two afternoons- so he was able to finish it without losing interest.
My only complaint is that the background music is a little loud compared to the voice track sometimes. You have to listen to directions the monster/character gives you in order to advance, and sometimes it's almost impossible to hear. Other than that- great for keeping my son happy on his own while playing Daddy's Wii!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Appropriate for toddlers to preschoolers

posted by empathy4u (STEVENS POINT, WI) Apr 2, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game has very little actual game playing involved. It is mostly an elephant telling you what to click on. Sometimes there will be a simple game such as assembling a puzzle or choosing the right shape to fill a hole. More often, the object clicking results in a short cartoon skits. Most of the skits are humorous. The main point of the title seems to be following directions.

It is relaxed, no timers or penalties for clicking the wrong things, no reading involved. There are three levels of difficulty, all of which are pretty easy. I'd rate it for kids ages 2 to 4. I gave it a Good rating of 7 because for those young ages, it is a great choice. This game is not meant for adults.

Cosmic Family has no replay value to anyone old enough to remember things from day to day. My 5 and 7 year olds played through the whole thing on the same the day we rented it and lost interest.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game for young users!

posted by meyers14 (ELLSINORE, MO) Feb 28, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

We rented this game for my 5 year old son, and in the past he has had a hard time navigating games because of the on screen text--it was difficult for him to know what to do, as he is just now learning to read. This game gives excellent audio instructions, and my son had no trouble at all knowing what to do next. Each step of the way, a voice would tell him the specific steps he needed to do, for example, "point your wii remote to the picture of the flower and press the a button to get to the next game". The games were very age appropriate, such as shape matching, patterns, color recognition, etc. I would highly recommend this game to anyone with small children. Another additional plus, is that there are harder levels, if you have older children, and the games become more challenging. I have put in an alert to purchase this game when it becomes available, that's how much we enjoyed it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Kids 4-6

posted by NemoDad (DAVIDSON, NC) Feb 21, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a great game for kids 4-6. Most of the titles that appear appropriate for this age group have timers and other features that frustrate these kids. Cosmic Family was the one title (of many attempted) that kept the attention of my 5 year old and her friends. There aren't many out there; this is a great option.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great for kids

posted by GameMom (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Oct 4, 2007

Member since Jul 2005

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

This game is a great choice for kids. My kids adore this game and played it so much when I had to return it they whined. There are 3 levels of difficulty and lots of mini games with loud colors and animation through out. If you are over the age of 10 or don't have kids this isn't for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

High hopes, miserable game

posted by boopuft (WOODINVILLE, WA) Sep 25, 2007

Member since Mar 2004

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

There are several things fundamentally wrong with this game. First, I appreciate they were targeting a younger audience and even educational. However from the art direction to the the painful video segments that can't be stopped, this is a horrible game. To quote my 4.5 year old, "daddy, this game is terrible. Can we throw it away now please?"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

not really great

posted by crocks (SALEM, OR) Oct 8, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

This is a game for the younger age group. 5 and under is very good for age group for this game even on hard, and i'm 11, i played for 20 seconds and i didn't like it. you can't skip any videos or animations and absolute HORRIBLE detail.

i don't like this but you may have good success with a 6 year old.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Cosmic Fun

posted by RoseHaus (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Mar 5, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

My pre-schoolers had a lot of fun with this one. Good controls. Only Complaint - The voice instructions were difficult to understand at times because of volume controls in game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

UGH!!!!!

posted by wiimomof3 (AUBURN, ME) Oct 24, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

This game is awful! In the opening sequence when they introduce the sister, she goes through puberty right before your eyes and her breasts grow. When the mother dances her breasts bounce practically from ceiling to floor. When you watch the "TV" in their house the mom has spirals that surround her breasts almost like tassels. My 6 and 7 year old laughed themselves silly and then asked why a game would be made like that for kids.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

got boring quick

posted by Hilbert (NACOGDOCHES, TX) Oct 6, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

Not a bad game for young kids, but my 6 year old got bored with it really quickly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game

posted by viciousD (EDGEWOOD, NM) Feb 19, 2008

Member since Feb 2006

this game is great for pre-schoolers. it is a little simplistic for anyone older.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Okay game, but kinda strange story and pictures

posted by kaligirl (WAIKOLOA, HI) Feb 16, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

It's good for 7 year olds. I am 6 and the some games were fine, but some were hard because you had to do things really fast. The story and the pictures were kinda strange.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Its not that educational

posted by veelaunch (GLENDALE, UT) Oct 28, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

I got this game hoping to have something my kids could learn some alphabet and counting from. There wasn't any of that rather just simple puzzles. It wasn't fun and I would rather just have my kids play the educational games that they get from school and that can be found on the web.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »