Rent Cooking Mama: World Kitchen for Wii
view large frontback

Cooking Mama: World Kitchen

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.1

1291 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

A "World Kitchen" fit for a select few

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jan 15, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Cooking Mama's one of the first "cooking" games to hit the market, and the premise is simple; use the controls to slice, bake, roll, flatten and do other tasks to make dishes.
In single player mode, you pick a recipe from a list given. From there, you perform the steps needed to make the dish.
Each step is a minigame where you slice, bake, flatten, or do some other culinary task by using simple motions of the Wiimote. Do it well, and Mama will be happy.
Do it badly and her eyes will light up with the flames of anger.
At the end of each dish, you get a score from 1 to 100, and unlock a new dish for you to make sometime in the future.
With about 300 dishes to play with, content is no problem with Cooking Mama: World Kitchen. There's always another dish to be discovered.
There's also co-op play where you make dishes with one friend, or you play a co-op minigame with one friend.
But the gameplay can get stale faster than day old bread. All you do here is make dishes and more dishes and even more dishes. It gets very repetitive.
The question is: Do you love cooking games? If you do, then rent it and give it a try. If not, then stay away from Cooking Mama: World Kitchen.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Adorable and... finally REALLY fun

posted by elexaish (COCOA, FL) Dec 24, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

15 out of 16 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

I loved Cooking Mama: Cook Off. I bought it when I first bought my Wii and beat it within a few weeks, but found it basically impossible to play again. This week, I got Cooking Mama: World Kitchen and was totally taken aback - this game is both way more fun than Cook Off and completely adorable. This time, you make your own mini chef and Mama helps you when you make a mistake, often with hilarious results. Even my sister, who was initially incredulous, was won over by the reactions of Mama after a mishap. Also, Mama is way more encouraging and talkative in this game than in Cook Off.

There IS a 2 player mode, where you work together to make a certain number of food items.

If you loved Cook Off, this is pleasantly a better, more entertaining game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Cooking Mama fails to whet this appetite

posted by rebel47 (CRAWFORD, TX) Jan 23, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

I've played all previous Cooking Mama games whether that be on the DS or the first Cooking Mama on the Wii, and I absolutely loved them! This game, however, absolutely stunk. I actually rented the game to show my sister how fun the games could be, but instead, she walked away after 5 minutes claiming the game was lame. I don't blame her.

The controls were off, the recipes were frustrating and unusually difficult. Overall, I had to turn the game off after completing two recipes and I'm sending the game back as soon as possible.

This game is NOTHING like the previous Cooking Mama games, and if that's what you're looking for you're going to be sorely disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not at all what I expected

posted by reviewman8 (COLLIERVILLE, TN) Apr 14, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

When I saw cooking mama world kitchen I thought, cool anothr cookiing mama game! I'm gonna rent it! I regret that discision now. Let's start off with the story. Well, there is no story, just useless recreations of simple recipes that are inaccurate and overcomplex. The game would seem to be a way to teach kids how to cook safely, but don't be fooled. Now, the controls. Oh where to begin?! All the controls are difficult to learn, since all the game provides you is a little box at the bottom of the screen showing how to hold your wii remote. Mixing is complicated as well as flipping burgers and pretty much every other operation. If you were expecting to have fun playing this game, think again. The day after I rented this game, it was back in the mailbox. Nintendo, bravo. You have succeeded in making another HORRIBLE, AWFUL game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Thanks for ruining a classic

posted by JayRidge (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 29, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

The motion controls are off, there isn't a two player mode, and the 3D animations are a gimmick that adds no value to the actual gameplay. This game is borderline unplayable because of the poor controls. The developers really messed up a classic, Cooking Mama 1 was a great game, this one is a complete joke. I feel bad for any kid opening this one up for Christmas.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Bad Game

posted by kimmy0314 (TEMPLE CITY, CA) Apr 19, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

This game Kept on freezing my Wii

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Cooking Mama didnt work!!!

posted by Louisee_lover12 (ANCHORAGE, AK) Dec 16, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

The game Did not work!!!! Sent me a game that didnt work!!!! -___-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DO NOT PLAY THIS GAME

posted by Unique0220 (DETROIT, MI) Jul 28, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

This Game Is really Bad. Why would they put it on the wii instead of Nintendo Ds? Its Really Hard For You To Play On A Wireless Controller. Its Really Like The First One But even Worst. If You Plan On Not Wasting Your Time With Its Shipping of About 4 or 5 days Then Do not Get This GAME !!

P.S- I Really Loved That CSI If You Like Mysteries Check It Out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

You're in for a Workout!

posted by RedChamber (MADISONVILLE, LA) Feb 12, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

This is one of those games you play with a bunch of your friends one evening, with nothing else to do. It's an incredibly fun time-killer if you don't look at it objectively, as some people insist on doing.

Sure, the controls can be frustratingly unresponsive at times, but that seems to be the case with plenty of other Wii games.

The voice acting is hilarious, and the cartoony graphics lend you this carefree, silly atmosphere... even as you're furiously cranking your arm, trying to open up a can of tomatoes before the clock runs out!

That said, the time limits for some of the tasks can be a little unforgiving, while there seems to be a ridiculously long amount of time for other tasks. Also, there's no way you can play through the game blazing a trail of gold marks behind you, as the instructions for slicing, dicing, stirring, and mixing are unbelievably vague. There's no text telling you what to do; only a little pictogram hinting at the proper way to get things done. A lot of trail-and-error, basically.

In my opinion, however, the difficulty level for the game is just as it should be. Were it any easier, it just wouldn't be as fun. The diversity in actual gameplay is a bit lacking, as it's pretty much the same mechanics and manuevers over and over again. But as long as you're having a good time with it, who cares? After all, it isn't a game you sit down with and obsess over getting that flawless score. It's all about laughing at your buds as they try to pull off some ridiculous trick, trying in vain to make that time limit! I'd compare it to WiiSports in that respect more than anything else, as it's a game that'd prove a little lackluster if played alone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Disappointing

posted by jujubeanz (GALES FERRY, CT) Jan 4, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

I love cooking games and I am a big fan of Cooking Mama for the DS, but Cooking Mama: World Kitchen has been a big let down. The controls work very well for some parts of the recipes (chopping is my favorite) and they are miserable for other parts (smashing vegetables was frustrating). What really bugged me was when I would make a mistake and the game would cut to a mini-game where I had to make cooking mama help me. These mini-games were more annoying than anything and made the game play a bit tedious. I also couldn't stand cooking mama's voice when I did very well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WORST.

posted by srsg123 (BROOKLYN, NY) Jun 5, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

This is by far the WORST game I have ever played on Wii.
I used to have Cooking Mama on Nintendo DS and it was great!
This was a nightmare, barely worked, barely follows, SO AWFUL.
I played for 10 minutes and gave up.

W.O.R.S.T.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Lost in Translation...seriously!!!

posted by Axelhoney (EUSTIS, FL) May 15, 2010

Member since May 2010

No instuctions for gameplay, the timing was completely off. No option for two players. Why was this game even called "World Kitchen"? Because you have rude friends from random countries come into your home and stare at you while you cook? Lame and a HUGE waste of time. Glad I did not purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It Was Okay

posted by jflint (HUNTSVILLE, AL) May 5, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Cooking mama was okay, I think i enjoyed it more on the ds.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A fun concept that could've been a good game

posted by halfmonkey (CHULA VISTA, CA) Apr 17, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

The concept is fun and my mom, mother-in-law, and wife were looking forward to playing this game but after a few games, the controls aren't very responsive so that takes away from the game. It's an ok game but needs lots of work to make it a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A Big Dissapointment

posted by soulfly (DERWOOD, MD) Sep 27, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

I was very much looking forward to being able to play Cooking Mama for a while, but was extremely disappointed when I got the game in the mail. The challenges had little if at anything to do with cooking or "helping mama" in the kitchen and the cheesy anime style of the cartooning was off throwing to me for a cooking video game. I love to cook and this game insulted that art. I am immediately sending this game back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

For Kids

posted by QUEENPEACH (EVERETT, WA) Sep 20, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

This is a great game for kids. It's simple, helps outline processes for making food (which can be a great tool in helping to learn how to really cook), and is broken into small (bite-size) mini-games that don't require much skill to pass. Adults may find the controls too frustrating, and may not take the time to repeat mini-games that kids might otherwise attempt to perfect. Overall, the design really is meant for younger minds, who enjoy short mini-games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not even for cooks.

posted by MAV285 (WIXOM, MI) Jul 31, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

This is not a good game. I rented it thinking it would use the wii controls in a cool way, but it was agonizingly boring to play. My wife who is going to school to become a chef didn't even like the game and I rented it for her. I would rather play the wii download yummy yummy coking jam than this. save your rental and try something else. 2 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Stick with the original...

posted by Amoriahs (COVINA, CA) Jul 13, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

I love quirky anime games that you might say are a bit off the beaten path. That is what drew me to the original Cooking Mama for the Wii. This installment, however, has little of the quirk or indie charm of it's predecessor. Instead of making Spaghetti in squid ink, you make Nestle (and they throw in the trademark) fudge and toll-house cookies. The game controls are a bit clunkier, and had my friends scratching their heads on what to do next. All in all, it's ok for die-hard Cooking Mama fans, but as a party game, or even a diversion from the normal games you find on the Wii this souffle falls flat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

cooking at its best!

posted by davekite (SLATINGTON, PA) Jul 5, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

I don't usually write a review for games we don't like because everyones tastes are different and who am I to say whats not good.......however in this case I am making an exception, this game is awful! if i could have given it a negative number rating I would have! It is a horrible japanese cooking game gone wrong! When you fail the task at hand the little kids eyes go on fire (pretty amusing actually but at the same time .....just wrong!) the challanges are just stupid. If you have rented every other game there is to offer for the wii, and you have rented every game for every other system and tried to make it work in your wii, and than you spent 72 hours watching grass grow, 48 hours watching paint dry and 24 hours watching Mork reruns, then it might be worth renting just to see how bad it is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Don'tt even waste your time

posted by wicubbear8 (MADISON, WI) Jul 1, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

I try to give games a chance but this one just sucks. Unless you do everything as training befor hand youll have NO idea how to do the job in the few seconds they give you. Then when ya figure it out the controls dont work right and you still fail. I had this game for one night then sent it right back. I made 2 things and that was enough for me i went to play something good. Honestly dont wast your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

It was hard to play.

posted by Bender01 (Saint Paul, MN) Jun 30, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

The first one was so much better. Do not buy or rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Gameplay

posted by 3kiddos (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Jun 8, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

The game was fun for about 5 minutes. After that the difficulty was really hard and the reflexes required to complete the recipe became impossible to do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

An Exercise in Frustration

posted by bndadm (ATHENS, AL) May 29, 2009

Member since Mar 2007

If you're curious about this game, you probably have already played the first Cooking Mama for the Wii, or are curious about checking out this franchise. This game would not be the place to start.

Getting past the colorful graphics and loveable yet slightly psychotic Mama sounds/shrieks, the game seems to feel like it should be a puzzle in determining how to do each of the tasks.

Even in practice mode you are given no further direction then you would in the actual cooking challenge, you simply have the luxury of messing up over and over again until you understand what to do.

Example: For slicing the meat in a meat slicer, you have to move forward with the remote, but ONLY when the slider on the left is in the Blue Bubble (with a hard to see picture of meat being cut). Of course the game only shows you which way to hold the remote and which direction to push/shove/rotate. Timing is everything in a cooking game (and real cooking, and on "24"), and when you need 10 of the 15 seconds just to understand WHEN to do something, the game quickly loses it's charm. Just to make a club sandwhich exhausts you.

A new addition is the ability to recover from a mistake (like dropping a potato peeler or slicing meat up in to the air) with a mini-game. I am unsure if there is a way to skip it, as I had given up on this game by then, but these become simply annoying, repetitive, and as difficult at times as the cooking challenge. They're also kinda weird, as I'm not sure why Mama and the Dog are flying Matrix-style through the air just to grab a piece of falling meat. When you succeed, Mama hits the dog's head and saves the meat. I always feel bad for the dog. Always.

Of course if you still haven't figured out how to cut the meat properly and mess up, you have to go through the mini-game again, and etc. etc.

I enjoyed the first Cooking Mama on the Wii for what it was, and enjoyed the competitiveness. I say Rent, but with extreme CAUTION.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Teh Suck

posted by yourself (Battle Creek, MI) Apr 26, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

Really?

I'm a kid being chastised by his mother for not being able to understand how to cook when there's NO clear instruction?

I have to fail 2-3 times to understand what the heck is going on?

I'm stuck in a Japanime terd hole AND I have to "cook"?

Get me out!!

On the other hand, the accent of Mama is absolutely hilarious- It's actually worth the rental just to laugh out loud the first time she speaks...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

the game play

posted by kingdom231 (CHANDLER, AZ) Apr 8, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

As I'm playing this game I see no big changes at all I really think it's got in really slopy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse