Rent Cooking Mama: Cook Off for Wii
view large frontback

Cooking Mama: Cook Off

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.4

3621 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Cooking mama: cook off review

posted by Yopeeps259 (ROCHESTER, NH) Mar 2, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Cooking Mama: Cook Off Might sound boring, because it's a cooking game, but they do a great job of keeping you into it and it has GREAT multiplayer mode. Also it has pretty good replay abilty but sometimes you might have to cook dishes you have nver heard of. So that is a downside, but even if you're an "M" guy, or an "EC" guy, this is an AWESOME game!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

My Kids Love it

posted by frank10 (INDEPENDENCE, OH) Nov 6, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've read all the negative reviews on this game. That's fine. I've given the high rating for one reason, my kids love this game (ages 4-9). They've been playing it for a week, learning some of the basics of cooking, and having a blast!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Perfect Game!!!!!

posted by Pugmug177 (ROCKAWAY PARK, NY) Jul 31, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I thought this game was the best! It was so fun cause you get to learn how to make all different types of foods. Also, it felt like that you were actually cooking too. You can make plenty of recipes and challenge your friends that are in the game. That is all I can say or I will ruin the surprise of the whole entire game. All I can say is this game was the best!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Cooking Mama Cookoff, Now with added Japan Accent!

posted by duuuuude (SOUTH BOSTON, MA) Mar 31, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

21 out of 25 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

This was a good game. Everything is realistic (especially the meat. Have you seen that stuff!?).
The sound is awesome. The voice acting is funny.(or as Mama would say "ze woice aktng es voony") There was just one thing that annoyed me...maybe two. There weren't enough recipes. Although there is a fun last recipe (I'll give you a hint, it's from Japan, it starts with "i" and ends with "e") And it was cool that you could get golden kitchen utensils. But I wish there were more than two Indian dishes, Irish food would be cool too. It was nice how you could make desserts like cream puffs, truffles, and chiffon cake (although I haven't a clue what chiffon means.) All in all though, This was a really good game that is good for all ages!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Calling All Amateur Chefs!

posted by conman (SOUTH BEND, IN) Mar 25, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

43 out of 53 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

Turning cooking into a series of minigames is a natural fit. I love to cook, and I've often thought that cooking was a lot like a video game.

This game won't automatically feel just like the real thing, but (as with almost every other Wii game) once you understand the controls and movements, you'll be cooking like an Iron Chef in no time. Don't assume that the motion controls are just "off"; as with SSX Blur, take the time to learn what the game is asking you to do.

This game falls somewhere between the exacting professionalism of Trauma Center (but without the annoying storyline) and the minigame mayhem of WarioWare (but without the manic ADD-ness). Even though the recipes aren't exact, they're close enough that they've given me some new dish ideas for actual cooking. Some dishes focus on elegant simplicity, while others focus on rich, flavorful complexity; bake elaborate cakes, simple vegetable dishes, unusual meat preparations, and complex seafood plates.

Many cooking details are incorporated into the gameplay. For example, when sauteeing ingredients (called "stir fry"), you must choose the order you put them in the pan based on relative cook times. The "stew" minigame also closely resembles the kinds of things you do when actually stewing ingredients. I was thoroughly impressed.

Dishes are all organized by country of origin, but almost all of the dishes seem like a Japanese take on those international dishes. Also, the voice acting (mostly from "Mama") is done with a humorously bad Japanese accent. Hearing "Blavo!" or "Hoolay!" or "Wonduhuhrl!" for the 50th time is still funny. I do wish there was a wider variety of national cuisines represented (especially Latin American), but I'm mostly satisfied with what's there.

The ranks, medals, and scores will keep you busy for a long time on single player, and if you have another amateur chef/gamer around, multiplayer will keep you busy even longer. Highly recommended to current and aspiring chefs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

What's Cooking there Jim-Bo

posted by awesomeguy (GREELEY, CO) Mar 28, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

12 out of 15 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This is a game that I have read quite a bit a bout and was really excited to play. So I placed it into the Wii and was ready to play. When I first started to play I liked the graphical style as well as the sound effects (aside from the voice, I hate the voice) and over all game play.

The only thing that I was disappointed in was the fact that the cooking was broken up into so many segments. I really wanted it to be Trauma Center: Second Opinion but with cooking instead. I wanted to be rated on my overall skills cooking a whole dish not on the individual segments.

That being said, I really enjoy a lot of the cooking tasks, mostly the egg cracking and the butter spreading in a pan. I was only frustrated occasionally by the wii-mote not responding as I would like, but it rarely resulted in a ruined dish.

All in all I would say that Cooking Mama is a fun game and if you like nonsense games, with no real story, then this game is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Simple fun that lacks substance

posted by LuciferH (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) May 30, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

The game is definitely fun. But only for about the first 5-10 minutes. After that it's a "do the exact same tasks but in a different order with different animations on the screen"

It's kind of mindless, but for some reason I find some of the tasks to be so much fun I want to do them over and over, which is good because I HAVE to do them over and over. These tasks include chopping, grating, baking, pouring molds. But most of the tasks I hate and don't want to be done, like cracking eggs (which is really hard for some reason) stewing, removing yolk (which I SOMEHOW messed up by tossing said yolk across the room) and pan frying (which lacks instruction)

On the topic of lacking instruction, the game has a lot of that. Before each cooking task is a paragraph of instruction that sometimes fails hard. example: fill cup with water. "move the wii mote up to turn on the water, wait until it's at level, move the wii mote down to turn water off." I say "okay I can do that. wii mote up. huh? the water's not starting? kinda jiggle wii mote. ...What? I failed? how?" things burn because they don't tell you what needs the least amount of time to cook, sometimes the wii mote doesn't catch your pounding moves, you can fail at any time for any slip up, etc.

Overall, I'm SO glad I just rented it. Totally not worth my money, and barely worth my time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Cooking Mama: Cook Off burns my biscuits

posted by VicFuture (WOODHAVEN, NY) Jun 20, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game stinks - I don't think Ive ever started a review of anything so negatively - but this game stinks . It starts off with you washing the dishes you just used to "make" a pan of rice - If I want the feeling of washing the dishes, I'd get up and tackle my sink full of dishes.

BTW: I understand this is a sim game - I am very find of sim games - but I don't want a "rake the leaves" game or a "scrubbing the toilet" game -I want to simulate something I'd never get the chance to do coupled with a sense of urgency or timing to add excitement to the gaming experience - i.e control a house full of people, or building a city, or working as a sushi chef. - There are a few manifestations of the Cooking Mama franchise - I hope they are better than this one.
-Vic Future.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Kids Love It!

posted by frathawk (AVON, IN) Apr 8, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I have not played this game much myself, but my kids absolutely love it. I bought it for them three days ago and they haven't done much but play it since then. I have played it twice and had a good time getting beaten by my daughters. It takes good advantage of the Wii's motion technology and the game play seems to be pretty fun as well. I'm not sure about the longevity at this point, but I'm sure the multiplayer aspect will keep my kids competing with each other for awhile.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Can't stand the heat?

posted by TyBoyTwist (SICKLERVILLE, NJ) Aug 1, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is awsome. I am a chef my self and i love cooking games. ihave not played the fisrt one for the ds but i rented this one on my first day of gamefly. Cook on!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Play the DS version

posted by protox (LAKEWOOD, CO) Apr 27, 2007

Member since Mar 2005

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I'm a fan of Cooking Mama on DS. I didn't like it on Wii at all. The controls barely ever work. I have no problem with the voice acting or anything else. Just the mechanics of the game and controls are really bad.

In some instances you are supposed to do something like breaking an egg. Well, the game is horribly designed so if you do the same motion twice once you will barely fracture the egg and the next time it will break completely and you'll fail.

The game really lacks in instructions too. It tells you to do something but leaves out a few steps. So you won't really know sometimes when you're supposed to press a button or turn a dial because it's not in the instructions.

The game could be great if the controls worked and there were clear instructions. It seems unfinished and hurried. I should also point out the DS version was 20 bucks and the Wii version is 50. Yet the DS version is way better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible

posted by Codyrom (HOUSTON, TX) Feb 23, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Needed to be played on the DS only. This game flat out blows. Like 75% of the Wii games out now. I'll trade in a cool controller for some good content.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Thank you cooking mama!

posted by disaster (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jun 20, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have problem with my wife. Everytime I leave house for work, she spend all my money. With new cooking mama training tool my wife now stay home and learn how to cook meal for man. Excellent!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Weak game, weaker cooking

posted by aoctavio (Doral, FL) May 21, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

My kids and I got this game with very high expectations. A lot of people told us it was a great game for the Wii. The three of us found the game weak and lacking coherence. The game consist of a series of uninspired mini games with little relation with cooking. I truly think they missed a chance to teach about cooking in a fun game. This is the fastest I've gotten bored with a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A HUGE DISAPOINTMENT!

posted by gamerlife (LIVINGSTON, CA) Jun 15, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I rented this game for my sister and we had high expectations we loved the D.S. version it was new and fun. But then we played cooking mama cook off it was frustrating some of the mini games that required a simple movement were extremely frustrating! One example is the popcorn making to cook the popcorn you point the wiimote at the tv screen and move it back and forth BUT the game somtimes would not respond to the movement and the popcorn would blow the lid of the pan so please dont waste your time with this game...you might make your little sister cry like i did =(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun....

posted by Tricky12 (DULUTH, MN) Mar 26, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

The game is fun, it has it's tough areas.....but is getting old quick, its alot like Wario where it goes super fast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Cooking Mama ROCKS !!!!!!!!!!!

posted by trewqw5435 (LAKELAND, FL) Mar 25, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

4 out of 12 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I love this game. Its alot better than for the ds. You get the feeling of being in the kitchen. And you might learn something from this game. I did!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Cooking Mama

posted by Garzilla (SEATTLE, WA) Apr 6, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

This game was super boring! I thought it would be fun because of how you could use the wiimote, but it sucked. The girls accent was really annoying. I kept it for a day and sent it back. Don't waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Runderrul, better thun rama!

posted by ciccarone (PLEASANT HILL, CA) Jun 10, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

What is up with this game? It could possibly be the worst experience ever. Sickening.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Don't play if U R vegetarian (or want a fun game!)

posted by jshulters (PLACERVILLE, CA) Apr 30, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Some say the campiness, silly cartoons, and "engrish" voices are what make this game compelling and enjoyable, but after cooking a handful of ingredients it becomes painfully annoying. If you're a vegetarian, most of the recipes will disgust you, with floppy bloody pieces of meat being medically dissected. I was expecting a broader expansion on the fun and wackiness of Wario, but instead was presented with controls that didn't work as well, no real satisfaction from completing a task, and sickening monotony (I know I'm better than Mama! stop telling me every time!!!). Stick with Wario if you're just looking for fun ways to use the controllers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It can be fair

posted by hi5000 (PARRISH, FL) Mar 28, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 15 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

This game used to be for NENTENDO DS and why would they make one for wii.Its a very boring game.THE CAMRA is awful,and so is every thng else!And the food makes me hungry even though is gross!I also had to pay $50.99. and that all I got to say about that!(Really dont get it)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It was ok

posted by ExiledNightmare (HALLANDALE BEACH, FL) Apr 12, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

For the first 10 minutes. After that we made popcorn with my wife and she burned hers. I feared for my life and a shoe flew at me. Im afraid that if we keep playing it longer it will make us hate eachother.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Bot a bad family night game

posted by mommagamer (STICKNEY, IL) Mar 3, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

I think this game was a good fit for me, it's not too hard and it encourages my two sons to listen, follow directions and helps to increase their hand eye coordination, so since my sons are only 4 and 3 years old I think that is a strong benefit of the game. Also, it si something they enjoy and I myself don't mind too much. Cooking Mama is a good, clean, wholesome game for anyone with young children and a couple of free hours to just hang out and game with the family.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not for wii

posted by rthalter (FREEPORT, IL) Feb 27, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

all cooking mama games seem to be enjoyed better by my kids in the DS format.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Cooking mama

posted by ladyallthe (LISLE, IL) Nov 30, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

I just didnt find this game to much fun. I hate the graphics and it was cheaply made.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse