Rent Coraline for Wii
view large frontback

Coraline

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, PS2
GF Rating
4.7

279 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

C'mon guys. Take the game for what it is.

posted by Pyrospazz (BROOKFIELD, MA) Jan 27, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

In case nobody else knows, Coraline was a book years before the movie came out. It was written by author Neil Gaiman and was published in 2002. The movie was based on the story, so some of the missions in the game were a little lacking because they came directly from the story's original version. I'm sure when Gaiman wrote the book, he had never planned for it to become an adventure game, so he hadn't planned major action scenes for gamers to survive.

Being a fan of the actual book, (I enjoyed the movie as well) I compared the game to the book, not to other games. In which case, the game was well designed. It followed the story fairly well, captured the relationships between the characters perfectly, and added a few fun games to lighten up the depressing atmosphere Gaiman had provided for this story.

I think the game gave a decent amount of challenge. Truth be told, it's not a game for all you hard core gamers out there. I see it to be more family oriented, (as was the movie) so it shouldn't be judged on a hardcore basis.

So I think it was a good game. The voice acting was superb. The animation was very similar to the movie. Also, the controls were simple and easy to learn. So I say it's worth a rent. But if you do, know that Coraline wasn't planned to be a game when it started.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Coraline for Wii Review

posted by XenaFly (SANTA CRUZ, CA) Feb 2, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I quite enjoyed the eerie aspect of the game’s storyline, and thought it was going to be an awesome game, based on the opening title sequence with its “Nightmare Before Christmas” look and feel. The game started out easy enough, with Coraline exploring the house and performing menial tasks, but I was hoping the game would get more progressively difficult. It didn’t, but it certainly had difficult parts, especially when you had to push button sequences on both the remote and nunchuck in a very short amount of time. I had to buy a pass on a mini game that had me supposedly playing a piano, but wasn’t ambidextrous enough to coordinate the buttons. It also didn’t help that the button sequences weren’t matched to the music in any way. What made these mini-games even more difficult was that the buttons would just stop working altogether and I’d have to re-set the game. The ultimate blow came when I got to the end of the game and couldn’t finish it, apparently due to a crash bug that was reported in the review by IGN. I don’t see how a kid could do any better than I did, so parents beware: these frustrations made me want to throw a big tantrum.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

My grand-daughter loves that game

posted by evelynmh (MILWAUKEE, WI) Sep 4, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My grand-daughter really loves that game... It took her about a day or two to beat it though. Now since she played the game she wants me too buy it. She really the features, the scenery, and everything about the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Glitch

posted by TangoKitty (FAIRFIELD, CT) Dec 7, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

So, after playing through mostly very easy missions and the much a few much more challenging sequence/combination tasks, I hit a glitch at the very end that prevented me from finishing. Frustrating, too easy for adults for most of the game, and too difficult for the kiddies for a few of the challenges. Not my favorite, by any means.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

"Coraline": The movie's got to be better than this

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Feb 2, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Not since Madagascar Escape 2 Africa has a bunch of mini and micro games been so sloppily placed together.
Coraline, the game, is based on Coraline, the movie. Just like Gatorade is based on water; there's very little resemblance between the two.
The plot is just an excuse for players to engage in up to 50 mini and micro games. Many games are over in less than thirty seconds, while the rest don't last much more than that. Finish one game, and you're off to the next game.
The games aren't very fun; you find a ball under a cup, you push a sequence of buttons, you find things and people around a house, you move boxes about to climb up to a high window.
I repeat - these mini and micro games have almost nothing to do with the movie.
Once you get through all the mini games, then you get to the end of the whole game and watch those credits roll. Coraline, the game, feels like a complete time waster. Maybe it's good thing most players will finish it in four hours or less.
Fans of the film should just go see the film and not bother playing Coraline, the game. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Cora Lame

posted by stepholive (ARCATA, CA) Mar 20, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Good kid FUN...but then I got stuck trying to fold a paper plane. I had to restart to get out of that puzzle. Then later you have to tiptoe around the house to sneak outside only to find out once you get to the door that you need to find a key! I gave up after that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not fun... forced myself to finish

posted by prisoner6 (ATLANTA, GA) Sep 29, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

Many of the mini-games were mind-numbing (carry some boxes for your mother, move some old papers from a door, find blue things in the house) and did not really move forward the plot. The cinema sequences fast-forward the timeline but also eliminate what could be interesting confrontations. No bosses here. No really gameplay beyond mini-games.

When I watched the movie, I really could see tons of awesome gameplay ideas, but this game followed none of them. Even the end finding the ghost children eyes was abbreviated into ridiculous, segmented minigames (avoid the grasshopper machine, close the other world door).

If you haven't seen the movie or read the book, the game makes little sense as it doesn't even bother trying to tell the story. So the gameplay is bad and the story is irreparably fragmented. When considering a game based on a movie, you'd think they'd get one of these components right. But no.

Good news are the graphics, atmosphere and music.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Just don't.

posted by StarGamer (LUCERNEMINES, PA) Apr 8, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

The game, in a nutshell, is a handful of unoriginal, sometimes horribly bad minigames with an environment and storyline that gives a vague nod to the movie. The graphics are dated, the controls make even the simplest tasks seem more difficult (using the analog stick to move choppily from one target to another in slingshot games) and there are a series of button-pushing challenges that involve coordination and speed with little rhyme or reason. Unlike other users, I had no trouble in getting to the end of the game, however when I made it to the "boss" at the end, it took over ten minutes to get through the button sequencing because even when I hit the correct buttons, it would make me restart randomly about 70% of the time.

To top it all off, this game is extremely short. If you don't re-play mini games time and time again, you can finish this game in under 3 hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Awkward

posted by breath4sou (HOWARD, OH) Oct 11, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

I will admit, we didn't play this game very long. We are weekend players so we tend to decide if we like a game fairly quickly. The visuals were nice, especially in the story parts. Moving about the world looked more like moving in slow motion or through water. I'm not sure why the game is rated 10+ except that it tries to carry through on the eerie/ creepiness that is in the movie. For the beginning of the game you watch someone take a doll apart then put it back together. The tasks at least in the beginning of the game seem like they would only challenge a child much younger than ten. For instance, scavenger hunting objects and organizing books in alphabetical order. If there are more challenging parts to the game, you will have to at least tolerate these tasks to get to them. So if you like a slow paced game where you can run in slow motion around a house and do simple tasks then you should give this one a try. The atmosphere and story pieces seem to stay true to the movie.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

WANING AVIOD THIS GAME!!

posted by spyrules01 (VINE GROVE, KY) Sep 20, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

This is a horrible game and I would not reccomend this to anybody.
Here's why:
1.super easy to beat
2.they did a horrible job with the story line
3.after every level when you go through the little door you have to go through a pointless cave like thing.
4.stupid missions (like finding all the blue things in the house)
5.not worth your time and money
If you dont beleive me try it out for yourself but it's a waste of your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

10+ rating is to old

posted by Tarnold (EL PASO, TX) Mar 2, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

The age rating on this should say 5+. My 10 year old twins were bored within an hour.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »