Rent Cooking Mama for DS
view large frontback

Cooking Mama

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.3

1244 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great reason to own a ds

posted by drunkyb (FORT WORTH, TX) Sep 20, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

16 out of 18 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

This game is a perfect example of the style of gaming only achievable on the Nintendo DS. The premise of the game is exactly what it looks like : you make food using the stylus (and mic to cool down the food) under a time limit, and unlock new recipies as you complete each meal with success. Midway through mostly every meal you have the option to add or take away ingredients to make a new version of whatever it is you started with (for example, when youre making boiled rice, you can simply choose to add bamboo to make an entirely different dish). The graphics are cartoon-ish and fun, the music is bouncy and fun, and this game in general is very fun. I advise you find a way to buy it asap, I imagine it will become a rare title quickly due to the unique nature, and with a price tag of only 19.99 you have absolutely no reason not to. A +, a great example of a unique title only this system can provide.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

So-So Cuisine

posted by SonicSling (FREMONT, CA) Dec 28, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

This game grabbed my attention the moment i heard about it.They made a game about cooking?!I must try this.When i first started playing i thought this was one of the neatest games around.I had never played anything like it before(and i've been playing games all my life).This excitement wore off quickly for me.I found myself getting very frustrated on some of the recipes.Either the timer moved faster than i could figure out what the game wanted me to do,or it would not respond to some of the bottom screen commands(kneeding really annoyed me). It also urked me when i failed at making ramen noodles 2 times because of the over exited timer.Besides my major complaints,it just felt like i was doing the same thing over and over and over again just on a different recipe.I put this game down almost as fast as i picked it up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Simple Fun for the Chef in You

posted by lazygamer (Northridge, CA) Jan 9, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2003

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Gotta hand it Nintendo for giving the greenlight for a game based on cooking! This is casual gaming at its best: Jump in, "cook" using the touch screen, jump out. Portable gaming really hasn't been easier. On the other hand, don't expect too much from it. You aren't going to learn any new recipes for application in the real world (it's not a simulator). The graphics are cute but simple, befitting of a game with the word "Mama" in it. Need a better idea of the game? Think "Trauma Center" minus the cancer and hot nurses.
Cooking Mama us a great touch game, utilizing different touch elements from chopping vegetables (tapping), to cutting meat (sliding), to adding ingredients (timed taps) and adjusting stove settings (ditto). "Mama" is there to offer praise or motherly guilt on how you did.
If you do well, you unlock more dishes to prepare and these have different styles (you can add an alternate ingredient to make it "Japanese"). Bronze-Silver-Gold medals are awarded based on performance. Though usually responsive, I experienced a few glitches where the game didn't register a chop or slice. Most of the dishes are Asian themed, so expect to see some exotic ingredients (e.g. octopus).
Already on track for a Wii version, I would not be surprised if a DS sequel follows. If so, it would be nice to see a multiplayer "Iron Chef" competition or the pressure in a restaurant setting with patrons remarking on the food. Perhaps a health inspector?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Cooking Mama Rocks

posted by Andrew12 (JACKSON, NJ) Apr 4, 2007

Member since Nov 2003

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game rocks. It teaches you how to cook. It is fun you get to make pizza. It is a good game if you like cooking. My feelings for this game is that I really like it and I like cooking. I got every meal gold so far. That is the is the challenge in this game to get all of the things to very good. Some of them are hard but once you are used to it you will get better at it. It took me a little bit to figure out one of the steps. I wish that they had another game for different countries. Like Italian Food, Chinese food, and Mexican food. Not for the Wii for the DS. This game rocks and I think they should make more cooking games. I was so glad when I got it. I really was happy that they came out with a cooking game. This is one of the best games that I EVER PLAYED.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ok game

posted by hobodobo (LOS ANGELES, CA) Nov 21, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

In the beginning it was fun but as time passed the same routines were tedious.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Very fun, too short

posted by cuthere (EAST ELMHURST, NY) Oct 13, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is very fun and easy to play. Unfortunately, I beat it the same day I got it. I wish there has been more recipes or hidden features. But it is very enjoyable while it lasts.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Mini Games Galore

posted by AngelSword (STRATFORD, CT) Sep 17, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

When the DS was first released, I was rather wary about its overemphasis on the use of the stylus. However, with a game like Cooking Mama, where I fully expected much stylus use from the start, it is really well executed. All of the mini games are fun, albeit repetitive at times. Unlike Warioware, all of these games have an end goal, in the form of a specific dish, which spurs you forward to complete the games. You're also scored on how well you've prepared the target dish, so that is incentive to do more than just the bare minimum to pass the game.

All in all, a solid mini game collection with plenty of replay value, perfect for long periods of waiting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by Colbrain (KANSAS CITY, MO) Sep 20, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Its pretty sad when the place you go to but this game at has no clue what your talking about then they have the game!!! This game is the best game on the ds i have played. the reason is that you use the stylus!!! there are so many recipes to unlock and to get all of them you have to do recipes over again and make different dishes out of each one. even if your not sure about this game just buy it or rent it its only $20 that you will be happy you spent!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Loves it!

posted by xoxoxo (CHIMACUM, WA) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

I REALLY like this game. It's super fun and addictive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

opinon of a 9 year old

posted by funnys (WINTERVILLE, NC) Dec 5, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

it was horrible

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun but hard

posted by Amanda0126 (DANIELSON, CT) Jul 13, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

I love this game!!!!!!!!!!!!! It is fun but hard.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Cooking Drama

posted by joosbocks (PEORIA HEIGHTS, IL) May 27, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

I chose the title Cooking Drama for this review, because the storyline of Cooking Mama draws you in and keeps you on the edge of your seat through the entire game. You take on the role of Mama, a rogue chef out for revenge against the Food Network producers for canceling her show. Nah, not really. There actually isn't really a story. You just cook things. But that doesn't mean that this isn't an entertaining game. You start off by selecting a dish from the list, then you proceed through a series of short minigames, such as boiling, chopping, and frying, to cook the dish. When you finish meals, you unlock new ones. There really isn't much more to it than that. The graphics are cartoony and fun, the gameplay is good, if you're into games like Warioware, and you never really get tired of seeing Mama's abnormally large, nose-less face light up whenever you do well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game

posted by sayandjohn (BESSEMER, AL) May 10, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

This is a good game, especially for little kids. It uses lots of different kinds of cultures foods. I enjoyed it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game but gets boring after a while

posted by Scorpion94 (DAYTON, OH) Feb 3, 2009

Member since Nov 2006

I enjoyed playing this game for a couple of days. After that it does get rather repetitive. This is one of those games that you rent, play, enjoy and then move on. A couple of the recipes were very intriguing and I am going to make them up for real.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun!

posted by SBMARIOSB (OGDEN, UT) Jan 28, 2009

Member since Apr 2005

I really like this game. It’s kind of hard—for me at least—but that doesn’t make it any less fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Surprisingly fun!

posted by Leemarie (LITCHFIELD, MN) Jan 6, 2009

Member since May 2008

I rented this like I rent a lot of games. Gamefly gives you the freedom to rent anything, and see if you like it or not. So I rented this with low expectations. It is so addicting! My sister, who really isn't into gaming played it, and she loves it too! She bought it for me for my birthday. I want Cooking mama 2 too!

There were a few things though I would have liked that it lacked. More cooking! A couple other people said it was too short, and I agree. And I'd like to serve it to people, but I think that is something in 2.

All in all, well worth the rent and the money (I found it for $15 at Target!).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

meh

posted by Raevin (WEST HENRIETTA, NY) Sep 18, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

experience with game wasn't as I'd hoped it would be. The precision of the recipe's prep actions on the touch screen was not that great, even after SEVERAL re-calibrations of my touch screen, the imperfections remained, and I could not do as well as I could have. Also - the cartridge I received was defective. When I placed it in my NDS Lite, it was not recognized, and the DS thought there was no game inside it. It took several tries to get the game card to work, and even after I did, the game tended to lock up or freeze, and I would have to shut down, losing all the progress I had made.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Gets Very Old

posted by C8LINC (BELLINGHAM, WA) Sep 2, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

I love games that require you to hone your skills or improve your methods. I even enjoy infinite games that aren't linear. But this game is very lacking in motivation/reward for the player, and I spent too much time hoping to get somewhere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

my brother and i got god on everyone .....its fun

posted by cookgueen (HAMPTON, VA) Jun 25, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

my brother and i got gold on everyone .....its fun sometimes

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

No progression and Mama's MEAN

posted by dnotre (MUNCIE, IN) Jun 19, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

I was disappointed when I discovered I could actually pick any dish to prepare that I wanted to. I like games with a progression of difficulty--it's what makes you try harder and harder at each level. With this game, though, you are simply presented with dish names and no difficulty levels. Yes, there is something like practice and prepare as different modes. I just found the game boring in that respect.

Another thing, boy oh boy if you don't get it right or done quickly enough, there is Mama, shaking her spoon at you. Very discouraging. Maybe I'm too soft. Yes, there are plenty of recipes but I certainly don't look forward to trying to conquer Mama.

One last thing, a warning perhaps... this game definitely requires dexterity with that stylus and the ability to continue moving in a straight line after u move your wrist. Kinda like trying to write a really super long word, in cursive, with the letters perfectly formed and the word spelled correctly.

Good luck everyone. Hopefully you'll enjoy the game more than I did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Cooking Mama is Great!!

posted by bigred2008 (BEAUMONT, TX) Jan 31, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

The game is great. My daughter and I absolutely love it. This is one way to be creative with your food.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Cooking Mama for Kids!

posted by susanw (WESTFIELD, NJ) Dec 28, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

Wasn't sure if my 6 and 8 year old girls would like this but they did -- easy to use, fun, creative.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun for awhile..

posted by HayRizo (THOMASTON, CT) Dec 4, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

Cooking Mama is one of those games that grabs your attention for the first two hours of gameplay. But then things get redundant. You're using the same skills over and over again and you seem to have mastered them. And it doesn't help that the difficulty really doesn't change that much.
So, what I'm saying is: This is a great game for all ages. But, unless you like repeating actions, it gets boring after awhile.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

chefs-dream world

posted by addictgame (OAK LAWN, IL) Nov 17, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

i always wanted to be a chef and this game is my favorite D.S. game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Cooking Mama

posted by holdmylips (KINGSTON, WA) Nov 5, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

Cooking mama was released in Japan what seems like forever ago. As it finally hits the US was it what we all had hoped for? The answer is yes. In fact it has hit bigger than anyone expected. The game play is similar to wario ware games, except every mini game is cooking. It's not a game you can just pick up and automatically do either, aka, not as easy as people had expected. There are tons of aspects to it, and it does take some getting used to.

You can make both American food and Japanese food. Things from pizza to gyoza. As you unlock the recipes there is 76 original recipes. But then you can combine recipes to make your own, which adds hundreds of combinations. There are skills you can practice, like chopping, where you go through levels of chopping, and it gets more difficult the longer you can last.

The game requires you to do things such as hit open an egg, separate egg yolks, mix, chop, tear and fold. You also get to saute items which takes a little more skill than you would think. Sometimes you have multiple items, for instance, pork, onion, bell pepper, what makes this difficult? Different items take different times to cook, so you have to estimate how long it would take so they can finish cooking at the same exact time.

This game is going to surprise people, it has been sneaking under the radar, and people will definitely be pleasantly surprised. Cooking mama is a great overall experience. And its a great game for anyone in the family!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse